Sarah, Plain and Tall (Trophy Newbery)

3.72 avg rating
( 59,396 ratings by Goodreads )
 
9780064471497: Sarah, Plain and Tall (Trophy Newbery)

"Did Mama sing every day?" Caleb asks his sister Anna.

"Every-single-day," she answers. "Papa sang, too."

This Newbery Medal–winning book is the first of five books in Patricia MacLachlan's chapter book series about the Witting family. Set in the late nineteenth century and told from young Anna's point of view, Sarah, Plain and Tall tells the story of how Sarah Elisabeth Wheaton comes from Maine to the prairie to answer Papa's advertisement for a wife and mother. Before Sarah arrives, Anna and her younger brother Caleb wait and wonder. Will Sarah be nice? Will she sing? Will she stay?

This children's literature classic is perfect for fans of Laura Ingalls Wilder's Little House on the Prairie books, historical fiction, and timeless stories using rich and beautiful language. Sarah, Plain and Tall gently explores themes of abandonment, loss and love.

Supports the Common Core State Standards

"synopsis" may belong to another edition of this title.

Product Description:

This Newbery Medal-winning book and children's literature classic is perfect for fans of Laura Ingalls Wilder's Little House on the Prairie books, historical fiction, and timeless stories using rich and beautiful language. Sarah, Plain and Tall gently explores themes of abandonment, loss, and love. The 30th Anniversary edition includes author Patricia MacLachlan's Newbery speech, a discussion guide, and a reading list.

Set in the late nineteenth century and told from young Anna's point of view, Sarah, Plain and Tall tells the story of how Sarah Elisabeth Wheaton comes from Maine to the prairie to answer Papa's advertisement for a wife and mother. Before Sarah arrives, Anna and her younger brother, Caleb, wait and wonder. Will Sarah be nice? Will she sing? Will she stay?

Correlates to the Common Core State Standards in English Language Arts

Product Description:

A story in which Caleb cannot remember his mother, who died the day after he was born. His sister Anna explains how their parents used to sing every night, but Papa no longer sings. However, Papa has advertised for a wife in the newspaper, and along comes Sarah and her cat.

"About this title" may belong to another edition of this title.

Top Search Results from the AbeBooks Marketplace

1.

Patricia MacLachlan
ISBN 10: 0064471497 ISBN 13: 9780064471497
New Quantity Available: 1
Seller
Castle Rock
(Pittsford, NY, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Book Condition: Brand New. Book Condition: Brand New. Bookseller Inventory # 97800644714971.0

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
US$ 12.33
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: US$ 3.99
Within U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

2.

Patricia MacLachlan
Published by Trophy Pr (1996)
ISBN 10: 0064471497 ISBN 13: 9780064471497
New Paperback Quantity Available: 1
Seller
Ergodebooks
(RICHMOND, TX, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Trophy Pr, 1996. Paperback. Book Condition: New. Rei. Bookseller Inventory # DADAX0064471497

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
US$ 80.38
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: US$ 3.99
Within U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

3.

MacLachlan, Patricia
Published by Trophy Pr (1996)
ISBN 10: 0064471497 ISBN 13: 9780064471497
New Paperback Quantity Available: 1
Seller
Irish Booksellers
(Rumford, ME, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Trophy Pr, 1996. Paperback. Book Condition: New. book. Bookseller Inventory # 64471497

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
US$ 109.71
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: FREE
Within U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds