Mustaine: A Heavy Metal Memoir

3.88 avg rating
( 4,819 ratings by Goodreads )
 
9780061714405: Mustaine: A Heavy Metal Memoir

From his early, crazy days as a founding member of Metallica, Dave Mustaine has seen and experienced everything in the world of rock n’ roll. From his young triumphs and ignominious ouster from the band for his hard-partying ways to his later rule over Megadeth, one of the most successful heavy metal bands of all time, Mustaine tells it all. Outrageously candid and in-your-face, this is classic rock memoir in the vein of Slash, Motley Crue: The Dirt, and Sound of the Beast—an insider’s look at the loud and sordid world of heavy metal.

"synopsis" may belong to another edition of this title.

From the Back Cover:

Now with a new chapter

Dave Mustaine is the first to admit that he’s bottomed out a few times in his dark and twisted speed metal version of a Dickensian life.

Impoverished, transient childhood? Check.

Abusive, alcoholic parent? Check.

Mind-f**king religious weirdness (in his case the extremes of the Jehovah’s Witnesses and satanism)? Check.

Alcoholism, drug addiction, homelessness? Check, check, Check.

Soul-crushing professional and artistic setbacks? Check.

Rehab? Check (seventeen times, give or take).

Near-death experience? Check that one, too.

James Hetfield, with whom many years ago Mustaine founded a band known as Metallica, once observed, with some incredulity, that Mustaine must have been born with a horseshoe up his ass. That’s how lucky he is to be pulling breath after so many close calls. But here’s the thing about having a horseshoe lodged in your rectum: It also hurts like hell. And you never forget it’s there.

Mustaine has battled it all to achieve dizzying heights. From the early, heady days of Metallica, being unceremoniously let go only to become a world-famous rock star—founder, front man, singer, songwriter, and guitarist (and de facto CEO) for Megadeth, one of the most popular bands in heavy metal—Mustaine’s story will inspire, stun, and terrify.

About the Author:

Dave Mustaine, widely regarded as the "founding father" of Thrash Metal, almost singlehandedly created the enduring multiplatinum style that launched both Megadeth and Metallica into the public's consciousness. From 1985's Killing Is My Business . . . and Business Is Good to the most recent Endgame, with more than twelve album releases with Megadeth, Mustaine has left a legacy of music that has been described as everything from "poignant" to "insightful" to "angry" to "ironic." Megadeth earned eight Grammy nominations and six platinum certifications. Mustaine lives in San Diego County, California.



An award-winning journalist and bestselling author, Joe Layden has written more than thirty books, including The Last Great Fight, which was named one of the best sports books of 2007 by Sports Illustrated and the American Library Association. He is also the co-author of the New York Times bestsellers There and Back Again and The Rock Says. . . . He lives in upstate New York.

"About this title" may belong to another edition of this title.

Top Search Results from the AbeBooks Marketplace

1.

Mustaine, Dave
ISBN 10: 0061714402 ISBN 13: 9780061714405
New Quantity Available: > 20
Seller
Paperbackshop-US
(Wood Dale, IL, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description 2011. PAP. Book Condition: New. New Book. Shipped from US within 10 to 14 business days. Established seller since 2000. Bookseller Inventory # VC-9780061714405

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
US$ 8.85
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: US$ 3.99
Within U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

2.

Dave Mustaine; Joe Layden
ISBN 10: 0061714402 ISBN 13: 9780061714405
New Quantity Available: > 20
Seller
BWB
(Valley Stream, NY, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Book Condition: New. Depending on your location, this item may ship from the US or UK. Bookseller Inventory # 97800617144050000000

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
US$ 12.96
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: FREE
Within U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

3.

Mustaine, Dave
Published by Harper Collins 2011-08-09 (2011)
ISBN 10: 0061714402 ISBN 13: 9780061714405
New Paperback Quantity Available: 13
Seller
BookOutlet
(Thorold, ON, Canada)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Harper Collins 2011-08-09, 2011. Paperback. Book Condition: New. Paperback. Publisher overstock, may contain remainder mark on edge. Bookseller Inventory # 9780061714405B

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
US$ 6.99
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: US$ 6.00
From Canada to U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

4.

Mustaine, Dave
Published by Harper Collins Publishers
ISBN 10: 0061714402 ISBN 13: 9780061714405
New Quantity Available: > 20
Seller
INDOO
(Avenel, NJ, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Harper Collins Publishers. Book Condition: New. Brand New. Bookseller Inventory # 0061714402

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
US$ 9.51
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: US$ 3.50
Within U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

5.

Mustaine, Dave
ISBN 10: 0061714402 ISBN 13: 9780061714405
New Quantity Available: 2
Seller
Pbshop
(Wood Dale, IL, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description 2011. PAP. Book Condition: New. New Book.Shipped from US within 10 to 14 business days. Established seller since 2000. Bookseller Inventory # IB-9780061714405

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
US$ 9.57
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: US$ 3.99
Within U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

6.

Mustaine, Dave/ Layden, Joseph
ISBN 10: 0061714402 ISBN 13: 9780061714405
New Softcover Quantity Available: 3
Seller
VNHM SHOP
(Pompano Beach, FL, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Softcover. Book Condition: New. From his early, crazy days as a founding member of Metallica, Dave Mustaine has seen and experienced everything in the world of rock ní roll. From his young triumphs and ignominious ouster from the band for his hard-partying ways to his later rule over Megadeth, one of the most successful heavy metal bands of all time, Mustainetells it all. Outrageously candid and in-your-face, this is classic rock memoir in the vein ofSlash, Motley Crue: The Dirt, and Sound of the Beastóan insiderís look at the loud and sordid world of heavy metal. Bookseller Inventory # BAA-B-3624223

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
US$ 15.06
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: FREE
Within U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

7.

Mustaine, Dave
Published by It Books (2011)
ISBN 10: 0061714402 ISBN 13: 9780061714405
New Paperback Quantity Available: 1
Seller
Murray Media
(North Miami Beach, FL, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description It Books, 2011. Paperback. Book Condition: New. Bookseller Inventory # 0061714402

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
US$ 12.71
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: US$ 2.99
Within U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

8.

Dave Mustaine
Published by HarperCollins Publishers Inc, United States (2011)
ISBN 10: 0061714402 ISBN 13: 9780061714405
New Paperback Quantity Available: 1
Seller
The Book Depository US
(London, United Kingdom)
Rating
[?]

Book Description HarperCollins Publishers Inc, United States, 2011. Paperback. Book Condition: New. Reprint. 229 x 152 mm. Language: English . Brand New Book. From his early, crazy days as a founding member of Metallica, Dave Mustaine has seen and experienced everything in the world of rock n roll. From his young triumphs and ignominious ouster from the band for his hard-partying ways to his later rule over Megadeth, one of the most successful heavy metal bands of all time, Mustaine tells it all. Outrageously candid and in-your-face, this is classic rock memoir in the vein of Slash, Motley Crue: The Dirt, and Sound of the Beast--an insider s look at the loud and sordid world of heavy metal. Bookseller Inventory # ABZ9780061714405

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
US$ 15.72
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: FREE
From United Kingdom to U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

9.

Dave Mustaine
Published by HarperCollins Publishers Inc, United States (2011)
ISBN 10: 0061714402 ISBN 13: 9780061714405
New Paperback Quantity Available: 1
Seller
The Book Depository
(London, United Kingdom)
Rating
[?]

Book Description HarperCollins Publishers Inc, United States, 2011. Paperback. Book Condition: New. Reprint. 229 x 152 mm. Language: English . Brand New Book. From his early, crazy days as a founding member of Metallica, Dave Mustaine has seen and experienced everything in the world of rock n roll. From his young triumphs and ignominious ouster from the band for his hard-partying ways to his later rule over Megadeth, one of the most successful heavy metal bands of all time, Mustaine tells it all. Outrageously candid and in-your-face, this is classic rock memoir in the vein of Slash, Motley Crue: The Dirt, and Sound of the Beast--an insider s look at the loud and sordid world of heavy metal. Bookseller Inventory # ABZ9780061714405

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
US$ 16.26
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: FREE
From United Kingdom to U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

10.

Dave Mustaine
Published by HarperCollins Publishers Inc, United States (2011)
ISBN 10: 0061714402 ISBN 13: 9780061714405
New Paperback Quantity Available: 10
Seller
Book Depository hard to find
(London, United Kingdom)
Rating
[?]

Book Description HarperCollins Publishers Inc, United States, 2011. Paperback. Book Condition: New. Reprint. 229 x 152 mm. Language: English . This book usually ship within 10-15 business days and we will endeavor to dispatch orders quicker than this where possible. Brand New Book. From his early, crazy days as a founding member of Metallica, Dave Mustaine has seen and experienced everything in the world of rock n roll. From his young triumphs and ignominious ouster from the band for his hard-partying ways to his later rule over Megadeth, one of the most successful heavy metal bands of all time, Mustaine tells it all. Outrageously candid and in-your-face, this is classic rock memoir in the vein of Slash, Motley Crue: The Dirt, and Sound of the Beast--an insider s look at the loud and sordid world of heavy metal. Bookseller Inventory # BTE9780061714405

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
US$ 17.15
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: FREE
From United Kingdom to U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

There are more copies of this book

View all search results for this book