An Ideal Wine: One Generation's Pursuit of Perfection - and Profit - in California

3.67 avg rating
( 48 ratings by Goodreads )
 
9780061704239: An Ideal Wine: One Generation's Pursuit of Perfection - and Profit - in California

FromDavid Darlington, author of the acclaimed Angels’ Visits (published inpaperback as Zin), comes an inside look at howa handful of visionary winemakers has transformed—and been transformed by—theCalifornia wine industry over the past four decades. In the tradition of TheWidow Clicquot and The Billionaire’s Vinegar,Darlington’s An Ideal Wine is afascinating, lively tale of vision and daring, of business and politics, ofnature and culture, and of the unlikely birth of a multi-billion dollarindustry.

"synopsis" may belong to another edition of this title.

From the Back Cover:

From the author of the acclaimed Angels’ Visits comes an inside look at how a handful of ingenious winemakers has transformed—and been transformed by—the California wine industry over the past four decades.

In the 1970s, a group of idealistic baby boomers was attracted to the seemingly romantic world of winemaking. Over the course of nearly forty years, however—as competition from abroad increased, wine eclipsed beer and spirits as American adults’ beverage of choice, critics came to control the marketplace, and corporatization took over the industry—these young aesthetes would learn that wine is an unforgiving business. They would have to be clever to survive in an increasingly cutthroat atmosphere, and no one was more innovative than Randall Grahm of Bonny Doon Vineyard—the court jester and bleeding conscience of California wine, its most original and amusing figure. But Grahm is only one of the restless visionaries who, having chosen wine as the vehicle through which to fulfill their dreams, ended up changing the rules of the industry by adapting to its demands. From high technology to hardball entrepreneurship, from handicapping scores to holistic farming, each vintner operates by his or her own definition of an ideal wine.

In this lively, sweeping account that spans the early seventies to the present day, David Darlington employs a sharp journalistic eye to profile a group of wine pioneers. A tale of vision and disillusion, brinksmanship and pragmatism, nature and business, politics and culture, An Ideal Wine is a fascinating look at an ever-evolving industry that reflects the values of our society and our civilization.

About the Author:

David Darlington is the author of four books: In Condor Country, Angels’ Visits (published in paperback as Zin), The Mojave, and Area 51. A special correspondent for Wine & Spirits and a recipient of a 2008 James Beard Foundation Award for Writing on Spirits, Wine, or Beer, he also won a National Magazine Award for Public Interest in 2009. He lives in Berkeley and Mendocino County, California.

"About this title" may belong to another edition of this title.

Top Search Results from the AbeBooks Marketplace

1.

Darlington, David
Published by Harper Collins 2011-06-28 (2011)
ISBN 10: 0061704237 ISBN 13: 9780061704239
New Hardcover Quantity Available: 1
Seller
BookOutlet
(Thorold, ON, Canada)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Harper Collins 2011-06-28, 2011. Hardcover. Book Condition: New. Hardcover. Publisher overstock, may contain remainder mark on edge. Bookseller Inventory # 9780061704239B

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
US$ 5.99
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: US$ 6.00
From Canada to U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

2.

David Darlington
ISBN 10: 0061704237 ISBN 13: 9780061704239
New Quantity Available: 1
Seller
Castle Rock
(Pittsford, NY, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Book Condition: Brand New. Book Condition: Brand New. Bookseller Inventory # 97800617042391.0

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
US$ 10.61
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: US$ 3.99
Within U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

3.

David Darlington
ISBN 10: 0061704237 ISBN 13: 9780061704239
New Quantity Available: > 20
Seller
BWB
(Valley Stream, NY, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Book Condition: New. Depending on your location, this item may ship from the US or UK. Bookseller Inventory # 97800617042390000000

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
US$ 17.13
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: FREE
Within U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

4.

Darlington, David
Published by Harper Collins Publishers
ISBN 10: 0061704237 ISBN 13: 9780061704239
New Quantity Available: > 20
Seller
INDOO
(Avenel, NJ, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Harper Collins Publishers. Book Condition: New. Brand New. Bookseller Inventory # 0061704237

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
US$ 14.93
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: US$ 3.50
Within U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

5.

Darlington, David
ISBN 10: 0061704237 ISBN 13: 9780061704239
New Quantity Available: > 20
Seller
Paperbackshop-US
(Wood Dale, IL, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description 2011. HRD. Book Condition: New. New Book. Shipped from US within 10 to 14 business days. Established seller since 2000. Bookseller Inventory # VC-9780061704239

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
US$ 14.83
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: US$ 3.99
Within U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

6.

Darlington, David
Published by Harpercollins (2011)
ISBN 10: 0061704237 ISBN 13: 9780061704239
New Hardcover Quantity Available: 1
Seller
Revaluation Books
(Exeter, United Kingdom)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Harpercollins, 2011. Hardcover. Book Condition: Brand New. 256 pages. 9.00x6.00x1.17 inches. In Stock. Bookseller Inventory # zk0061704237

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
US$ 11.22
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: US$ 7.69
From United Kingdom to U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

7.

Darlington, David
Published by Harper
ISBN 10: 0061704237 ISBN 13: 9780061704239
New Hardcover Quantity Available: > 20
Seller
Mediaoutlet12345
(Springfield, VA, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Harper. Hardcover. Book Condition: New. 0061704237 *BRAND NEW* Ships Same Day or Next!. Bookseller Inventory # SWATI2132275738

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
US$ 16.26
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: US$ 3.99
Within U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

8.

David Darlington
Published by HarperCollins Publishers Inc, United States (2011)
ISBN 10: 0061704237 ISBN 13: 9780061704239
New Hardcover Quantity Available: 10
Seller
Book Depository hard to find
(London, United Kingdom)
Rating
[?]

Book Description HarperCollins Publishers Inc, United States, 2011. Hardback. Book Condition: New. 229 x 150 mm. Language: English . This book usually ship within 10-15 business days and we will endeavor to dispatch orders quicker than this where possible. Brand New Book. FromDavid Darlington, author of the acclaimed Angels Visits (published inpaperback as Zin), comes an inside look at howa handful of visionary winemakers has transformed--and been transformed by--theCalifornia wine industry over the past four decades. In the tradition of TheWidow Clicquot and The Billionaire s Vinegar, Darlington s An Ideal Wine is afascinating, lively tale of vision and daring, of business and politics, ofnature and culture, and of the unlikely birth of a multi-billion dollarindustry. Bookseller Inventory # BTE9780061704239

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
US$ 23.71
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: FREE
From United Kingdom to U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

9.

David Darlington
Published by Harper (2011)
ISBN 10: 0061704237 ISBN 13: 9780061704239
New Hardcover Quantity Available: 1
Seller
Irish Booksellers
(Rumford, ME, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Harper, 2011. Hardcover. Book Condition: New. book. Bookseller Inventory # 0061704237

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
US$ 25.27
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: FREE
Within U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

10.

Darlington, David
Published by Harper 2011-06-28 (2011)
ISBN 10: 0061704237 ISBN 13: 9780061704239
New Hardcover Quantity Available: 1
Seller
M and N Media
(Acworth, GA, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Harper 2011-06-28, 2011. Hardcover. Book Condition: New. 0061704237 We guarantee all of our items - customer service and satisfaction are our top priorities. Please allow 4 - 14 business days for Standard shipping, within the US. Bookseller Inventory # TM-0061704237

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
US$ 22.59
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: US$ 3.99
Within U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

There are more copies of this book

View all search results for this book