The Ramblers: A Novel

3.65 avg rating
( 1,834 ratings by GoodReads )
 
9780062413314: The Ramblers: A Novel

For fans of J. Courtney Sullivan, Meg Wolitzer, Claire Messud, and Emma Straub, a gorgeous and absorbing novel of a trio of confused souls struggling to find themselves and the way forward in their lives, set against the spectacular backdrop of contemporary New York City.

Set in the most magical parts of Manhattan—the Upper West Side, Central Park, Greenwich Village—The Ramblers explores the lives of three lost souls, bound together by friendship and family. During the course of one fateful Thanksgiving week, a time when emotions run high and being with family can be a mixed blessing, Rowley’s sharply defined characters explore the moments when decisions are deliberately made, choices accepted, and pasts reconciled.

Clio Marsh, whose bird-watching walks through Central Park are mentioned in New York Magazine, is taking her first tentative steps towards a relationship while also looking back to the secrets of her broken childhood. Her best friend, Smith Anderson, the seemingly-perfect daughter of one of New York’s wealthiest families, organizes the lives of others as her own has fallen apart. And Tate Pennington has returned to the city, heartbroken but determined to move ahead with his artistic dreams.

Rambling through the emotional chaos of their lives, this trio learns to let go of the past, to make room for the future and the uncertainty and promise that it holds. The Ramblers is a love letter to New York City—an accomplished, sumptuous novel about fate, loss, hope, birds, friendship, love, the wonders of the natural world and the mysteries of the human spirit. 

"synopsis" may belong to another edition of this title.

About the Author:

Born and raised in New York City, Aidan Donnelley Rowley is a graduate of Yale University and Columbia Law School, but her dream (long unconscious) was always to write. She is the author of a novel, Life After Yes; blogs at IvyLeagueInsecurities.com; contributes to The Huffington Post; and is the founder and curator of the popular Happier Hours Literary Salons. The middle of five sisters, she lives in New York with her husband and three young daughters.

Review:

“Chock full of the crackling wit, irreverent humor and raw honesty [...] A whirlwind foray into the New York City that Aidan Donnelley Rowley knows and loves -- and writes-- so well.” (Allison Pataki, New York Times Bestselling author of The Accidental Empress)

“In this spirited, compulsively-readable, sophisticated tale of entangled urban lives, Aidan Donnelley Rowley has written a love letter to New York, full of sparkling innocence and its ensuing heartache. THE RAMBLERS is a pure delight.” (Dani Shapiro, author of Devotion and Still Writing)

“A wonderfully woven story of how family can hold us back or set us free. Rowley’s finely drawn story of love, loss, fear and friendship wound me around its little finger...” (Lee Woodruff, New York Times bestselling author)

"About this title" may belong to another edition of this title.

Top Search Results from the AbeBooks Marketplace

1.

Aidan Donnelley Rowley
ISBN 10: 0062413317 ISBN 13: 9780062413314
New Quantity Available: 4
Seller
BWB
(Valley Stream, NY, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Book Condition: New. Depending on your location, this item may ship from the US or UK. Bookseller Inventory # 97800624133140000000

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
US$ 11.17
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: FREE
Within U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

2.

Aidan Donnelley Rowley
Published by William Morrow (2016)
ISBN 10: 0062413317 ISBN 13: 9780062413314
New Soft cover Quantity Available: 1
Seller
BuyBuyBooks
(Manhasset, NY, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description William Morrow, 2016. Soft cover. Book Condition: New. This is an advance reading, soft cover, uncorrected proof copy. These editions are issued prior to publication in small numbers and often are marked as first editions.FULL COLOR COVER. Bookseller Inventory # 001038

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
US$ 12.00
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: US$ 4.45
Within U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

3.

Aidan Donnelley Rowley
Published by William Morrow (2016)
ISBN 10: 0062413317 ISBN 13: 9780062413314
New Soft cover Quantity Available: 1
Seller
BuyBuyBooks
(Manhasset, NY, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description William Morrow, 2016. Soft cover. Book Condition: New. This is an advance reading, soft cover, uncorrected proof copy. These editions are issued prior to publication in small numbers and often are marked as first editions.FULL COLOR COVER. Bookseller Inventory # 001011

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
US$ 12.25
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: US$ 4.45
Within U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

4.

Aidan Donnelley Rowley
Published by William Morrow, New York (2015)
ISBN 10: 0062413317 ISBN 13: 9780062413314
New Soft Cover Quantity Available: 1
Seller
Book People
(Richmond, VA, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description William Morrow, New York, 2015. Soft Cover. Book Condition: New. Upside down photo of city landscape reflected in pool. White and yellow text. Spine is yellow with blue text. This is an Advance Reader's Edition. Advanced Reading Copy (ARC). Bookseller Inventory # 16106 ARC

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
US$ 13.00
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: US$ 4.00
Within U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

5.

Aidan Donnelley Rowley
Published by Harper Collins Publishers
ISBN 10: 0062413317 ISBN 13: 9780062413314
New Quantity Available: > 20
Seller
INDOO
(Avenel, NJ, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Harper Collins Publishers. Book Condition: New. Brand New. Bookseller Inventory # 0062413317

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
US$ 14.39
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: US$ 3.50
Within U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

6.

Aidan Donnelley Rowley
Published by William Morrow (2016)
ISBN 10: 0062413317 ISBN 13: 9780062413314
New Hardcover Quantity Available: 4
Seller
Strand Book Store, ABAA
(New York, NY, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description William Morrow, 2016. Hardcover. Book Condition: New. Bookseller Inventory # 2717730

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
US$ 13.00
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: US$ 5.99
Within U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

7.

Aidan Donnelley Rowley
Published by William Morrow
ISBN 10: 0062413317 ISBN 13: 9780062413314
New Hardcover Quantity Available: 7
Seller
Movie Mars
(Indian Trail, NC, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description William Morrow. Hardcover. Book Condition: New. 0062413317 Brand New Book. Ships from the United States. 30 Day Satisfaction Guarantee!. Bookseller Inventory # 17907389

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
US$ 15.68
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: US$ 3.99
Within U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

8.

Aidan Donnelley Rowley
Published by WILLIAM MORROW and CO (2016)
ISBN 10: 0062413317 ISBN 13: 9780062413314
New Quantity Available: 7
Seller
PBShop
(Wood Dale, IL, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description WILLIAM MORROW and CO, 2016. HRD. Book Condition: New. New Book.Shipped from US within 10 to 14 business days. Established seller since 2000. Bookseller Inventory # IB-9780062413314

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
US$ 15.69
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: US$ 3.99
Within U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

9.

Aidan Donnelley Rowley
ISBN 10: 0062413317 ISBN 13: 9780062413314
New Hardcover Quantity Available: 15
Seller
BargainBookStores
(Grand Rapids, MI, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Hardcover. Book Condition: New. Bookseller Inventory # 9784908

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
US$ 16.05
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: US$ 3.99
Within U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

10.

Aidan Donnelley Rowley
ISBN 10: 0062413317 ISBN 13: 9780062413314
New Hardcover Quantity Available: 3
Seller
VNHM SHOP
(Pompano Beach, FL, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Hardcover. Book Condition: New. New. This item is new unopened, never used and still in its original manufacturer condition. Tracking number will be provided to you so that you may track your order (for all USA orders). Bookseller Inventory # 115389375

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
US$ 20.78
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: FREE
Within U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

There are more copies of this book

View all search results for this book