Sheba Karim That Thing We Call a Heart

ISBN 13: 9780062445704

That Thing We Call a Heart

3.57 avg rating
( 252 ratings by Goodreads )
 
9780062445704: That Thing We Call a Heart

This young adult novel by Sheba Karim, author of Skunk Girl, is a funny and affecting coming-of-age story for fans of Jenny Han, Megan McCafferty, and Sara Farizan.

Shabnam Qureshi is facing a summer of loneliness and boredom until she meets Jamie, who scores her a job at his aunt’s pie shack. Shabnam quickly finds herself in love, while her former best friend, Farah, who Shabnam has begun to reconnect with, finds Jamie worrying.

In her quest to figure out who she really is and what she really wants, Shabnam looks for help in an unexpected place—her family, and her father’s beloved Urdu poetry.

That Thing We Call a Heart is a funny and fresh story about the importance of love—in all its forms.

"synopsis" may belong to another edition of this title.

About the Author:

Sheba Karim is the author of Mariam Sharma Hits the RoadThat Thing We Call a Heart, and Skunk Girl. She is a graduate of the Iowa Writer’s Workshop and NYU School of Law and currently lives in Nashville. You can visit her online at www.shebakarim.com.

Review:

“Populated by complicated characters who are so well described readers will feel they might bump into them on the street, Karim’s second novel delivers on its title’s promise.” (Kirkus Reviews (starred review))

“[W]hat sets this funny, dialogue-heavy read apart is its nuanced examination of identity... Fans of Sara Zarr and Jenny Han and readers of realistic fiction will enjoy this thoughtful, witty offering.” (School Library Journal)

“Funny, fresh, and poignant, Karim’s (Skunk Girl, 2009) novel is noteworthy for its authentic depiction of a Pakistani American teen coming of age and falling in love.” (Booklist)

“This is a warm-hearted story that may encourage readers, like Shabnam, to find possibilities in greater human connections.” (Bulletin of the Center for Children’s Books (starred review))

"About this title" may belong to another edition of this title.

Top Search Results from the AbeBooks Marketplace

1.

Karim, Sheba
Published by HarperTeen (2017)
ISBN 10: 0062445707 ISBN 13: 9780062445704
New Hardcover Quantity Available: 1
Seller:
TTPDC
(Washington, DC, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description HarperTeen, 2017. Hardcover. Book Condition: New. Bookseller Inventory # mon0000162154

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
US$ 8.22
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: US$ 3.99
Within U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

2.

Karim, Sheba
Published by Harperteen (2017)
ISBN 10: 0062445707 ISBN 13: 9780062445704
New Quantity Available: > 20
Seller:
Paperbackshop-US
(Wood Dale, IL, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Harperteen, 2017. HRD. Book Condition: New. New Book. Shipped from US within 10 to 14 business days. Established seller since 2000. Bookseller Inventory # VC-9780062445704

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
US$ 9.03
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: US$ 3.99
Within U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

3.

Karim,Sheba
Published by Harper Collins Publishers
ISBN 10: 0062445707 ISBN 13: 9780062445704
New Quantity Available: > 20
Seller:
INDOO
(Avenel, NJ, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Harper Collins Publishers. Book Condition: New. Brand New. Bookseller Inventory # 0062445707

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
US$ 10.46
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: US$ 3.50
Within U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

4.

Karim, Sheba
Published by Harperteen (2017)
ISBN 10: 0062445707 ISBN 13: 9780062445704
New Quantity Available: > 20
Seller:
Pbshop
(Wood Dale, IL, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Harperteen, 2017. HRD. Book Condition: New. New Book.Shipped from US within 10 to 14 business days. Established seller since 2000. Bookseller Inventory # IB-9780062445704

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
US$ 10.11
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: US$ 3.99
Within U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

5.

Karim, Sheba
Published by Harper Teen 5/9/2017 (2017)
ISBN 10: 0062445707 ISBN 13: 9780062445704
New Hardcover Quantity Available: 10
Seller:
BargainBookStores
(Grand Rapids, MI, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Harper Teen 5/9/2017, 2017. Hardback or Cased Book. Book Condition: New. That Thing We Call a Heart. Book. Bookseller Inventory # BBS-9780062445704

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
US$ 14.66
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: FREE
Within U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

6.

Karim, Sheba
Published by HarperTeen (2017)
ISBN 10: 0062445707 ISBN 13: 9780062445704
New Hardcover Quantity Available: 14
Seller:
Murray Media
(North Miami Beach, FL, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description HarperTeen, 2017. Hardcover. Book Condition: New. Never used!. Bookseller Inventory # 0062445707

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
US$ 13.52
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: US$ 1.99
Within U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

7.

Sheba Karim
Published by Harper Teen (2017)
ISBN 10: 0062445707 ISBN 13: 9780062445704
New Hardcover Quantity Available: 10
Seller:
The Book Depository US
(London, United Kingdom)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Harper Teen, 2017. Hardback. Book Condition: New. Language: English . Brand New Book. This young adult novel by Sheba Karim, author of Skunk Girl, is a funny and affecting coming-of-age story for fans of Jenny Han, Megan McCafferty, and Sara Farizan. Shabnam Qureshi is facing a summer of loneliness and boredom until she meets Jamie, who scores her a job at his aunt s pie shack. Shabnam quickly finds herself in love, while her former best friend, Farah, who Shabnam has begun to reconnect with, finds Jamie worrying. In her quest to figure out who she really is and what she really wants, Shabnam looks for help in an unexpected place--her family, and her father s beloved Urdu poetry. That Thing We Call a Heart is a funny and fresh story about the importance of love--in all its forms. Bookseller Inventory # AAS9780062445704

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
US$ 15.70
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: FREE
From United Kingdom to U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

8.

Karim, Sheba
Published by HarperTeen (2017)
ISBN 10: 0062445707 ISBN 13: 9780062445704
New Hardcover Quantity Available: 10
Seller:
Save With Sam
(North Miami, FL, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description HarperTeen, 2017. Hardcover. Book Condition: New. Brand New!. Bookseller Inventory # 0062445707

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
US$ 12.92
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: US$ 3.00
Within U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

9.

Sheba Karim
Published by Harper Teen (2017)
ISBN 10: 0062445707 ISBN 13: 9780062445704
New Hardcover Quantity Available: 10
Seller:
The Book Depository
(London, United Kingdom)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Harper Teen, 2017. Hardback. Book Condition: New. Language: English . Brand New Book. This young adult novel by Sheba Karim, author of Skunk Girl, is a funny and affecting coming-of-age story for fans of Jenny Han, Megan McCafferty, and Sara Farizan. Shabnam Qureshi is facing a summer of loneliness and boredom until she meets Jamie, who scores her a job at his aunt s pie shack. Shabnam quickly finds herself in love, while her former best friend, Farah, who Shabnam has begun to reconnect with, finds Jamie worrying. In her quest to figure out who she really is and what she really wants, Shabnam looks for help in an unexpected place--her family, and her father s beloved Urdu poetry. That Thing We Call a Heart is a funny and fresh story about the importance of love--in all its forms. Bookseller Inventory # AAS9780062445704

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
US$ 16.20
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: FREE
From United Kingdom to U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

10.

Karim, Sheba
Published by HarperTeen
ISBN 10: 0062445707 ISBN 13: 9780062445704
New Hardcover Quantity Available: 10
Seller:
Lakeside Books
(Benton Harbor, MI, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description HarperTeen. Hardcover. Book Condition: New. 0062445707 BRAND NEW, GIFT QUALITY, DIRECT FROM THE PUBLISHER! NOT MARKED UP REMAINDERS OR DINGED AND DIRTY OVERSTOCKS!. Bookseller Inventory # OTF-S-9780062445704

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
US$ 12.61
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: US$ 3.99
Within U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

There are more copies of this book

View all search results for this book