The Amazing Adventures of John Smith, Jr. AKA Houdini

3.57 avg rating
( 216 ratings by Goodreads )
 
9780061988912: The Amazing Adventures of John Smith, Jr. AKA Houdini
View all copies of this ISBN edition:
 
 

For fans of Jerry Spinelli's Maniac Magee, Gary D. Schmidt's The Wednesday Wars, and Jack Gantos's Joey Pigza Books comes a hilarious and poignant slice-of-life novel from critically acclaimed author and poet Peter Johnson.

When an author comes to speak to his class in a rundown area of Providence, Houdini decides to make money by writing his own novel. Houdini chronicles his life as he and his friends start a leaf-raking business, befriend Old Man Jackson (a Vietnam War veteran with a seriously intimidating dog), and get even with the neighborhood bully, Angel. But it's hard to find a way to write about his dad losing his job or his brother, Franklin, who is first reported missing in action in Iraq and then still seems to be missing when he comes home.

No matter what, Houdini and his friends rely on one another to figure out how to do the right thing. And Houdini discovers that writing and thinking about his friends and family lets him get to know them in completely new ways.

"synopsis" may belong to another edition of this title.

From the Back Cover:

When an author comes to speak to his class in a rundown area of Providence, Houdini decides to make money by writing his own novel.

Rule #8 for Writing a Kid's Novel: Try to include a few lists in your novel. Kids like lists.

After all, Houdini's life is way more interesting than the kid the author wrote about.

Houdini chronicles his life as he and his friends start a leaf-raking business; befriend Old Man Jackson, a Vietnam War veteran with a seriously scary dog; and get even with the neighborhood bully, Angel. But it's hard to find a way to write about his dad losing his job or his brother, Franklin, who is reported missing in action in Iraq.

No matter what, Houdini and his friends will have to stick together to figure out how to do the right thing.

About the Author:

Peter Johnson grew up in Buffalo, New York, at a time when they had a good football team, which seems like fifty years ago. Similar to Benny Alvarez and his friends, Peter always loved words, knowing he was going to be a teacher or a professional baseball player. Also, being from a long line of Irish storytellers, he loved reading and telling tales, and when he realized that his stories changed every time he told them, and that he could get paid for this kind of lying, he decided to become a novelist. His first middle grade novel, The Amazing Adventures of John Smith, Jr. AKA Houdini, was named one of the Best Children's Books by Kirkus Reviews, and he's received many writing fellowships, most notably from the National Endowment for the Arts.

"About this title" may belong to another edition of this title.

Other Popular Editions of the Same Title

9780061988905: The Amazing Adventures of John Smith, Jr. AKA Houdini

Featured Edition

ISBN 10:  0061988901 ISBN 13:  9780061988905
Publisher: HarperCollins, 2012
Hardcover

Top Search Results from the AbeBooks Marketplace

1.

Johnson, Peter
ISBN 10: 006198891X ISBN 13: 9780061988912
New Quantity Available: > 20
Seller:
Paperbackshop-US
(Wood Dale, IL, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description 2014. PAP. Condition: New. New Book. Shipped from US within 10 to 14 business days. Established seller since 2000. Seller Inventory # VC-9780061988912

More information about this seller | Contact this seller

Buy New
US$ 3.12
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: US$ 3.99
Within U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

2.

Johnson, Peter
Published by Harper Collins 2014-07-29 (2014)
ISBN 10: 006198891X ISBN 13: 9780061988912
New Paperback Quantity Available: > 20
Seller:
BookOutlet
(Thorold, ON, Canada)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Harper Collins 2014-07-29, 2014. Paperback. Condition: New. Paperback. Publisher overstock, may contain remainder mark on edge. Seller Inventory # 9780061988912B

More information about this seller | Contact this seller

Buy New
US$ 2.49
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: US$ 6.00
From Canada to U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

3.

Peter Johnson
Published by HarperCollins (2014)
ISBN 10: 006198891X ISBN 13: 9780061988912
New Paperback Quantity Available: 1
Seller:
Book Depository International
(London, United Kingdom)
Rating
[?]

Book Description HarperCollins, 2014. Paperback. Condition: New. Reprint. Language: English . Brand New Book. For fans of Jerry Spinelli s Maniac Magee, Gary D. Schmidt s The Wednesday Wars, and Jack Gantos s Joey Pigza Books comes a hilarious and poignant slice-of-life novel from critically acclaimed author and poet Peter Johnson. When an author comes to speak to his class in a rundown area of Providence, Houdini decides to make money by writing his own novel. Houdini chronicles his life as he and his friends start a leaf-raking business, befriend Old Man Jackson (a Vietnam War veteran with a seriously intimidating dog), and get even with the neighborhood bully, Angel. But it s hard to find a way to write about his dad losing his job or his brother, Franklin, who is first reported missing in action in Iraq and then still seems to be missing when he comes home. No matter what, Houdini and his friends rely on one another to figure out how to do the right thing. And Houdini discovers that writing and thinking about his friends and family lets him get to know them in completely new ways. Seller Inventory # FLT9780061988912

More information about this seller | Contact this seller

Buy New
US$ 8.53
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: FREE
From United Kingdom to U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

4.

Peter Johnson
Published by HarperCollins (2014)
ISBN 10: 006198891X ISBN 13: 9780061988912
New Paperback Quantity Available: 10
Seller:
Book Depository hard to find
(London, United Kingdom)
Rating
[?]

Book Description HarperCollins, 2014. Paperback. Condition: New. Reprint. Language: English . This book usually ship within 10-15 business days and we will endeavor to dispatch orders quicker than this where possible. Brand New Book. For fans of Jerry Spinelli s Maniac Magee, Gary D. Schmidt s The Wednesday Wars, and Jack Gantos s Joey Pigza Books comes a hilarious and poignant slice-of-life novel from critically acclaimed author and poet Peter Johnson. When an author comes to speak to his class in a rundown area of Providence, Houdini decides to make money by writing his own novel. Houdini chronicles his life as he and his friends start a leaf-raking business, befriend Old Man Jackson (a Vietnam War veteran with a seriously intimidating dog), and get even with the neighborhood bully, Angel. But it s hard to find a way to write about his dad losing his job or his brother, Franklin, who is first reported missing in action in Iraq and then still seems to be missing when he comes home. No matter what, Houdini and his friends rely on one another to figure out how to do the right thing. And Houdini discovers that writing and thinking about his friends and family lets him get to know them in completely new ways. Seller Inventory # BZE9780061988912

More information about this seller | Contact this seller

Buy New
US$ 11.31
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: FREE
From United Kingdom to U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

5.

Peter Johnson
Published by HarperCollins (2014)
ISBN 10: 006198891X ISBN 13: 9780061988912
New Paperback Quantity Available: 1
Seller:
The Book Depository
(London, United Kingdom)
Rating
[?]

Book Description HarperCollins, 2014. Paperback. Condition: New. Reprint. Language: English . Brand New Book. For fans of Jerry Spinelli s Maniac Magee, Gary D. Schmidt s The Wednesday Wars, and Jack Gantos s Joey Pigza Books comes a hilarious and poignant slice-of-life novel from critically acclaimed author and poet Peter Johnson. When an author comes to speak to his class in a rundown area of Providence, Houdini decides to make money by writing his own novel. Houdini chronicles his life as he and his friends start a leaf-raking business, befriend Old Man Jackson (a Vietnam War veteran with a seriously intimidating dog), and get even with the neighborhood bully, Angel. But it s hard to find a way to write about his dad losing his job or his brother, Franklin, who is first reported missing in action in Iraq and then still seems to be missing when he comes home. No matter what, Houdini and his friends rely on one another to figure out how to do the right thing. And Houdini discovers that writing and thinking about his friends and family lets him get to know them in completely new ways. Seller Inventory # FLT9780061988912

More information about this seller | Contact this seller

Buy New
US$ 11.31
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: FREE
From United Kingdom to U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

6.

Johnson, Peter
Published by Harpercollins Childrens Books (2014)
ISBN 10: 006198891X ISBN 13: 9780061988912
New Paperback Quantity Available: 1
Seller:
Revaluation Books
(Exeter, United Kingdom)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Harpercollins Childrens Books, 2014. Paperback. Condition: Brand New. reprint edition. 168 pages. 7.50x5.25x0.25 inches. In Stock. Seller Inventory # zk006198891X

More information about this seller | Contact this seller

Buy New
US$ 9.61
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: US$ 7.99
From United Kingdom to U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

7.

Peter Johnson
Published by HarperCollins (2014)
ISBN 10: 006198891X ISBN 13: 9780061988912
New Softcover Quantity Available: 1
Seller:
Irish Booksellers
(Portland, ME, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description HarperCollins, 2014. Condition: New. book. Seller Inventory # M006198891X

More information about this seller | Contact this seller

Buy New
US$ 19.66
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: FREE
Within U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

8.

Johnson, Peter
Published by HarperCollins (2014)
ISBN 10: 006198891X ISBN 13: 9780061988912
New Paperback Quantity Available: 2
Seller:
Murray Media
(North Miami Beach, FL, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description HarperCollins, 2014. Paperback. Condition: New. Never used!. Seller Inventory # P11006198891X

More information about this seller | Contact this seller

Buy New
US$ 37.33
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: FREE
Within U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds