Queen of the Dark Things: A Novel

3.99 avg rating
( 937 ratings by Goodreads )
 
9780062190451: Queen of the Dark Things: A Novel

Screenwriter and noted film critic C. Robert Cargill continues the story begun in his acclaimed debut Dreams and Shadows in this bold and brilliantly crafted tale involving fairies and humans, magic and monsters—a vivid phantasmagoria that combines the imaginative wonders of Neil Gaiman, the visual inventiveness of Guillermo Del Toro, and the shocking miasma of William S. Burroughs.

 Six months have passed since the wizard Colby lost his best friend to an army of fairies from the Limestone Kingdom, a realm of mystery and darkness beyond our own. But in vanquishing these creatures and banning them from Austin, Colby sacrificed the anonymity that protected him. Now, word of his deeds has spread, and powerful enemies from the past—including one Colby considered a friend—have resurfaced to exact their revenge.

As darkness gathers around the city, Colby sifts through his memories desperate to find answers that might save him. With time running out, and few of his old allies and enemies willing to help, he is forced to turn for aid to forces even darker than those he once battled.

Following such masters as Lev Grossman, Erin Morgenstern, Richard Kadrey, and Kim Harrison, C. Robert Cargill takes us deeper into an extraordinary universe of darkness and wonder, despair and hope to reveal the magic and monsters around us . . . and inside us.

"synopsis" may belong to another edition of this title.

About the Author:

C. Robert Cargill is the screenwriter of the Sinister movies, as well as several other projects currently in various stages of production. He wrote for Ain’t It Cool News for nearly a decade under the pseudonym Massawyrm, served as a staff writer for Film.com and Hollywood.com, and appeared as the animated character Carlyle on Spill.com. The author of Dreams and Shadows lives and works in Austin, Texas.

Review:

“Powerful.... Brimming with philosophical conundrums... Cargill’s world is abundant in detail and imagery in the service of the story. ... Will keep readers entranced.” (Publishers Weekly (starred review))

“Hard to put down...this is definitely going to attract readers of contemporary fantasy, particular those who enjoy Neil Gaiman’s adult books or Lev Grossman’s The Magicians.” (Library Journal)

“As a result, Dreams and Shadows is a potent introduction to a world where the wondrous is rarely wonderful, the best intentions are guaranteed to roam farthest astray, and the reader is destined to keep turning the pages until the (somewhat) bitter end.” (BookPage)

“A thoroughly enchanting debut novel” (Starburstmagazine.com)

“In this beautifully written debut.... The universe is richly detailed, and issues of destiny and sacrifice give the story depth...for those that enjoy a rollercoaster ride into the depths of strangeness and despair.” (Publishers Weekly (starred review))

“Exceptional worldbuilding, sure-handed plotting and well-rounded characters, even the nasty ones, abound, and the whole impressive enterprise moves smartly along through a fairy culture with a structure and motivations sharply different from that of humans. A mesmerizing and highly original debut.” (Kirkus Reviews (starred review))

“Richly imagined...an auspicious debut.” (Booklist)

“Dark, comedic, and unsettling, Dreams and Shadows is everything an urban fantasy sets out to be.” (Tor.com)

“Cargill proves with Dreams and Shadows that he’s not just a writer capable of creating and presenting dense mythology well (Breitbart/ Big Hollywood)

“[T]his is a fantasy about mythmaking, learning the uses of power, and living with the consequences of one’s behavior. Recommended for readers of Lev Grossman’s Magicians series and Neil Gaiman’s adult contemporary fantasies.” (Library Journal on QUEEN OF THE DARK THINGS)

“Cargill’s screenwriting chops bring to life a vivid mix of real and imaged folklore in his fantastical second novel. While the mix of urban fantasy, Guillermo Del Toro-like monsters and academic explanations of this magical world shouldn’t work, it absolutely does.” (No Source on QUEEN OF THE DARK THINGS)

"About this title" may belong to another edition of this title.

Top Search Results from the AbeBooks Marketplace

1.

Cargill, C. Robert
Published by Harper Voyager 2014-05-13 (2014)
ISBN 10: 0062190458 ISBN 13: 9780062190451
New Hardcover First Edition Quantity Available: 1
Seller
Ebooksweb COM LLC
(Bensalem, PA, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Harper Voyager 2014-05-13, 2014. Hardcover. Book Condition: New. First Edition. 0062190458. Bookseller Inventory # Z0062190458ZN

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
US$ 5.61
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: FREE
Within U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

2.

Cargill, C. Robert
Published by Harper Voyager
ISBN 10: 0062190458 ISBN 13: 9780062190451
New Hardcover Quantity Available: 1
Seller
Bookhouse COM LLC
(Philadelphia, PA, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Harper Voyager. Hardcover. Book Condition: New. 0062190458. Bookseller Inventory # Z0062190458ZN

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
US$ 5.63
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: FREE
Within U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

3.

Cargill, C. Robert
Published by Harper Voyager
ISBN 10: 0062190458 ISBN 13: 9780062190451
New Hardcover Quantity Available: 2
Seller
BookShop4U
(PHILADELPHIA, PA, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Harper Voyager. Hardcover. Book Condition: New. 0062190458. Bookseller Inventory # Z0062190458ZN

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
US$ 5.64
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: FREE
Within U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

4.

Cargill, C. Robert
Published by Harper Voyager
ISBN 10: 0062190458 ISBN 13: 9780062190451
New Hardcover Quantity Available: 1
Seller
Qwestbooks COM LLC
(Bensalem, PA, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Harper Voyager. Hardcover. Book Condition: New. 0062190458. Bookseller Inventory # Z0062190458ZN

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
US$ 5.64
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: FREE
Within U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

5.

Cargill, C. Robert
Published by Harper Voyager
ISBN 10: 0062190458 ISBN 13: 9780062190451
New Hardcover Quantity Available: 1
Seller
Booklot COM LLC
(Philadelphia, PA, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Harper Voyager. Hardcover. Book Condition: New. 0062190458. Bookseller Inventory # Z0062190458ZN

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
US$ 5.65
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: FREE
Within U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

6.

Cargill, C. Robert
Published by Harper Voyager
ISBN 10: 0062190458 ISBN 13: 9780062190451
New Hardcover Quantity Available: 1
Seller
Your Online Bookstore
(Houston, TX, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Harper Voyager. Hardcover. Book Condition: New. 0062190458 Ships promptly. Bookseller Inventory # GAT1498GAGG053117H0381

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
US$ 6.37
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: FREE
Within U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

7.

Cargill, C. Robert
Published by Harper Voyager
ISBN 10: 0062190458 ISBN 13: 9780062190451
New Hardcover Quantity Available: 1
Seller
Gulf Coast Books
(Memphis, TN, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Harper Voyager. Hardcover. Book Condition: New. 0062190458 Ships from Tennessee, usually the same or next day. Bookseller Inventory # HCI9998TSGG052417H2727C

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
US$ 6.60
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: FREE
Within U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

8.

Cargill, C. Robert
Published by Harper Collins 2014-01-01 (2014)
ISBN 10: 0062190458 ISBN 13: 9780062190451
New Hardcover Quantity Available: > 20
Seller
BookOutlet
(Thorold, ON, Canada)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Harper Collins 2014-01-01, 2014. Hardcover. Book Condition: New. Hardcover. Publisher overstock, may contain remainder mark on edge. Bookseller Inventory # 9780062190451B

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
US$ 4.99
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: US$ 6.00
From Canada to U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

9.

Cargill, C. Robert
Published by Harper Voyager
ISBN 10: 0062190458 ISBN 13: 9780062190451
New Hardcover Quantity Available: 1
Seller
Vital Products COM LLC
(southampton, PA, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Harper Voyager. Hardcover. Book Condition: New. 0062190458. Bookseller Inventory # Z0062190458ZN

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
US$ 11.62
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: FREE
Within U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

10.

Cargill, C. Robert
Published by Harper (2014)
ISBN 10: 0062190458 ISBN 13: 9780062190451
New Hardcover First Edition Quantity Available: 1
Seller
Reader's Corner, Inc.
(Raleigh, NC, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Harper, 2014. Hard Cover. Book Condition: New. Dust Jacket Condition: New. First Edition, First Printing. This is a new hardcover first edition, first printing copy in a new, mylar protected DJ, black spine. 8vo - over 7¾" - 9¾" tall. Bookseller Inventory # 066417

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
US$ 12.00
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: US$ 3.50
Within U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

There are more copies of this book

View all search results for this book