Stop Pretending: What Happened When My Big Sister Went Crazy

3.88 avg rating
( 4,080 ratings by GoodReads )
 
9780064462181: Stop Pretending: What Happened When My Big Sister Went Crazy

It happens just like that, in the blink of an eye. An older sister has a mental breakdown and has to be hospitalized. A younger sister is left behind to cope with a family torn apart by grief and friends who turn their backs on her. But worst of all is the loss of her big sister, her confidante, her best friend, who has gone someplace no one can reach.

In the tradition of The Bell Jar, I Never Promised You a Rose Garden, and Lisa, Bright and Dark comes this haunting first book told in poems, and based on the true story of the author's life.

2000 Best Books for Young Adults (ALA) and 2000 Quick Picks for Young Adults (Recomm. Books for Reluctant Young Readers)

"synopsis" may belong to another edition of this title.

Review:

The subtitle of Stop Pretending says it all: "What Happened When My Big Sister Went Crazy." In a sequence of short, intense poems based on the author's own experiences, a 13-year-old girl suffers through her shifting feelings about her sibling's mental illness. She recalls the terror of the Christmas Eve when Sister was suddenly transformed into a stranger; the horror of visiting Sister in the hospital and finding her rocking on all fours; the fear that her friends will find out; her own worry that she, too, may lose her mind; and her wistful memories of Sister as she was before. More complex emotions are also explored, such as her irrational suspicion that Sister may be deliberately acting crazy, as poignantly expressed in the title poem: "Stop pretending./ Right this minute./ Don't you tell me/ you don't know me./ Stop this crazy act/ and show me/ that you haven't changed./ Stop pretending/ you're deranged." Gradually, as Sister begins to recover, the girl is able to find hope and again take pleasure in her own life. Blank verse is perfect for a story with such heightened emotion, and is a format that has been used with great success in other fine novels for teens, notably the Newbery-award winning Out of the Dust, by Karen Hesse, and Robert Cormier's boyhood memoir, Frenchtown Summer. Teen readers may even be so inspired as to try their own hand at this challenging but satisfying form. (Ages 10 and older) --Patty Campbell

About the Author:

Sonya Sones is the author of four acclaimed novels for teens: Stop Pretending: What Happened When My Big Sister Went Crazy; What My Mother Doesn't Know; One of Those Hideous Books Where the Mother Dies; and What My Girlfriend Doesn't Know. She lives in California with her family and only shops at Neiman's when it's having a sale.

"About this title" may belong to another edition of this title.

Top Search Results from the AbeBooks Marketplace

1.

Sones, Sonya
ISBN 10: 0064462188 ISBN 13: 9780064462181
New Paperback Quantity Available: 9
Seller
Big River Books
(Powder Springs, GA, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Paperback. Book Condition: New. Brand New! We ship daily Monday - Friday!. Bookseller Inventory # 1EYDQW002ZBA

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
US$ 3.17
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: US$ 3.49
Within U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

2.

Sones, Sonya
ISBN 10: 0064462188 ISBN 13: 9780064462181
New Quantity Available: > 20
Seller
BWB
(Valley Stream, NY, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Book Condition: New. Depending on your location, this item may ship from the US or UK. Bookseller Inventory # 97800644621810000000

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
US$ 6.88
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: FREE
Within U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

3.

Sones, Sonya
ISBN 10: 0064462188 ISBN 13: 9780064462181
New Quantity Available: 1
Seller
Grandisbooks
(Neptune, NJ, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Book Condition: New. New and unused. 30 Day Satisfaction Guarantee. Bookseller Inventory # 314DWJ0002JN

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
US$ 3.06
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: US$ 4.00
Within U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

4.

Sones, Sonya
Published by HarperCollins Publishers Inc, United States (2017)
ISBN 10: 0064462188 ISBN 13: 9780064462181
New Quantity Available: 10
Seller
The Book Depository US
(London, United Kingdom)
Rating
[?]

Book Description HarperCollins Publishers Inc, United States, 2017. Book. Book Condition: New. Reprint. 173 x 127 mm. Language: English . Brand New Book. Continuously in print for nearly two decades, this groundbreaking and profoundly moving story told in verse, from award-winning author Sonya Sones, has been repackaged with a striking new cover and bonus content. When her beloved older sister is hospitalized after a sudden mental breakdown, Cookie is left behind to cope with a family torn apart by grief, friends who shun her, and her fear that she, too, might one day lose her mind. Based on award-winning author Sonya Sones s own true story, this novel explores the chilling landscape of mental illness, revealing glimmers of beauty and of hope along the way. Told in a succession of short and powerful poems, it takes us deep into the cyclone of the narrator s emotions: despair, anger, guilt, resentment, and ultimately, acceptance. Bookseller Inventory # AAC9780064462181

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
US$ 8.02
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: FREE
From United Kingdom to U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

5.

Sones, Sonya
Published by HarperCollins Publishers Inc, United States (2017)
ISBN 10: 0064462188 ISBN 13: 9780064462181
New Quantity Available: 10
Seller
The Book Depository
(London, United Kingdom)
Rating
[?]

Book Description HarperCollins Publishers Inc, United States, 2017. Book. Book Condition: New. Reprint. 173 x 127 mm. Language: English . Brand New Book. Continuously in print for nearly two decades, this groundbreaking and profoundly moving story told in verse, from award-winning author Sonya Sones, has been repackaged with a striking new cover and bonus content. When her beloved older sister is hospitalized after a sudden mental breakdown, Cookie is left behind to cope with a family torn apart by grief, friends who shun her, and her fear that she, too, might one day lose her mind. Based on award-winning author Sonya Sones s own true story, this novel explores the chilling landscape of mental illness, revealing glimmers of beauty and of hope along the way. Told in a succession of short and powerful poems, it takes us deep into the cyclone of the narrator s emotions: despair, anger, guilt, resentment, and ultimately, acceptance. Bookseller Inventory # AAC9780064462181

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
US$ 8.21
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: FREE
From United Kingdom to U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

6.

Sones, Sonya
Published by Harper Collins Publishers
ISBN 10: 0064462188 ISBN 13: 9780064462181
New Quantity Available: > 20
Seller
INDOO
(Avenel, NJ, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Harper Collins Publishers. Book Condition: New. Brand New. Bookseller Inventory # 0064462188

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
US$ 5.23
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: US$ 3.50
Within U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

7.

Sones, Sonya
Published by HarperTeen (2016)
ISBN 10: 0064462188 ISBN 13: 9780064462181
New Paperback Quantity Available: > 20
Seller
BEST_TEXTBOOKS_DEALS
(Los Angeles, CA, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description HarperTeen, 2016. Paperback. Book Condition: New. THE BOOK IS NEW. MAY HAVE MINOR SHELF WEAR.MULTIPLE COPIES AVAILABLE. FAST SHIPPING. WE OFFER FREE TRACKING NUMBER UPON FAST SHIPMENT OF YOUR ORDER. PLEASE LET US KNOW IF YOU HAVE ANY QUESTIONS AND WE WILL GET BACK TO YOU ASAP. Thank you for your interest. Bookseller Inventory # 0064462188-N

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
US$ 5.57
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: US$ 3.49
Within U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

8.

Sones, Sonya
Published by HarperCollins Publishers Inc (2017)
ISBN 10: 0064462188 ISBN 13: 9780064462181
New Quantity Available: 13
Seller
PBShop
(Wood Dale, IL, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description HarperCollins Publishers Inc, 2017. UNK. Book Condition: New. New Book.Shipped from US within 10 to 14 business days. Established seller since 2000. Bookseller Inventory # IB-9780064462181

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
US$ 5.28
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: US$ 3.99
Within U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

9.

Sones, Sonya
Published by HarperTeen (2016)
ISBN 10: 0064462188 ISBN 13: 9780064462181
New Paperback Quantity Available: 15
Seller
Murray Media
(North Miami Beach, FL, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description HarperTeen, 2016. Paperback. Book Condition: New. Bookseller Inventory # 0064462188

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
US$ 6.75
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: US$ 2.99
Within U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

10.

Sones, Sonya
Published by HarperTeen
ISBN 10: 0064462188 ISBN 13: 9780064462181
New PAPERBACK Quantity Available: 13
Seller
Movie Mars
(Indian Trail, NC, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description HarperTeen. PAPERBACK. Book Condition: New. 0064462188 Brand New Book. Ships from the United States. 30 Day Satisfaction Guarantee!. Bookseller Inventory # 4270742

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
US$ 5.82
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: US$ 3.99
Within U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

There are more copies of this book

View all search results for this book