The Secret Lives of the Four Wives: A Novel

3.86 avg rating
( 3,199 ratings by GoodReads )
 
9780061946387: The Secret Lives of the Four Wives: A Novel

“Alternately funny, shocking, and sad…a complex depiction of family and culture in modern-day Nigeria.
Sacramento Book Review

“A magical writer….[A] delicious story.”
Huffington Post

Lola Shoneyin, a fresh and exciting new voice in contemporary fiction, sheds a fascinating light on the little known world of polygamy in modern-day Nigeria, in her fabulously entertaining debut novel, The Secret Lives of the Four Wives. Fans of The 19th Wife and HBO’s Big Love will be enthralled by this colorful and captivating tale of a prosperous African family thrown into turmoil when the patriarch adds a young, well-educated fourth wife into the mix who threatens to expose the other wives’ deepest, darkest secrets.

"synopsis" may belong to another edition of this title.

From the Back Cover:

"I didn't just happen upon this room; I dreamed of the pale green walls before I arrived."

Attempting to rise above the secrets of her past, Bolanle, a university graduate, marries Baba Segi, who promises her everything in exchange for agreeing to become his fourth wife. Thus she enters into a polygamous world filled with expensive clothes, a generous monthly allowance . . . and three Segi wives who disapprove of the newest, youngest, most educated addition to the family. There's Iya Femi, a fiery vixen with a taste for money; Iya Tope, a shy woman whose kindness is eclipsed by terror; and Iya Segi, the first, most lethal, and merciless of them all.

Bolanle quickly becomes Baba Segi's prized possession . . . until her very presence unlocks a secret that the other wives have long since guarded, and unleashing it could change life as they know it.

About the Author:

Lola Shoneyin's work includes three books of poems: So All the Time I Was Sitting on an Egg (1997), Song of a Riverbird (2002) and For the Love of Flight (2010) and two children's books: Mayowa and the Masquerades (2010) and Iyaji, the Housegirl (2014). Her debut novel, The Secret Lives of Baba Segi's Wives (2010), was long-listed for the 2011 Orange Prize for Fiction and won the PEN Oakland 2011 Josephine Miles Literary Award. After teaching both in Nigeria and abroad for many years, Shoneyin now lives in Lagos, Nigeria and organises the Ake Arts and Book Festival.

"About this title" may belong to another edition of this title.

Top Search Results from the AbeBooks Marketplace

1.

Shoneyin, Lola
Published by William Morrow Paperbacks 2011-07-05 (2011)
ISBN 10: 0061946389 ISBN 13: 9780061946387
New PAPERBACK Quantity Available: 1
Seller
The Book Cellar, LLC
(Nashua, NH, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description William Morrow Paperbacks 2011-07-05, 2011. PAPERBACK. Book Condition: New. 0061946389 BRAND NEW. A portion of your purchase of this book will be donated to non-profit organizations. Over 1,000,000 satisfied customers since 1997! We ship daily M-F. Choose expedited shipping (if available) for much faster delivery. Delivery confirmation on all US orders. Bookseller Inventory # Z0061946389ZN

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
US$ 3.50
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: US$ 4.00
Within U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

2.

Shoneyin, Lola
Published by William Morrow Paperbacks 2011-07-05 (2011)
ISBN 10: 0061946389 ISBN 13: 9780061946387
New Paperback Quantity Available: 2
Seller
ThriftTaco
(INDIAN TRAIL, NC, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description William Morrow Paperbacks 2011-07-05, 2011. Paperback. Book Condition: New. Reprint. 0061946389 Brand new and ships pronto! Multiple quantities available. Bookseller Inventory # BOOKS92-9780061946387-11-1467

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
US$ 4.24
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: US$ 3.99
Within U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

3.

Shoneyin, Lola
ISBN 10: 0061946389 ISBN 13: 9780061946387
New Quantity Available: > 20
Seller
BWB
(Valley Stream, NY, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Book Condition: New. Depending on your location, this item may ship from the US or UK. Bookseller Inventory # 97800619463870000000

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
US$ 9.63
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: FREE
Within U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

4.

Shoneyin, Lola
Published by Harper Collins Publishers
ISBN 10: 0061946389 ISBN 13: 9780061946387
New Quantity Available: > 20
Seller
INDOO
(Avenel, NJ, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Harper Collins Publishers. Book Condition: New. Brand New. Bookseller Inventory # 0061946389

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
US$ 7.84
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: US$ 3.50
Within U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

5.

Shoneyin, Lola
Published by William Morrow Paperbacks (2011)
ISBN 10: 0061946389 ISBN 13: 9780061946387
New Paperback Quantity Available: 1
Seller
Ergodebooks
(RICHMOND, TX, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description William Morrow Paperbacks, 2011. Paperback. Book Condition: New. Reprint. Bookseller Inventory # DADAX0061946389

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
US$ 10.36
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: US$ 3.99
Within U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

6.

Shoneyin, Lola
Published by William Morrow Paperbacks (2011)
ISBN 10: 0061946389 ISBN 13: 9780061946387
New Paperback Quantity Available: 1
Seller
Ergodebooks
(RICHMOND, TX, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description William Morrow Paperbacks, 2011. Paperback. Book Condition: New. Bookseller Inventory # BKTY9780061946387

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
US$ 11.38
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: US$ 3.99
Within U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

7.

Shoneyin, Lola
ISBN 10: 0061946389 ISBN 13: 9780061946387
New Quantity Available: 1
Seller
Castle Rock
(Pittsford, NY, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Book Condition: Brand New. Book Condition: Brand New. Bookseller Inventory # 97800619463871.0

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
US$ 11.95
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: US$ 3.99
Within U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

8.

Shoneyin, Lola
Published by William Morrow Paperbacks (2011)
ISBN 10: 0061946389 ISBN 13: 9780061946387
New Paperback Quantity Available: 1
Seller
Irish Booksellers
(Rumford, ME, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description William Morrow Paperbacks, 2011. Paperback. Book Condition: New. book. Bookseller Inventory # 0061946389

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
US$ 20.47
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: FREE
Within U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

9.

Shoneyin, Lola
Published by Avon A (2011)
ISBN 10: 0061946389 ISBN 13: 9780061946387
New Paperback Quantity Available: 1
Seller
Revaluation Books
(Exeter, United Kingdom)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Avon A, 2011. Paperback. Book Condition: Brand New. reprint edition. 280 pages. 8.00x5.25x0.75 inches. In Stock. Bookseller Inventory # 0061946389

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
US$ 34.86
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: US$ 7.43
From United Kingdom to U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds