The Incorrigible Children of Ashton Place: Book I: The Mysterious Howling

3.87 avg rating
( 13,050 ratings by Goodreads )
 
9780062366931: The Incorrigible Children of Ashton Place: Book I: The Mysterious Howling

The first book in the Incorrigible Children of Ashton Place—the acclaimed and hilarious Victorian mystery series by Maryrose Wood, perfect for fans of Lemony Snicket and Trenton Lee Stewart—has a brand-new look.

Discovered in the forest of Ashton Place, the Incorrigibles are no ordinary children. Luckily, Miss Penelope Lumley is no ordinary governess. A recent graduate of the Swanburne Academy for Poor Bright Females, Penelope embraces the challenge of her new position. Though she is eager to instruct the children in Latin verbs and the proper use of globes, first she must eliminate their canine tendencies.

But mysteries abound at Ashton Place: Who are these three wild creatures? Why does Old Timothy, the coachman, lurk around every corner? Will Penelope be able to civilize the Incorrigibles in time for Lady Constance's holiday ball? And what on earth is a schottische?

"synopsis" may belong to another edition of this title.

From the Back Cover:

Of especially naughty children, it is sometimes said: "They must have been raised by wolves." The Incorrigible children actually were.

Discovered in the forest of Ashton Place, the Incorrigibles are no ordinary children. Luckily, Miss Penelope Lumley is no ordinary governess. A proud graduate of the Swanburne Academy for Poor Bright Females, she must use all her skills to tame these clever canine children. Latin, poetry, and the use of globes will simply have to wait.

But mysteries abound at Ashton Place: Who are these three wild creatures? Why does Old Timothy, the coachman, lurk around every corner? Will Penelope be able to civilize the Incorrigibles in time for Lady Constance's holiday ball? And what on earth is that howling in the attic?

About the Author:

Maryrose Wood is the author of the first five books (so far!) in this series about the Incorrigible children and their governess. These books may be considered works of fiction, which is to say, the true bits and the untrue bits are so thoroughly mixed together that no one should be able to tell the difference. This process of fabrication is fully permitted under the terms of the author's Poetic License, which is one of her most prized possessions.

Maryrose's other qualifications for writing these tales include a scandalous stint as a professional thespian, many years as a private governess to two curious and occasionally rambunctious pupils, and whatever literary insights she may have gleaned from living in close proximity to a clever but disobedient dog.



Jon Klassen grew up in Niagara Falls, Canada, and now lives in Los Angeles, California. He is the Caldecott Award-winning author and illustrator of I Want My Hat Back and This Is Not My Hat, as well as the illustrator of Sam and Dave Dig a Hole and Extra Yarn by Mac Barnett; The Dark by Lemony Snicket; House Held Up by Trees by Ted Kooser; Cats' Night Out by Caroline Stutson; and the first three books in the Incorrigible Children of Ashton Place series.

"About this title" may belong to another edition of this title.

Top Search Results from the AbeBooks Marketplace

1.

Maryrose Wood
ISBN 10: 0062366939 ISBN 13: 9780062366931
New Quantity Available: > 20
Seller
BWB
(Valley Stream, NY, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Book Condition: New. Depending on your location, this item may ship from the US or UK. Bookseller Inventory # 97800623669310000000

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
US$ 6.34
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: FREE
Within U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

2.

Wood, Maryrose
ISBN 10: 0062366939 ISBN 13: 9780062366931
New Quantity Available: 5
Seller
GreatBookPrices
(Columbia, MD, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Book Condition: New. Bookseller Inventory # 21581557-n

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
US$ 4.04
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: US$ 2.64
Within U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

3.

Wood, Maryrose
Published by Balzer + Bray (2015)
ISBN 10: 0062366939 ISBN 13: 9780062366931
New Paperback Quantity Available: 10
Seller
Murray Media
(North Miami Beach, FL, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Balzer + Bray, 2015. Paperback. Book Condition: New. Bookseller Inventory # 0062366939

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
US$ 3.81
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: US$ 2.99
Within U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

4.

Wood, Maryrose
Published by Harper Collins Publishers
ISBN 10: 0062366939 ISBN 13: 9780062366931
New Quantity Available: > 20
Seller
INDOO
(Avenel, NJ, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Harper Collins Publishers. Book Condition: New. Brand New. Bookseller Inventory # 0062366939

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
US$ 3.66
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: US$ 3.50
Within U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

5.

Wood, Maryrose
ISBN 10: 0062366939 ISBN 13: 9780062366931
New Quantity Available: > 20
Seller
Paperbackshop-US
(Wood Dale, IL, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description 2015. PAP. Book Condition: New. New Book. Shipped from US within 10 to 14 business days. Established seller since 2000. Bookseller Inventory # VC-9780062366931

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
US$ 3.24
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: US$ 3.99
Within U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

6.

Wood, Maryrose
ISBN 10: 0062366939 ISBN 13: 9780062366931
New Quantity Available: > 20
Seller
Pbshop
(Wood Dale, IL, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description 2015. PAP. Book Condition: New. New Book.Shipped from US within 10 to 14 business days. Established seller since 2000. Bookseller Inventory # IB-9780062366931

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
US$ 3.64
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: US$ 3.99
Within U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

7.

Wood, Maryrose
Published by Balzer + Bray
ISBN 10: 0062366939 ISBN 13: 9780062366931
New PAPERBACK Quantity Available: 4
Seller
IBestBargains, LLC
(Houston, TX, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Balzer + Bray. PAPERBACK. Book Condition: New. 0062366939 Brand New Book in Perfect Condition.Fast Shipping with tracking number. Bookseller Inventory # XGDA-FBD-01534

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
US$ 3.69
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: US$ 3.99
Within U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

8.

Wood, Maryrose
Published by Balzer + Bray
ISBN 10: 0062366939 ISBN 13: 9780062366931
New PAPERBACK Quantity Available: 1
Seller
Qwestbooks COM LLC
(Bensalem, PA, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Balzer + Bray. PAPERBACK. Book Condition: New. 0062366939. Bookseller Inventory # Z0062366939ZN

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
US$ 7.88
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: FREE
Within U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

9.

Wood, Maryrose
ISBN 10: 0062366939 ISBN 13: 9780062366931
New Paperback Quantity Available: > 20
Seller
BargainBookStores
(Grand Rapids, MI, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Paperback. Book Condition: New. Bookseller Inventory # 7958796

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
US$ 4.18
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: US$ 3.99
Within U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

10.

Wood, Maryrose
Published by Balzer & Bray 2015-04-21 (2015)
ISBN 10: 0062366939 ISBN 13: 9780062366931
New Paperback Quantity Available: 4
Seller
BookOutlet
(Thorold, ON, Canada)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Balzer & Bray 2015-04-21, 2015. Paperback. Book Condition: New. Paperback. Publisher overstock, may contain remainder mark on edge. Bookseller Inventory # 9780062366931B

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
US$ 2.49
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: US$ 6.00
From Canada to U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

There are more copies of this book

View all search results for this book