Don't Sing at the Table: Life Lessons from My Grandmothers

3.63 avg rating
( 1,324 ratings by GoodReads )
 
9780061958946: Don't Sing at the Table: Life Lessons from My Grandmothers

"No one ever reads just one of Trigiani’s wonderfully quirky tales. Once you pick up the first, you are hooked.” —BookPage

New York Times bestselling author Adriana Trigiani shares a treasure trove of insight and guidance from her two grandmothers: time-tested, common sense advice on the most important aspects of a woman’s life, from childhood to the golden years. Seamlessly blending anecdote with life lesson, Don’t Sing at the Table tells the two vibrant women’s real-life stories—how they fell in love, nurtured their marriages, balanced raising children with being savvy businesswomen, and reinvented themselves with each new decade. For readers of Big Stone Gap, Very Valentine, Lucia, Lucia, and Rococo, this loving memoir is the Trigiani family recipe for chicken soup for the soul

"synopsis" may belong to another edition of this title.

From the Back Cover:

As devoted readers of Adriana Trigiani's New York Times bestselling novels know, this "seemingly effortless storyteller" (Boston Globe) frequently draws inspiration from her own family history, in particular from the lives of her two remarkable grandmothers, who have found their way into all Trigiani's cherished novels. In Don't Sing at the Table, this much-beloved writer has gathered their estimable life lessons, revealing how her grandmothers' simple values have shaped her own life, sharing the experiences, humor, and wisdom of her beloved mentors to delight readers of all ages.

Lucia Spada Bonicelli (Lucy) and Yolanda Perin Trigiani (Viola) lived through the twentieth century from beginning to end as working women who juggled careers and motherhood. From the factory line to the family table, Lucy and Viola, the very definition of modern women, cut a path for their granddaughter by demonstrating moxie and pluck in their fearless approach to life, love, and overcoming obstacles.

Lucy's and Viola's traditions and spiritual fortitude will encourage you to hold on to the values that make life rich and beautiful. Their entrepreneurial spirit will inspire you to take risks and reap the rewards. And their remarkable resilience in the face of tragedy will be a source of strength and comfort.

Trigiani visits the past to seek answers to the essential questions that define the challenges women face today at work and at home. This is a primer, grand-mother to granddaughter, filled with everyday wisdom and life lessons that are truly "tiramisu for the soul" (The Examiner), handed down with care and built to last.

About the Author:

Adriana Trigiani is an award-winning playwright, television writer, and documentary filmmaker. The author of the bestselling Big Stone Gap series, Very Valentine; Brava, Valentine; Lucia, Lucia; The Queen of the Big Time; andRococo, she has also written the best-selling memoir Don't Sing at the Table as well as the young adult novels Viola in Reel Life and Viola in the Spotlight. Her books have been published in 36 countries around the world. She has written and will direct the big screen version of her first novel, Big Stone Gap. She lives in New York City with her husband and daughter.

"About this title" may belong to another edition of this title.

Top Search Results from the AbeBooks Marketplace

1.

Trigiani, Adriana
Published by Harper (2010)
ISBN 10: 0061958948 ISBN 13: 9780061958946
New Hardcover Quantity Available: 1
Seller
Irish Booksellers
(Rumford, ME, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Harper, 2010. Hardcover. Book Condition: New. book. Bookseller Inventory # 0061958948

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
US$ 18.84
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: FREE
Within U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

2.

Trigiani, Adriana
ISBN 10: 0061958948 ISBN 13: 9780061958946
New Quantity Available: 1
Seller
LVeritas
(Newton, MA, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Book Condition: New. Gift Quality Book in Excellent Condition. Bookseller Inventory # 36SE5E000FLM

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
US$ 19.31
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: US$ 1.00
Within U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

3.

Trigiani, Adriana
Published by Harper (2010)
ISBN 10: 0061958948 ISBN 13: 9780061958946
New Hardcover Quantity Available: 1
Seller
Book Deals
(Lewiston, NY, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Harper, 2010. Book Condition: New. Brand New, Unread Copy in Perfect Condition. A+ Customer Service! Summary: ".well crafted work with sometime lyrical, sometimes flat-out-funny writing.". Bookseller Inventory # ABE_book_new_0061958948

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
US$ 26.68
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: FREE
Within U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

4.

Trigiani, Adriana
Published by Harper (2010)
ISBN 10: 0061958948 ISBN 13: 9780061958946
New Hardcover First Edition Quantity Available: 1
Seller
Ergodebooks
(RICHMOND, TX, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Harper, 2010. Hardcover. Book Condition: New. First Edition. Bookseller Inventory # DADAX0061958948

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
US$ 22.71
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: US$ 3.99
Within U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

5.

Trigiani, Adriana
Published by Harper
ISBN 10: 0061958948 ISBN 13: 9780061958946
New Hardcover Quantity Available: 1
Seller
M and N Media
(Acworth, GA, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Harper. Hardcover. Book Condition: New. 0061958948 We guarantee all of our items - customer service and satisfaction are our top priorities. Please allow 4 - 14 business days for Standard shipping, within the US. Bookseller Inventory # TM-0061958948

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
US$ 25.96
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: US$ 3.99
Within U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

6.

Trigiani, Adriana
ISBN 10: 0061958948 ISBN 13: 9780061958946
New Quantity Available: 1
Seller
Castle Rock
(Pittsford, NY, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Book Condition: Brand New. Book Condition: Brand New. Bookseller Inventory # 97800619589461.0

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
US$ 32.23
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: US$ 3.99
Within U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

7.

Trigiani, Adriana
Published by Harper (2010)
ISBN 10: 0061958948 ISBN 13: 9780061958946
New Hardcover Quantity Available: 3
Seller
Murray Media
(North Miami Beach, FL, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Harper, 2010. Hardcover. Book Condition: New. Bookseller Inventory # P110061958948

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
US$ 49.11
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: US$ 2.99
Within U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

8.

Trigiani, Adriana
Published by Harper
ISBN 10: 0061958948 ISBN 13: 9780061958946
New Hardcover Quantity Available: 1
Seller
Cloud 9 Books
(West Palm Beach, FL, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Harper. Hardcover. Book Condition: New. 0061958948 New Condition. Bookseller Inventory # NEW6.0020147

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
US$ 59.99
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: US$ 4.99
Within U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds