When the Garden Was Eden: Clyde, the Captain, Dollar Bill, and the Glory Days of the New York Knicks

4.08 avg rating
( 263 ratings by Goodreads )
 
9780061956249: When the Garden Was Eden: Clyde, the Captain, Dollar Bill, and the Glory Days of the New York Knicks

In the tradition of The Boys of Summer and The Bronx Is Burning, New York Times sports columnist Harvey Araton delivers a fascinating look at the 1970s New York Knicks—part autobiography, part sports history, part epic, set against the tumultuous era when Walt Frazier, Willis Reed, and Bill Bradley reigned supreme in the world of basketball. Perfect for readers of Jeff Pearlman’s The Bad Guys Won!, Peter Richmond’s Badasses, and Pat Williams’s Coach Wooden, Araton’s revealing story of the Knicks’ heyday is far more than a review of one of basketball’s greatest teams’ inspiring story—it is, at heart, a stirring recreation of a time and place when the NBA championships defined the national dream.

"synopsis" may belong to another edition of this title.

From the Back Cover:

The late 1960s and early 1970s, in New York City and America at large, were years marked by political tumult, social unrest . . . and the best professional basketball ever played. Paradise, for better or worse, was a hardwood court in midtown Manhattan.

Harvey Araton has followed the Knicks, old and new, for decades—first as a teenage fan, then as a young sports reporter with the New York Post, and now as a writer and columnist for the New York Times. When the Garden Was Eden is the definitive account of the New York Knicks in their vintage pomp. With measured prose and shoe-leather reporting, Araton relives their most glorious triumphs and bitter rivalries, and casts light on a team all but forgotten outside of pregame highlight reels and nostalgic reunions at the Garden.

About the Author:

Harvey Araton has been a sports columnist for the New York Times since 1991. He lives in Montclair, New Jersey, with his wife and two hoops-loving sons.

"About this title" may belong to another edition of this title.

Top Search Results from the AbeBooks Marketplace

1.

Araton, Harvey
ISBN 10: 0061956244 ISBN 13: 9780061956249
New Paperback Quantity Available: 3
Seller
Big River Books
(Powder Springs, GA, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Paperback. Book Condition: New. Brand New! We ship daily Monday - Friday!. Bookseller Inventory # 1EYDQW00269L

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
US$ 1.42
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: US$ 3.49
Within U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

2.

Harvey Araton
ISBN 10: 0061956244 ISBN 13: 9780061956249
New Quantity Available: > 20
Seller
BWB
(Valley Stream, NY, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Book Condition: New. Depending on your location, this item may ship from the US or UK. Bookseller Inventory # 97800619562490000000

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
US$ 11.78
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: FREE
Within U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

3.

Araton, Harvey
ISBN 10: 0061956244 ISBN 13: 9780061956249
New Quantity Available: > 20
Seller
Paperbackshop-US
(Wood Dale, IL, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description 2012. PAP. Book Condition: New. New Book. Shipped from US within 10 to 14 business days. Established seller since 2000. Bookseller Inventory # VC-9780061956249

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
US$ 7.91
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: US$ 3.99
Within U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

4.

Araton, Harvey
Published by Harper Collins Publishers
ISBN 10: 0061956244 ISBN 13: 9780061956249
New Quantity Available: > 20
Seller
INDOO
(Avenel, NJ, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Harper Collins Publishers. Book Condition: New. Brand New. Bookseller Inventory # 0061956244

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
US$ 9.30
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: US$ 3.50
Within U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

5.

Harvey Araton
Published by HarperCollins Publishers Inc, United States (2012)
ISBN 10: 0061956244 ISBN 13: 9780061956249
New Paperback Quantity Available: 1
Seller
The Book Depository US
(London, United Kingdom)
Rating
[?]

Book Description HarperCollins Publishers Inc, United States, 2012. Paperback. Book Condition: New. Reprint. Language: English . Brand New Book. In the tradition of The Boys of Summer and The Bronx Is Burning, New York Times sports columnist Harvey Araton delivers a fascinating look at the 1970s New York Knicks--part autobiography, part sports history, part epic, set against the tumultuous era when Walt Frazier, Willis Reed, and Bill Bradley reigned supreme in the world of basketball. Perfect for readers of Jeff Pearlman s The Bad Guys Won!, Peter Richmond s Badasses, and Pat Williams s Coach Wooden, Araton s revealing story of the Knicks heyday is far more than a review of one of basketball s greatest teams inspiring story--it is, at heart, a stirring recreation of a time and place when the NBA championships defined the national dream. Bookseller Inventory # AAS9780061956249

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
US$ 12.83
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: FREE
From United Kingdom to U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

6.

Harvey Araton
Published by HarperCollins Publishers Inc, United States (2012)
ISBN 10: 0061956244 ISBN 13: 9780061956249
New Paperback Quantity Available: 1
Seller
The Book Depository
(London, United Kingdom)
Rating
[?]

Book Description HarperCollins Publishers Inc, United States, 2012. Paperback. Book Condition: New. Reprint. Language: English . Brand New Book. In the tradition of The Boys of Summer and The Bronx Is Burning, New York Times sports columnist Harvey Araton delivers a fascinating look at the 1970s New York Knicks--part autobiography, part sports history, part epic, set against the tumultuous era when Walt Frazier, Willis Reed, and Bill Bradley reigned supreme in the world of basketball. Perfect for readers of Jeff Pearlman s The Bad Guys Won!, Peter Richmond s Badasses, and Pat Williams s Coach Wooden, Araton s revealing story of the Knicks heyday is far more than a review of one of basketball s greatest teams inspiring story--it is, at heart, a stirring recreation of a time and place when the NBA championships defined the national dream. Bookseller Inventory # AAS9780061956249

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
US$ 13.12
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: FREE
From United Kingdom to U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

7.

Araton, Harvey
ISBN 10: 0061956244 ISBN 13: 9780061956249
New Quantity Available: 7
Seller
Pbshop
(Wood Dale, IL, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description 2012. PAP. Book Condition: New. New Book.Shipped from US within 10 to 14 business days. Established seller since 2000. Bookseller Inventory # IB-9780061956249

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
US$ 9.58
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: US$ 3.99
Within U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

8.

Harvey Araton
Published by HarperCollins Publishers Inc, United States (2012)
ISBN 10: 0061956244 ISBN 13: 9780061956249
New Paperback Quantity Available: 10
Seller
Book Depository hard to find
(London, United Kingdom)
Rating
[?]

Book Description HarperCollins Publishers Inc, United States, 2012. Paperback. Book Condition: New. Reprint. Language: English . This book usually ship within 10-15 business days and we will endeavor to dispatch orders quicker than this where possible. Brand New Book. In the tradition of The Boys of Summer and The Bronx Is Burning, New York Times sports columnist Harvey Araton delivers a fascinating look at the 1970s New York Knicks--part autobiography, part sports history, part epic, set against the tumultuous era when Walt Frazier, Willis Reed, and Bill Bradley reigned supreme in the world of basketball. Perfect for readers of Jeff Pearlman s The Bad Guys Won!, Peter Richmond s Badasses, and Pat Williams s Coach Wooden, Araton s revealing story of the Knicks heyday is far more than a review of one of basketball s greatest teams inspiring story--it is, at heart, a stirring recreation of a time and place when the NBA championships defined the national dream. Bookseller Inventory # BTE9780061956249

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
US$ 13.80
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: FREE
From United Kingdom to U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

9.

Araton, Harvey
ISBN 10: 0061956244 ISBN 13: 9780061956249
New Paperback Quantity Available: 3
Seller
BargainBookStores
(Grand Rapids, MI, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Paperback. Book Condition: New. Bookseller Inventory # 5547278

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
US$ 9.83
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: US$ 3.99
Within U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

10.

Araton, Harvey
Published by Harper Paperbacks
ISBN 10: 0061956244 ISBN 13: 9780061956249
New Quantity Available: 1
Seller
Ohmsoft LLC
(Lake Forest, IL, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Harper Paperbacks. Book Condition: Brand New. Ships from USA. FREE domestic shipping. Bookseller Inventory # 0061956244

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
US$ 14.23
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: FREE
Within U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

There are more copies of this book

View all search results for this book