Unapologetic: Why, Despite Everything, Christianity Can Still Make Surprising Emotional Sense

3.98 avg rating
( 872 ratings by GoodReads )
 
9780062300454: Unapologetic: Why, Despite Everything, Christianity Can Still Make Surprising Emotional Sense

Francis Spufford's Unapologetic is a wonderfully pugnacious defense of Christianity. Refuting critics such as Richard Dawkins, Sam Harris, and the "new atheist" crowd, Spufford, a former atheist and Fellow of the Royal Society of Literature, argues that Christianity is recognizable, drawing on the deep and deeply ordinary vocabulary of human feeling, satisfying those who believe in it by offering a ruthlessly realistic account of the grown-up dignity of Christian experience.

Fans of C. S. Lewis, N. T. Wright, Marilynne Robinson, Mary Karr, Diana Butler Bass, Rob Bell, and James Martin will appreciate Spufford's crisp, lively, and abashedly defiant thesis.

Unapologetic is a book for believers who are fed up with being patronized, for non-believers curious about how faith can possibly work in the twenty-first century, and for anyone who feels there is something indefinably wrong, literalistic, anti-imaginative and intolerant about the way the atheist case is now being made.

"synopsis" may belong to another edition of this title.

From the Back Cover:

First published in the United Kingdom to great acclaim, Unapologetic is a wonderfully pugnacious defense of Christianity. But it isn't an argument that Christianity is true—because how could anyone know that (or indeed its opposite)? It's an argument that Christianity is recognizable, drawing on the deep and deeply ordinary vocabulary of human feeling, satisfying those who believe in it by offering a ruthlessly realistic account of the grown-up dignity of Christian experience.

Unhampered by niceness, this is a book for believers who are fed up with being patronized, for non-believers curious about how faith can possibly work in the twenty-first century, and for anyone who feels there is something indefinably wrong, literalistic, anti-imaginative, and intolerant about the way the atheist case is now being made.

About the Author:

Francis Spufford, a former Sunday Times Young Writer of the Year (1997), has edited two acclaimed literary anthologies and a collection of essays about the history of technology. His first book, I May Be Some Time, won the Writers' Guild Award for Best Non-Fiction Book of 1996, the Banff Mountain Book Prize, and a Somerset Maugham Award. His second, The Child That Books Built, gave Neil Gaiman "the peculiar feeling that there was now a book I didn't need to write." His third book, Backroom Boys, was called "as nearly perfect as makes no difference" by the Daily Telegraph, and Red Plenty was one of Dwight Garner's New York Times 10 Favorite Books of 2012. Spufford is a Fellow of the Royal Society of Literature and teaches at Goldsmiths College in London.

"About this title" may belong to another edition of this title.

Top Search Results from the AbeBooks Marketplace

1.

Spufford, Francis
Published by HarperOne
ISBN 10: 0062300458 ISBN 13: 9780062300454
New Hardcover Quantity Available: 2
Seller
Mesilla Internet
(Mesilla, NM, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description HarperOne. Hardcover. Book Condition: New. 0062300458 New. Ships out the next day. No sales tax. Bookseller Inventory # Z0062300458ZN

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
US$ 7.44
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: US$ 3.99
Within U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

2.

Spufford, Francis
Published by HarperOne
ISBN 10: 0062300458 ISBN 13: 9780062300454
New Hardcover Quantity Available: > 20
Seller
Paseo Books
(Mesa, AZ, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description HarperOne. Hardcover. Book Condition: New. 0062300458 New. Bookseller Inventory # Z0062300458ZN

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
US$ 7.45
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: US$ 3.99
Within U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

3.

Spufford, Francis
Published by HarperOne (2013)
ISBN 10: 0062300458 ISBN 13: 9780062300454
New Hardcover Quantity Available: 2
Seller
HALCYON BOOKS
(LONDON, United Kingdom)
Rating
[?]

Book Description HarperOne, 2013. Hardcover. Book Condition: New. DISPATCHED FROM THE UK WITHIN 24 HOURS ( BOOKS ORDERED OVER THE WEEKEND DISPATCHED ON MONDAY) BY ROYAL MAIL. ALL OVERSEAS ORDERS SENT BY AIR MAIL. Bookseller Inventory # mon0000467171

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
US$ 6.68
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: US$ 8.10
From United Kingdom to U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

4.

Spufford, Francis
ISBN 10: 0062300458 ISBN 13: 9780062300454
New Quantity Available: > 20
Seller
BWB
(Valley Stream, NY, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Book Condition: New. Depending on your location, this item may ship from the US or UK. Bookseller Inventory # 97800623004540000000

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
US$ 14.93
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: FREE
Within U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

5.

Spufford, Francis
Published by Harper Collins Publishers
ISBN 10: 0062300458 ISBN 13: 9780062300454
New Quantity Available: > 20
Seller
INDOO
(Avenel, NJ, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Harper Collins Publishers. Book Condition: New. Brand New. Bookseller Inventory # 0062300458

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
US$ 13.60
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: US$ 3.50
Within U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

6.

Spufford, Francis
Published by Harpercollins (2013)
ISBN 10: 0062300458 ISBN 13: 9780062300454
New Quantity Available: > 20
Seller
Paperbackshop-US
(Commerce, GA, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Harpercollins, 2013. HRD. Book Condition: New. New Book. Shipped from US within 10 to 14 business days. Established seller since 2000. Bookseller Inventory # VC-9780062300454

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
US$ 13.30
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: US$ 3.99
Within U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

7.

Spufford, Francis
Published by HarperOne, United States (2013)
ISBN 10: 0062300458 ISBN 13: 9780062300454
New Hardcover Quantity Available: 1
Seller
The Book Depository US
(London, United Kingdom)
Rating
[?]

Book Description HarperOne, United States, 2013. Hardback. Book Condition: New. 208 x 148 mm. Language: English . Brand New Book. First published in the United Kingdom to great acclaim, Unapologetic is a wonderfully pugnacious defense of Christianity. But it isn t an argument that Christianity is true--because how could anyone know that (or indeed its opposite)? It s an argument that Christianity is recognizable, drawing on the deep and deeply ordinary vocabulary of human feeling, satisfying those who believe in it by offering a ruthlessly realistic account of the grown-up dignity of Christian experience.Unhampered by niceness, this is a book for believers who are fed up with being patronized, for non-believers curious about how faith can possibly work in the twenty-first century, and for anyone who feels there is something indefinably wrong, literalistic, anti-imaginative, and intolerant about the way the atheist case is now being made. Bookseller Inventory # AAC9780062300454

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
US$ 20.68
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: FREE
From United Kingdom to U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

8.

Spufford, Francis
Published by HARPER SAN FRANCISCO (2013)
ISBN 10: 0062300458 ISBN 13: 9780062300454
New Quantity Available: 1
Seller
PBShop
(Wood Dale, IL, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description HARPER SAN FRANCISCO, 2013. HRD. Book Condition: New. New Book.Shipped from US within 10 to 14 business days. Established seller since 2000. Bookseller Inventory # IB-9780062300454

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
US$ 16.84
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: US$ 3.99
Within U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

9.

Spufford, Francis
Published by HarperOne, United States (2013)
ISBN 10: 0062300458 ISBN 13: 9780062300454
New Hardcover Quantity Available: 1
Seller
The Book Depository
(London, United Kingdom)
Rating
[?]

Book Description HarperOne, United States, 2013. Hardback. Book Condition: New. 208 x 148 mm. Language: English . Brand New Book. First published in the United Kingdom to great acclaim, Unapologetic is a wonderfully pugnacious defense of Christianity. But it isn t an argument that Christianity is true--because how could anyone know that (or indeed its opposite)? It s an argument that Christianity is recognizable, drawing on the deep and deeply ordinary vocabulary of human feeling, satisfying those who believe in it by offering a ruthlessly realistic account of the grown-up dignity of Christian experience.Unhampered by niceness, this is a book for believers who are fed up with being patronized, for non-believers curious about how faith can possibly work in the twenty-first century, and for anyone who feels there is something indefinably wrong, literalistic, anti-imaginative, and intolerant about the way the atheist case is now being made. Bookseller Inventory # AAC9780062300454

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
US$ 21.30
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: FREE
From United Kingdom to U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

10.

Spufford, Francis
Published by HarperOne
ISBN 10: 0062300458 ISBN 13: 9780062300454
New Hardcover Quantity Available: 1
Seller
Movie Mars
(Indian Trail, NC, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description HarperOne. Hardcover. Book Condition: New. 0062300458 Brand New Book. Ships from the United States. 30 Day Satisfaction Guarantee!. Bookseller Inventory # 16510062

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
US$ 20.00
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: US$ 3.99
Within U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

There are more copies of this book

View all search results for this book