Crane, Elizabeth We Only Know So Much

ISBN 13: 9780062099471

We Only Know So Much

3.2 avg rating
( 924 ratings by GoodReads )
 
9780062099471: We Only Know So Much

A funny and moving debut novel that follows four generations of a singularly weird American family, all living under one roof, as each member confronts a moment of crisis in a narrative told through a uniquely quirky, charming, and unforgettable voice. Acclaimed short story writer Elizabeth Crane, well known to public radio listeners for her frequent and captivating contributions to WBEZ Chicago’s Writer’s Block Party, delivers a sublime, poignant, and often hilarious first novel, perfect for fans of Jessica Anya Blau’s The Summer of Naked Swim Parties and Heather O’Neill’s Lullabies for Little Criminals.

“Crane has a distinctive and eccentric voice that is consistent and riveting.” —New York Times Book Review

"synopsis" may belong to another edition of this title.

From the Back Cover:

Jean Copeland, an emotionally withdrawn wife and mother of two, has taken a secret lover—only to lose him in a moment of tragedy that leaves her reeling. Her husband, Gordon, is oblivious, distracted by the fear that he's losing his most prized asset: his memory. Daughter Priscilla (a pill since birth—don't get us started) is talking about clothes, or TV, or whatever, and hatching a plan to extend her maddening reach to all of America. Nine-year-old Otis is torn between his two greatest loves: crossword puzzles and his new girlfriend.

At the back of the house, grandfather Theodore is in the early throes of Parkinson's disease. (And he's fine with it—as long as they continue to let him walk the damn dog alone.) And Vivian, the family's ninety-eight-year-old matriarch, is a razor-sharp grande dame who suffers no fools...and still harbors secret dreams of her own.

With empathy, humor, and an unforgettable voice, Elizabeth Crane reveals what one family finds when everyone goes looking for meaning in all the wrong places.

About the Author:

Elizabeth Crane is the author of the story collections When the Messenger Is Hot, All This Heavenly Glory, and You Must Be This Happy to Enter. Her work has been featured in McSweeney's The Future Dictionary of America, The Best Underground Fiction, and elsewhere. This is her first novel.

"About this title" may belong to another edition of this title.

Top Search Results from the AbeBooks Marketplace

1.

Crane, Elizabeth
ISBN 10: 0062099477 ISBN 13: 9780062099471
New Paperback Quantity Available: 8
Seller
Big River Books
(Powder Springs, GA, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Paperback. Book Condition: New. Brand New! We ship daily Monday - Friday!. Bookseller Inventory # 1EYDQW002UKI

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
US$ 2.28
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: US$ 3.49
Within U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

2.

Crane, Elizabeth
ISBN 10: 0062099477 ISBN 13: 9780062099471
New Quantity Available: 1
Seller
Grandisbooks
(Neptune, NJ, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Book Condition: New. New and unused. 30 Day Satisfaction Guarantee. Bookseller Inventory # 3148LU001H5R

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
US$ 2.98
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: US$ 4.00
Within U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

3.

Crane, Elizabeth
Published by Harper Perennial 2012-06-12 (2012)
ISBN 10: 0062099477 ISBN 13: 9780062099471
New Paperback Quantity Available: 2
Seller
ThriftTaco
(INDIAN TRAIL, NC, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Harper Perennial 2012-06-12, 2012. Paperback. Book Condition: New. Original. 0062099477 Brand new and ships pronto! 100% guarantee. Multiple quanities available. Bookseller Inventory # BOOKS98-9780062099471-11-9927

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
US$ 4.24
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: US$ 3.99
Within U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

4.

Crane, Elizabeth
ISBN 10: 0062099477 ISBN 13: 9780062099471
New Quantity Available: > 20
Seller
BWB
(Valley Stream, NY, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Book Condition: New. Depending on your location, this item may ship from the US or UK. Bookseller Inventory # 97800620994710000000

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
US$ 9.60
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: FREE
Within U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

5.

Crane, Elizabeth
Published by Harpercollins (2012)
ISBN 10: 0062099477 ISBN 13: 9780062099471
New Quantity Available: > 20
Seller
Paperbackshop-US
(Commerce, GA, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Harpercollins, 2012. PAP. Book Condition: New. New Book. Shipped from US within 10 to 14 business days. Established seller since 2000. Bookseller Inventory # VC-9780062099471

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
US$ 7.44
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: US$ 3.99
Within U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

6.

Crane, Elizabeth
Published by Harper Collins Publishers
ISBN 10: 0062099477 ISBN 13: 9780062099471
New Quantity Available: > 20
Seller
INDOO
(Avenel, NJ, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Harper Collins Publishers. Book Condition: New. Brand New. Bookseller Inventory # 0062099477

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
US$ 8.43
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: US$ 3.50
Within U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

7.

Crane, Elizabeth
Published by HARPER PERENNIAL, United States (2012)
ISBN 10: 0062099477 ISBN 13: 9780062099471
New Paperback Quantity Available: 10
Seller
The Book Depository US
(London, United Kingdom)
Rating
[?]

Book Description HARPER PERENNIAL, United States, 2012. Paperback. Book Condition: New. 203 x 132 mm. Language: English . Brand New Book. Jean Copeland, an emotionally withdrawn wife and mother of two, has taken a secret lover only to lose him in a moment of tragedy that leaves her reeling. Her husband, Gordon, is oblivious, distracted by the fear that he s losing his most prized asset: his memory. Daughter Priscilla (a pill since birth don t get us started) is talking about clothes, or TV, or whatever, and hatching a plan to extend her maddening reach to all of America. Nine-year-old Otis is torn between his two greatest loves: crossword puzzles and his new girlfriend. At the back of the house, grandfather Theodore is in the early throes of Parkinson s disease. (And he s fine with it as long as they continue to let him walk the damn dog alone.) And Vivian, the family s ninety-eight-year-old matriarch, is a razor-sharp grande dame who suffers no fools.and still harbors secret dreams of her own. With empathy, humor, and an unforgettable voice, Elizabeth Crane reveals what one family finds when everyone goes looking for meaning in all the wrong places. Bookseller Inventory # AAS9780062099471

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
US$ 12.00
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: FREE
From United Kingdom to U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

8.

Crane, Elizabeth
Published by HARPER PERENNIAL, United States (2012)
ISBN 10: 0062099477 ISBN 13: 9780062099471
New Paperback Quantity Available: 10
Seller
The Book Depository
(London, United Kingdom)
Rating
[?]

Book Description HARPER PERENNIAL, United States, 2012. Paperback. Book Condition: New. 203 x 132 mm. Language: English . Brand New Book. Jean Copeland, an emotionally withdrawn wife and mother of two, has taken a secret lover only to lose him in a moment of tragedy that leaves her reeling. Her husband, Gordon, is oblivious, distracted by the fear that he s losing his most prized asset: his memory. Daughter Priscilla (a pill since birth don t get us started) is talking about clothes, or TV, or whatever, and hatching a plan to extend her maddening reach to all of America. Nine-year-old Otis is torn between his two greatest loves: crossword puzzles and his new girlfriend. At the back of the house, grandfather Theodore is in the early throes of Parkinson s disease. (And he s fine with it as long as they continue to let him walk the damn dog alone.) And Vivian, the family s ninety-eight-year-old matriarch, is a razor-sharp grande dame who suffers no fools.and still harbors secret dreams of her own. With empathy, humor, and an unforgettable voice, Elizabeth Crane reveals what one family finds when everyone goes looking for meaning in all the wrong places. Bookseller Inventory # AAS9780062099471

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
US$ 12.44
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: FREE
From United Kingdom to U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

9.

Crane, Elizabeth
Published by Harper Perennial
ISBN 10: 0062099477 ISBN 13: 9780062099471
New PAPERBACK Quantity Available: 1
Seller
Movie Mars
(Indian Trail, NC, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Harper Perennial. PAPERBACK. Book Condition: New. 0062099477 Brand New Book. Ships from the United States. 30 Day Satisfaction Guarantee!. Bookseller Inventory # 15967094

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
US$ 8.86
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: US$ 3.99
Within U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

10.

Crane, Elizabeth
Published by PERENNIAL (2012)
ISBN 10: 0062099477 ISBN 13: 9780062099471
New Quantity Available: 2
Seller
PBShop
(Wood Dale, IL, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description PERENNIAL, 2012. PAP. Book Condition: New. New Book.Shipped from US within 10 to 14 business days. Established seller since 2000. Bookseller Inventory # IB-9780062099471

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
US$ 9.31
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: US$ 3.99
Within U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

There are more copies of this book

View all search results for this book