Daphne Kalotay Sight Reading: A Novel

ISBN 13: 9780062246936

Sight Reading: A Novel

3.32 avg rating
( 797 ratings by Goodreads )
 
9780062246936: Sight Reading: A Novel
View all copies of this ISBN edition:
 
 

For readers who loved Bel Canto, Three Junes, and The Hours... On a warm spring day after a long New England winter, Hazel and Remy spot each other for the first time in years. Under ordinary circumstances, this meeting might seem insignificant. But Remy, a gifted violinist, is married to the Scottish composer Nicholas Elko--once the love of Hazel' s life, now struggling with a masterwork he cannot realize. In the twenty years since Hazel' s world was tipped on its axis, these three artists have faced unexpected joys, mysterious afflictions and other puzzles of life, their fates irrevocably interlaced.

As their story unfolds across two decades, moving from Europe to America and from conservatory life to the Boston Symphony Orchestra, this moving novel explores how the desire to create something real and true--be it a work of art or one's own life--can lead to deeper personal revelations, including the secrets we keep, even from ourselves.  Lyrical and evocative, Sight Reading asks questions about what makes a family, about the importance of art and beauty in daily life, and about the role of intuition in both the creative process and the evolution of the self.

"synopsis" may belong to another edition of this title.

Book Description:

Winner of the 2014 New England Society Book Award, Sight Reading is an intense, literary love story.

When Hazel and Remy happen upon each other on a warm Boston spring day, their worlds immediately begin to spin. Remy, a gifted violinist, is married to composer Nicholas Elko, who was once the love of Hazel's life. From Europe to America, from conservatory life to the Boston Symphony Orchestra, their lives have crisscrossed, diverged, and interlaced, each woman discovering how the quest to create something real and true can lead to profound personal revelations—and the unearthing of long-held secrets. As Remy and Hazel find themselves once more linked by shifting fate, Sight Reading explores mysteries of intuition and perception while unspooling a transporting story of marriage, family, and the secrets we keep, even from ourselves.

From the Back Cover:

The critically acclaimed author of Russian Winter turns her "sure and suspenseful artistry" (Boston Globe) to the lives of three colleagues and lovers in the world of classical music.

On a Boston street one warm spring day, Hazel and Remy spot each other for the first time in years. Although their brief meeting may seem insignificant, behind them lie two decades in which their life paths have crisscrossed, diverged, and ultimately interlaced. Remy, a gifted violinist, is married to the composer Nicholas Elko—once the love of Hazel's life.

It has been twenty years since Remy, an ambitious conservatory student; Nicholas, a wunderkind launching an international career; and his wife, the beautiful and fragile Hazel, first came together, tipping their collective world on its axis. As their story unfolds from 1987 to 2007, from Europe to America, from conservatory life to the Boston Symphony Orchestra, each discovers the surprising ways in which the quest to create something real and true—be it a work of art or one's own life—can lead to the most personal of revelations.

Lyrical and evocative, Sight Reading explores the role of art and beauty in everyday life, while unspooling a transporting story of marriage, family, and the secrets we keep, even from ourselves.

"About this title" may belong to another edition of this title.

Other Popular Editions of the Same Title

9780062246943: Sight Reading: A Novel

Featured Edition

ISBN 10:  0062246941 ISBN 13:  9780062246943
Publisher: Harper Perennial, 2014
Softcover

9780062253798: Sight Reading: A Novel

Harper..., 2013
Softcover

9781443418973: Sight Reading

Harper..., 2013
Softcover

9781443418980: Sight Reading

Harper..., 2014
Softcover

Top Search Results from the AbeBooks Marketplace

1.

Kalotay, Daphne
Published by Harper
ISBN 10: 0062246933 ISBN 13: 9780062246936
New Hardcover Quantity Available: 1
Seller:
Your Online Bookstore
(Houston, TX, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Harper. Hardcover. Condition: New. 0062246933 Ships promptly from Texas. Seller Inventory # Z0062246933ZN

More information about this seller | Contact this seller

Buy New
US$ 11.99
Convert currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: FREE
Within U.S.A.
Destination, rates & speeds

2.

Daphne Kalotay
Published by Harper (2013)
ISBN 10: 0062246933 ISBN 13: 9780062246936
New Hardcover Quantity Available: 1
Seller:
Cobblestones Books
(Marblehead, MA, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Harper, 2013. Hardcover. Condition: New. Dust Jacket Condition: New. Seller Inventory # 001964

More information about this seller | Contact this seller

Buy New
US$ 8.00
Convert currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: US$ 4.00
Within U.S.A.
Destination, rates & speeds

3.

Daphne Kalotay
Published by Harper (2013)
ISBN 10: 0062246933 ISBN 13: 9780062246936
New Hardcover Quantity Available: 1
Seller:
Irish Booksellers
(Portland, ME, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Harper, 2013. Condition: New. book. Seller Inventory # M0062246933

More information about this seller | Contact this seller

Buy New
US$ 18.23
Convert currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: FREE
Within U.S.A.
Destination, rates & speeds

4.

Kalotay, Daphne
Published by Harper
ISBN 10: 0062246933 ISBN 13: 9780062246936
New Hardcover Quantity Available: 1
Seller:
London Bridge Books
(London, United Kingdom)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Harper. Hardcover. Condition: New. 0062246933 Dispatched from London. Seller Inventory # Z0062246933ZN

More information about this seller | Contact this seller

Buy New
US$ 17.31
Convert currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: US$ 14.45
From United Kingdom to U.S.A.
Destination, rates & speeds

5.

Kalotay, Daphne
Published by Harper (2013)
ISBN 10: 0062246933 ISBN 13: 9780062246936
New Hardcover Quantity Available: 2
Seller:
Murray Media
(North Miami Beach, FL, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Harper, 2013. Hardcover. Condition: New. Never used!. Seller Inventory # P110062246933

More information about this seller | Contact this seller

Buy New
US$ 36.81
Convert currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: FREE
Within U.S.A.
Destination, rates & speeds

6.

Kalotay, Daphne
Published by Harper
ISBN 10: 0062246933 ISBN 13: 9780062246936
New Hardcover Quantity Available: 1
Seller:
Cloud 9 Books
(Wellington, FL, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Harper. Hardcover. Condition: New. 0062246933 New Condition. Seller Inventory # NEW7.0954811

More information about this seller | Contact this seller

Buy New
US$ 79.99
Convert currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: US$ 4.99
Within U.S.A.
Destination, rates & speeds