An Uncommon Education: A Novel

3.14 avg rating
( 1,104 ratings by Goodreads )
 
9780062110961: An Uncommon Education: A Novel

For fans of Prep, Dead Poets Society, and Special Topics in Calamity Physics comes an elegant and remarkably insightful coming-of-age debut, in which a young woman’s serendipitous discovery of her college’s underground Shakespeare Society leads to an unforgettable series of transformations. When Naomi finds herself among “the Shakes” at Wellesley, she finally lets herself embrace the passionate inner self she’s always kept locked away. But when a sudden scandal unfolds, she will be forced to learn the limits of the relationships that have sustained her. An intimate and enthralling narrative, Elizabeth Percer’s debut novel An Uncommon Education marks the emergence of a stunning new literary talent.

"synopsis" may belong to another edition of this title.

Review:

Amazon Best Books of the Month, May 2012: A three-time Pushcart Prize nominee for her stories, Elizabeth Percer brings the clarity and sophistication of the short form into her affecting debut novel about a young woman with lessons to learn. When we meet Naomi Feinstein in childhood, she has clumsy if loving parents, an eccentric best friend, and few social graces. Her photographic memory and intense ambition help Naomi chart a path to her dream school, but the relationships she builds there turn out to have far more resonance than the education she imagined. On a campus full of women with strengths and foibles as complicated as her own, she learns when to trust (and distrust) her instincts about both academia and other human beings. Percer’s gift lies in making Naomi--and her family, friends, and lovers--utterly, absorbingly real. An Uncommon Education feels like the kind of all-night conversation that breaks your heart when it ends. --Mia Lipman

From the Back Cover:

A young woman tries to save three people she loves in this elegant and remarkably insightful coming-of-age debut.

Afraid of losing her parents at a young age—her father with his weak heart, her deeply depressed mother—Naomi Feinstein prepared single-mindedly for a prestigious future as a doctor. An outcast at school, Naomi loses herself in books, and daydreams of Wellesley College. But when Teddy, her confidant and only friend, abruptly departs from her life, it's the first devastating loss from which Naomi is not sure she can ever recover, even after her long-awaited acceptance letter to Wellesley arrives.

Naomi soon learns that college isn't the bastion of solidarity and security she had imagined. Amid hundreds of other young women, she is consumed by loneliness—until the day she sees a girl fall into the freezing waters of a lake.

The event marks Naomi's introduction to Wellesley's oldest honor society, the mysterious Shakespeare Society, defined by secret rituals and filled with unconventional, passionate students. Naomi finally begins to detach from the past and so much of what defines her, immersing herself in this exciting and liberating new world and learning the value of friendship. But her happiness is soon compromised by a scandal that brings irrevocable consequences. Naomi has always tried to save the ones she loves, but part of growing up is learning that sometimes saving others is a matter of saving yourself.

An Uncommon Education is a compelling portrait of a quest for greatness and the grace of human limitations. Poignant and wise, it artfully captures the complicated ties of family, the bittersweet inevitability of loss, and the importance of learning to let go.

"About this title" may belong to another edition of this title.

Top Search Results from the AbeBooks Marketplace

1.

Percer, Elizabeth
Published by HarperCollins Canada, Limited, Scarborough, ON, Canada (2012)
ISBN 10: 0062110969 ISBN 13: 9780062110961
New Hardcover First Edition Quantity Available: 1
Seller:
Reader's Corner, Inc.
(Raleigh, NC, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description HarperCollins Canada, Limited, Scarborough, ON, Canada, 2012. Hard Cover. Book Condition: New. Dust Jacket Condition: New. First Edition, First Printing. This is a new hardcover first edition, first printing copy in a new, mylar protected DJ, tan-blue spine. Bookseller Inventory # 057596

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
US$ 11.00
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: US$ 3.50
Within U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

2.

Percer, Elizabeth
Published by Harper Collins, New York (2012)
ISBN 10: 0062110969 ISBN 13: 9780062110961
New Hardcover First Edition Quantity Available: 1
Seller:
Grandmahawk's Eyrie
(Mansfield Center, CT, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Harper Collins, New York, 2012. Hard Cover. Book Condition: New. Dust Jacket Condition: New. First Edition. HB, beige boards in pictorial DJ, deckled fore-edge, 342 pages. This is a new, unused copy with minor shelf wear to protected DJ. Gift suitable, collectible. Size: 8vo - over 7¾" - 9¾" tall. Bookseller Inventory # jct006463

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
US$ 36.00
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: FREE
Within U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

3.

Percer, Elizabeth
Published by Harper (2012)
ISBN 10: 0062110969 ISBN 13: 9780062110961
New Hardcover Quantity Available: 2
Seller:
Murray Media
(North Miami Beach, FL, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Harper, 2012. Hardcover. Book Condition: New. Never used!. Bookseller Inventory # P110062110969

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
US$ 39.37
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: US$ 1.99
Within U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

4.

Percer, Elizabeth
Published by Harper
ISBN 10: 0062110969 ISBN 13: 9780062110961
New Hardcover Quantity Available: 1
Seller:
Cloud 9 Books
(Wellington, FL, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Harper. Hardcover. Book Condition: New. 0062110969 New Condition. Bookseller Inventory # NEW7.0019473

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
US$ 59.99
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: US$ 4.99
Within U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

5.

Percer, Elizabeth
Published by Harper
ISBN 10: 0062110969 ISBN 13: 9780062110961
New Hardcover Quantity Available: 1
Seller:
M and N Media
(Acworth, GA, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Harper. Hardcover. Book Condition: New. 0062110969 We guarantee all of our items - customer service and satisfaction are our top priorities. Please allow 4 - 14 business days for Standard shipping, within the US. Bookseller Inventory # XM-0062110969

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
US$ 65.70
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: US$ 3.99
Within U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds