Diary of a Madman: The Geto Boys, Life, Death, and the Roots of Southern Rap

3.93 avg rating
( 195 ratings by Goodreads )
 
9780062302632: Diary of a Madman: The Geto Boys, Life, Death, and the Roots of Southern Rap

For fans of Jay Z’s Decoded and DMX’s E.A.R.L., an eloquent, passionate, and entertaining memoir from the legendary godfather of Southern rap and front man of the Geto Boys about growing up in Houston, the roots and influences of Southern hip-hop, and how he rose to the top of the burgeoning rap scene.

Scarface is the celebrated rapper whose hits include “On My Block,” “Mind Playing Tricks on Me” and “Damn It Feels Good to be a Gangsta” (made famous in the cult film Office Space). He is the iconic front man of the seminal rap group Geto Boys and the former president of Def Jam South, and has had many solo hits such as “Guess Who’s Back feat. Jay-Z” and “Smile feat. Tupac” (plus collaborations with everyone from Kanye West and Eminem to Ice Cube and Nas).  But before that, he was a kid from Houston in love with rock-and-roll, listening to AC/DC and KISS.

Diary of a Madman is the story of how Scarface’s world changed when he heard Run DMC for the first time; how he dropped out of school in the ninth grade and started selling crack; and how he began rapping as the new form of music made its way out of New York and across the country. It is the account of his rise to the heights of the rap world, as well as his battles with his own demons and depression.

Featuring 20-40 photos, Diary of a Madman eloquently and passionately unpacks and explains the roots and influences of Southern rap culture. It is the story of hip-hop—the music, the business, the streets, and the South.

"synopsis" may belong to another edition of this title.

Product Description:

One of Rolling Stone’s Best Music Books of 2015

From Geto Boys legend and renowned storyteller Scarface, comes a passionate memoir about how hip-hop changed the life of a kid from the south side of Houston, and how he rose to the top-and ushered in a new generation of rap dominance.  Scarface is the celebrated rapper whose hits include "On My Block," "Mind Playing Tricks on Me" and "Damn It Feels Good to be a Gangsta" (made famous in the cult film Office Space). The former president of Def Jam South, he's collaborated with everyone from Kanye West, Ice Cube and Nas, and had many solo hits such as "Guess Who's Back" feat. Jay-Z and "Smile" feat. Tupac. But before that, he was a kid from Houston in love with rock-and-roll, listening to AC/DC and KISS.

 In Diary of a Madman, Scarface shares how his world changed when he heard Run DMC for the first time; how he dropped out of school in the ninth grade and started selling crack; and how he began rapping as the new form of music made its way out of New York and across the country. It is the account of his rise to the heights of the rap world, as well as his battles with his own demons and depression. Passionately exploring and explaining the roots and influences of rap culture, Diary of a Madman is the story of hip-hop-the music, the business, the streets, and life on the south side Houston, Texas.  

Product Description:

From Geto Boys legend and renowned storyteller Scarface, comes a passionate memoir about how hip-hop changed the life of a kid from the south side of Houston, and how he rose to the top-and ushered in a new generation of rap dominance.  Scarface is the celebrated rapper whose hits include "On My Block," "Mind Playing Tricks on Me" and "Damn It Feels Good to be a Gangsta" (made famous in the cult film Office Space). The former president of Def Jam South, he's collaborated with everyone from Kanye West, Ice Cube and Nas, and had many solo hits such as "Guess Who's Back" feat. Jay-Z and "Smile" feat. Tupac. But before that, he was a kid from Houston in love with rock-and-roll, listening to AC/DC and KISS.

In Diary of a Madman, Scarface shares how his world changed when he heard Run DMC for the first time; how he dropped out of school in the ninth grade and started selling crack; and how he began rapping as the new form of music made its way out of New York and across the country. It is the account of his rise to the heights of the rap world, as well as his battles with his own demons and depression. Passionately exploring and explaining the roots and influences of rap culture, Diary of a Madman is the story of hip-hop-the music, the business, the streets, and life on the south side Houston, Texas.

"About this title" may belong to another edition of this title.

Top Search Results from the AbeBooks Marketplace

1.

Jordan, Brad "Scarface"; Ingram, Benjamin Meadows
Published by Dey Street Books
ISBN 10: 0062302639 ISBN 13: 9780062302632
New Hardcover Quantity Available: 1
Seller
BookShop4U
(PHILADELPHIA, PA, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Dey Street Books. Hardcover. Book Condition: New. 0062302639. Bookseller Inventory # Z0062302639ZN

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
US$ 12.41
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: FREE
Within U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

2.

Jordan, Brad "Scarface"; Ingram, Benjamin Meadows
Published by Dey Street Books 2015-04-21 (2015)
ISBN 10: 0062302639 ISBN 13: 9780062302632
New Hardcover Quantity Available: 1
Seller
Ebooksweb COM LLC
(Bensalem, PA, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Dey Street Books 2015-04-21, 2015. Hardcover. Book Condition: New. 0062302639. Bookseller Inventory # Z0062302639ZN

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
US$ 12.41
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: FREE
Within U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

3.

Ingram, Benjamin Meadows
Published by Harper Collins 2015-04-21 (2015)
ISBN 10: 0062302639 ISBN 13: 9780062302632
New Hardcover Quantity Available: > 20
Seller
BookOutlet
(Thorold, ON, Canada)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Harper Collins 2015-04-21, 2015. Hardcover. Book Condition: New. Hardcover. Publisher overstock, may contain remainder mark on edge. Bookseller Inventory # 9780062302632B

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
US$ 6.99
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: US$ 6.00
From Canada to U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

4.

Brad "Scarface" Jordan; Benjamin Meadows Ingram
ISBN 10: 0062302639 ISBN 13: 9780062302632
New Quantity Available: > 20
Seller
BWB
(Valley Stream, NY, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Book Condition: New. Depending on your location, this item may ship from the US or UK. Bookseller Inventory # 97800623026320000000

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
US$ 16.82
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: FREE
Within U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

5.

Jordan, Brad "Scarface"
Published by Harper Collins Publishers
ISBN 10: 0062302639 ISBN 13: 9780062302632
New Quantity Available: > 20
Seller
INDOO
(Avenel, NJ, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Harper Collins Publishers. Book Condition: New. Brand New. Bookseller Inventory # 0062302639

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
US$ 13.60
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: US$ 3.50
Within U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

6.

Jordan, Brad "Scarface"; Ingram, Benjamin Meadows
Published by Dey Street Books
ISBN 10: 0062302639 ISBN 13: 9780062302632
New Hardcover Quantity Available: 1
Seller
Mesilla Internet
(Mesilla, NM, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Dey Street Books. Hardcover. Book Condition: New. 0062302639 New. Bookseller Inventory # Z0062302639ZN

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
US$ 14.15
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: US$ 3.98
Within U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

7.

Jordan, Brad "Scarface"
Published by Harpercollins (2015)
ISBN 10: 0062302639 ISBN 13: 9780062302632
New Quantity Available: > 20
Seller
Paperbackshop-US
(Wood Dale, IL, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Harpercollins, 2015. HRD. Book Condition: New. New Book. Shipped from US within 10 to 14 business days. Established seller since 2000. Bookseller Inventory # VC-9780062302632

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
US$ 14.25
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: US$ 3.99
Within U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

8.

Jordan, Brad "Scarface"
Published by Harpercollins (2015)
ISBN 10: 0062302639 ISBN 13: 9780062302632
New Quantity Available: 6
Seller
Pbshop
(Wood Dale, IL, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Harpercollins, 2015. HRD. Book Condition: New. New Book.Shipped from US within 10 to 14 business days. Established seller since 2000. Bookseller Inventory # IB-9780062302632

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
US$ 15.62
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: US$ 3.99
Within U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

9.

Jordan, Brad "Scarface"
ISBN 10: 0062302639 ISBN 13: 9780062302632
New Hardcover Quantity Available: 2
Seller
BargainBookStores
(Grand Rapids, MI, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Hardcover. Book Condition: New. Bookseller Inventory # 7958737

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
US$ 16.05
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: US$ 3.99
Within U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

10.

Brad Scarface Jordan, Benjamin Meadows Ingram
Published by HarperCollins Publishers Inc, United States (2015)
ISBN 10: 0062302639 ISBN 13: 9780062302632
New Hardcover Quantity Available: 1
Seller
The Book Depository US
(London, United Kingdom)
Rating
[?]

Book Description HarperCollins Publishers Inc, United States, 2015. Hardback. Book Condition: New. 230 x 150 mm. Language: English . Brand New Book. One of Rolling Stone s Best Music Books of 2015 From Geto Boys legend and renowned storyteller Scarface, comes a passionate memoir about how hip-hop changed the life of a kid from the south side of Houston, and how he rose to the top-and ushered in a new generation of rap dominance. Scarface is the celebrated rapper whose hits include On My Block, Mind Playing Tricks on Me and Damn It Feels Good to be a Gangsta (made famous in the cult film Office Space). The former president of Def Jam South, he s collaborated with everyone from Kanye West, Ice Cube and Nas, and had many solo hits such as Guess Who s Back feat. Jay-Z and Smile feat. Tupac. But before that, he was a kid from Houston in love with rock-and-roll, listening to AC/DC and KISS. In Diary of a Madman, Scarface shares how his world changed when he heard Run DMC for the first time; how he dropped out of school in the ninth grade and started selling crack; and how he began rapping as the new form of music made its way out of New York and across the country. It is the account of his rise to the heights of the rap world, as well as his battles with his own demons and depression. Passionately exploring and explaining the roots and influences of rap culture, Diary of a Madman is the story of hip-hop-the music, the business, the streets, and life on the south side Houston, Texas. Bookseller Inventory # AAS9780062302632

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
US$ 20.35
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: FREE
From United Kingdom to U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

There are more copies of this book

View all search results for this book