A Bitter Truth: A Bess Crawford Mystery (Bess Crawford Mysteries)

3.89 avg rating
( 5,599 ratings by Goodreads )
 
9780062015709: A Bitter Truth: A Bess Crawford Mystery (Bess Crawford Mysteries)
View all copies of this ISBN edition:
 
 

“Highly recommended—well-rounded, believable characters, a multi-layered plot solidly based on human nature, all authentically set in the England of 1917...an outstanding and riveting read.”
New York Times bestselling author Stephanie Laurens

“Bess Crawford is a strong and likable character.”
Washington Times

Already deservedly lauded for the superb historical crime novels featuring shell-shocked Scotland Yard inspector Ian Rutledge (A Lonely Death, A Pale Horse et al), acclaimed author Charles Todd upped the ante by introducing readers to a wonderful new series protagonist, World War One battlefield nurse Bess Crawford. Featured for a third time in A Bitter Truth, Bess reaches out to help an abused and frightened young woman, only to discover that no good deed ever goes unpunished when the good Samaritan nurse finds herself falsely accused of murder. A terrific follow up to Todd’s A Duty to the Dead and An Impartial Witness, A Bitter Truth is another thrilling and evocative mystery from “one of the most respected writers in the genre” (Denver Post) and a treat for fans of Elizabeth George, Anne Perry, Martha Grimes, and Jacqueline Winspear.

"synopsis" may belong to another edition of this title.

From the Back Cover:

Trying to help a woman in distress, World War I nurse and accidental sleuth Bess Crawford learns that no good deed goes unpunished

When battlefield nurse Bess Crawford returns from France for a well-earned Christmas leave, she finds a bruised and shivering woman huddled in the doorway of her London residence. The woman has nowhere to turn, and propelled by a firm sense of duty, Bess takes her in.

Once inside Bess’s flat, the woman reveals that a quarrel with her husband erupted into violence, yet she wants to return home—if Bess will go with her to Sussex. Realizing that the woman is suffering from a concussion, Bess gives up a few precious days of leave to travel with her. But she soon discovers that this is a good deed with unforeseeable consequences.

What Bess finds at Vixen Hill is a house of mourning. The woman’s family has gathered for a memorial service for the elder son, who died of war wounds. Her husband, home on compassionate leave, is tense, tormented by jealousy and his own guilty conscience.

Then, when a troubled houseguest is found dead, Bess herself becomes a prime suspect in the case. This murder will lead her to a dangerous quest in war-torn France, an unexpected ally, and a startling revelation that puts her in jeopardy before a vicious killer can be exposed.

About the Author:

Charles Todd is the New York Times bestselling author of the Inspector Ian Rutledge mysteries, the Bess Crawford mysteries, and two stand-alone novels. Among the honors accorded to the Ian Rutledge mysteries are the Barry Award and nominations for the Independent Mystery Booksellers Association’s Dilys Award, the Edgar and Anthony Awards in the U.S., and the John Creasey Award in the UK. A mother-and-son writing team, they live on the East Coast.

"About this title" may belong to another edition of this title.

Other Popular Editions of the Same Title

9780062015716: A Bitter Truth: A Bess Crawford Mystery (Bess Crawford Mysteries)

Featured Edition

ISBN 10:  0062015710 ISBN 13:  9780062015716
Publisher: William Morrow Paperbacks, 2012
Softcover

9780062088550: A Bitter Truth: A Bess Crawford Mystery (Bess Crawford Mysteries)

Harper..., 2011
Softcover

Top Search Results from the AbeBooks Marketplace

1.

Charles Todd
Published by William Morrow (2011)
ISBN 10: 0062015702 ISBN 13: 9780062015709
New Hardcover Quantity Available: 1
Seller:
Ergodebooks
(RICHMOND, TX, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description William Morrow, 2011. Hardcover. Condition: New. 1. Seller Inventory # DADAX0062015702

More information about this seller | Contact this seller

Buy New
US$ 24.19
Convert currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: US$ 3.99
Within U.S.A.
Destination, rates & speeds

2.

Charles Todd
Published by William Morrow (2011)
ISBN 10: 0062015702 ISBN 13: 9780062015709
New Hardcover Quantity Available: 1
Seller:
Irish Booksellers
(Portland, ME, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description William Morrow, 2011. Condition: New. book. Seller Inventory # M0062015702

More information about this seller | Contact this seller

Buy New
US$ 27.46
Convert currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: US$ 3.27
Within U.S.A.
Destination, rates & speeds

3.

Todd, Charles
Published by William Morrow (2011)
ISBN 10: 0062015702 ISBN 13: 9780062015709
New Hardcover First Edition Signed Quantity Available: 1
Seller:
Outlaw Books
(Housto, TX, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description William Morrow, 2011. Hardcover. Condition: New. Dust Jacket Condition: New. 1st Edition. Brand New - Unread - Binding is clean, tight and straight w/ sharp corners; no dents, bumps or scrapes; dust jkt is clean and bright w/ no tears, stains or wrinkles; not price clipped or marked in any way. The third Bess Crawford mystery. SIGNED ON THE TITLE PAGE BY BOTH AUTHORS. Wrapped in Brodart mylar, carefully packaged and shipped in a box. Signed by Author(s). Seller Inventory # 001824

More information about this seller | Contact this seller

Buy New
US$ 28.00
Convert currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: US$ 3.99
Within U.S.A.
Destination, rates & speeds

4.

Todd, Charles
Published by William Morrow, U.S.A. (2011)
ISBN 10: 0062015702 ISBN 13: 9780062015709
New Hardcover First Edition Quantity Available: 1
Seller:
Mad Hatter Bookstore
(Westbank, BC, Canada)
Rating
[?]

Book Description William Morrow, U.S.A., 2011. Hardcover. Condition: New. Dust Jacket Condition: New. 1st Edition. Black dot on foot edge.World War One battlefield nurse Bess Crawford is featured for a third time in A Bitter Truth . Bess reaches out to help an abused and frightened young woman, only to discover that no good deed ever goes unpunished when the good Samaritan nurse finds herself falsely accused of murder. Seller Inventory # 005470

More information about this seller | Contact this seller

Buy New
US$ 22.08
Convert currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: US$ 16.95
From Canada to U.S.A.
Destination, rates & speeds

5.

Todd, Charles
ISBN 10: 0062015702 ISBN 13: 9780062015709
New Quantity Available: 3
Seller:
SPHINX BOOKSTORE
(OTTAWA, ON, Canada)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Condition: New. NEW. Seller Inventory # METCALF 035

More information about this seller | Contact this seller

Buy New
US$ 26.85
Convert currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: US$ 16.00
From Canada to U.S.A.
Destination, rates & speeds

6.

Todd, Charles
Published by HarperCollins (2011)
ISBN 10: 0062015702 ISBN 13: 9780062015709
New Hardcover First Edition Signed Quantity Available: 3
Seller:
VJ Books
(Tualatin, OR, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description HarperCollins, 2011. hardcover. Condition: New. Signed Hardcover Book. August 2011 NY: HarperCollins First edition, first printing, mint, new/unread in a flawless dust jacket, signed by both authors. Each dust jacket is protected in an acid-free archival quality acetate cover. signed by author(s). Seller Inventory # TODBITT01-B

More information about this seller | Contact this seller

Buy New
US$ 51.49
Convert currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: FREE
Within U.S.A.
Destination, rates & speeds