The Brendan Voyage

4.18 avg rating
( 788 ratings by GoodReads )
 
9780070563353: The Brendan Voyage

Could an Irish monk in the sixth century really have sailed all the way across the Atlantic in a small open boat, thus beating Columbus to the New World by almost a thousand years? Relying on the medieval text of St. Brendan, award-winning adventure writer Tim Severin painstakingly researched and built a boat identical to the leather curragh that carried Brendan on his epic voyage. He found a centuries-old, family-run tannery to prepare the ox hides in the medieval way; he undertook an exhaustive search for skilled harness makers (the only people who would know how to stitch the three-quarter-inch-thick hides together); he located one of the last pieces of Irish-grown timber tall enough to make the mainmast. But his courage and resourcefulness were truly tested on the open seas, including one heart-pounding episode when he and his crew repaired a dangerous tear in the leather hull by hanging over the side--their heads sometimes submerged under the freezing waves--to restitch the leather. A modern classic in the tradition of Kon-Tiki, The Brendan Voyage seamlessly blends high adventure and historical relevance. It has been translated into twenty-seven languages since its original publication in 1978.

With a new Introduction by Malachy McCourt, author of A Monk Swimming

"synopsis" may belong to another edition of this title.

Product Description:

The sixth-century voyage of St Brendan from Ireland to America, is one of the most fascinating of all sea legends. Could the myth of the Irish monk and his crew sailing the Atlantic in a boat made of leather, nearly a thousand years before Columbus, have been reality? In 1976, Tim Severin and a crew of four men, set out to recreate the Brendan legend. Using the exact same methods in constructing their sailing vessel, they set out on their hazardous voyage, making it one of the most inspiring expeditions in the history of exploration.

From the Back Cover:

"Enthralling!"--The Guardian

"An extraordinary explorer." --The Independent

"About this title" may belong to another edition of this title.

Top Search Results from the AbeBooks Marketplace

1.

Timothy Severin
Published by Mcgraw-Hill Book Co. (1978)
ISBN 10: 0070563357 ISBN 13: 9780070563353
New Hardcover Quantity Available: 1
Seller
Irish Booksellers
(Rumford, ME, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Mcgraw-Hill Book Co., 1978. Hardcover. Book Condition: New. book. Bookseller Inventory # 0070563357

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
US$ 32.60
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: FREE
Within U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

2.

Timothy Severin
Published by Mcgraw-Hill Book Co. (1978)
ISBN 10: 0070563357 ISBN 13: 9780070563353
New Hardcover First Edition Quantity Available: 1
Seller
Ergodebooks
(RICHMOND, TX, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Mcgraw-Hill Book Co., 1978. Hardcover. Book Condition: New. 1st. Bookseller Inventory # DADAX0070563357

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
US$ 29.00
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: US$ 3.99
Within U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

3.

Timothy Severin
ISBN 10: 0070563357 ISBN 13: 9780070563353
New Quantity Available: 1
Seller
Castle Rock
(Pittsford, NY, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Book Condition: Brand New. Book Condition: Brand New. Bookseller Inventory # 97800705633531.0

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
US$ 90.28
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: US$ 3.99
Within U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds