Timothy Severin The Brendan Voyage

ISBN 13: 9780070563353

The Brendan Voyage

4.19 avg rating
( 1,024 ratings by Goodreads )
 
9780070563353: The Brendan Voyage
View all copies of this ISBN edition:
 
 

Recounts the harrowing voyage of Timothy Severin and his crew from Dingle, Ireland across the North Atlantic in a thirty-six-foot leather boat to prove that a sixth-century Irish monk, St. Brendan, could have reached North America as legend claims

"synopsis" may belong to another edition of this title.

From the Inside Flap:

Could an Irish monk in the sixth century really have sailed all the way across the Atlantic in a small open boat, thus beating Columbus to the New World by almost a thousand years? Relying on the medieval text of St. Brendan, award-winning adventure writer Tim Severin painstakingly researched and built a boat identical to the leather curragh that carried Brendan on his epic voyage. He found a centuries-old, family-run tannery to prepare the ox hides in the medieval way; he undertook an exhaustive search for skilled harness makers (the only people who would know how to stitch the three-quarter-inch-thick hides together); he located one of the last pieces of Irish-grown timber tall enough to make the mainmast. But his courage and resourcefulness were truly tested on the open seas, including one heart-pounding episode when he and his crew repaired a dangerous tear in the leather hull by hanging over the side--their heads sometimes submerged under the freezing waves--to restitch the leather. A modern classic in the tradition of Kon-Tiki, The Brendan Voyage seamlessly blends high adventure and historical relevance. It has been translated into twenty-seven languages since its original publication in 1978.

With a new Introduction by Malachy McCourt, author of A Monk Swimming

From the Back Cover:

"Enthralling!"--The Guardian

"An extraordinary explorer." --The Independent

"About this title" may belong to another edition of this title.

Other Popular Editions of the Same Title

9780375755248: The Brendan Voyage: Sailing to America in a Leather Boat to Prove the Legend of the Irish Sailor Saints (Modern Library Exploration)

Featured Edition

ISBN 10:  0375755241 ISBN 13:  9780375755248
Publisher: Modern Library, 2000
Softcover

9780091331009: The Brendan voyage

Hutchi..., 1978
Hardcover

9780717139279: The Brendan Voyage: Across the Atlantic in a Leather Boat

Gill &..., 2005
Softcover

9780380437115: The Brendan Voyage

Avon B..., 1979
Softcover

9780349107073: The Brendan Voyage

ABACUS, 1996
Softcover

Top Search Results from the AbeBooks Marketplace

1.

Timothy Severin, Trondur Pattursson (Illustrator)
Published by Mcgraw-Hill Book Co. (1978)
ISBN 10: 0070563357 ISBN 13: 9780070563353
New Hardcover Quantity Available: 1
Seller:
Ergodebooks
(RICHMOND, TX, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Mcgraw-Hill Book Co., 1978. Hardcover. Condition: New. Seller Inventory # DADAX0070563357

More information about this seller | Contact this seller

Buy New
US$ 73.05
Convert currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: US$ 3.99
Within U.S.A.
Destination, rates & speeds

2.

Severin, Timothy
ISBN 10: 0070563357 ISBN 13: 9780070563353
New Quantity Available: 1
Seller:
SPHINX BOOKSTORE
(OTTAWA, ON, Canada)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Condition: New. NEW. Seller Inventory # BLUE 8

More information about this seller | Contact this seller

Buy New
US$ 73.35
Convert currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: US$ 16.00
From Canada to U.S.A.
Destination, rates & speeds