Search for Signs of Intelligent Life in the Universe

4.29 avg rating
( 1,048 ratings by Goodreads )
 
9780062107374: Search for Signs of Intelligent Life in the Universe

Emmy Award-winning playwright Jane Wagner’s brilliant social satire is back in a gorgeous new paperback edition—new life for the play that rocked Broadway in 1985 and still rings true today. The Search for Signs of Intelligent Life in the Universe is “a work of genius and compassion,” in the words of Gloria Steinem, and a play that the New York Times called “stunningly ambitious.” Its Tony Award-winning productions starring Lily Tomlin brought Wagner’s book coast-to-coast success in the 1980s and 1990s—and its penetrating insights into class struggles, social inequalities, and gender politics have given the drama an enduring, wise, and powerful relevance to readers in the 21st century. Fans of Rent, Angels in America, and The Book of Mormon will find The Search for Signs of Intelligent Life in the Universe as irresistible as it is wholly unforgettable.

"synopsis" may belong to another edition of this title.

From the Back Cover:

Poignant, sharp, and laugh-out-loud funny, The Search for Signs of Intelligent Life in the Universe first took Broadway by storm in 1985 and became an instant bestseller. The dramatic tour de force garnered numerous awards for playwright Jane Wagner and accolades for star Lily Tomlin, including a Tony for Best Actress. As a moving critique of modern society, this barbed but humane play continues to resonate with truth and accuracy today. In a special afterword, cultural icons and influencers Eve Ensler, Jane Fonda, Whoopi Goldberg, Jodie Foster, and others share their thoughts on how this classic affected their own lives and ours.

With selected photos by Annie Leibovitz and photocollages by Jane Wagner

About the Author:

Jane Wagner is the winner of four Emmy Awards, a Writers Guild Award, and two Peabody Awards. For The Search . . . she received the New York Drama Desk Award and the New York Drama Critics Circle Award.

"About this title" may belong to another edition of this title.

Top Search Results from the AbeBooks Marketplace

1.

Wagner, Jane
Published by It Books 2012-09-04 (2012)
ISBN 10: 0062107372 ISBN 13: 9780062107374
New Paperback Quantity Available: 3
Seller
Ebooksweb COM LLC
(Bensalem, PA, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description It Books 2012-09-04, 2012. Paperback. Book Condition: New. Reprint. 0062107372. Bookseller Inventory # Z0062107372ZN

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
US$ 6.32
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: FREE
Within U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

2.

Wagner, Jane
Published by It Books
ISBN 10: 0062107372 ISBN 13: 9780062107374
New PAPERBACK Quantity Available: 2
Seller
Booklot COM LLC
(Philadelphia, PA, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description It Books. PAPERBACK. Book Condition: New. 0062107372. Bookseller Inventory # Z0062107372ZN

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
US$ 6.32
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: FREE
Within U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

3.

Wagner, Jane
Published by It Books
ISBN 10: 0062107372 ISBN 13: 9780062107374
New PAPERBACK Quantity Available: 1
Seller
Vital Products COM LLC
(southampton, PA, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description It Books. PAPERBACK. Book Condition: New. 0062107372. Bookseller Inventory # Z0062107372ZN

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
US$ 6.32
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: FREE
Within U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

4.

Wagner, Jane
Published by It Books
ISBN 10: 0062107372 ISBN 13: 9780062107374
New PAPERBACK Quantity Available: 1
Seller
BookShop4U
(PHILADELPHIA, PA, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description It Books. PAPERBACK. Book Condition: New. 0062107372. Bookseller Inventory # Z0062107372ZN

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
US$ 6.32
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: FREE
Within U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

5.

Wagner, Jane
Published by It Books
ISBN 10: 0062107372 ISBN 13: 9780062107374
New PAPERBACK Quantity Available: 1
Seller
Bookhouse COM LLC
(Philadelphia, PA, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description It Books. PAPERBACK. Book Condition: New. 0062107372. Bookseller Inventory # Z0062107372ZN

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
US$ 6.32
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: FREE
Within U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

6.

Wagner, Jane
Published by It Books
ISBN 10: 0062107372 ISBN 13: 9780062107374
New PAPERBACK Quantity Available: 1
Seller
Qwestbooks COM LLC
(Bensalem, PA, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description It Books. PAPERBACK. Book Condition: New. 0062107372. Bookseller Inventory # Z0062107372ZN

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
US$ 6.32
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: FREE
Within U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

7.

Jane Wagner
ISBN 10: 0062107372 ISBN 13: 9780062107374
New Quantity Available: > 20
Seller
BWB
(Valley Stream, NY, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Book Condition: New. Depending on your location, this item may ship from the US or UK. Bookseller Inventory # 97800621073740000000

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
US$ 10.08
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: FREE
Within U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

8.

Wagner, Jane
Published by Harper Collins Publishers
ISBN 10: 0062107372 ISBN 13: 9780062107374
New Quantity Available: > 20
Seller
INDOO
(Avenel, NJ, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Harper Collins Publishers. Book Condition: New. Brand New. Bookseller Inventory # 0062107372

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
US$ 9.94
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: US$ 3.50
Within U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

9.

Wagner, Jane
ISBN 10: 0062107372 ISBN 13: 9780062107374
New Quantity Available: > 20
Seller
Paperbackshop-US
(Wood Dale, IL, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description 2012. PAP. Book Condition: New. New Book. Shipped from US within 10 to 14 business days. Established seller since 2000. Bookseller Inventory # VC-9780062107374

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
US$ 9.96
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: US$ 3.99
Within U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

10.

Jane Wagner
Published by It Books, United States (2012)
ISBN 10: 0062107372 ISBN 13: 9780062107374
New Paperback Quantity Available: 10
Seller
The Book Depository US
(London, United Kingdom)
Rating
[?]

Book Description It Books, United States, 2012. Paperback. Book Condition: New. Reprint. 201 x 132 mm. Language: English . Brand New Book. Emmy Award-winning playwright Jane Wagner s brilliant social satire is back in a gorgeous new paperback edition--new life for the play that rocked Broadway in 1985 and still rings true today. The Search for Signs of Intelligent Life in the Universe is a work of genius and compassion, in the words of Gloria Steinem, and a play that the New York Times called stunningly ambitious. Its Tony Award-winning productions starring Lily Tomlin brought Wagner s book coast-to-coast success in the 1980s and 1990s--and its penetrating insights into class struggles, social inequalities, and gender politics have given the drama an enduring, wise, and powerful relevance to readers in the 21st century. Fans of Rent, Angels in America, and The Book of Mormon will find The Search for Signs of Intelligent Life in the Universe as irresistible as it is wholly unforgettable. Bookseller Inventory # AAS9780062107374

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
US$ 15.12
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: FREE
From United Kingdom to U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

There are more copies of this book

View all search results for this book