Unapologetic: Why, Despite Everything, Christianity Can Still Make Surprising Emotional Sense

4 avg rating
( 928 ratings by Goodreads )
 
9780062300454: Unapologetic: Why, Despite Everything, Christianity Can Still Make Surprising Emotional Sense

Francis Spufford's Unapologetic is a wonderfully pugnacious defense of Christianity. Refuting critics such as Richard Dawkins, Sam Harris, and the "new atheist" crowd, Spufford, a former atheist and Fellow of the Royal Society of Literature, argues that Christianity is recognizable, drawing on the deep and deeply ordinary vocabulary of human feeling, satisfying those who believe in it by offering a ruthlessly realistic account of the grown-up dignity of Christian experience.

Fans of C. S. Lewis, N. T. Wright, Marilynne Robinson, Mary Karr, Diana Butler Bass, Rob Bell, and James Martin will appreciate Spufford's crisp, lively, and abashedly defiant thesis.

Unapologetic is a book for believers who are fed up with being patronized, for non-believers curious about how faith can possibly work in the twenty-first century, and for anyone who feels there is something indefinably wrong, literalistic, anti-imaginative and intolerant about the way the atheist case is now being made.

"synopsis" may belong to another edition of this title.

From the Back Cover:

First published in the United Kingdom to great acclaim, Unapologetic is a wonderfully pugnacious defense of Christianity. But it isn't an argument that Christianity is true—because how could anyone know that (or indeed its opposite)? It's an argument that Christianity is recognizable, drawing on the deep and deeply ordinary vocabulary of human feeling, satisfying those who believe in it by offering a ruthlessly realistic account of the grown-up dignity of Christian experience.

Unhampered by niceness, this is a book for believers who are fed up with being patronized, for non-believers curious about how faith can possibly work in the twenty-first century, and for anyone who feels there is something indefinably wrong, literalistic, anti-imaginative, and intolerant about the way the atheist case is now being made.

About the Author:

Francis Spufford, a former Sunday Times Young Writer of the Year (1997), has edited two acclaimed literary anthologies and a collection of essays about the history of technology. His first book, I May Be Some Time, won the Writers' Guild Award for Best Non-Fiction Book of 1996, the Banff Mountain Book Prize, and a Somerset Maugham Award. His second, The Child That Books Built, gave Neil Gaiman "the peculiar feeling that there was now a book I didn't need to write." His third book, Backroom Boys, was called "as nearly perfect as makes no difference" by the Daily Telegraph, and Red Plenty was one of Dwight Garner's New York Times 10 Favorite Books of 2012. Spufford is a Fellow of the Royal Society of Literature and teaches at Goldsmiths College in London.

"About this title" may belong to another edition of this title.

Buy New View Book
List Price: US$ 25.99
US$ 5.99

Convert Currency

Shipping: US$ 6.00
From Canada to U.S.A.

Destination, Rates & Speeds

Add to Basket

Top Search Results from the AbeBooks Marketplace

1.

Spufford, Francis
Published by Harper Collins 2013-10-15 (2013)
ISBN 10: 0062300458 ISBN 13: 9780062300454
New Hardcover Quantity Available: 13
Seller
BookOutlet
(Thorold, ON, Canada)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Harper Collins 2013-10-15, 2013. Hardcover. Book Condition: New. Hardcover. Publisher overstock, may contain remainder mark on edge. Bookseller Inventory # 9780062300454B

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
US$ 5.99
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: US$ 6.00
From Canada to U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

2.

Spufford, Francis
Published by HarperOne
ISBN 10: 0062300458 ISBN 13: 9780062300454
New Hardcover Quantity Available: 1
Seller
Your Online Bookstore
(Houston, TX, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description HarperOne. Hardcover. Book Condition: New. 0062300458 Ships promptly. Bookseller Inventory # GAT1295GAGG071417H0995A

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
US$ 18.23
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: FREE
Within U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

3.

Spufford, Francis
Published by HarperOne
ISBN 10: 0062300458 ISBN 13: 9780062300454
New Hardcover Quantity Available: 1
Seller
Green Street Books
(San Mateo, CA, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description HarperOne. Hardcover. Book Condition: New. 0062300458. Bookseller Inventory # 058209

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
US$ 14.69
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: US$ 4.00
Within U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

4.

Spufford, Francis
Published by HarperOne
ISBN 10: 0062300458 ISBN 13: 9780062300454
New Hardcover Quantity Available: > 20
Seller
Mediaoutlet12345
(Springfield, VA, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description HarperOne. Hardcover. Book Condition: New. 0062300458 *BRAND NEW* Ships Same Day or Next!. Bookseller Inventory # SWATI2132255215

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
US$ 15.44
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: US$ 3.99
Within U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

5.

Francis Spufford
Published by HarperOne, United States (2013)
ISBN 10: 0062300458 ISBN 13: 9780062300454
New Hardcover Quantity Available: 1
Seller
The Book Depository US
(London, United Kingdom)
Rating
[?]

Book Description HarperOne, United States, 2013. Hardback. Book Condition: New. Language: English . Brand New Book. Francis Spufford s Unapologetic is a wonderfully pugnacious defense of Christianity. Refuting critics such as Richard Dawkins, Sam Harris, and the new atheist crowd, Spufford, a former atheist and Fellow of the Royal Society of Literature, argues that Christianity is recognizable, drawing on the deep and deeply ordinary vocabulary of human feeling, satisfying those who believe in it by offering a ruthlessly realistic account of the grown-up dignity of Christian experience. Fans of C. S. Lewis, N. T. Wright, Marilynne Robinson, Mary Karr, Diana Butler Bass, Rob Bell, and James Martin will appreciate Spufford s crisp, lively, and abashedly defiant thesis. Unapologetic is a book for believers who are fed up with being patronized, for non-believers curious about how faith can possibly work in the twenty-first century, and for anyone who feels there is something indefinably wrong, literalistic, anti-imaginative and intolerant about the way the atheist case is now being made. Bookseller Inventory # LIB9780062300454

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
US$ 27.01
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: FREE
From United Kingdom to U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

6.

Francis Spufford
Published by HarperOne, United States (2013)
ISBN 10: 0062300458 ISBN 13: 9780062300454
New Hardcover Quantity Available: 1
Seller
The Book Depository
(London, United Kingdom)
Rating
[?]

Book Description HarperOne, United States, 2013. Hardback. Book Condition: New. Language: English . Brand New Book. Francis Spufford s Unapologetic is a wonderfully pugnacious defense of Christianity. Refuting critics such as Richard Dawkins, Sam Harris, and the new atheist crowd, Spufford, a former atheist and Fellow of the Royal Society of Literature, argues that Christianity is recognizable, drawing on the deep and deeply ordinary vocabulary of human feeling, satisfying those who believe in it by offering a ruthlessly realistic account of the grown-up dignity of Christian experience. Fans of C. S. Lewis, N. T. Wright, Marilynne Robinson, Mary Karr, Diana Butler Bass, Rob Bell, and James Martin will appreciate Spufford s crisp, lively, and abashedly defiant thesis. Unapologetic is a book for believers who are fed up with being patronized, for non-believers curious about how faith can possibly work in the twenty-first century, and for anyone who feels there is something indefinably wrong, literalistic, anti-imaginative and intolerant about the way the atheist case is now being made. Bookseller Inventory # LIB9780062300454

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
US$ 28.15
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: FREE
From United Kingdom to U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

7.

Francis Spufford
Published by HarperOne (2013)
ISBN 10: 0062300458 ISBN 13: 9780062300454
New Hardcover Quantity Available: 1
Seller
Irish Booksellers
(Rumford, ME, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description HarperOne, 2013. Hardcover. Book Condition: New. book. Bookseller Inventory # 0062300458

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
US$ 28.48
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: FREE
Within U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

8.

Francis Spufford
Published by HarperOne 2013-10-15 (2013)
ISBN 10: 0062300458 ISBN 13: 9780062300454
New Hardcover Quantity Available: 1
Seller
Blackwell's
(Oxford, OX, United Kingdom)
Rating
[?]

Book Description HarperOne 2013-10-15, 2013. hardback. Book Condition: New. Bookseller Inventory # 9780062300454

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
US$ 33.45
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: US$ 3.90
From United Kingdom to U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

9.

Francis Spufford
ISBN 10: 0062300458 ISBN 13: 9780062300454
New Quantity Available: 1
Seller
Castle Rock
(Pittsford, NY, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Book Condition: Brand New. Book Condition: Brand New. Bookseller Inventory # 97800623004541.0

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
US$ 34.79
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: US$ 3.99
Within U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

10.

Francis Spufford
Published by Harper Collins (2013)
ISBN 10: 0062300458 ISBN 13: 9780062300454
New Hardcover Quantity Available: 1
Seller
Rating
[?]

Book Description Harper Collins, 2013. Book Condition: New. Bookseller Inventory # L9780062300454

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
US$ 34.43
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: US$ 4.65
From Germany to U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

There are more copies of this book

View all search results for this book