Horack, Skip The Other Joseph: A Novel

ISBN 13: 9780062300850

The Other Joseph: A Novel

3.86 avg rating
( 78 ratings by GoodReads )
 
9780062300850: The Other Joseph: A Novel

A masterful depiction of a life driven off the rails by tragedy and sin—a man now summoned by the legacy of a beloved, lost brother to embark on a journey in search toward understanding, happiness, and redemption.

Haunted by the disappearance of his older brother Tommy in the first Gulf War, the tragic deaths of his parents, and the felony conviction that has branded him for a decade, Roy Joseph has labored in lonesome exile—and under the ever-watchful eyes of the law—moving between oil rigs off the coast of Louisiana and an Airstream trailer he shares with his dog.

Then, on the cusp of his thirtieth birthday, Roy is contacted by a teenage girl from California claiming to be his lost brother's biological daughter. Yearning for connection and the prospect of family, Roy embarks on a journey across America, visiting childhood haunts in the South to confront his troubled memories and history, and making a stop in Nevada to call on a retired Navy SEAL who may hold the answer to Tommy's fate. The ultimate destination is San Francisco, where a potential Russian bride and his long-lost niece await, and Roy may finally recover the Joseph line.

With The Other Joseph, Skip Horack delivers a powerful, spellbinding tale of a man nearly defeated by life who is given one last chance at redemption—one last shot to find meaning and alter the course of his solitary existence

"synopsis" may belong to another edition of this title.

Product Description:

In the tradition of Russell Banks and Jim Harrison, a masterful depiction of a life driven off the rails by tragedy and sin—a man now summoned by the legacy of a beloved, lost brother to embark on a journey in search of understanding, happiness, and redemption.

Roy Joseph’s life has not been an easy one. Haunted by the disappearance of his older brother, Tommy, in the first Gulf War, the tragic deaths of his parents, and the felony conviction that has branded him, he has labored in lonesome exile for a decade, moving between oilrigs off the coast of Louisiana and an Airstream trailer he shares with his dog.

Then, on the cusp of his thirtieth birthday, Roy is contacted by a San Francisco teenager claiming to be his lost brother’s biological daughter. Yearning for connection, and the possibility of family, Roy embarks on a journey across America—encountering complications, distractions, and dangers at almost every turn. A former Navy SEAL who might know what happened to Tommy. Roy’s own troubled memories and history. A potential Russian bride. The ever-watchful eyes of the law.

The Other Joseph is a spellbinding, explosive tale of a man nearly defeated by life given one last chance at redemption—one last shot to find meaning and alter the course of his heartbreaking, solitary existence.

About the Author:

Skip Horack is a former Jones Lecturer at Stanford University, where he was also a Wallace Stegner Fellow. His short-story collection, The Southern Cross, won the Bread Loaf Writers' Conference Bakeless Fiction Prize, and his novel The Eden Hunter was a New York Times Book Review Editors' Choice. A native of Louisiana, he is currently an assistant professor at Florida State University.

"About this title" may belong to another edition of this title.

Top Search Results from the AbeBooks Marketplace

1.

Horack, Skip
Published by Ecco
ISBN 10: 0062300857 ISBN 13: 9780062300850
New Quantity Available: 1
Seller
Magers and Quinn Booksellers
(Minneapolis, MN, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Ecco. Book Condition: New. Brand New. Includes everything it's supposed to include. Bookseller Inventory # 912804

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
US$ 9.74
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: US$ 3.99
Within U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

2.

Horack, Skip
Published by Ecco (2015)
ISBN 10: 0062300857 ISBN 13: 9780062300850
New Hardcover Quantity Available: 1
Seller
Book Deals
(Lewiston, NY, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Ecco, 2015. Book Condition: New. Brand New, Unread Copy in Perfect Condition. A+ Customer Service! Summary: In the tradition of Russell Banks and Jim Harrison, a masterful depiction of a life driven off the rails by tragedy and sina man now summoned by the legacy of a beloved, lost brother to embark on a journey in search of understanding, happiness, and redemption. Roy Joseph's life has not been an easy one. Haunted by the disappearance of his older brother, Tommy, in the first Gulf War, the tragic deaths of his parents, and the felony conviction that has branded him, he has labored in lonesome exile for a decade, moving between oilrigs off the coast of Louisiana and an Airstream trailer he shares with his dog. Then, on the cusp of his thirtieth birthday, Roy is contacted by a San Francisco teenager claiming to be his lost brother's biological daughter. Yearning for connection, and the possibility of family, Roy embarks on a journey across Americaencountering complications, distractions, and dangers at almost every turn. A former Navy SEAL who might know what happened to Tommy. Roy's own troubled memories and history. A potential Russian bride. The ever-watchful eyes of the law. The Other Joseph is a spellbinding, explosive tale of a man nearly defeated by life given one last chance at redemptionone last shot to find meaning and alter the course of his heartbreaking, solitary existence. Bookseller Inventory # ABE_book_new_0062300857

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
US$ 18.95
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: FREE
Within U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

3.

Horack, Skip
Published by Ecco (2015)
ISBN 10: 0062300857 ISBN 13: 9780062300850
New Hardcover Quantity Available: 1
Seller
Irish Booksellers
(Rumford, ME, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Ecco, 2015. Hardcover. Book Condition: New. book. Bookseller Inventory # 0062300857

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
US$ 18.97
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: FREE
Within U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

4.

Horack, Skip
Published by Ecco (2015)
ISBN 10: 0062300857 ISBN 13: 9780062300850
New Hardcover Quantity Available: 5
Seller
Ergodebooks
(RICHMOND, TX, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Ecco, 2015. Hardcover. Book Condition: New. Bookseller Inventory # INGM9780062300850

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
US$ 22.37
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: US$ 3.99
Within U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

5.

Horack, Skip
ISBN 10: 0062300857 ISBN 13: 9780062300850
New Quantity Available: 1
Seller
Castle Rock
(Pittsford, NY, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Book Condition: Brand New. Book Condition: Brand New. Bookseller Inventory # 97800623008501.0

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
US$ 23.45
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: US$ 3.99
Within U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

6.

Horack, Skip
Published by Ecco, U.S.A. (2015)
ISBN 10: 0062300857 ISBN 13: 9780062300850
New Hardcover First Edition Signed Quantity Available: 1
Seller
Turnrow Book Co.
(Greenwood, MS, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Ecco, U.S.A., 2015. Hardcover. Book Condition: New. Dust Jacket Condition: New. 1st Edition. First Edition/First Printing. Signed by the author on the title page. The book is new and unread. The jacket is in a mylar cover. All of our books are selected and shipped in a box by a discriminating collector. Signed by Author(s). Bookseller Inventory # 000285

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
US$ 33.50
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: US$ 5.00
Within U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

7.

Horack, Skip
Published by Ecco (2015)
ISBN 10: 0062300857 ISBN 13: 9780062300850
New Hardcover Quantity Available: 3
Seller
Murray Media
(North Miami Beach, FL, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Ecco, 2015. Hardcover. Book Condition: New. Bookseller Inventory # P110062300857

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
US$ 41.49
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: US$ 2.99
Within U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

8.

Horack, Skip
Published by Ecco Pr (2015)
ISBN 10: 0062300857 ISBN 13: 9780062300850
New Hardcover Quantity Available: 1
Seller
Revaluation Books
(Exeter, United Kingdom)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Ecco Pr, 2015. Hardcover. Book Condition: Brand New. 304 pages. 9.00x6.00x1.01 inches. In Stock. Bookseller Inventory # zk0062300857

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
US$ 46.13
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: US$ 7.40
From United Kingdom to U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds