Altars Made Easy: A Complete Guide To Creating Your Own Sacred Space

3.43 avg rating
( 37 ratings by GoodReads )
 
9780062514905: Altars Made Easy: A Complete Guide To Creating Your Own Sacred Space

In this handbook on altars, Peg Streep shows readers how to use specific materials, colours, symbols, imagery, scents, crystals, music, and more to create their own personal altars. Streep covers the history, symbolism, and different types of the altar and provides detailed and illustrated guidance for anyone to create and enjoy sacred space.

"synopsis" may belong to another edition of this title.

From the Back Cover:

The art of creating sacred space . . .

The first complete book on altars and altar building. Altars Made Easy explores the creation of sacred-in the home, in the office, in the garden, even in temporary surroundings-as a powerful tool of transformation and spiritual development. What is sacred space? It is a place where, as Joseph Campbell put it, wonder can be revealed.

In a single volume, the rich background of history, humanity's first altars, sacred places, and most ancient mythologies illuminates contemporary altar building. Learn, step by step, how to create altars that focus energy and reflect the spirit, including:
Understanding the language of sacred space
Creating altars for special needs
Choosing materials, colors, and statuary
Empowering your altar with signs and symbols
Energizing sacred space with light, smoke, and scent
Using gemstones and minerals
Drawing on the power of totems and guardians
Building outdoor altars, and much, much more.

Altar building is a creative process that frees us to make use of the affirming and empowering aspects of change. Beautifully illustrated, this volume contains a full resource section and is filled with examples to help you create sacred space. Altars Made Easy offers a full understanding of the power that symbols, objects, colors, and your own unique personality can bring to the altar you can create and re-create for meditation, reflection, prayer, and relaxation.

About the Author:

Peg Streep is a writer and editor who has researched sacred places, altars, and ancient mythology for nearly a decade. She is the author of many books on spirituality, including Sanctuaries of the Goddess and Mary : Queen and Heaven, as well as the editor of Spiritual Illuminations.

"About this title" may belong to another edition of this title.

Top Search Results from the AbeBooks Marketplace

1.

Streep, Peg
Published by HarperOne (1997)
ISBN 10: 0062514903 ISBN 13: 9780062514905
New Paperback Quantity Available: 1
Seller
Ergodebooks
(RICHMOND, TX, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description HarperOne, 1997. Paperback. Book Condition: New. 1. Bookseller Inventory # DADAX0062514903

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
US$ 12.71
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: US$ 3.99
Within U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

2.

Streep, Peg
Published by HarperOne (1997)
ISBN 10: 0062514903 ISBN 13: 9780062514905
New Paperback Quantity Available: 1
Seller
Irish Booksellers
(Rumford, ME, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description HarperOne, 1997. Paperback. Book Condition: New. book. Bookseller Inventory # 0062514903

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
US$ 30.94
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: FREE
Within U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

3.

Streep, Peg
ISBN 10: 0062514903 ISBN 13: 9780062514905
New Quantity Available: 1
Seller
Castle Rock
(Pittsford, NY, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Book Condition: Brand New. Book Condition: Brand New. Bookseller Inventory # 97800625149051.0

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
US$ 28.88
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: US$ 3.99
Within U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

4.

Streep, Peg
Published by HarperOne (1997)
ISBN 10: 0062514903 ISBN 13: 9780062514905
New Softcover Quantity Available: 1
Seller
Book Deals
(Lewiston, NY, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description HarperOne, 1997. Book Condition: New. Brand New, Unread Copy in Perfect Condition. A+ Customer Service! Summary: The ancient oracles haven't stopped speaking--we've just forgotten how to listen. For fans of Jean Houston and James Hillman, this spellbinding history and primer shows how to reclaim a hidden ability. This unique volume offers thoughtful suggestions and steps for making an ancient path to mindfulness accessible to anyone. Bookseller Inventory # ABE_book_new_0062514903

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
US$ 50.01
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: FREE
Within U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

5.

Streep, Peg
Published by HarperOne (1997)
ISBN 10: 0062514903 ISBN 13: 9780062514905
New Paperback Quantity Available: 3
Seller
Murray Media
(North Miami Beach, FL, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description HarperOne, 1997. Paperback. Book Condition: New. Bookseller Inventory # P110062514903

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
US$ 47.04
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: US$ 2.99
Within U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds