Search for Signs of Intelligent Life in the Universe

4.28 avg rating
( 1,167 ratings by Goodreads )
 
9780062107374: Search for Signs of Intelligent Life in the Universe
View all copies of this ISBN edition:
 
 

Emmy Award-winning playwright Jane Wagner’s brilliant social satire is back in a gorgeous new paperback edition—new life for the play that rocked Broadway in 1985 and still rings true today. The Search for Signs of Intelligent Life in the Universe is “a work of genius and compassion,” in the words of Gloria Steinem, and a play that the New York Times called “stunningly ambitious.” Its Tony Award-winning productions starring Lily Tomlin brought Wagner’s book coast-to-coast success in the 1980s and 1990s—and its penetrating insights into class struggles, social inequalities, and gender politics have given the drama an enduring, wise, and powerful relevance to readers in the 21st century. Fans of Rent, Angels in America, and The Book of Mormon will find The Search for Signs of Intelligent Life in the Universe as irresistible as it is wholly unforgettable.

"synopsis" may belong to another edition of this title.

From the Back Cover:

Poignant, sharp, and laugh-out-loud funny, The Search for Signs of Intelligent Life in the Universe first took Broadway by storm in 1985 and became an instant bestseller. The dramatic tour de force garnered numerous awards for playwright Jane Wagner and accolades for star Lily Tomlin, including a Tony for Best Actress. As a moving critique of modern society, this barbed but humane play continues to resonate with truth and accuracy today. In a special afterword, cultural icons and influencers Eve Ensler, Jane Fonda, Whoopi Goldberg, Jodie Foster, and others share their thoughts on how this classic affected their own lives and ours.

With selected photos by Annie Leibovitz and photocollages by Jane Wagner

About the Author:

Jane Wagner is the winner of four Emmy Awards, a Writers Guild Award, and two Peabody Awards. For The Search . . . she received the New York Drama Desk Award and the New York Drama Critics Circle Award.

"About this title" may belong to another edition of this title.

Top Search Results from the AbeBooks Marketplace

1.

Wagner, Jane
Published by Harper Collins Publishers
ISBN 10: 0062107372 ISBN 13: 9780062107374
New Quantity Available: 10
Seller:
INDOO
(Avenel, NJ, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Harper Collins Publishers. Condition: New. Brand New. Seller Inventory # 0062107372

More information about this seller | Contact this seller

Buy New
US$ 11.04
Convert currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: US$ 3.60
Within U.S.A.
Destination, rates & speeds

2.

Wagner, Jane
ISBN 10: 0062107372 ISBN 13: 9780062107374
New Quantity Available: > 20
Seller:
Paperbackshop-US
(Wood Dale, IL, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description 2012. PAP. Condition: New. New Book. Shipped from US within 10 to 14 business days. Established seller since 2000. Seller Inventory # VC-9780062107374

More information about this seller | Contact this seller

Buy New
US$ 11.71
Convert currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: US$ 3.99
Within U.S.A.
Destination, rates & speeds

3.

Jane Wagner
Published by It Books, United States (2012)
ISBN 10: 0062107372 ISBN 13: 9780062107374
New Paperback Quantity Available: 1
Seller:
Book Depository International
(London, United Kingdom)
Rating
[?]

Book Description It Books, United States, 2012. Paperback. Condition: New. Reprint. Language: English. Brand new Book. Emmy Award-winning playwright Jane Wagner's brilliant social satire is back in a gorgeous new paperback edition--new life for the play that rocked Broadway in 1985 and still rings true today. The Search for Signs of Intelligent Life in the Universe is "a work of genius and compassion," in the words of Gloria Steinem, and a play that the New York Times called "stunningly ambitious." Its Tony Award-winning productions starring Lily Tomlin brought Wagner's book coast-to-coast success in the 1980s and 1990s--and its penetrating insights into class struggles, social inequalities, and gender politics have given the drama an enduring, wise, and powerful relevance to readers in the 21st century. Fans of Rent, Angels in America, and The Book of Mormon will find The Search for Signs of Intelligent Life in the Universe as irresistible as it is wholly unforgettable. Seller Inventory # AAS9780062107374

More information about this seller | Contact this seller

Buy New
US$ 16.43
Convert currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: FREE
From United Kingdom to U.S.A.
Destination, rates & speeds

4.

Jane Wagner
Published by It Books, United States (2012)
ISBN 10: 0062107372 ISBN 13: 9780062107374
New Paperback Quantity Available: 1
Seller:
The Book Depository
(London, United Kingdom)
Rating
[?]

Book Description It Books, United States, 2012. Paperback. Condition: New. Reprint. Language: English. Brand new Book. Emmy Award-winning playwright Jane Wagner's brilliant social satire is back in a gorgeous new paperback edition--new life for the play that rocked Broadway in 1985 and still rings true today. The Search for Signs of Intelligent Life in the Universe is "a work of genius and compassion," in the words of Gloria Steinem, and a play that the New York Times called "stunningly ambitious." Its Tony Award-winning productions starring Lily Tomlin brought Wagner's book coast-to-coast success in the 1980s and 1990s--and its penetrating insights into class struggles, social inequalities, and gender politics have given the drama an enduring, wise, and powerful relevance to readers in the 21st century. Fans of Rent, Angels in America, and The Book of Mormon will find The Search for Signs of Intelligent Life in the Universe as irresistible as it is wholly unforgettable. Seller Inventory # AAS9780062107374

More information about this seller | Contact this seller

Buy New
US$ 17.03
Convert currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: FREE
From United Kingdom to U.S.A.
Destination, rates & speeds

5.

Jane Wagner
Published by It Books, United States (2012)
ISBN 10: 0062107372 ISBN 13: 9780062107374
New Paperback Quantity Available: 10
Seller:
Book Depository hard to find
(London, United Kingdom)
Rating
[?]

Book Description It Books, United States, 2012. Paperback. Condition: New. Reprint. Language: English. Brand new Book. Emmy Award-winning playwright Jane Wagner's brilliant social satire is back in a gorgeous new paperback edition--new life for the play that rocked Broadway in 1985 and still rings true today. The Search for Signs of Intelligent Life in the Universe is "a work of genius and compassion," in the words of Gloria Steinem, and a play that the New York Times called "stunningly ambitious." Its Tony Award-winning productions starring Lily Tomlin brought Wagner's book coast-to-coast success in the 1980s and 1990s--and its penetrating insights into class struggles, social inequalities, and gender politics have given the drama an enduring, wise, and powerful relevance to readers in the 21st century. Fans of Rent, Angels in America, and The Book of Mormon will find The Search for Signs of Intelligent Life in the Universe as irresistible as it is wholly unforgettable. Seller Inventory # BTE9780062107374

More information about this seller | Contact this seller

Buy New
US$ 17.33
Convert currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: FREE
From United Kingdom to U.S.A.
Destination, rates & speeds

6.

Wagner, Jane
Published by It Books 9/4/2012 (2012)
ISBN 10: 0062107372 ISBN 13: 9780062107374
New Paperback or Softback Quantity Available: 3
Seller:
BargainBookStores
(Grand Rapids, MI, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description It Books 9/4/2012, 2012. Paperback or Softback. Condition: New. The Search for Signs of Intelligent Life in the Universe. Book. Seller Inventory # BBS-9780062107374

More information about this seller | Contact this seller

Buy New
US$ 18.95
Convert currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: FREE
Within U.S.A.
Destination, rates & speeds

7.

Jane Wagner
Published by It Books
ISBN 10: 0062107372 ISBN 13: 9780062107374
New Paperback Quantity Available: 1
Seller:
THE SAINT BOOKSTORE
(Southport, United Kingdom)
Rating
[?]

Book Description It Books. Paperback. Condition: New. New copy - Usually dispatched within 2 working days. Seller Inventory # B9780062107374

More information about this seller | Contact this seller

Buy New
US$ 11.34
Convert currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: US$ 9.12
From United Kingdom to U.S.A.
Destination, rates & speeds

8.

Jane Wagner
Published by DEY STREET BOOKS (2012)
ISBN 10: 0062107372 ISBN 13: 9780062107374
New Softcover Quantity Available: 1
Seller:
Rating
[?]

Book Description DEY STREET BOOKS, 2012. Condition: New. Seller Inventory # TH9780062107374

More information about this seller | Contact this seller

Buy New
US$ 18.18
Convert currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: US$ 3.21
From Germany to U.S.A.
Destination, rates & speeds

9.

Jane Wagner
ISBN 10: 0062107372 ISBN 13: 9780062107374
New Paperback Quantity Available: 1
Seller:
Grand Eagle Retail
(Wilmington, DE, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Paperback. Condition: New. Paperback. Poignant, sharp, and laugh-out-loud funny, "The Search for Signs of Intelligent Life in the Universe" first took Broadway by storm in 1985 and became an instant bestseller. The d.Shipping may be from multiple locations in the US or from the UK, depending on stock availability. 256 pages. 0.318. Seller Inventory # 9780062107374

More information about this seller | Contact this seller

Buy New
US$ 22.08
Convert currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: FREE
Within U.S.A.
Destination, rates & speeds

10.

Jane Wagner (author)
Published by It Books 2012-09-04 (2012)
ISBN 10: 0062107372 ISBN 13: 9780062107374
New paperback Quantity Available: 1
Seller:
Blackwell's
(Oxford, OX, United Kingdom)
Rating
[?]

Book Description It Books 2012-09-04, 2012. paperback. Condition: New. Seller Inventory # 9780062107374

More information about this seller | Contact this seller

Buy New
US$ 15.94
Convert currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: US$ 9.86
From United Kingdom to U.S.A.
Destination, rates & speeds

There are more copies of this book

View all search results for this book