The (Honest) Truth About Dishonesty: How We Lie to Everyone---Especially Ourselves

3.92 avg rating
( 10,740 ratings by Goodreads )
 
9780062183590: The (Honest) Truth About Dishonesty: How We Lie to Everyone---Especially Ourselves
View all copies of this ISBN edition:
 
 

Dan Ariely, behavioral economist and the New York Times bestselling author of The Upside of Irrationality and Predictably Irrational, examines the contradictory forces that drive us to cheat and keep us honest, in this groundbreaking look at the way we behave: The (Honest) Truth About Dishonesty.

From ticket-fixing in our police departments to test-score scandals in our schools, from our elected leaders’ extra-marital affairs to the Ponzi schemes undermining our economy, cheating and dishonesty are ubiquitous parts of our national news cycle—and inescapable parts of the human condition.

Drawing on original experiments and research, in the vein of Freakonomics, The Tipping Point, and Survival of the Sickest, Ariely reveals—honestly—what motivates these irrational, but entirely human, behaviors.

"synopsis" may belong to another edition of this title.

From the Back Cover:

The New York Times bestselling author of Predictably Irrational and The Upside of Irrationality returns with thought-provoking work to challenge our preconceptions about dishonesty and urge us to take an honest look at ourselves.

  • Does the chance of getting caught affect how likely we are to cheat?
  • How do companies pave the way for dishonesty?
  • Does collaboration make us more honest or less so?
  • Does religion improve our honesty?

Most of us think of ourselves as honest, but, in fact, we all cheat. From Washington to Wall Street, the classroom to the workplace, unethical behavior is everywhere. None of us is immune, whether it's the white lie to head off trouble or padding our expense reports. In The (Honest) Truth About Dishonesty, award-winning, bestselling author Dan Ariely turns his unique insight and innovative research to the question of dishonesty.

Generally, we assume that cheating, like most other decisions, is based on a rational cost-benefit analysis. But Ariely argues, and then demonstrates, that it's actually the irrational forces that we don't take into account that often determine whether we behave ethically or not. For every Enron or political bribe, there are countless puffed résumés, hidden commissions, and knockoff purses. In The (Honest) Truth About Dishonesty, Ariely shows why some things are easier to lie about; how getting caught matters less than we think; and how business practices pave the way for unethical behavior, both intentionally and unintentionally. Ariely explores how unethical behavior works in the personal, professional, and political worlds, and how it affects all of us, even as we think of ourselves as having high moral standards.

But all is not lost. Ariely also identifies what keeps us honest, pointing the way for achieving higher ethics in our everyday lives. With compelling personal and academic findings, The (Honest) Truth About Dishonesty will change the way we see ourselves, our actions, and others.

About the Author:

Dan Ariely is the bestselling author of Predictably Irrational, The Upside of Irrationality, and The (Honest) Truth About Dishonesty. He is the James B. Duke Professor of Psychology and Behavioral Economics at Duke University and is the founder of the Center for Advanced Hindsight. His work has been featured in the New York Times, the Wall Street Journal, the Washington Post, the Boston Globe, and elsewhere. He lives in North Carolina with his family.

"About this title" may belong to another edition of this title.

Other Popular Editions of the Same Title

9780062183613: The Honest Truth About Dishonesty: How We Lie to Everyone-Especially Ourselves

Featured Edition

ISBN 10:  0062183613 ISBN 13:  9780062183613
Publisher: Harper Perennial, 2013
Softcover

9780062253002: The Honest Truth About Dishonesty: How We Lie to Everyone-Especially Ourselves

Harper, 2013
Softcover

9780007506729: The (Honest) Truth About Dishonesty: How We Lie to Everyone - Especially Ourselves

Harper..., 2013
Softcover

9780007490561: The (Honest) Truth About Dishonesty: How We Lie to Everyone - Especially Ourselves

Harper..., 2012
Softcover

9780007477333: The (Honest) Truth About Dishonesty: How We Lie to Everyone - Especially Ourselves

Harper..., 2001
Softcover

Top Search Results from the AbeBooks Marketplace

1.

Ariely, Dan
Published by Harper (2012)
ISBN 10: 0062183591 ISBN 13: 9780062183590
New Hardcover Quantity Available: 2
Seller:
Murray Media
(North Miami Beach, FL, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Harper, 2012. Hardcover. Condition: New. Never used!. Seller Inventory # P110062183591

More information about this seller | Contact this seller

Buy New
US$ 48.25
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: FREE
Within U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

2.

Ariely, Dr. Dan
Published by Harper
ISBN 10: 0062183591 ISBN 13: 9780062183590
New Hardcover Quantity Available: 1
Seller:
ACJBooks
(Staten Island, NY, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Harper. Hardcover. Condition: New. 0062183591 !!!!This is a 1st Edition!!!!! This is a hardcover book with dust jacket. Seller Inventory # 244W5

More information about this seller | Contact this seller

Buy New
US$ 45.99
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: US$ 5.99
Within U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

3.

Ariely, Dan
Published by Harper (2012)
ISBN 10: 0062183591 ISBN 13: 9780062183590
New Hardcover Quantity Available: 1
Seller:
Ergodebooks
(RICHMOND, TX, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Harper, 2012. Hardcover. Condition: New. Seller Inventory # DADAX0062183591

More information about this seller | Contact this seller

Buy New
US$ 62.38
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: US$ 3.99
Within U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

4.

Ariely, Dr. Dan
ISBN 10: 0062183591 ISBN 13: 9780062183590
New Quantity Available: 2
Seller:
SPHINX BOOKSTORE
(OTTAWA, ON, Canada)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Condition: New. NEW. Seller Inventory # ZL 136

More information about this seller | Contact this seller

Buy New
US$ 63.93
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: US$ 16.00
From Canada to U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

5.

Dr. Dan Ariely
Published by Harper (2012)
ISBN 10: 0062183591 ISBN 13: 9780062183590
New Hardcover Quantity Available: 1
Seller:
Irish Booksellers
(Portland, ME, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Harper, 2012. Condition: New. book. Seller Inventory # M0062183591

More information about this seller | Contact this seller

Buy New
US$ 86.97
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: FREE
Within U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

6.

Dr. Dan Ariely
Published by Harper (2012)
ISBN 10: 0062183591 ISBN 13: 9780062183590
New Hardcover Quantity Available: 1
Seller:
Irish Booksellers
(Portland, ME, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Harper, 2012. Condition: New. book. Seller Inventory # MB00E29BJUK

More information about this seller | Contact this seller

Buy New
US$ 86.97
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: FREE
Within U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds