My Year with Eleanor: A Memoir

3.8 avg rating
( 4,473 ratings by Goodreads )
 
9780061875038: My Year with Eleanor: A Memoir

“I honestly loved this book.”
—Jim Norton, New York Times bestselling author of I Hate Your Guts

“Eleanor taught Noelle that, first and foremost, Courage Takes Practice. Her yearlong quest to face her terrors, great and small, is moving, enriching, and hilarious—we readers are lucky to be along for the ride.”
—Julie Powell, bestselling author of Julie & Julia

In the tradition of My Year of Living Biblically and Eat Pray Love comes My Year with Eleanor, Noelle Hancock’s hilarious tale of her decision to heed the advice of First Lady Eleanor Roosevelt and do one thing a day that scares her in the year before her 30th birthday. Fans of Sloane Crosley and Chelsea Handler will absolutely adore Hancock’s charming and outrageous chronicle of her courageous endeavor and delight in her poignant and inspiring personal growth.

"synopsis" may belong to another edition of this title.

From the Back Cover:

After losing her high-octane job as an entertainment blogger, Noelle Hancock was lost. About to turn twenty-nine, she'd spent her career writing about celebrities' lives and had forgotten how to live her own. Unemployed and full of self-doubt, she had no idea what she wanted out of life. She feared change—in fact, she feared almost everything. Once confident and ambitious, she had become crippled by anxiety, lacking the courage required even to attend a dinner party—until inspiration struck one day in the form of a quote on a chalkboard in a coffee shop:

"Do one thing every day that scares you."
—Eleanor Roosevelt

Painfully timid as a child, Eleanor Roosevelt dedicated herself to facing her fears, a commitment that shaped the rest of her life. With Eleanor as her guide, Noelle spends the months leading up to her thirtieth birthday pursuing a "Year of Fear." From shark diving to fighter pilot lessons, from tap dancing and stand-up comedy to confronting old boyfriends, her hilarious and harrowing adventures teach her about who she is, and what she can become—lessons she makes vital for all of us.

About the Author:

NOELLE HANCOCK is a former staff writer for the New York Observer. Her work has appeared in GQ, Gawker, Us Weekly, and elsewhere. She was born and raised in Houston, Texas, and graduated from Yale University. She lives in Manhattan with her parakeets, Jesus and Stuart. Her parents are still holding out for law school.

"About this title" may belong to another edition of this title.

Top Search Results from the AbeBooks Marketplace

1.

Noelle Hancock
Published by Ecco (2011)
ISBN 10: 0061875031 ISBN 13: 9780061875038
New Hardcover Quantity Available: 1
Seller
pickabook
(san francisco, CA, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Ecco, 2011. Hardcover. Book Condition: New. Bookseller Inventory # mon0000171624

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
US$ 21.98
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: US$ 3.99
Within U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

2.

Hancock, Noelle
Published by Ecco (2011)
ISBN 10: 0061875031 ISBN 13: 9780061875038
New Hardcover Quantity Available: 2
Seller
Murray Media
(North Miami Beach, FL, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Ecco, 2011. Hardcover. Book Condition: New. Bookseller Inventory # P110061875031

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
US$ 45.30
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: US$ 2.99
Within U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

3.

Noelle Hancock
Published by Ecco (2011)
ISBN 10: 0061875031 ISBN 13: 9780061875038
New Hardcover Quantity Available: 1
Seller
Ergodebooks
(RICHMOND, TX, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Ecco, 2011. Hardcover. Book Condition: New. Bookseller Inventory # DADAX0061875031

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
US$ 45.45
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: US$ 3.99
Within U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

4.

Noelle Hancock
ISBN 10: 0061875031 ISBN 13: 9780061875038
New Quantity Available: 1
Seller
Castle Rock
(Pittsford, NY, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Book Condition: Brand New. Book Condition: Brand New. Bookseller Inventory # 97800618750381.0

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
US$ 48.92
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: US$ 3.99
Within U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

5.

Hancock, Noelle
Published by Ecco
ISBN 10: 0061875031 ISBN 13: 9780061875038
New Hardcover Quantity Available: 1
Seller
Cloud 9 Books
(Wellington, FL, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Ecco. Hardcover. Book Condition: New. 0061875031 New Condition. Bookseller Inventory # NEW6.1024777

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
US$ 59.99
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: US$ 4.99
Within U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds