Someone Will Be with You Shortly: Notes from a Perfectly Imperfect Life

3.48 avg rating
( 870 ratings by Goodreads )
 
9780061735028: Someone Will Be with You Shortly: Notes from a Perfectly Imperfect Life

“[Kogan’s] wry observations of everyday life will hearten you on your worst days, validate you on your best, and make you laugh any day at all.” — Martha Beck, author of Expecting Adam and Finding Your Own North Star

Someone Will Be with You Shortly is a delectable blend of wit, whimsy, pith, and poignancy. If David Sedaris were a girl... this is the book he’d write.” — Evan Handler, author of It's Only Temporary

Someone Will Be with You Shortly is a collection of the hilarious and poignant essays from beloved O Magazine columnist Lisa Kogan. Writing in the vein of Nora Ephron, Kogan has been called "the Erma Bombeck of our generation" (Kelly Corrigan, author of The Middle Place and Lift). In Someone Will Be with You Shortly, she brings her trademark humor to such real-life quandaries as single motherhood, aging, and sex.

"synopsis" may belong to another edition of this title.

From the Back Cover:

Lisa Kogan is a forty-nine-year-old single woman who maintains that every human being deserves a great mattress, a comfortable pair of shoes, and a very smart shrink, and that no one has grown a decent tomato since 1963. She used to think the world wasn't all that complicated, but along came AIDS and crack and Rush Limbaugh, and she had to think again. Still, she's nostalgic for that time when you had to walk all the way across the room to change channels and there was no such thing as a spy satellite capable of spotting a precancerous mole on her left thigh.

In Someone Will Be with You Shortly, Kogan grapples with issues big (her six-year-old daughter, Julia, and the 8,000 miles that separate them from Julia's father) and small (her recent apartment renovation, which consisted of turning over the sofa cushions and then realizing that they looked better the other way) with the self-deprecating humor and deep appreciation for what really matters that have made her column in O, The Oprah Magazine so beloved. Here is a book for anyone who has ever been unnerved by pleather pants, lunch meat, or ambivalent men (not necessarily in that order), but believes that life is a fragile bit of luck well worth living.

About the Author:

Lisa Kogan is the writer-at-large for O, The Oprah Magazine. She lives in New York City with her seven-year-old daughter.

"About this title" may belong to another edition of this title.

Top Search Results from the AbeBooks Marketplace

1.

Kogan, Lisa
Published by Harper 2010-03-02 (2010)
ISBN 10: 0061735027 ISBN 13: 9780061735028
New Hardcover Quantity Available: 1
Seller
M and N Media
(Acworth, GA, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Harper 2010-03-02, 2010. Hardcover. Book Condition: New. 1. 0061735027 We guarantee all of our items - customer service and satisfaction are our top priorities. Please allow 4 - 14 business days for Standard shipping, within the US. Bookseller Inventory # TM-0061735027

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
US$ 20.19
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: US$ 3.99
Within U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

2.

Lisa Kogan
Published by Harper (2010)
ISBN 10: 0061735027 ISBN 13: 9780061735028
New Hardcover Quantity Available: 1
Seller
Ergodebooks
(RICHMOND, TX, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Harper, 2010. Hardcover. Book Condition: New. 1. Bookseller Inventory # DADAX0061735027

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
US$ 20.35
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: US$ 3.99
Within U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

3.

Lisa Kogan
ISBN 10: 0061735027 ISBN 13: 9780061735028
New Quantity Available: 1
Seller
Castle Rock
(Pittsford, NY, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Book Condition: Brand New. Book Condition: Brand New. Bookseller Inventory # 97800617350281.0

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
US$ 21.20
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: US$ 3.99
Within U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

4.

Kogan, Lisa
Published by Harper (2010)
ISBN 10: 0061735027 ISBN 13: 9780061735028
New Hardcover Quantity Available: 1
Seller
Irish Booksellers
(Rumford, ME, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Harper, 2010. Hardcover. Book Condition: New. book. Bookseller Inventory # 0061735027

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
US$ 29.68
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: FREE
Within U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

5.

Kogan, Lisa
Published by Harper (2010)
ISBN 10: 0061735027 ISBN 13: 9780061735028
New Hardcover Quantity Available: 2
Seller
Murray Media
(North Miami Beach, FL, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Harper, 2010. Hardcover. Book Condition: New. Bookseller Inventory # P110061735027

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
US$ 31.30
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: US$ 2.99
Within U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

6.

Kogan, Lisa
Published by Harper
ISBN 10: 0061735027 ISBN 13: 9780061735028
New Hardcover Quantity Available: 1
Seller
Cloud 9 Books
(Wellington, FL, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Harper. Hardcover. Book Condition: New. 0061735027 New Condition. Bookseller Inventory # NEW6.1024458

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
US$ 59.99
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: US$ 4.99
Within U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds