The Queen of Palmyra: A Novel (P.S.)

3.79 avg rating
( 1,059 ratings by Goodreads )
 
9780061840326: The Queen of Palmyra: A Novel (P.S.)

“The most powerful and also the most lyrical novel about race, racism, and denial in the American South since To Kill a Mockingbird.”
— Lee Smith, author of On Agate Hill

“Exquisitely beautiful… The novel grips the reader from its first page and relentlessly drives us to its conclusion.”
— William Ferris, author of Give My Poor Heart Ease: Voices of the Mississippi Blues

An atmospheric debut novel about growing up in the changing South in 1960s Mississippi in the tradition of Sue Monk Kidd’s The Secret Life of Bees and Kathryn Stockett’s The Help. In the words of Jill McCorkle (Going Away Shoes), “Minrose Gwin is an extremely gifted writer and The Queen of Palmyra is a brilliant and compelling novel.”

"synopsis" may belong to another edition of this title.

From the Back Cover:

"I need you to understand how ordinary it all was. . . ."

In the turbulent southern summer of 1963, Millwood's white population steers clear of "Shake Rag," the black section of town. Young Florence Forrest is one of the few who crosses the line. The daughter of a burial insurance salesman with dark secrets and the town's "cake lady," whose backcountry bootleg runs lead further and further away from a brutal marriage, Florence attaches herself to her grandparents' longtime maid, Zenie Johnson. Named for Zenobia, Queen of Palmyra, Zenie treats the unwanted girl as just another chore, while telling her stories of the legendary queen's courage and cunning.

The more time Florence spends in Shake Rag, the more she recognizes how completely race divides her town, and her story, far from ordinary, bears witness to the truth and brutality of her times—a truth brought to a shattering conclusion when Zenie's vibrant college-student niece, Eva Greene, arrives that fateful Mississippi summer.

Minrose Gwin's The Queen of Palmyra is an unforgettable evocation of a time and a place in America—a nuanced, gripping story of race and identity.

About the Author:

Minrose Gwin is the author of The Queen of Palmyra. She has written three scholarly books, coedited The Literature of the American South, and teaches contemporary fiction at the University of North Carolina–Chapel Hill.

"About this title" may belong to another edition of this title.

Top Search Results from the AbeBooks Marketplace

1.

Gwin, Minrose
ISBN 10: 0061840327 ISBN 13: 9780061840326
New Paperback Quantity Available: 9
Seller
Big River Books
(Powder Springs, GA, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Paperback. Book Condition: New. Brand New! We ship daily Monday - Friday!. Bookseller Inventory # 1EY85D00B9JH

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
US$ 5.52
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: US$ 3.49
Within U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

2.

Minrose Gwin
ISBN 10: 0061840327 ISBN 13: 9780061840326
New Quantity Available: > 20
Seller
BWB
(Valley Stream, NY, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Book Condition: New. Depending on your location, this item may ship from the US or UK. Bookseller Inventory # 97800618403260000000

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
US$ 9.81
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: FREE
Within U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

3.

Gwin, Minrose
Published by Harper Collins Publishers
ISBN 10: 0061840327 ISBN 13: 9780061840326
New Quantity Available: > 20
Seller
INDOO
(Avenel, NJ, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Harper Collins Publishers. Book Condition: New. Brand New. Bookseller Inventory # 0061840327

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
US$ 7.84
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: US$ 3.50
Within U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

4.

Gwin, Minrose
ISBN 10: 0061840327 ISBN 13: 9780061840326
New Quantity Available: > 20
Seller
Paperbackshop-US
(Wood Dale, IL, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description 2010. PAP. Book Condition: New. New Book. Shipped from US within 10 to 14 business days. Established seller since 2000. Bookseller Inventory # VC-9780061840326

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
US$ 7.67
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: US$ 3.99
Within U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

5.

Gwin, Minrose
ISBN 10: 0061840327 ISBN 13: 9780061840326
New Quantity Available: > 20
Seller
Pbshop
(Wood Dale, IL, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description 2010. PAP. Book Condition: New. New Book.Shipped from US within 10 to 14 business days. Established seller since 2000. Bookseller Inventory # IB-9780061840326

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
US$ 8.55
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: US$ 3.99
Within U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

6.

Minrose Gwin
Published by HarperCollins Publishers Inc, United States (2010)
ISBN 10: 0061840327 ISBN 13: 9780061840326
New Paperback Quantity Available: 1
Seller
The Book Depository US
(London, United Kingdom)
Rating
[?]

Book Description HarperCollins Publishers Inc, United States, 2010. Paperback. Book Condition: New. New.. 201 x 135 mm. Language: English . Brand New Book. The most powerful and also the most lyrical novel about race, racism, and denial in the American South since To Kill a Mockingbird. -- Lee Smith, author of On Agate Hill Exquisitely beautiful. The novel grips the reader from its first page and relentlessly drives us to its conclusion. -- William Ferris, author of Give My Poor Heart Ease: Voices of the Mississippi Blues An atmospheric debut novel about growing up in the changing South in 1960s Mississippi in the tradition of Sue Monk Kidd s The Secret Life of Bees and Kathryn Stockett s The Help. In the words of Jill McCorkle (Going Away Shoes), Minrose Gwin is an extremely gifted writer and The Queen of Palmyra is a brilliant and compelling novel. Bookseller Inventory # ABZ9780061840326

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
US$ 12.61
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: FREE
From United Kingdom to U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

7.

Minrose Gwin
Published by HarperCollins Publishers Inc, United States (2010)
ISBN 10: 0061840327 ISBN 13: 9780061840326
New Paperback Quantity Available: 1
Seller
The Book Depository
(London, United Kingdom)
Rating
[?]

Book Description HarperCollins Publishers Inc, United States, 2010. Paperback. Book Condition: New. New.. 201 x 135 mm. Language: English . Brand New Book. The most powerful and also the most lyrical novel about race, racism, and denial in the American South since To Kill a Mockingbird. -- Lee Smith, author of On Agate Hill Exquisitely beautiful. The novel grips the reader from its first page and relentlessly drives us to its conclusion. -- William Ferris, author of Give My Poor Heart Ease: Voices of the Mississippi Blues An atmospheric debut novel about growing up in the changing South in 1960s Mississippi in the tradition of Sue Monk Kidd s The Secret Life of Bees and Kathryn Stockett s The Help. In the words of Jill McCorkle (Going Away Shoes), Minrose Gwin is an extremely gifted writer and The Queen of Palmyra is a brilliant and compelling novel. Bookseller Inventory # ABZ9780061840326

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
US$ 12.80
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: FREE
From United Kingdom to U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

8.

Gwin, Minrose
ISBN 10: 0061840327 ISBN 13: 9780061840326
New Paperback Quantity Available: > 20
Seller
BargainBookStores
(Grand Rapids, MI, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Paperback. Book Condition: New. Bookseller Inventory # 812113

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
US$ 8.82
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: US$ 3.99
Within U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

9.

Minrose Gwin
Published by HarperCollins Publishers Inc, United States (2010)
ISBN 10: 0061840327 ISBN 13: 9780061840326
New Paperback Quantity Available: 10
Seller
Book Depository hard to find
(London, United Kingdom)
Rating
[?]

Book Description HarperCollins Publishers Inc, United States, 2010. Paperback. Book Condition: New. New.. 201 x 135 mm. Language: English . This book usually ship within 10-15 business days and we will endeavor to dispatch orders quicker than this where possible. Brand New Book. The most powerful and also the most lyrical novel about race, racism, and denial in the American South since To Kill a Mockingbird. -- Lee Smith, author of On Agate Hill Exquisitely beautiful. The novel grips the reader from its first page and relentlessly drives us to its conclusion. -- William Ferris, author of Give My Poor Heart Ease: Voices of the Mississippi Blues An atmospheric debut novel about growing up in the changing South in 1960s Mississippi in the tradition of Sue Monk Kidd s The Secret Life of Bees and Kathryn Stockett s The Help. In the words of Jill McCorkle (Going Away Shoes), Minrose Gwin is an extremely gifted writer and The Queen of Palmyra is a brilliant and compelling novel. Bookseller Inventory # BTE9780061840326

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
US$ 13.49
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: FREE
From United Kingdom to U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

10.

Gwin, Minrose
Published by William Morrow Paperbacks (2010)
ISBN 10: 0061840327 ISBN 13: 9780061840326
New Paperback Quantity Available: 10
Seller
Murray Media
(North Miami Beach, FL, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description William Morrow Paperbacks, 2010. Paperback. Book Condition: New. Bookseller Inventory # 0061840327

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
US$ 10.63
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: US$ 2.99
Within U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

There are more copies of this book

View all search results for this book