Black Water Rising Unabridged CD

3.37 avg rating
( 3,260 ratings by Goodreads )
 
9780061772092: Black Water Rising Unabridged CD

Los Angeles Times Book Prize Finalist (Mystery/Thriller)
Edgar Award Nominee (Best First Novel)
The Orange Prize for Fiction (Shortlist)

“A near-perfect balance of trenchant social commentary, rich characterizations, and action-oriented plot.... Attica Locke [is] a writer wise beyond her years.”
Los Angeles Times
“Atmospheric… deeply nuanced... akin to George Pelecanos or Dennis Lehane....  Subtle and compelling.”
New York Times
Writing in the tradition of Dennis Lehane and Scott Turow, Attica Locke, a powerful new voice in American fiction, delivers a brilliant thriller—and the Booklist “Best Debut Crime Novel of 2009”—that readers will not soon forget.

"synopsis" may belong to another edition of this title.

From the Back Cover:

Writing in the tradition of Dennis Lehane and Greg Iles, Attica Locke delivers a brilliant debut thriller that readers will not soon forget.

Jay Porter is hardly the lawyer he set out to be. But he's carefully tucked away his darkest sins: the guns, the FBI file, the trial that nearly destroyed him.

Houston, Texas, 1981. It is here that Jay believes he can make a fresh start. That is, until the night he impulsively saves a woman from drowning in the bayou—and opens a Pandora's box. Her secrets put Jay in danger, ensnaring him in a murder investigation that could cost him his practice, his family, and even his life. But before he can get to the bottom of a tangled mystery that reaches into the upper echelons of Houston's corporate power brokers, Jay must confront the demons of his past.

With intelligent writing that captures the reader from the first scene through an exhilarating climax, Black Water Rising marks the arrival of an electrifying new talent.

About the Author:

Attica Locke is the author of the widely acclaimed debut novel Black Water Rising, which was nominated for a Los Angeles Times Book Prize, an Edgar Award, and an NAACP Image Award, and was shortlisted for the UK's Orange Prize. She lives in Los Angeles with her husband and daughter.

"About this title" may belong to another edition of this title.

Top Search Results from the AbeBooks Marketplace

1.

Locke, Attica
ISBN 10: 0061772097 ISBN 13: 9780061772092
Used Quantity Available: 1
Seller
Addis Books
(Cheyenne, WY, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description No binding. Book Condition: Good. Former library audio book. Will have library markings and stickers and possibly no inserts. Plays perfectly. audio book. Bookseller Inventory # 012-5DA5-XX5D

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy Used
US$ 12.95
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: US$ 3.99
Within U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

2.

Attica Locke
ISBN 10: 0061772097 ISBN 13: 9780061772092
Used Quantity Available: 1
Seller
Castle Rock
(Pittsford, NY, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Book Condition: Acceptable. Book Condition: Acceptable. Bookseller Inventory # 97800617720925.0

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy Used
US$ 15.85
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: US$ 3.99
Within U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

3.

Attica Locke
ISBN 10: 0061772097 ISBN 13: 9780061772092
Used Quantity Available: 1
Seller
Castle Rock
(Pittsford, NY, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Book Condition: Like New. Book Condition: Like New. Bookseller Inventory # 97800617720922.0

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy Used
US$ 23.33
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: US$ 3.99
Within U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds