The Gremlins of Grammar

4 avg rating
( 22 ratings by GoodReads )
 
9780071456685: The Gremlins of Grammar

For fans of Eats, Shoots and Leaves, a lighthearted romp through the basics of American English that will help even the most grammatically challenged readers perfect their skills

Do your participles dangle indelicately? Do you dare to split infinitives? Do you tremble at the thought of ending sentences with a preposition? Whether aspiring wordsmiths or avowed grammar geeks, readers will delight in this witty instructional that takes the bite out of American English. The Gremlins of Grammar offers a piquant primer for professionals, students, and anyone who wants to write it right and speak with style.

"synopsis" may belong to another edition of this title.

From the Back Cover:

After this crash course in everything English, you'll be writing right and speaking with style

Do you dare to split infinitives? Do you tremble at the thought of ending sentences with a preposition? Or are you totally clueless when it comes to making sense of syntax? Whether you're an aspiring wordsmith or an avowed grammar geek, you'll get a kick out of this witty instructional book that takes the bite out of American English.

Written by two gurus of grammar, this primer takes you on an irreverent adventure through the language. Keeping it simple, the authors cut out fussy "grammarspeak" to give you the real scoop, telling you exactly what you need to know about:

  • The parts of speech: Be accurate in your use of adjectives, adverbs, and even interjections--hooray!
  • Punctuation: Know where to stick your commas and those other pesky marks.
  • Pronouns: Figure out which is which and which does what to whom.
  • Verbs: Get a little action into your sentences.
  • And much more

With tips on spicing up your vocabulary and spelling with confidence, the authors show you how to put it all together with style. Whether on paper, on the Internet, or in everyday speech, you'll be cleaning up those sloppy sentences in no time!

About the Author:

Toni Boyle has more than twenty years of writing experience. She lives in Chicago.

K.D. Sullivan is the founder and CEO of Creative Solutions, a leading proofreading and editorial agency. She lives in San Francisco.

"About this title" may belong to another edition of this title.

Top Search Results from the AbeBooks Marketplace

1.

Boyle, Toni; Sullivan, K. D.
Published by McGraw-Hill Education 2005-10-06 (2005)
ISBN 10: 0071456686 ISBN 13: 9780071456685
New Paperback Quantity Available: 1
Seller
Ebooksweb COM LLC
(Bensalem, PA, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description McGraw-Hill Education 2005-10-06, 2005. Paperback. Book Condition: New. 1. 0071456686. Bookseller Inventory # Z0071456686ZN

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
US$ 6.76
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: FREE
Within U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

2.

Boyle, Toni; Sullivan, K. D.
Published by McGraw-Hill Education
ISBN 10: 0071456686 ISBN 13: 9780071456685
New PAPERBACK Quantity Available: 1
Seller
Qwestbooks COM LLC
(Bensalem, PA, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description McGraw-Hill Education. PAPERBACK. Book Condition: New. 0071456686. Bookseller Inventory # Z0071456686ZN

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
US$ 6.86
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: FREE
Within U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

3.

Boyle, Toni; Sullivan, K. D.
Published by McGraw-Hill Publishing Co., Maidenhead, Berks., United Kingdom (2005)
ISBN 10: 0071456686 ISBN 13: 9780071456685
New Soft cover Quantity Available: 1
Seller
PORT HOLE BOOKS and PUBLISHING
(Florence, OR, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description McGraw-Hill Publishing Co., Maidenhead, Berks., United Kingdom, 2005. Soft cover. Book Condition: New. trade paperback. Bookseller Inventory # 011427

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
US$ 11.95
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: US$ 4.50
Within U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

4.

Boyle, Toni; Sullivan, K. D.
Published by McGraw-Hill (2005)
ISBN 10: 0071456686 ISBN 13: 9780071456685
New Softcover Quantity Available: 1
Seller
Book Deals
(Lewiston, NY, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description McGraw-Hill, 2005. Book Condition: New. Brand New, Unread Copy in Perfect Condition. A+ Customer Service! Summary: Do your participles dangle indelicately? Do youdare to split infinitives? Do you tremble at thethought of ending sentences with a preposition?Whether aspiring wordsmiths or avowed grammargeeks, readers will delight in this witty instructionalthat takes the bite out of American English. TheGremlins of Grammar offers a piquant primer forprofessionals, students, and anyone who wants towrite it right and speak with style. Bookseller Inventory # ABE_book_new_0071456686

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
US$ 17.53
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: FREE
Within U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

5.

Boyle, Toni; Sullivan, K. D.
Published by McGraw-Hill Education - Europe, United States (2005)
ISBN 10: 0071456686 ISBN 13: 9780071456685
New Paperback Quantity Available: 1
Seller
The Book Depository US
(London, United Kingdom)
Rating
[?]

Book Description McGraw-Hill Education - Europe, United States, 2005. Paperback. Book Condition: New. 201 x 137 mm. Language: English . Brand New Book. For fans of Eats, Shoots and Leaves, alighthearted romp through the basics ofAmerican English that will help even themost grammatically challenged readersperfect their skills Do your participles dangle indelicately? Do youdare to split infinitives? Do you tremble at thethought of ending sentences with a preposition?Whether aspiring wordsmiths or avowed grammargeeks, readers will delight in this witty instructionalthat takes the bite out of American English. TheGremlins of Grammar offers a piquant primer forprofessionals, students, and anyone who wants towrite it right and speak with style. Bookseller Inventory # FLT9780071456685

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
US$ 17.55
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: FREE
From United Kingdom to U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

6.

Boyle, Toni; Sullivan, K. D.
Published by McGraw-Hill Education - Europe, United States (2005)
ISBN 10: 0071456686 ISBN 13: 9780071456685
New Paperback Quantity Available: 1
Seller
The Book Depository
(London, United Kingdom)
Rating
[?]

Book Description McGraw-Hill Education - Europe, United States, 2005. Paperback. Book Condition: New. 201 x 137 mm. Language: English . Brand New Book. For fans of Eats, Shoots and Leaves, alighthearted romp through the basics ofAmerican English that will help even themost grammatically challenged readersperfect their skills Do your participles dangle indelicately? Do youdare to split infinitives? Do you tremble at thethought of ending sentences with a preposition?Whether aspiring wordsmiths or avowed grammargeeks, readers will delight in this witty instructionalthat takes the bite out of American English. TheGremlins of Grammar offers a piquant primer forprofessionals, students, and anyone who wants towrite it right and speak with style. Bookseller Inventory # FLT9780071456685

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
US$ 18.16
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: FREE
From United Kingdom to U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

7.

Boyle, Toni; Sullivan, K. D.
ISBN 10: 0071456686 ISBN 13: 9780071456685
New Quantity Available: 1
Seller
Castle Rock
(Pittsford, NY, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Book Condition: Brand New. Book Condition: Brand New. Bookseller Inventory # 97800714566851.0

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
US$ 17.87
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: US$ 3.99
Within U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

8.

Boyle, Toni; Sullivan, K. D.
Published by McGraw-Hill (2005)
ISBN 10: 0071456686 ISBN 13: 9780071456685
New Paperback Quantity Available: 1
Seller
Ergodebooks
(RICHMOND, TX, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description McGraw-Hill, 2005. Paperback. Book Condition: New. 1. Bookseller Inventory # DADAX0071456686

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
US$ 19.60
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: US$ 3.99
Within U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

9.

Boyle, Toni; Sullivan, K. D.
Published by McGraw-Hill (2005)
ISBN 10: 0071456686 ISBN 13: 9780071456685
New Paperback Quantity Available: 1
Seller
Irish Booksellers
(Rumford, ME, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description McGraw-Hill, 2005. Paperback. Book Condition: New. book. Bookseller Inventory # 0071456686

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
US$ 27.58
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: FREE
Within U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

10.

Boyle, Toni; Sullivan, K. D.
Published by McGraw-Hill (2005)
ISBN 10: 0071456686 ISBN 13: 9780071456685
New Paperback Quantity Available: 1
Seller
Revaluation Books
(Exeter, United Kingdom)
Rating
[?]

Book Description McGraw-Hill, 2005. Paperback. Book Condition: Brand New. 1st edition. 210 pages. 8.25x5.50x0.55 inches. In Stock. Bookseller Inventory # __0071456686

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
US$ 39.64
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: US$ 7.51
From United Kingdom to U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

There are more copies of this book

View all search results for this book