The Umbrian Thursday Night Supper Club

3.52 avg rating
( 229 ratings by Goodreads )
 
9780091954307: The Umbrian Thursday Night Supper Club

The true story of the Umbrian Thursday night supper club—and the five extraordinary women who meet in the hills above Italy's Orvieto to cook, eat, and tell the stories of their incredible lives

Every week on a Thursday evening, a group of four Italian rural women gather in a derelict stone house in the hills above Italy’s Orvieto. There—along with their friend, Marlena—they cook together, sit down to a beautiful supper, drink their beloved local wines, and talk. Here, surrounded by candle light, good food and friendship, Miranda, Ninucia, Paolina, and Gilda tell their life stories of loves lost and found, of ageing and abandonment, of mafia grudges and family feuds, and of cherished ingredients and recipes whose secrets have been passed down through the generations. Around this table, these five friends share their food and all that life has offered them—the good and the bad. For fans of all things Italian, and the thousands of readers who loved Deborah Rodriquez's The Kabul Beauty School; Elizabeth Gilbert's Eat, Pray, Love; and Deborah Moggach's Best Exotic Marigold Hotel.

"synopsis" may belong to another edition of this title.

About the Author:

Marlena de Blasi is the internationally bestselling author of A Thousand Days in Venice, as well as four further bestselling memoirs and a novel, Amandine. She has been a chef, a journalist, a food and wine consultant, and a restaurant critic. She is also the author of two internationally published cookbooks of Italian food.

Review:

"If you loved Under the Tuscan Sun, you’ll love this."  —Red magazine

"Celebrates the life-affirming joys of food and friendship... Marlena de Blasi recounts meals she and four Italian neighbours cook together every week and the stories they share about their lives and loves."  —Good Housekeeping

"Marlena De Blasi’s glittering descriptions and mouthwatering recipes take you directly into the heart of Italy and into the souls of the Italian people."  —Adriana Trigiani, author, The Shoemaker’s Wife

"About this title" may belong to another edition of this title.

Top Search Results from the AbeBooks Marketplace

1.

Marlena de Blasi
ISBN 10: 0091954304 ISBN 13: 9780091954307
New Quantity Available: > 20
Seller
BWB
(Valley Stream, NY, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Book Condition: New. Depending on your location, this item may ship from the US or UK. Bookseller Inventory # 97800919543070000000

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
US$ 17.15
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: FREE
Within U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

2.

Marlena De Blasi
Published by Cornerstone, United Kingdom (2015)
ISBN 10: 0091954304 ISBN 13: 9780091954307
New Hardcover Quantity Available: 1
Seller
The Book Depository US
(London, United Kingdom)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Cornerstone, United Kingdom, 2015. Hardback. Book Condition: New. Language: English . Brand New Book. If you loved Under the Tuscan Sun, you ll love this . Red Magazine Pull up a chair for the true story of the Umbrian Thursday night supper club. Every week on a Thursday evening, a group of four Italian rural women gather in a derelict stone house in the hills above Italy s Orvieto. There - along with their friend, Marlena - they cook together, sit down to a beautiful supper, drink their beloved local wines, and talk. Here, surrounded by candle light, good food and friendship, Miranda, Ninucia, Paolina and Gilda tell their life stories of loves lost and found, of ageing and abandonment, of mafia grudges and family feuds, and of cherished ingredients and recipes whose secrets have been passed down through the generations. Around this table, these five friends share their food and all that life has offered them - the good and the bad. For fans of all things Italian, and the thousands of readers who loved Deborah Rodriquez s The Kabul Beauty School; Elizabeth Gilbert s Eat, Pray, Love and Deborah Moggach s Best Exotic Marigold Hotel. Bookseller Inventory # AAZ9780091954307

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
US$ 17.19
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: FREE
From United Kingdom to U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

3.

Marlena De Blasi
Published by Cornerstone, United Kingdom (2015)
ISBN 10: 0091954304 ISBN 13: 9780091954307
New Hardcover Quantity Available: 1
Seller
The Book Depository
(London, United Kingdom)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Cornerstone, United Kingdom, 2015. Hardback. Book Condition: New. Language: English . Brand New Book. If you loved Under the Tuscan Sun, you ll love this . Red Magazine Pull up a chair for the true story of the Umbrian Thursday night supper club. Every week on a Thursday evening, a group of four Italian rural women gather in a derelict stone house in the hills above Italy s Orvieto. There - along with their friend, Marlena - they cook together, sit down to a beautiful supper, drink their beloved local wines, and talk. Here, surrounded by candle light, good food and friendship, Miranda, Ninucia, Paolina and Gilda tell their life stories of loves lost and found, of ageing and abandonment, of mafia grudges and family feuds, and of cherished ingredients and recipes whose secrets have been passed down through the generations. Around this table, these five friends share their food and all that life has offered them - the good and the bad. For fans of all things Italian, and the thousands of readers who loved Deborah Rodriquez s The Kabul Beauty School; Elizabeth Gilbert s Eat, Pray, Love and Deborah Moggach s Best Exotic Marigold Hotel. Bookseller Inventory # AAZ9780091954307

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
US$ 17.72
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: FREE
From United Kingdom to U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

4.

Marlena de Blasi
Published by Hutchinson 2015-04-23 (2015)
ISBN 10: 0091954304 ISBN 13: 9780091954307
New Hardcover Quantity Available: 5
Seller
Chiron Media
(Wallingford, United Kingdom)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Hutchinson 2015-04-23, 2015. Hardcover. Book Condition: New. Bookseller Inventory # NU-GRD-05193347

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
US$ 15.05
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: US$ 3.90
From United Kingdom to U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

5.

De Blasi, Marlena
ISBN 10: 0091954304 ISBN 13: 9780091954307
New Quantity Available: 5
Seller
GreatBookPrices
(Columbia, MD, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Book Condition: New. Bookseller Inventory # 22280440-n

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
US$ 17.64
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: US$ 2.64
Within U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

6.

De Blasi, Marlena
Published by Hutchinson
ISBN 10: 0091954304 ISBN 13: 9780091954307
New Hardcover Quantity Available: 5
Seller
Kennys Bookstore
(Olney, MD, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Hutchinson. Book Condition: New. The author along with their friends gather in a derelict stone house in the hills above Italy's Orvieto, sit down to a beautiful supper, drink their beloved local wines, and talk. In this book, she reveals how her friends share their food and all that life has offered them - the good and the bad. Num Pages: 368 pages. BIC Classification: 1DST; BM; WB; WTM. Category: (G) General (US: Trade). Dimension: 146 x 224 x 36. Weight in Grams: 504. . 2015. Hardcover. . . . . Books ship from the US and Ireland. Bookseller Inventory # V9780091954307

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
US$ 20.35
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: FREE
Within U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

7.

De Blasi, Marlena
Published by Hutchinson (2015)
ISBN 10: 0091954304 ISBN 13: 9780091954307
New Hardcover Quantity Available: 5
Rating
[?]

Book Description Hutchinson, 2015. Book Condition: New. The author along with their friends gather in a derelict stone house in the hills above Italy's Orvieto, sit down to a beautiful supper, drink their beloved local wines, and talk. In this book, she reveals how her friends share their food and all that life has offered them - the good and the bad. Num Pages: 368 pages. BIC Classification: 1DST; BM; WB; WTM. Category: (G) General (US: Trade). Dimension: 146 x 224 x 36. Weight in Grams: 504. . 2015. Hardcover. . . . . . Bookseller Inventory # V9780091954307

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
US$ 21.05
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: FREE
From Ireland to U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

8.

Marlena De Blasi
Published by Cornerstone
ISBN 10: 0091954304 ISBN 13: 9780091954307
New Hardcover Quantity Available: > 20
Seller
THE SAINT BOOKSTORE
(Southport, United Kingdom)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Cornerstone. Hardback. Book Condition: new. BRAND NEW, The Umbrian Thursday Night Supper Club, Marlena De Blasi, 'If you loved Under the Tuscan Sun, you'll love this'. Red Magazine Pull up a chair for the true story of the Umbrian Thursday night supper club. Every week on a Thursday evening, a group of four Italian rural women gather in a derelict stone house in the hills above Italy's Orvieto. There - along with their friend, Marlena - they cook together, sit down to a beautiful supper, drink their beloved local wines, and talk. Here, surrounded by candle light, good food and friendship, Miranda, Ninucia, Paolina and Gilda tell their life stories of loves lost and found, of ageing and abandonment, of mafia grudges and family feuds, and of cherished ingredients and recipes whose secrets have been passed down through the generations. Around this table, these five friends share their food and all that life has offered them - the good and the bad. For fans of all things Italian, and the thousands of readers who loved Deborah Rodriquez's The Kabul Beauty School; Elizabeth Gilbert's Eat, Pray, Love and Deborah Moggach's Best Exotic Marigold Hotel. Bookseller Inventory # B9780091954307

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
US$ 12.31
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: US$ 9.05
From United Kingdom to U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

9.

De Blasi, Marlena
Published by Trafalgar Square (2015)
ISBN 10: 0091954304 ISBN 13: 9780091954307
New Quantity Available: 1
Seller
Paperbackshop-US
(Wood Dale, IL, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Trafalgar Square, 2015. HRD. Book Condition: New. New Book. Shipped from US within 10 to 14 business days. Established seller since 2000. Bookseller Inventory # KS-9780091954307

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
US$ 17.47
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: US$ 3.99
Within U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

10.

Marlena de Blasi
Published by Random House UK 2015-04-23, London (2015)
ISBN 10: 0091954304 ISBN 13: 9780091954307
New Hardcover Quantity Available: 1
Seller
Blackwell's
(Oxford, OX, United Kingdom)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Random House UK 2015-04-23, London, 2015. hardback. Book Condition: New. Bookseller Inventory # 9780091954307

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
US$ 18.00
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: US$ 3.91
From United Kingdom to U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

There are more copies of this book

View all search results for this book