The Magnificent Medills: America's Royal Family of Journalism During a Century of Turbulent Splendor

3.62 avg rating
( 71 ratings by GoodReads )
 
9780061782237: The Magnificent Medills: America's Royal Family of Journalism During a Century of Turbulent Splendor

"A knock-out dynastic history about the world of journalism. In The Magnificent Medills we learn how a single family forever changed Chicago and America. It's impossible to understand today's modern media world without reading this brilliant book. Highly recommended!" —Douglas Brinkley, author of The Quiet World

In the vein of Alan Brinkley's The Publisher: Henry Luce and His American Century and Katharine Graham's Personal History comes the first comprehensive chronicle of the Medill family—a riveting true story of the country’s first media dynasty whose power and influence shaped the story of America for four generations.

"synopsis" may belong to another edition of this title.

From the Back Cover:

The riveting story of the country’s first media dynasty, the Medills of Chicago, whose power and influence shaped the story of America and American journalism for four generations

When thirty-two-year-old former lawyer Joseph Medill bought a controlling stake in the bankrupt Chicago Daily Tribune in 1855, he had no way of foreseeing the unparalleled influence he and his progeny would have on the world of journalism and on American society at large.

Medill personally influenced the political tide that transformed America during the midnineteenth century by fostering the Republican Party, engineering the election of Abraham Lincoln and serving as a catalyst for the outbreak of the Civil War. The dynasty he established, filled with colorful characters, went on to take American journalism by storm. His grandson, Colonel Robert R. McCormick, personified Chicago, as well as its great newspaper, the Chicago Tribune, throughout much of the twentieth century. Robert’s cousin, Joseph Medill Patterson, started the New York Daily News, and Joe’s sister, Cissy Patterson, was the innovative editor of the Washington Times-Herald. In the fourth generation, Alicia Patterson founded Long Island’s Newsday, the most stunning journalistic accomplishment of post–World War II America.

Printer’s ink raged in the veins of the Medills, the McCormicks and the Pattersons throughout a century, and their legacy prevailed for another five decades—always in the forefront of events, shaping the intellectual and social pulse of America. At the same time, the dark side of the intellectual stardom driving the dynasty was a destructive compulsion that left clan members crippled by their personal demons of chronic depression, alcoholism, drug abuse and even madness and suicide.

Rife with authentic conversations and riveting quotes, The Magnificent Medills is the premiere cultural history of America’s first media empire. This dynamic family and their brilliance, eccentricities and ultimate self-destruction are explored in a sweeping narrative that interweaves the family’s personal activities and public achievements against a larger historical background. Authoritative, compelling and thoroughly engaging, The Magnificent Medills brings the pages of history that the Medills wrote vividly to life.

About the Author:

Megan McKinney is an expert on historic Chicago families. She has written for Town & Country, TV Guide, Opera News and the Philadelphia Inquirer. She lives in Chicago.

"About this title" may belong to another edition of this title.

Top Search Results from the AbeBooks Marketplace

1.

McKinney, Megan
Published by HarperCollins Canada, Limited, Scarborough, ON, Canada (2011)
ISBN 10: 0061782238 ISBN 13: 9780061782237
New Hardcover First Edition Quantity Available: 1
Seller
Reader's Corner, Inc.
(Raleigh, NC, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description HarperCollins Canada, Limited, Scarborough, ON, Canada, 2011. Hard Cover. Book Condition: New. Dust Jacket Condition: New. First Edition, First Printing. 8vo - over 7¾" - 9¾" tall. This is a new hardcover first edition, first printing copy in a new, mylar protected DJ, black spine. Bookseller Inventory # 055223

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
US$ 10.00
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: US$ 3.50
Within U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

2.

McKinney, Megan
Published by Harper
ISBN 10: 0061782238 ISBN 13: 9780061782237
New Hardcover Quantity Available: 1
Seller
Mesilla Internet
(Mesilla, NM, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Harper. Hardcover. Book Condition: New. 0061782238 New. Ships out the next day. No sales tax. Bookseller Inventory # Z0061782238ZN

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
US$ 10.09
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: US$ 3.99
Within U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

3.

McKinney, Megan
Published by Harper
ISBN 10: 0061782238 ISBN 13: 9780061782237
New Hardcover Quantity Available: > 20
Seller
Paseo Books
(Mesa, AZ, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Harper. Hardcover. Book Condition: New. 0061782238 New. Bookseller Inventory # Z0061782238ZN

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
US$ 10.79
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: US$ 3.99
Within U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

4.

McKinney, Megan
Published by Harper (2011)
ISBN 10: 0061782238 ISBN 13: 9780061782237
New Hardcover Quantity Available: 1
Seller
Book Deals
(Lewiston, NY, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Harper, 2011. Book Condition: New. Brand New, Unread Copy in Perfect Condition. A+ Customer Service! Summary: This portrait of a storied newspaper dynasty packs a powerful punch. . . . Not only a compulsively readable collective biography but also an overview of the rapid evolution of the American newspaper industry during the late-nineteenth and early-twentieth centuries. Bookseller Inventory # ABE_book_new_0061782238

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
US$ 17.77
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: FREE
Within U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

5.

McKinney, Megan
ISBN 10: 0061782238 ISBN 13: 9780061782237
New Quantity Available: > 20
Seller
BWB
(Valley Stream, NY, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Book Condition: New. Depending on your location, this item may ship from the US or UK. Bookseller Inventory # 97800617822370000000

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
US$ 17.79
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: FREE
Within U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

6.

McKinney, Megan
Published by Harper Collins Publishers
ISBN 10: 0061782238 ISBN 13: 9780061782237
New Quantity Available: > 20
Seller
INDOO
(Avenel, NJ, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Harper Collins Publishers. Book Condition: New. Brand New. Bookseller Inventory # 0061782238

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
US$ 15.48
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: US$ 3.50
Within U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

7.

McKinney, Megan
Published by Harper
ISBN 10: 0061782238 ISBN 13: 9780061782237
New Hardcover Quantity Available: 2
Seller
Movie Mars
(Indian Trail, NC, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Harper. Hardcover. Book Condition: New. 0061782238 Brand New Book. Ships from the United States. 30 Day Satisfaction Guarantee!. Bookseller Inventory # 15293352

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
US$ 17.47
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: US$ 3.99
Within U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

8.

McKinney, Megan
Published by Harpercollins (2011)
ISBN 10: 0061782238 ISBN 13: 9780061782237
New Quantity Available: 2
Seller
Paperbackshop-US
(Commerce, GA, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Harpercollins, 2011. HRD. Book Condition: New. New Book. Shipped from US within 10 to 14 business days. Established seller since 2000. Bookseller Inventory # KS-9780061782237

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
US$ 17.48
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: US$ 3.99
Within U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

9.

McKinney, Megan
Published by HarperCollins Publishers Inc, United States (2012)
ISBN 10: 0061782238 ISBN 13: 9780061782237
New Hardcover Quantity Available: 1
Seller
The Book Depository US
(London, United Kingdom)
Rating
[?]

Book Description HarperCollins Publishers Inc, United States, 2012. Hardback. Book Condition: New. New.. 231 x 155 mm. Language: English . Brand New Book. A knock-out dynastic history about the world of journalism. In The Magnificent Medills we learn how a single family forever changed Chicago and America. It s impossible to understand today s modern media world without reading this brilliant book. Highly recommended! -Douglas Brinkley, author of The Quiet World In the vein of Alan Brinkley s The Publisher: Henry Luce and His American Century and Katharine Graham s Personal History comes the first comprehensive chronicle of the Medill family-a riveting true story of the country s first media dynasty whose power and influence shaped the story of America for four generations. Bookseller Inventory # AAS9780061782237

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
US$ 23.45
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: FREE
From United Kingdom to U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

10.

McKinney, Megan
Published by HarperCollins Publishers Inc, United States (2012)
ISBN 10: 0061782238 ISBN 13: 9780061782237
New Hardcover Quantity Available: 1
Seller
The Book Depository
(London, United Kingdom)
Rating
[?]

Book Description HarperCollins Publishers Inc, United States, 2012. Hardback. Book Condition: New. New.. 231 x 155 mm. Language: English . Brand New Book. A knock-out dynastic history about the world of journalism. In The Magnificent Medills we learn how a single family forever changed Chicago and America. It s impossible to understand today s modern media world without reading this brilliant book. Highly recommended! -Douglas Brinkley, author of The Quiet World In the vein of Alan Brinkley s The Publisher: Henry Luce and His American Century and Katharine Graham s Personal History comes the first comprehensive chronicle of the Medill family-a riveting true story of the country s first media dynasty whose power and influence shaped the story of America for four generations. Bookseller Inventory # AAS9780061782237

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
US$ 24.29
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: FREE
From United Kingdom to U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

There are more copies of this book

View all search results for this book