The Amazing Adventures of John Smith, Jr. AKA Houdini

3.57 avg rating
( 208 ratings by Goodreads )
 
9780061988912: The Amazing Adventures of John Smith, Jr. AKA Houdini

When an author comes to speak to his class in a rundown area of Providence, Houdini decides to make money by writing his own novel.

Rule #8 for Writing a Kid’s Novel: Try to include a few lists in your novel. Kids like lists.

Houdini is way more interesting than the kid the author wrote about.

Rule #6: You have to like your characters or the reader won’t care about them. (How can I not like myself?)

Houdini chronicles his life as he and his friends start a leaf-raking business, befriend Old Man Jackson, a Vietnam War veteran with a seriously intimidating dog, and get even with the neighborhood bully, Angel. But it’s hard to find a way to write about his dad losing his job or his brother, Franklin, who is first reported missing in action in Iraq and then still seems to be missing when he comes home.

No matter what, Houdini and his friends rely on one another to figure out how to do the right thing. And Houdini discovers that writing and thinking about his friends and family lets him get to know them in completely new ways.

"synopsis" may belong to another edition of this title.

Product Description:

For fans of Jerry Spinelli's Maniac Magee, Gary D. Schmidt's The Wednesday Wars, and Jack Gantos's Joey Pigza Books comes a hilarious and poignant slice-of-life novel from critically acclaimed author and poet Peter Johnson.

When an author comes to speak to his class in a rundown area of Providence, Houdini decides to make money by writing his own novel. Houdini chronicles his life as he and his friends start a leaf-raking business, befriend Old Man Jackson (a Vietnam War veteran with a seriously intimidating dog), and get even with the neighborhood bully, Angel. But it's hard to find a way to write about his dad losing his job or his brother, Franklin, who is first reported missing in action in Iraq and then still seems to be missing when he comes home.

No matter what, Houdini and his friends rely on one another to figure out how to do the right thing. And Houdini discovers that writing and thinking about his friends and family lets him get to know them in completely new ways.

From the Back Cover:

When an author comes to speak to his class in a rundown area of Providence, Houdini decides to make money by writing his own novel.

Rule #8 for Writing a Kid's Novel: Try to include a few lists in your novel. Kids like lists.

After all, Houdini's life is way more interesting than the kid the author wrote about.

Houdini chronicles his life as he and his friends start a leaf-raking business; befriend Old Man Jackson, a Vietnam War veteran with a seriously scary dog; and get even with the neighborhood bully, Angel. But it's hard to find a way to write about his dad losing his job or his brother, Franklin, who is reported missing in action in Iraq.

No matter what, Houdini and his friends will have to stick together to figure out how to do the right thing.

"About this title" may belong to another edition of this title.

Top Search Results from the AbeBooks Marketplace

1.

Peter Johnson
ISBN 10: 006198891X ISBN 13: 9780061988912
New Quantity Available: > 20
Seller
BWB
(Valley Stream, NY, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Book Condition: New. Depending on your location, this item may ship from the US or UK. Bookseller Inventory # 97800619889120000000

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
US$ 6.95
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: FREE
Within U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

2.

Johnson, Peter
Published by Harper Collins Publishers
ISBN 10: 006198891X ISBN 13: 9780061988912
New Quantity Available: > 20
Seller
INDOO
(Avenel, NJ, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Harper Collins Publishers. Book Condition: New. Brand New. Bookseller Inventory # 006198891X

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
US$ 3.66
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: US$ 3.50
Within U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

3.

Johnson, Peter
ISBN 10: 006198891X ISBN 13: 9780061988912
New Quantity Available: > 20
Seller
Paperbackshop-US
(Wood Dale, IL, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description 2014. PAP. Book Condition: New. New Book. Shipped from US within 10 to 14 business days. Established seller since 2000. Bookseller Inventory # VC-9780061988912

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
US$ 3.24
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: US$ 3.99
Within U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

4.

Peter Johnson
Published by HarperCollins, United States (2014)
ISBN 10: 006198891X ISBN 13: 9780061988912
New Paperback Quantity Available: 10
Seller
Book Depository hard to find
(London, United Kingdom)
Rating
[?]

Book Description HarperCollins, United States, 2014. Paperback. Book Condition: New. Reprint. 185 x 130 mm. Language: English . This book usually ship within 10-15 business days and we will endeavor to dispatch orders quicker than this where possible. Brand New Book. For fans of Jerry Spinelli s Maniac Magee, Gary D. Schmidt s The Wednesday Wars, and Jack Gantos s Joey Pigza Books comes a hilarious and poignant slice-of-life novel from critically acclaimed author and poet Peter Johnson. When an author comes to speak to his class in a rundown area of Providence, Houdini decides to make money by writing his own novel. Houdini chronicles his life as he and his friends start a leaf-raking business, befriend Old Man Jackson (a Vietnam War veteran with a seriously intimidating dog), and get even with the neighborhood bully, Angel. But it s hard to find a way to write about his dad losing his job or his brother, Franklin, who is first reported missing in action in Iraq and then still seems to be missing when he comes home. No matter what, Houdini and his friends rely on one another to figure out how to do the right thing. And Houdini discovers that writing and thinking about his friends and family lets him get to know them in completely new ways. Bookseller Inventory # BZE9780061988912

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
US$ 7.37
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: FREE
From United Kingdom to U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

5.

Peter Johnson
Published by HarperCollins, United States (2014)
ISBN 10: 006198891X ISBN 13: 9780061988912
New Paperback Quantity Available: 1
Seller
The Book Depository US
(London, United Kingdom)
Rating
[?]

Book Description HarperCollins, United States, 2014. Paperback. Book Condition: New. Reprint. 185 x 130 mm. Language: English . Brand New Book. For fans of Jerry Spinelli s Maniac Magee, Gary D. Schmidt s The Wednesday Wars, and Jack Gantos s Joey Pigza Books comes a hilarious and poignant slice-of-life novel from critically acclaimed author and poet Peter Johnson. When an author comes to speak to his class in a rundown area of Providence, Houdini decides to make money by writing his own novel. Houdini chronicles his life as he and his friends start a leaf-raking business, befriend Old Man Jackson (a Vietnam War veteran with a seriously intimidating dog), and get even with the neighborhood bully, Angel. But it s hard to find a way to write about his dad losing his job or his brother, Franklin, who is first reported missing in action in Iraq and then still seems to be missing when he comes home. No matter what, Houdini and his friends rely on one another to figure out how to do the right thing. And Houdini discovers that writing and thinking about his friends and family lets him get to know them in completely new ways. Bookseller Inventory # FLT9780061988912

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
US$ 7.42
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: FREE
From United Kingdom to U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

6.

Peter Johnson
Published by HarperCollins, United States (2014)
ISBN 10: 006198891X ISBN 13: 9780061988912
New Paperback Quantity Available: 1
Seller
The Book Depository
(London, United Kingdom)
Rating
[?]

Book Description HarperCollins, United States, 2014. Paperback. Book Condition: New. Reprint. 185 x 130 mm. Language: English . Brand New Book. For fans of Jerry Spinelli s Maniac Magee, Gary D. Schmidt s The Wednesday Wars, and Jack Gantos s Joey Pigza Books comes a hilarious and poignant slice-of-life novel from critically acclaimed author and poet Peter Johnson. When an author comes to speak to his class in a rundown area of Providence, Houdini decides to make money by writing his own novel. Houdini chronicles his life as he and his friends start a leaf-raking business, befriend Old Man Jackson (a Vietnam War veteran with a seriously intimidating dog), and get even with the neighborhood bully, Angel. But it s hard to find a way to write about his dad losing his job or his brother, Franklin, who is first reported missing in action in Iraq and then still seems to be missing when he comes home. No matter what, Houdini and his friends rely on one another to figure out how to do the right thing. And Houdini discovers that writing and thinking about his friends and family lets him get to know them in completely new ways. Bookseller Inventory # FLT9780061988912

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
US$ 7.53
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: FREE
From United Kingdom to U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

7.

Peter Johnson
ISBN 10: 006198891X ISBN 13: 9780061988912
New Quantity Available: 1
Seller
Castle Rock
(Pittsford, NY, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Book Condition: Brand New. Book Condition: Brand New. Bookseller Inventory # 97800619889121.0

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
US$ 16.91
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: US$ 3.99
Within U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

8.

Johnson, Peter
Published by Harpercollins Childrens Books (2014)
ISBN 10: 006198891X ISBN 13: 9780061988912
New Paperback Quantity Available: 1
Seller
Revaluation Books
(Exeter, United Kingdom)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Harpercollins Childrens Books, 2014. Paperback. Book Condition: Brand New. reprint edition. 168 pages. 7.50x5.25x0.25 inches. In Stock. Bookseller Inventory # 006198891X

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
US$ 19.21
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: US$ 7.69
From United Kingdom to U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

9.

Johnson, Peter
Published by HarperCollins (2014)
ISBN 10: 006198891X ISBN 13: 9780061988912
New Paperback Quantity Available: 1
Seller
Irish Booksellers
(Rumford, ME, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description HarperCollins, 2014. Paperback. Book Condition: New. book. Bookseller Inventory # 006198891X

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
US$ 28.15
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: FREE
Within U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

10.

Peter Johnson
ISBN 10: 006198891X ISBN 13: 9780061988912
New Paperback Quantity Available: 1
Seller
AussieBookSeller
(SILVERWATER, NSW, Australia)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Paperback. Book Condition: New. 130mm x 11mm x 195mm. Paperback. When John Smith, Jr., AKA HoudiniNnicknamed after his hero, Harry HoudiniNdecides to write a novel about his life, he soon discovers that writing about his friends and family.Shipping may be from our Sydney, NSW warehouse or from our UK or US warehouse, depending on stock availability. 192 pages. 0.132. Bookseller Inventory # 9780061988912

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
US$ 11.53
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: US$ 28.00
From Australia to U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds