I Love You, Miss Huddleston: and Other Inappropriate Longings of My Indiana Childhood

3.67 avg rating
( 465 ratings by GoodReads )
 
9780061809552: I Love You, Miss Huddleston: and Other Inappropriate Longings of My Indiana Childhood

In the vein of Bill Bryson’s The Life and Times of the Thunderbolt Kid, with a dash of some of the homegrown nostalgia of The Dangerous Book for Boys and A Prairie Home Companion, humorist Philip Gulley ( Front Porch Tales, Home to Harmony) tells of his coming of age in small-town Indiana.

"synopsis" may belong to another edition of this title.

From the Back Cover:

With his ear for the small town and his knack for finding the needle of humor in life's haystack, Philip Gulley might well be Indiana's answer to Missouri's Mark Twain. In I Love You, Miss Huddleston we are transported to 1970's Danville, Indiana, the everyone-knows-your-business town where Gulley still lives today, to witness the uproarious story of Gulley's young life, including his infatuation with his comely sixth-grade teacher, his dalliance with sin—eating meat on Friday and inappropriate activities with a mannequin named Ginger—and his checkered start with organized religion.

Sister Mary John had shown us a flannelgraph of the apostles receiving the Holy Spirit on the day of Pentecost. They looked quite happy, except that their hair was on fire. . . . I was suspicious of a religion whose highpoint was the igniting of one's head, and my enthusiasm for church, which had never been great, began to fade.

Even as Kennedy was facing down Khrushchev, Danny Millardo and his band of youthful thugs conducted a reign of terror still unmatched in the annals of Indiana history. With Gulley's sharp wit and keen observation, I Love You, Miss Huddleston captures these dramas and more, revisiting a childhood of unrelieved and happy chaos.

From beginning to end, Gulley recalls the hilarity (and heightened dangers) of those wonder years and the easy charm of midwestern life.

About the Author:

Philip Gulley is a Quaker minister, writer, husband, and father. He is the bestselling author of Front Porch Tales, the acclaimed Harmony series, and is coauthor of If Grace Is True and If God Is Love. Gulley lives with his wife and two sons in Indiana, and is a frequent speaker at churches, colleges, and retreat centers across the country.

"About this title" may belong to another edition of this title.

Top Search Results from the AbeBooks Marketplace

1.

Gulley, Philip
Published by HarperOne
ISBN 10: 0061809551 ISBN 13: 9780061809552
New PAPERBACK Quantity Available: 1
Seller
Booklot COM LLC
(Philadelphia, PA, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description HarperOne. PAPERBACK. Book Condition: New. 0061809551. Bookseller Inventory # Z0061809551ZN

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
US$ 3.88
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: FREE
Within U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

2.

Gulley, Philip
Published by HarperOne
ISBN 10: 0061809551 ISBN 13: 9780061809552
New PAPERBACK Quantity Available: 1
Seller
Bookhouse COM LLC
(Philadelphia, PA, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description HarperOne. PAPERBACK. Book Condition: New. 0061809551. Bookseller Inventory # Z0061809551ZN

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
US$ 3.93
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: FREE
Within U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

3.

Gulley, Philip
Published by HarperOne 2010-05-04 (2010)
ISBN 10: 0061809551 ISBN 13: 9780061809552
New Paperback Quantity Available: 13
Seller
Ebooksweb COM LLC
(Bensalem, PA, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description HarperOne 2010-05-04, 2010. Paperback. Book Condition: New. Reprint. 0061809551. Bookseller Inventory # Z0061809551ZN

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
US$ 3.98
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: FREE
Within U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

4.

Gulley, Philip
Published by HarperOne 2010-05-04 (2010)
ISBN 10: 0061809551 ISBN 13: 9780061809552
New Paperback Quantity Available: 1
Seller
ThriftTaco
(INDIAN TRAIL, NC, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description HarperOne 2010-05-04, 2010. Paperback. Book Condition: New. Reprint. 0061809551 Brand new and ships pronto! 100% guarantee. Multiple quanities available. Bookseller Inventory # BOOKS92-9780061809552-11-8571

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
US$ 3.24
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: US$ 3.99
Within U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

5.

Gulley, Philip
ISBN 10: 0061809551 ISBN 13: 9780061809552
New Quantity Available: > 20
Seller
BWB
(Valley Stream, NY, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Book Condition: New. Depending on your location, this item may ship from the US or UK. Bookseller Inventory # 97800618095520000000

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
US$ 9.19
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: FREE
Within U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

6.

Gulley, Philip
ISBN 10: 0061809551 ISBN 13: 9780061809552
New Paperback Quantity Available: 3
Seller
Big River Books
(Powder Springs, GA, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Paperback. Book Condition: New. Brand New! We ship daily Monday - Friday!. Bookseller Inventory # 1EY85D00AIFW

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
US$ 7.66
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: US$ 3.49
Within U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

7.

Gulley, Philip
Published by Harpercollins (2010)
ISBN 10: 0061809551 ISBN 13: 9780061809552
New Quantity Available: > 20
Seller
Paperbackshop-US
(Commerce, GA, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Harpercollins, 2010. PAP. Book Condition: New. New Book. Shipped from US within 10 to 14 business days. Established seller since 2000. Bookseller Inventory # VC-9780061809552

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
US$ 7.32
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: US$ 3.99
Within U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

8.

Gulley, Philip
Published by Harper Collins Publishers
ISBN 10: 0061809551 ISBN 13: 9780061809552
New Quantity Available: > 20
Seller
INDOO
(Avenel, NJ, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Harper Collins Publishers. Book Condition: New. Brand New. Bookseller Inventory # 0061809551

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
US$ 7.84
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: US$ 3.50
Within U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

9.

Gulley, Philip
Published by HarperCollins Publishers Inc, United States (2010)
ISBN 10: 0061809551 ISBN 13: 9780061809552
New Paperback Quantity Available: 10
Seller
The Book Depository US
(London, United Kingdom)
Rating
[?]

Book Description HarperCollins Publishers Inc, United States, 2010. Paperback. Book Condition: New. Reprint. 198 x 135 mm. Language: English . Brand New Book. With his ear for the small town and his knack for finding the needle of humor in life s haystack, Philip Gulley might well be Indiana s answer to Missouri s Mark Twain. In I Love You, Miss Huddleston we are transported to 1970 s Danville, Indiana, the everyone-knows-your-business town where Gulley still lives today, to witness the uproarious story of Gulley s young life, including his infatuation with his comely sixth-grade teacher, his dalliance with sin eating meat on Friday and inappropriate activities with a mannequin named Ginger and his checkered start with organized religion.Sister Mary John had shown us a flannelgraph of the apostles receiving the Holy Spirit on the day of Pentecost. They looked quite happy, except that their hair was on fire. . . . I was suspicious of a religion whose highpoint was the igniting of one s head, and my enthusiasm for church, which had never been great, began to fade.Even as Kennedy was facing down Khrushchev, Danny Millardo and his band of youthful thugs conducted a reign of terror still unmatched in the annals of Indiana history. With Gulley s sharp wit and keen observation, I Love You, Miss Huddleston captures these dramas and more, revisiting a childhood of unrelieved and happy chaos.From beginning to end, Gulley recalls the hilarity (and heightened dangers) of those wonder years and the easy charm of midwestern life. Bookseller Inventory # AAC9780061809552

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
US$ 11.63
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: FREE
From United Kingdom to U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

10.

Gulley, Philip
Published by HarperCollins Publishers Inc, United States (2010)
ISBN 10: 0061809551 ISBN 13: 9780061809552
New Paperback Quantity Available: 10
Seller
The Book Depository
(London, United Kingdom)
Rating
[?]

Book Description HarperCollins Publishers Inc, United States, 2010. Paperback. Book Condition: New. Reprint. 198 x 135 mm. Language: English . Brand New Book. With his ear for the small town and his knack for finding the needle of humor in life s haystack, Philip Gulley might well be Indiana s answer to Missouri s Mark Twain. In I Love You, Miss Huddleston we are transported to 1970 s Danville, Indiana, the everyone-knows-your-business town where Gulley still lives today, to witness the uproarious story of Gulley s young life, including his infatuation with his comely sixth-grade teacher, his dalliance with sin eating meat on Friday and inappropriate activities with a mannequin named Ginger and his checkered start with organized religion.Sister Mary John had shown us a flannelgraph of the apostles receiving the Holy Spirit on the day of Pentecost. They looked quite happy, except that their hair was on fire. . . . I was suspicious of a religion whose highpoint was the igniting of one s head, and my enthusiasm for church, which had never been great, began to fade.Even as Kennedy was facing down Khrushchev, Danny Millardo and his band of youthful thugs conducted a reign of terror still unmatched in the annals of Indiana history. With Gulley s sharp wit and keen observation, I Love You, Miss Huddleston captures these dramas and more, revisiting a childhood of unrelieved and happy chaos.From beginning to end, Gulley recalls the hilarity (and heightened dangers) of those wonder years and the easy charm of midwestern life. Bookseller Inventory # AAC9780061809552

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
US$ 12.05
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: FREE
From United Kingdom to U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

There are more copies of this book

View all search results for this book