A Bitter Truth: A Bess Crawford Mystery (Bess Crawford Mysteries)

3.88 avg rating
( 4,458 ratings by GoodReads )
 
9780062015709: A Bitter Truth: A Bess Crawford Mystery (Bess Crawford Mysteries)

“Highly recommended—well-rounded, believable characters, a multi-layered plot solidly based on human nature, all authentically set in the England of 1917…an outstanding and riveting read.”
New York Times bestselling author Stephanie Laurens

“Bess Crawford is a strong and likable character.”
Washington Times

Already deservedly lauded for the superb historical crime novels featuring shell-shocked Scotland Yard inspector Ian Rutledge (A Lonely Death, A Pale Horse et al), acclaimed author Charles Todd upped the ante by introducing readers to a wonderful new series protagonist, World War One battlefield nurse Bess Crawford. Featured for a third time in A Bitter Truth, Bess reaches out to help an abused and frightened young woman, only to discover that no good deed ever goes unpunished when the good Samaritan nurse finds herself falsely accused of murder. A terrific follow up to Todd’s A Duty to the Dead and An Impartial Witness, A Bitter Truth is another thrilling and evocative mystery from “one of the most respected writers in the genre” (Denver Post) and a treat for fans of Elizabeth George, Anne Perry, Martha Grimes, and Jacqueline Winspear.

"synopsis" may belong to another edition of this title.

From the Back Cover:

Trying to help a woman in distress, World War I nurse and accidental sleuth Bess Crawford learns that no good deed goes unpunished

When battlefield nurse Bess Crawford returns from France for a well-earned Christmas leave, she finds a bruised and shivering woman huddled in the doorway of her London residence. The woman has nowhere to turn, and propelled by a firm sense of duty, Bess takes her in.

Once inside Bess’s flat, the woman reveals that a quarrel with her husband erupted into violence, yet she wants to return home—if Bess will go with her to Sussex. Realizing that the woman is suffering from a concussion, Bess gives up a few precious days of leave to travel with her. But she soon discovers that this is a good deed with unforeseeable consequences.

What Bess finds at Vixen Hill is a house of mourning. The woman’s family has gathered for a memorial service for the elder son, who died of war wounds. Her husband, home on compassionate leave, is tense, tormented by jealousy and his own guilty conscience.

Then, when a troubled houseguest is found dead, Bess herself becomes a prime suspect in the case. This murder will lead her to a dangerous quest in war-torn France, an unexpected ally, and a startling revelation that puts her in jeopardy before a vicious killer can be exposed.

About the Author:

Charles Todd is the New York Times bestselling author of the Inspector Ian Rutledge mysteries, the Bess Crawford mysteries, and two stand-alone novels. A mother-and-son writing team, they live in Delaware and North Carolina, respectively.

"About this title" may belong to another edition of this title.

Top Search Results from the AbeBooks Marketplace

1.

Todd, Charles
Published by William Morrow
ISBN 10: 0062015702 ISBN 13: 9780062015709
New Hardcover Quantity Available: 1
Seller
Your Online Bookstore
(Houston, TX, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description William Morrow. Hardcover. Book Condition: New. 0062015702. Bookseller Inventory # HGT1090PBLM082316H0136

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
US$ 6.05
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: US$ 2.95
Within U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

2.

Todd, Charles
ISBN 10: 0062015702 ISBN 13: 9780062015709
New Quantity Available: 1
Seller
Castle Rock
(Pittsford, NY, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Book Condition: Brand New. Book Condition: Brand New. Bookseller Inventory # 97800620157091.0

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
US$ 16.05
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: US$ 3.99
Within U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

3.

Todd, Charles
Published by William Morrow, New York (2011)
ISBN 10: 0062015702 ISBN 13: 9780062015709
New Hardcover First Edition Signed Quantity Available: 1
Seller
Scene of the Crime
(St. Catharines, ON, Canada)
Rating
[?]

Book Description William Morrow, New York, 2011. Hardcover. Book Condition: New. Dust Jacket Condition: New. 1st Edition. First edition first printing of the third novel in the Bess Crawford series. SIGNED by both Charles and Caroline on the title page. In fine / fine unread condition. Signed by Author(s). Bookseller Inventory # 20387

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
US$ 25.00
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: FREE
From Canada to U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

4.

Todd, Charles
Published by William Morrow 2011-08-30 (2011)
ISBN 10: 0062015702 ISBN 13: 9780062015709
New Hardcover Quantity Available: 1
Seller
M and N Media
(Acworth, GA, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description William Morrow 2011-08-30, 2011. Hardcover. Book Condition: New. 1. 0062015702 We guarantee all of our items - customer service and satisfaction are our top priorities. Please allow 4 - 14 business days for Standard shipping, within the US. Bookseller Inventory # TM-0062015702

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
US$ 21.86
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: US$ 3.99
Within U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

5.

Todd, Charles
Published by William Morrow (2011)
ISBN 10: 0062015702 ISBN 13: 9780062015709
New Hardcover Quantity Available: 1
Seller
Irish Booksellers
(Rumford, ME, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description William Morrow, 2011. Hardcover. Book Condition: New. book. Bookseller Inventory # 0062015702

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
US$ 31.18
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: FREE
Within U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

6.

Todd, Charles
Published by William Morrow, U.S.A. (2011)
ISBN 10: 0062015702 ISBN 13: 9780062015709
New Hardcover First Edition Quantity Available: 1
Seller
Mad Hatter Bookstore
(Westbank, BC, Canada)
Rating
[?]

Book Description William Morrow, U.S.A., 2011. Hardcover. Book Condition: New. Dust Jacket Condition: New. 1st Edition. 8vo - over 7¾ - 9¾" tall. Black dot on foot edge.World War One battlefield nurse Bess Crawford is featured for a third time in A Bitter Truth . Bess reaches out to help an abused and frightened young woman, only to discover that no good deed ever goes unpunished when the good Samaritan nurse finds herself falsely accused of murder. Bookseller Inventory # 005470

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
US$ 22.00
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: US$ 16.95
From Canada to U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

7.

Todd, Charles
Published by William Morrow (2011)
ISBN 10: 0062015702 ISBN 13: 9780062015709
New Hardcover First Edition Signed Quantity Available: 1
Seller
Outlaw Books
(Housto, TX, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description William Morrow, 2011. Hardcover. Book Condition: New. Dust Jacket Condition: New. 1st Edition. Brand New - Unread - Binding is clean, tight and straight w/ sharp corners; no dents, bumps or scrapes; dust jkt is clean and bright w/ no tears, stains or wrinkles; not price clipped or marked in any way. The third Bess Crawford mystery. SIGNED ON THE TITLE PAGE BY BOTH AUTHORS. Wrapped in Brodart mylar, carefully packaged and shipped in a box. Signed by Author(s). Book. Bookseller Inventory # 001824

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
US$ 35.00
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: US$ 3.99
Within U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

8.

Todd, Charles
Published by William Morrow (2011)
ISBN 10: 0062015702 ISBN 13: 9780062015709
New Hardcover Quantity Available: 3
Seller
Murray Media
(North Miami Beach, FL, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description William Morrow, 2011. Hardcover. Book Condition: New. Bookseller Inventory # P110062015702

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
US$ 37.13
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: US$ 2.99
Within U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

9.

Todd, Charles
Published by William Morrow (2011)
ISBN 10: 0062015702 ISBN 13: 9780062015709
New Hardcover Quantity Available: 1
Seller
Ergodebooks
(RICHMOND, TX, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description William Morrow, 2011. Hardcover. Book Condition: New. 1. Bookseller Inventory # DADAX0062015702

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
US$ 41.62
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: US$ 3.99
Within U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds