Level E - Starter Set (Specific Skills Series)

9780076039647: Level E - Starter Set (Specific Skills Series)

Specific Skills Series Starter Kits (Level E Starter Set) The Specific Skills Series for Reading targets nine key comprehension skills. As students become more proficient, new levels of difficulty can be added to expand their knowledge and understanding. Nine Key Comprehension Skills 1. Identifying Cause and Effect Identifying Cause and Effect requires students to analyse information and determine the effect. 2. Compare and Contrast Comparing and Contrasting helps students practise identifying similarities and differences through stories and pictures. It teaches students to pay attention to detail and then organize the information accordingly. 3. Drawing Conclusions Drawing Conclusions develops one of the most important interpretative skills by presenting students with the most logical answer through the information provided. 4. Identifying Fact and Opinion Identifying Fact and Opinion helps students develop the important skill of understanding and recognizing the difference between facts and opinion through the analysis of information to determine whether it can be researched and proved or if it is a feeling or belief. 5. Finding Details Finding Details helps students develop skills in recalling details from a single reading by taking as much in as possible. The material is structured so the story is one side and the questions on the reverse so there is no "looking back" for the answer. 6. Getting the Main Idea Getting the Main Idea is designed to assist students in grasping the central thought of a short passage through the use of key question words, topic words, place clues, space clues, turnabout clues and general and specific ideas. 7. Making Inferences Making Inferences is devised to develop one of the most difficult interpretative skills--arriving at a probable conclusion from s limited number information. 8. Sequencing Sequencing establishes the important ability to determine time relationships--the order in which things happen. 9. Using Phonics Using Phonics helps students put sounds and other word elements to work to determine word meaning. The sixth edition of the Specific Skills Series for Reading maintains the quality and focus that has distinguished this program for more than 40 years. It varies in content and contains both fiction and nonfiction stories. Using relevant subject material, the new contemporary look appeals to readers of all ages and the topics are designed to stimulate and motivate the interest of students. This flexible series can be used in a variety of situations including Self Directed, Small Group, One-on-one and Whole Class learning situations Each Single Level Set includes: 1 book for each of the 9 skill areas 1 Teacher's manual with Answer keys, Blackline masters and Class record sheets

"synopsis" may belong to another edition of this title.

Product Description:

Level E Starter Set includes: one book for each of the 9 skill areas; a Teacher's Manual with answer keys, blackline masters, and a class record sheet.

"About this title" may belong to another edition of this title.

(No Available Copies)

Search Books:

Create a Want

If you know the book but cannot find it on AbeBooks, we can automatically search for it on your behalf as new inventory is added. If it is added to AbeBooks by one of our member booksellers, we will notify you!

Create a Want