The Darkest Hour: A Novel

3.76 avg rating
( 474 ratings by GoodReads )
 
9780062339362: The Darkest Hour: A Novel

A crackling, highly imaginative thriller debut in the vein of W.E.B. Griffin and Philip Kerr, set in German-occupied London at the close of World War II, in which a hardened British detective jeopardizes his own life to save an innocent soul and achieve the impossible—redemption.

London, 1946. The Nazis have conquered the British, and now occupy Great Britain, using brutality and fear to control its citizens. John Henry Rossett, a decorated British war hero and former police sergeant, has been reassigned to the Office of Jewish Affairs. He now answers to the SS, one of the most powerful and terrifying organizations in the Third Reich.

Rossett is a man accustomed to obeying commands, but he’s now assigned a job he did not ask for—and cannot refuse: rounding up Jews for deportation, including men and women he’s known his whole life. But they are not the only victims, for the war took Rossett’s wife and son, and shattered his own humanity.

Then he finds Jacob, a young Jewish child, hiding in an abandoned building, who touches something in Rossett that he thought was long dead.

Determined to save the innocent boy, Rossett takes him on the run, with the Nazis in pursuit. But they are not the only hunters following his trail. The Royalist Resistance and the Communists want him, too. Each faction has its own agenda, and Rossett will soon learn that none of them can be trusted . . . and all of them are deadly. 

"synopsis" may belong to another edition of this title.

From the Back Cover:

In this crackling, highly imaginative thriller debut in the vein of W.E.B. Griffin and Philip Kerr, set in German-occupied London at the close of World War II, a hardened, dispirited British detective jeopardizes his own life to save someone else and achieve the impossible—some kind of redemption

London, 1946. The Nazis have won the war and now occupy Great Britain, using brutality and fear to control its citizens. They even use it to control those who work for them. John Henry Rossett, a decorated British war hero and former police sergeant, is one of those unlucky souls. He's a man accustomed to obeying commands, but he's now assigned a job he didn't ask for and knows he cannot refuse: rounding up Jews for deportation, including men and women he's known his whole life. Robbed of his family by a Resistance bomb, and robbed of his humanity by the work he is forced to do, fate suddenly presents Rossett with an unexpected challenge that could change everything. He finds a boy hiding in an abandoned building and is faced with a momentous decision—to do something or to look the other way. Yet whatever Rossett does, he will be pushed into a place where he could endanger all he holds dear.

Played out against a city in ruin, a place divided between the conquered and the conquerors, The Darkest Hour is a tense, driving adventure thriller, a fascinating alternate history, and the unforgettable story of a man who will be broken—or be given a completely new lease on life.

About the Author:

Tony Schumacher is a native of Liverpool, England. He has written for the Guardian and the Huffington Post, and he is a regular contributor to BBC Radio and London's LBC Radio. He has been a policeman, stand-up comedian, bouncer, jeweler, taxi driver, perfume salesman, actor, and garbage collector, among other occupations. He currently lives outside of Liverpool. This is his first novel.

"About this title" may belong to another edition of this title.

Top Search Results from the AbeBooks Marketplace

1.

Schumacher, Tony
Published by William Morrow
ISBN 10: 0062339362 ISBN 13: 9780062339362
New Hardcover Quantity Available: 1
Seller
Booklot COM LLC
(Philadelphia, PA, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description William Morrow. Hardcover. Book Condition: New. 0062339362. Bookseller Inventory # Z0062339362ZN

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
US$ 6.11
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: FREE
Within U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

2.

Schumacher, Tony
Published by William Morrow 2014-09-23 (2014)
ISBN 10: 0062339362 ISBN 13: 9780062339362
New Hardcover Quantity Available: 6
Seller
Ebooksweb COM LLC
(Bensalem, PA, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description William Morrow 2014-09-23, 2014. Hardcover. Book Condition: New. 0062339362. Bookseller Inventory # Z0062339362ZN

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
US$ 6.12
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: FREE
Within U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

3.

Schumacher, Tony
ISBN 10: 0062339362 ISBN 13: 9780062339362
New Quantity Available: 3
Seller
LVeritas
(Newton, MA, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Book Condition: New. Gift Quality Book in Excellent Condition. Bookseller Inventory # 36S9KG001NR9

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
US$ 7.14
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: US$ 1.00
Within U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

4.

Schumacher, Tony
Published by William Morrow (2014)
ISBN 10: 0062339362 ISBN 13: 9780062339362
New Hardcover Quantity Available: 1
Seller
Ergodebooks
(RICHMOND, TX, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description William Morrow, 2014. Hardcover. Book Condition: New. Bookseller Inventory # DADAX0062339362

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
US$ 16.13
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: US$ 3.99
Within U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

5.

Schumacher, Tony
Published by William Morrow (2014)
ISBN 10: 0062339362 ISBN 13: 9780062339362
New Hardcover Quantity Available: 1
Seller
Irish Booksellers
(Rumford, ME, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description William Morrow, 2014. Hardcover. Book Condition: New. book. Bookseller Inventory # 0062339362

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
US$ 25.84
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: FREE
Within U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

6.

Schumacher, Tony
Published by William Morrow (2014)
ISBN 10: 0062339362 ISBN 13: 9780062339362
New Hardcover Quantity Available: 3
Seller
Murray Media
(North Miami Beach, FL, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description William Morrow, 2014. Hardcover. Book Condition: New. Bookseller Inventory # P110062339362

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
US$ 34.75
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: US$ 2.99
Within U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds