Melissa and John and the Magic Machine

0 avg rating
( 0 ratings by Goodreads )
9780070115798: Melissa and John and the Magic Machine

The Magic Machine by Theodore J. Cohen, illustrated by Jacqueline H. Bray, was the first book on personal computers developed specifically for young children.  It was brought to market by the people who published BYTE magazine in 1979, and as seen on the cover photo, was shrink-wrapped with a box of crayons. The coloring book was marketed nationwide and was even available in the Smithsonian Institution bookstore in Washington, DC.

"synopsis" may belong to another edition of this title.

About the Author:

Theodore J. Cohen, PhD, holds three degrees in the physical sciences from the University of Wisconsin-Madison and has been an engineer and scientist for more than forty-five years. He has been an investor for more than fifty years and most recently, has focused on investigating and reporting on corruption in US financial institutions and agencies of the US government. His last novel was Night Shadows, which dealt with the subjects of child abuse, teenage rape, and teen suicide. Prior to this he wrote the novels Lilith: Demon of the Night, based on a story about a New York vampire cult and House of Cards: Dead Men Tell No Tales, a book inspired by real events related to the 2008 financial crisis precipitated by the housing bubble. An earlier novel of the same genre, Death by Wall Street: Rampage of the Bulls, focused on corruption within FDA and the incompetence of SEC. From December 1961 through early March 1962, Dr. Cohen participated in the 16th Chilean Expedition to the Antarctic. The US Board of Geographic Names in October, 1964, named the geographical feature Cohen Islands, located at 63 18' S. latitude, 57 53' W. longitude in the Cape Legoupil area, Antarctica, in his honor. Dr. Cohen's Antarctic Murders Trilogy describes what happened following a robbery of the Banco Central de Chile in Talcahuano in May, 1960. The robbery and the events that took place primarily between May 1960 and March 1962, are described in Frozen in Time: Murder at the Bottom of the World (Book I). Unfinished Business: Pursuit of an Antarctic Killer (Book II) reveals the events that unfolded between March 1962 and March 1965. End Game: Irrational Acts, Tragic Consequences (Book III) takes place in 1965 and resolves most, but not all, of the issues raised in the series. The Trilogy now is available as one (Kindle) edition, Cold Blood. Dr. Cohen's first novel, Full Circle: A Dream Denied, A Vision Fulfilled, which is based on his life as a violinist.

"About this title" may belong to another edition of this title.

(No Available Copies)

Search Books:

Create a Want

If you know the book but cannot find it on AbeBooks, we can automatically search for it on your behalf as new inventory is added. If it is added to AbeBooks by one of our member booksellers, we will notify you!

Create a Want