If the Church Were Christian: Rediscovering the Values of Jesus

4.1 avg rating
( 575 ratings by GoodReads )
 
9780061698767: If the Church Were Christian: Rediscovering the Values of Jesus

“[Philip Gulley’s] vision of Christianity is grounded, gripping, and filled with uncommon sense. He is building bridges instead of boundaries, and such wisdom is surely needed now.” —Richard Rohr, O.F.M, author of Everything Belongs

Quaker minister Philip Gulley, author of If Grace Is True and If God Is Love, returns with If the Church Were Christian: a challenging and thought-provoking examination of the author’s vision for today’s church… if Christians truly followed the core values of Jesus Christ. Fans of Shane Claiborne, Rob Bell, and unChristian will find much to discuss in If the Church Were Christian, as will anyone interested in the future of this institution.

"synopsis" may belong to another edition of this title.

From the Back Cover:

While many denominations claim to be growing, the largest group in American religious life is the disillusioned—people who have been involved in the church yet see few similarities between the church's life and the person of Jesus. In the midst of elaborate programming, professional worship teams, and political crusades, they ask, "Is this really what Jesus called us to do?"

While the church has dismissed these people as uncommitted and lacking in faith, perhaps the opposite is true. Their commitment to authentic spirituality over institutional idolatry might be the very corrective the church needs. These people respect Jesus, but question what Christianity has become.

In If the Church Were Christian, Quaker pastor and author Philip Gulley explores how the church has lost its way. This eye-opening examination of the values of Jesus reveals the extent to which the church has drifted from the teachings of the man who inspired its creation. Many Christians might be surprised to discover how little Jesus had to say about the church, and that he might never have intended to start a new religion.

But the church is here to stay, and Gulley is determined to help the church find its soul. If the church were Christian, Gulley argues, affirming our potential would be more important than condemning our brokenness. If the church were Christian, inviting questions would be valued more than supplying answers. If the church were Christian, meeting needs would be more important than maintaining institutions.

These simple statements return us to the heart of what Jesus cared about during his ministry. Gulley provides a profound picture of what the church would look like if it refocused on the real priorities of Jesus.

About the Author:

Philip Gulley is a Quaker minister, writer, husband, and father. He is the bestselling author of Front Porch Tales, the acclaimed Harmony series, and is coauthor of If Grace Is True and If God Is Love. Gulley lives with his wife and two sons in Indiana, and is a frequent speaker at churches, colleges, and retreat centers across the country.

"About this title" may belong to another edition of this title.

Top Search Results from the AbeBooks Marketplace

1.

Philip Gulley
Published by HarperOne (2010)
ISBN 10: 0061698768 ISBN 13: 9780061698767
New Hardcover Quantity Available: 1
Seller
Irish Booksellers
(Rumford, ME, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description HarperOne, 2010. Hardcover. Book Condition: New. book. Bookseller Inventory # 0061698768

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
US$ 20.26
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: FREE
Within U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

2.

Philip Gulley
Published by HarperOne (2010)
ISBN 10: 0061698768 ISBN 13: 9780061698767
New Hardcover Quantity Available: 1
Seller
Ergodebooks
(RICHMOND, TX, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description HarperOne, 2010. Hardcover. Book Condition: New. 1. Bookseller Inventory # DADAX0061698768

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
US$ 22.04
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: US$ 3.99
Within U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

3.

Philip Gulley
Published by HarperOne (2010)
ISBN 10: 0061698768 ISBN 13: 9780061698767
New Hardcover Quantity Available: 3
Seller
Murray Media
(North Miami Beach, FL, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description HarperOne, 2010. Hardcover. Book Condition: New. Bookseller Inventory # P110061698768

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
US$ 40.99
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: US$ 2.99
Within U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

4.

Philip Gulley
Published by Harperone (2010)
ISBN 10: 0061698768 ISBN 13: 9780061698767
New Hardcover Quantity Available: 1
Seller
Revaluation Books
(Exeter, United Kingdom)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Harperone, 2010. Hardcover. Book Condition: Brand New. 1st edition. 197 pages. 9.00x5.75x1.25 inches. In Stock. Bookseller Inventory # zk0061698768

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
US$ 47.15
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: US$ 7.44
From United Kingdom to U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

5.

Philip Gulley
ISBN 10: 0061698768 ISBN 13: 9780061698767
New Quantity Available: 1
Seller
Castle Rock
(Pittsford, NY, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Book Condition: Brand New. Book Condition: Brand New. Bookseller Inventory # 97800616987671.0

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
US$ 82.35
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: US$ 3.99
Within U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds