Golden Lion: A Novel of Heroes in a Time of War (The Courtney Series)

3.71 avg rating
( 2,036 ratings by Goodreads )
 
9780062276469: Golden Lion: A Novel of Heroes in a Time of War (The Courtney Series)

For readers of Game of Thrones, Ken Follett, and Clive Cussler:

an epic adventure spanning land and sea...

time and distance...

courage, revenge, and everything in between.

GOLDEN LION

He saw his father executed in battle. He spent his youth avenging that death. And now Henry 'Hal' Courtney is a man with a ship – and a family – of his own.

But fate has not finished with Hal. On a voyage along the eastern shore of Africa, a powerful enemy abducts his wife, the fearless warrior Judith... and with her, Hal's unborn child. For Hal, a man all too familiar with loss, there is only one way forward: He must track his nemesis across desert and ocean, through the slave markets of Zanzibar and the dangerous waters of the coast, in pursuit of the woman he loves, the child he sired, and the glorious destiny that awaits him.

Bursting with action and suspense, heroism and heartache, this unforgettable novel proves once more that Wilbur Smith is the world's greatest adventure writer.

"synopsis" may belong to another edition of this title.

About the Author:

Described by Stephen King as “the best historical novelist,” WILBUR SMITH made his debut in 1964 with When the Lion Feeds and has since sold more than 125 million copies of his books worldwide and been translated into twenty-six different languages. Born in Central Africa in 1933, he now lives in London.

Review:

“Best Historical Novelist--I say Wilbur Smith...You can get lost in Wilbur Smith and misplace all of August.” (Stephen King)

“One of the world’s most popular adventure writers.” (Washington Post Book World)

“I’ve been a fan of Wilbur Smith for the past three decades. Every new book is an event, a cherished time to get lost in ancient worlds.” (James Rollins, New York Times bestselling author of The 6th Extinction)

"About this title" may belong to another edition of this title.

Top Search Results from the AbeBooks Marketplace

International Edition
International Edition

1.

Wilbur Smith; Giles Kristian
ISBN 10: 0062276468 ISBN 13: 9780062276469
New Paperback Quantity Available: > 20
International Edition
Seller
US_Superfast_Bookstore
(New Castle, DE, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Paperback. Book Condition: New. This is an International Edition Brand New Paperback Same Title Author and Edition as listed. ISBN and Cover design differs. Similar Contents as U.S Edition. Standard Delivery within 6-14 business days ACROSS THE GLOBE. We can ship to PO Box address in US. We may ship the books from multiple warehouses across the globe including Asia depending upon the availability of inventory. Printed in English. Customer satisfaction guaranteed. Bookseller Inventory # U_9780062276469

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
US$ 9.14
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: US$ 2.65
Within U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds
International Edition
International Edition

2.

Smith, Wilbur; Kristian, Giles
Published by William Morrow
ISBN 10: 0062276468 ISBN 13: 9780062276469
New Softcover Quantity Available: > 20
International Edition
Seller
Sunshine Book Store
(Wilmington, DE, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description William Morrow. Book Condition: New. 0062276468 This is an International Edition. Brand New, paperback, Delivery within 6-14 business days, Same Contents as U.S Edition, ISBN and Cover design may differ. Choose Expedited shipping for delivery within 4-7 business days. We do not ship to PO Box, APO,FPO Address. We may ship the books from multiple warehouses across the globe, including India depending upon the availability of inventory storage. Customer satisfaction guaranteed. Bookseller Inventory # HU_9780062276469

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
US$ 12.93
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: FREE
Within U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

3.

Kristian, Giles
Published by Harper Collins 2015-10-20 (2015)
ISBN 10: 0062276468 ISBN 13: 9780062276469
New Hardcover Quantity Available: > 20
Seller
BookOutlet
(Thorold, ON, Canada)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Harper Collins 2015-10-20, 2015. Hardcover. Book Condition: New. Hardcover. Publisher overstock, may contain remainder mark on edge. Bookseller Inventory # 9780062276469B

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
US$ 6.99
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: US$ 6.00
From Canada to U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

4.

Wilbur Smith and Giles Kristian
ISBN 10: 0062276468 ISBN 13: 9780062276469
New Quantity Available: 1
Seller
Castle Rock
(Pittsford, NY, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Book Condition: Brand New. Book Condition: Brand New. Bookseller Inventory # 97800622764691.0

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
US$ 14.33
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: US$ 3.99
Within U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

5.

Wilbur Smith; Giles Kristian
ISBN 10: 0062276468 ISBN 13: 9780062276469
New Quantity Available: > 20
Seller
BWB
(Valley Stream, NY, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Book Condition: New. Depending on your location, this item may ship from the US or UK. Bookseller Inventory # 97800622764690000000

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
US$ 18.83
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: FREE
Within U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

6.

Smith, Wilbur
Published by Harpercollins (2015)
ISBN 10: 0062276468 ISBN 13: 9780062276469
New Quantity Available: > 20
Seller
Paperbackshop-US
(Wood Dale, IL, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Harpercollins, 2015. HRD. Book Condition: New. New Book. Shipped from US within 10 to 14 business days. Established seller since 2000. Bookseller Inventory # VC-9780062276469

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
US$ 15.44
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: US$ 3.99
Within U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

7.

Smith, Wilbur; Kristian, Giles
Published by William Morrow
ISBN 10: 0062276468 ISBN 13: 9780062276469
New Hardcover Quantity Available: > 20
Seller
Mediaoutlet12345
(Springfield, VA, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description William Morrow. Hardcover. Book Condition: New. 0062276468 *BRAND NEW* Ships Same Day or Next!. Bookseller Inventory # SWATI2132266504

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
US$ 16.78
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: US$ 3.99
Within U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

8.

Smith, Wilbur
Published by Morrow, NY (2015)
ISBN 10: 0062276468 ISBN 13: 9780062276469
New Hardcover First Edition Quantity Available: 1
Seller
Crowfly Books
(South Portland, ME, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Morrow, NY, 2015. Hardcover. Book Condition: New. Dust Jacket Condition: New. 1st Edition. This is a New and Unread copy of the first edition (1st printing). Bookseller Inventory # 047871

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
US$ 17.50
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: US$ 3.75
Within U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

9.

Smith, Wilbur
Published by Harper Collins Publishers
ISBN 10: 0062276468 ISBN 13: 9780062276469
New Quantity Available: > 20
Seller
INDOO
(Avenel, NJ, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Harper Collins Publishers. Book Condition: New. Brand New. Bookseller Inventory # 0062276468

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
US$ 17.77
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: US$ 3.50
Within U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

10.

Wilbur Smith, Giles Kristian
Published by William Morrow Company, United States (2015)
ISBN 10: 0062276468 ISBN 13: 9780062276469
New Hardcover Quantity Available: 1
Seller
The Book Depository US
(London, United Kingdom)
Rating
[?]

Book Description William Morrow Company, United States, 2015. Hardback. Book Condition: New. Language: English . Brand New Book. In this sweeping adventure full of danger, action, and intrigue, the master who has been the model for bestselling authors such as Clive Cussler and Bernard Cornwell returns to his longest-running series, taking fans back to the very beginnings of the Courtney family saga. The son of pirate and merchant Sir Frances Courtney, Henry "Hal" Courtney was raised at sea. When war broke out between the English and the Dutch empires, his father, fighting for the English crown, attacked a fleet of Dutch East India Company ships off the coast of Africa. That bravery was met with betrayal, and Sir Francis was executed. His heartbroken son witnessed his death and dedicated his young adulthood to avenging his fatherís name. Now, twenty years of war have passed. It is 1784, and a truce has been made between the English and the Dutch, ending the long years of battle on the seas. Hal, too has changed. He has become the captain of his own ship, and is soon to become a father himself. Navigating his crew across the waves of danger, Hal sails his ship, the Golden Bough, from the slave markets of Zanzibar to the pirate-riddled waters of the Indian Ocean in search of fortune and treasure. But though the war is over, the final battle has not been won. Soon, Hal will learn that the more a man achieves, the more he has to lose. . . . Bursting with swashbuckling action and thrilling adventure, this magnificent novel breathes new life into one of Wilbur Smithís most beloved family sagas and confirms his status as our "best historical novelist" (Stephen King). Bookseller Inventory # LIB9780062276469

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
US$ 22.38
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: FREE
From United Kingdom to U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

There are more copies of this book

View all search results for this book