Red and Me: My Coach, My Lifelong Friend

4.09 avg rating
( 1,233 ratings by GoodReads )
 
9780061792069: Red and Me: My Coach, My Lifelong Friend

“Bill Russell was the greatest team basketball player ever….[He] has produced a moving tribute to his friend and, in a larger sense, to friendship.”

Booklist

 

In Red and Me, Boston Celtics basketball legend Bill Russell pays homage to his mentor and coach, the inimitable Red Auerbach. A poignant remembrance of a life-altering relationship in the tradition of Big Russ and Me and Tuesdays With Morrie, Red and Me tells an unforgettable story of one unlikely and enduring friendship set against the backdrop of the greatest basketball dynasty in NBA history.

"synopsis" may belong to another edition of this title.

From the Back Cover:

Red Auerbach was one of the greatest basketball coaches in sports history. Bill Russell was the star center and five-time MVP for Auerbach's Celtics, and together they won eleven championships in thirteen years. But Auerbach and Russell were far more than just coach and player. A short, brash Jew from Brooklyn and a tall, intense African-American from Louisiana and Oakland, the men formed a friendship that evolved into a rare, telling example of deep male camaraderie even as their feelings remained largely unspoken.

Red and Me is an extraordinary book: an homage to a peerless coach, which shows how he produced results unlike any other, and an inspiring story of mutual success, in which each man gave his all and gained back even more. Above all, it may be the most honest and heartfelt depiction of male friendship ever captured in print.

About the Author:

Five-time NBA MVP and twelve-time All-Star, Bill Russell was the centerpiece of the Celtics dynasty that won eleven NBA championships. As a major league coach, Russell won two additional championships—the first African-American to do so. He is considered the father of the modern pro game and one of the most significant Americans of the twentieth century in sports. His three previous books include the national bestseller Russell Rules.



Alan Steinberg is the author of numerous books, including the New York Times bestseller Behind the Mask and Black Profiles in Courage with Kareem Abdul-Jabbar.

"About this title" may belong to another edition of this title.

Top Search Results from the AbeBooks Marketplace

1.

Alan Steinberg; Bill Russell
ISBN 10: 0061792063 ISBN 13: 9780061792069
New Paperback Quantity Available: 8
Seller
Big River Books
(Powder Springs, GA, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Paperback. Book Condition: New. Brand New! We ship daily Monday - Friday!. Bookseller Inventory # 1EY82M006SRA

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
US$ 2.69
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: US$ 3.49
Within U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

2.

Alan Steinberg; Bill Russell
ISBN 10: 0061792063 ISBN 13: 9780061792069
New Quantity Available: 5
Seller
GreatBookPrices
(Columbia, MD, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Book Condition: New. Bookseller Inventory # 8586378-n

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
US$ 8.87
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: US$ 2.64
Within U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

3.

Alan Steinberg; Bill Russell
Published by HarperCollins Publishers Inc, United States (2010)
ISBN 10: 0061792063 ISBN 13: 9780061792069
New Paperback Quantity Available: 1
Seller
The Book Depository US
(London, United Kingdom)
Rating
[?]

Book Description HarperCollins Publishers Inc, United States, 2010. Paperback. Book Condition: New. Reprint. 198 x 132 mm. Language: English . Brand New Book. In the tradition of Big Russ and Me, basketball legend Russell pays homage to his mentor, coach, and longtime friend, the inimitable Red Auerbach. Photo insert. Bookseller Inventory # AAS9780061792069

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
US$ 11.56
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: FREE
From United Kingdom to U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

4.

Alan Steinberg; Bill Russell
Published by HarperCollins Publishers Inc, United States (2010)
ISBN 10: 0061792063 ISBN 13: 9780061792069
New Paperback Quantity Available: 1
Seller
The Book Depository
(London, United Kingdom)
Rating
[?]

Book Description HarperCollins Publishers Inc, United States, 2010. Paperback. Book Condition: New. Reprint. 198 x 132 mm. Language: English . Brand New Book. In the tradition of Big Russ and Me, basketball legend Russell pays homage to his mentor, coach, and longtime friend, the inimitable Red Auerbach. Photo insert. Bookseller Inventory # AAS9780061792069

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
US$ 11.90
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: FREE
From United Kingdom to U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

5.

Alan Steinberg; Bill Russell
Published by HARPER COLLINS (2010)
ISBN 10: 0061792063 ISBN 13: 9780061792069
New Quantity Available: > 20
Seller
PBShop
(Wood Dale, IL, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description HARPER COLLINS, 2010. PAP. Book Condition: New. New Book.Shipped from US within 10 to 14 business days. Established seller since 2000. Bookseller Inventory # IB-9780061792069

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
US$ 8.40
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: US$ 3.99
Within U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

6.

Alan Steinberg; Bill Russell
Published by Harper Perennial
ISBN 10: 0061792063 ISBN 13: 9780061792069
New PAPERBACK Quantity Available: 4
Seller
Movie Mars
(Indian Trail, NC, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Harper Perennial. PAPERBACK. Book Condition: New. 0061792063 Brand New Book. Ships from the United States. 30 Day Satisfaction Guarantee!. Bookseller Inventory # 6367474

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
US$ 8.81
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: US$ 3.99
Within U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

7.

Alan Steinberg; Bill Russell
ISBN 10: 0061792063 ISBN 13: 9780061792069
New Paperback Quantity Available: > 20
Seller
BargainBookStores
(Grand Rapids, MI, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Paperback. Book Condition: New. Bookseller Inventory # 811992

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
US$ 8.82
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: US$ 3.99
Within U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

8.

Alan Steinberg; Bill Russell
Published by Harper Perennial (2010)
ISBN 10: 0061792063 ISBN 13: 9780061792069
New Paperback Quantity Available: 20
Seller
Murray Media
(North Miami Beach, FL, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Harper Perennial, 2010. Paperback. Book Condition: New. Bookseller Inventory # 0061792063

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
US$ 10.31
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: US$ 2.99
Within U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

9.

Alan Steinberg; Bill Russell
Published by Harper 2010-05-04 (2010)
ISBN 10: 0061792063 ISBN 13: 9780061792069
New Quantity Available: 5
Seller
Chiron Media
(Wallingford, United Kingdom)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Harper 2010-05-04, 2010. Book Condition: New. Brand new book, sourced directly from publisher. Dispatched within 2 working days from our warehouse. Book will be sent in robust, secure packaging to ensure it reaches you securely. Bookseller Inventory # NU-ING-00137593

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
US$ 11.25
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: US$ 3.73
From United Kingdom to U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

10.

Alan Steinberg; Bill Russell
Published by HarperCollins Publishers Inc
ISBN 10: 0061792063 ISBN 13: 9780061792069
New Paperback / softback Quantity Available: 4
Seller
THE SAINT BOOKSTORE
(Southport, United Kingdom)
Rating
[?]

Book Description HarperCollins Publishers Inc. Paperback / softback. Book Condition: new. BRAND NEW, Red and Me: My Coach, My Lifelong Friend, Bill Russell, Alan J Steinberg, Red Auerbach was one of the greatest basketball coaches in sports history. Bill Russell was the star center and five-time MVP for Auerbach's Celtics, and together they won eleven championships in thirteen years. But Auerbach and Russell were far more than just coach and player. A short, brash Jew from Brooklyn and a tall, intense African-American from Louisiana and Oakland, the men formed a friendship that evolved into a rare, telling example of deep male camaraderie even as their feelings remained largely unspoken. Red and Me is an extraordinary book: an homage to a peerless coach, which shows how he produced results unlike any other, and an inspiring story of mutual success, in which each man gave his all and gained back even more. Above all, it may be the most honest and heartfelt depiction of male friendship ever captured in print. Bookseller Inventory # B9780061792069

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
US$ 8.27
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: US$ 7.40
From United Kingdom to U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

There are more copies of this book

View all search results for this book