The Happiness Project: Why I Spent a Year Trying to Sing in the Morning, Clean My Closets, Fight Right, Read Aristotle, and Generally Have More Fun

3.57 avg rating
( 102,019 ratings by Goodreads )
 
9780062011947: The Happiness Project: Why I Spent a Year Trying to Sing in the Morning, Clean My Closets, Fight Right, Read Aristotle, and Generally Have More Fun

“This book made me happy in the first five pages.” —AJ Jacobs, author of The Year of Living Biblically: One Man's Humble Quest to Follow the Bible as Literally as Possible

Award-winning author Gretchen Rubin is back with a bang, with The Happiness Project. The author of the bestselling 40 Ways to Look at Winston Churchill has produced a work that is “a cross between the Dalai Lama’s The Art of Happiness and Elizabeth Gilbert’s Eat, Pray, Love.” (Sonya Lyubomirsky, author of The How of Happiness: A Scientific Approach to Getting the Life You Want) In the vein of Julie and Julia, The Happiness Project describes one person’s year-long attempt to discover what leads to true contentment. Drawing at once on cutting-edge science, classical philosophy, and real-world applicability, Rubin has written an engaging, eminently relatable chronicle of transformation.

"synopsis" may belong to another edition of this title.

From the Back Cover:

“Wonderful. . . . Rubin shows how you can be happier, starting right now, with small, actionable steps accessible to everyone.” —Julie Morgenstern, New York Times bestselling author of Organizing from the Inside Out

Gretchen Rubin had an epiphany one rainy afternoon in the unlikeliest of places: a city bus. “The days are long, but the years are short,” she realized. “Time is passing, and I’m not focusing enough on the things that really matter.” In that moment, she decided to dedicate a year to her happiness project.

In this lively and compelling account—now updated with new material by the author—Rubin chronicles her adventures during the twelve months she spent test-driving the wisdom of the ages, current scientific research, and lessons from popular culture about how to be happier. Among other things, she found that novelty and challenge are powerful sources of happiness; that money can help buy happiness, when spent wisely; that outer order contributes to inner calm; and that the very smallest of changes can make the biggest difference.

“An enlightening, laugh-aloud read.”—Christian Science Monitor

This updated edition includes:

·      A new extensive interview with the author

·      Secrets of Adulthood

·      An excerpt from Gretchen Rubin’s new book, Better Than Before: What I Learned About Making and Breaking Habits—to Sleep More, Quit Sugar, Procrastinate Less, and Generally Build a Happier Life

About the Author:

Gretchen Rubin is the author of several bestselling books, including Better Than Before and Happier at Home. She was clerking for Supreme Court Justice Sandra Day O’Connor when she realized that she really wanted to be a writer. She lives in New York City with her husband and two daughters.

"About this title" may belong to another edition of this title.

Top Search Results from the AbeBooks Marketplace

1.

Rubin, Gretchen
Published by Harper Perennial 2010-04-20 (2010)
ISBN 10: 0062011944 ISBN 13: 9780062011947
New Paperback Quantity Available: 1
Seller
M and N Media
(Acworth, GA, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Harper Perennial 2010-04-20, 2010. Paperback. Book Condition: New. 0062011944 We guarantee all of our items - customer service and satisfaction are our top priorities. Please allow 4 - 14 business days for Standard shipping, within the US. Bookseller Inventory # TM-0062011944

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
US$ 20.62
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: US$ 3.99
Within U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

2.

Gretchen Rubin
Published by Harper Perennial (2010)
ISBN 10: 0062011944 ISBN 13: 9780062011947
New Paperback Quantity Available: 1
Seller
Irish Booksellers
(Rumford, ME, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Harper Perennial, 2010. Paperback. Book Condition: New. book. Bookseller Inventory # 0062011944

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
US$ 32.74
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: FREE
Within U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

3.

Rubin, Gretchen
Published by Harpercollins (2010)
ISBN 10: 0062011944 ISBN 13: 9780062011947
New Paperback Quantity Available: 1
Seller
Revaluation Books
(Exeter, United Kingdom)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Harpercollins, 2010. Paperback. Book Condition: Brand New. 298 pages. 8.98x5.94x0.79 inches. In Stock. Bookseller Inventory # zk0062011944

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
US$ 29.44
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: US$ 7.87
From United Kingdom to U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

4.

Gretchen Rubin
Published by HarperCollins (2010)
ISBN 10: 0062011944 ISBN 13: 9780062011947
New Paperback Quantity Available: 1
Seller
Ergodebooks
(RICHMOND, TX, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description HarperCollins, 2010. Paperback. Book Condition: New. Bookseller Inventory # DADAX0062011944

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
US$ 34.86
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: US$ 3.99
Within U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

5.

Rubin, Gretchen
Published by Harper Perennial (2010)
ISBN 10: 0062011944 ISBN 13: 9780062011947
New Paperback Quantity Available: 2
Seller
Murray Media
(North Miami Beach, FL, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Harper Perennial, 2010. Paperback. Book Condition: New. Bookseller Inventory # P110062011944

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
US$ 38.79
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: US$ 2.99
Within U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds