God's Other Children: Personal Encounters with Faith, Love, and Holiness in Sacred India

3.85 avg rating
( 20 ratings by Goodreads )
 
9780061840685: God's Other Children: Personal Encounters with Faith, Love, and Holiness in Sacred India

God’s Other Children by Bradley Malkovsky is a charming spiritual travelogue that tells the tale of a Catholic religious scholar who goes to India to study Hinduism and winds up falling in love with and marrying a Muslim.

In the tradition of The Faith Club, Malkvosky, who holds a degree in Catholic theology, shares how his spiritual journey grew his faith, while raising questions about it that he had never considered, and how it changed his life in ways he could neverhave  imagined.

Inspiring and profound, God’s Other Children: Personal Encounters with Faith, Love, and Holiness in Sacred India offers a fascinating perspective on how people of all faiths encounter God. Author Bradley Malkovsky won the Huston Smith Publishing Prize for this manuscript from HarperOne.

"synopsis" may belong to another edition of this title.

From the Back Cover:

God's Other Children by Bradley Malkovsky is a charming spiritual travelogue that tells the tale of a Catholic religious scholar who goes to India to study Hinduism and winds up falling in love with an Indian woman and marrying into her Muslim family.

Years ago, religious scholar Bradley Malkovsky traveled to India to immerse himself in the study of Hinduism. When he arrived, he was at once bewildered by the nation's unfamiliar customs and amazed by the hospitality and spiritual devotion of its people. He could see that God was very much present and at work in the lives of Indian Hindus, Buddhists, and Muslims and was also keenly aware that his Christian theology did not adequately prepare him to make sense of how those religions encountered God and what that might mean for his own faith.

Malkovsky's understanding of the complexities and richness of Hinduism, Buddhism, and Islam deepened when he fell in love with an Indian woman, Mariam, and married into her Muslim family. God's Other Children is Malkovsky's intimate memoir of his incredibly fulfilling years in India, including colorful stories of his healing by a Hindu physician, an experience at a life-changing Buddhist meditation retreat, preparing for his secret wedding, and partaking in the "lifting of the stone" at a famous Muslim shrine. This book is Malkovsky's reflection on the compelling questions about truth, God, and faith that arose during his journey. It is also his challenge to all people, as he begins to understand how the mysterious and transformative love of God as revealed in Christ is evident in every one of God's children, to open themselves up to other religions and create invaluable interfaith dialogue.

About the Author:

Bradley Malkovskyis associate professor of comparativetheology at the University of Notre Dame. He has degrees from the University of Tübingen, Germany, and has studied Sanskrit and Hindu thought at the University of Poona in Pune, India. He is the editor of the Journal of Hindu-Christian Studies and the winner of the Huston Smith Publishing Prize.

"About this title" may belong to another edition of this title.

Buy New View Book
List Price: US$ 25.99
US$ 16.58

Convert Currency

Shipping: FREE
From United Kingdom to U.S.A.

Destination, Rates & Speeds

Add to Basket

Top Search Results from the AbeBooks Marketplace

1.

Bradley J. Malkovsky
Published by HarperCollins Publishers Inc, United States (2013)
ISBN 10: 0061840688 ISBN 13: 9780061840685
New Hardcover Quantity Available: 1
Seller:
The Book Depository
(London, United Kingdom)
Rating
[?]

Book Description HarperCollins Publishers Inc, United States, 2013. Hardback. Book Condition: New. New. Language: English . Brand New Book. God s Other Children by Bradley Malkovsky is a charming spiritual travelogue that tells the tale of a Catholic religious scholar who goes to India to study Hinduism and winds up falling in love with and marrying a Muslim. In the tradition of The Faith Club, Malkvosky, who holds a degree in Catholic theology, shares how his spiritual journey grew his faith, while raising questions about it that he had never considered, and how it changed his life in ways he could neverhave imagined. Inspiring and profound, God s Other Children: Personal Encounters with Faith, Love, and Holiness in Sacred India offers a fascinating perspective on how people of all faiths encounter God. Author Bradley Malkovsky won the Huston Smith Publishing Prize for this manuscript from HarperOne. Bookseller Inventory # AAR9780061840685

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
US$ 16.58
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: FREE
From United Kingdom to U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

2.

Bradley J. Malkovsky
Published by HarperCollins Publishers Inc, United States (2013)
ISBN 10: 0061840688 ISBN 13: 9780061840685
New Hardcover Quantity Available: 1
Seller:
The Book Depository US
(London, United Kingdom)
Rating
[?]

Book Description HarperCollins Publishers Inc, United States, 2013. Hardback. Book Condition: New. New. Language: English . Brand New Book. God s Other Children by Bradley Malkovsky is a charming spiritual travelogue that tells the tale of a Catholic religious scholar who goes to India to study Hinduism and winds up falling in love with and marrying a Muslim. In the tradition of The Faith Club, Malkvosky, who holds a degree in Catholic theology, shares how his spiritual journey grew his faith, while raising questions about it that he had never considered, and how it changed his life in ways he could neverhave imagined. Inspiring and profound, God s Other Children: Personal Encounters with Faith, Love, and Holiness in Sacred India offers a fascinating perspective on how people of all faiths encounter God. Author Bradley Malkovsky won the Huston Smith Publishing Prize for this manuscript from HarperOne. Bookseller Inventory # AAR9780061840685

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
US$ 17.76
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: FREE
From United Kingdom to U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

3.

Malkovsky, Bradley
ISBN 10: 0061840688 ISBN 13: 9780061840685
New Quantity Available: > 20
Seller:
Paperbackshop-US
(Wood Dale, IL, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description 2013. HRD. Book Condition: New. New Book. Shipped from US within 10 to 14 business days. Established seller since 2000. Bookseller Inventory # VC-9780061840685

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
US$ 13.78
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: US$ 3.99
Within U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

4.

Malkovsky, Bradley
Published by Harper Collins Publishers
ISBN 10: 0061840688 ISBN 13: 9780061840685
New Quantity Available: > 20
Seller:
INDOO
(Avenel, NJ, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Harper Collins Publishers. Book Condition: New. Brand New. Bookseller Inventory # 0061840688

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
US$ 15.96
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: US$ 3.50
Within U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

5.

Malkovsky, Bradley
Published by HarperOne
ISBN 10: 0061840688 ISBN 13: 9780061840685
New Hardcover Quantity Available: > 20
Seller:
Mediaoutlet12345
(Springfield, VA, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description HarperOne. Hardcover. Book Condition: New. 0061840688 *BRAND NEW* Ships Same Day or Next!. Bookseller Inventory # SWATI2132255517

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
US$ 16.10
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: US$ 3.99
Within U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

6.

Malkovsky, Bradley
ISBN 10: 0061840688 ISBN 13: 9780061840685
New Quantity Available: 1
Seller:
Pbshop
(Wood Dale, IL, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description 2013. HRD. Book Condition: New. New Book.Shipped from US within 10 to 14 business days. Established seller since 2000. Bookseller Inventory # IB-9780061840685

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
US$ 16.45
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: US$ 3.99
Within U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

7.

Bradley J. Malkovsky
Published by HarperOne 2013-05-01 (2013)
ISBN 10: 0061840688 ISBN 13: 9780061840685
New Hardcover Quantity Available: 5
Seller:
Chiron Media
(Wallingford, United Kingdom)
Rating
[?]

Book Description HarperOne 2013-05-01, 2013. Hardcover. Book Condition: New. Bookseller Inventory # NU-NBN-00013508

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
US$ 17.26
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: US$ 3.99
From United Kingdom to U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

8.

Bradley J. Malkovsky
Published by HarperOne
ISBN 10: 0061840688 ISBN 13: 9780061840685
New Hardcover Quantity Available: 5
Seller:
THE SAINT BOOKSTORE
(Southport, United Kingdom)
Rating
[?]

Book Description HarperOne. Hardcover. Book Condition: New. New copy - Usually dispatched within 2 working days. Bookseller Inventory # B9780061840685

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
US$ 12.36
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: US$ 9.26
From United Kingdom to U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

9.

Bradley J. Malkovsky
Published by HarperCollins Publishers Inc, United States (2013)
ISBN 10: 0061840688 ISBN 13: 9780061840685
New Hardcover Quantity Available: 10
Seller:
Book Depository hard to find
(London, United Kingdom)
Rating
[?]

Book Description HarperCollins Publishers Inc, United States, 2013. Hardback. Book Condition: New. New. Language: English . This book usually ship within 10-15 business days and we will endeavor to dispatch orders quicker than this where possible. Brand New Book. God s Other Children by Bradley Malkovsky is a charming spiritual travelogue that tells the tale of a Catholic religious scholar who goes to India to study Hinduism and winds up falling in love with and marrying a Muslim. In the tradition of The Faith Club, Malkvosky, who holds a degree in Catholic theology, shares how his spiritual journey grew his faith, while raising questions about it that he had never considered, and how it changed his life in ways he could neverhave imagined. Inspiring and profound, God s Other Children: Personal Encounters with Faith, Love, and Holiness in Sacred India offers a fascinating perspective on how people of all faiths encounter God. Author Bradley Malkovsky won the Huston Smith Publishing Prize for this manuscript from HarperOne. Bookseller Inventory # BTE9780061840685

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
US$ 23.34
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: FREE
From United Kingdom to U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

10.

Malkovsky, Bradley
Published by HarperOne
ISBN 10: 0061840688 ISBN 13: 9780061840685
New Hardcover Quantity Available: 1
Seller:
Bookhouse COM LLC
(Philadelphia, PA, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description HarperOne. Hardcover. Book Condition: New. 0061840688. Bookseller Inventory # Z0061840688ZN

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
US$ 24.13
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: FREE
Within U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

There are more copies of this book

View all search results for this book