G.S. Beard Lieutenant Fury

ISBN 13: 9780099499572

Lieutenant Fury

3.89 avg rating
( 61 ratings by Goodreads )
 
9780099499572: Lieutenant Fury
View all copies of this ISBN edition:
 
 

Lieutenant Fury is an action-packed sea-faring novel for fans of Hornblower, Bernard Cornwell’s Sharpe and Alan Mallinson’s Matthew Hervey novels.

1793. HMS Amazon is returning from an arduous duty in the Indian Ocean when she encounters a French frigate in the Atlantic. A bloody sea battle ensues resulting in both triumph and personal tragedy for Acting Lieutenant John Fury. A battered Amazon puts into Gibraltar for repairs and there Fury has his promotion confirmed by Vice Admiral Lord Hood, commander of the Mediterranean Fleet. He will be the fifth lieutenant on the 74 gun man-of-war Fortitude.

A series of unexpected events sees Fury temporarily transferred away from Fortitude, first to a brig, then to a gun ship and finally to defend a prominent fort ashore as the Republican armies, inspired by a young artillery officer by the name of Napoleon Bonaparte, establish a brutal siege of the port.

It is soon clear that Britain and her allies are going to be hard pressed to hold onto their prize. But Fury has more to lose than most. In the maelstrom of the siege he has met and fallen in love with a pretty French girl, Sophie Gourrier. Somehow, as the defence crumbles, he must rescue his men and Sophie from the doomed city.

"synopsis" may belong to another edition of this title.

About the Author:

This is G.S. Beard's second novel in a series of John Fury stories. He lives in Lincolnshire. His first book Mr Midshipman Fury is published by Century.

Review:

"Here is a rollicking adventure, real Boy's Own stuff, which is romantic (without the romance) and reassuring (England really did rule the waves), which will stir into life the most sluggish blood of the even the most pacific of readers. Much of Mr Midshipman Fury details life on board a cramped naval vessel in time of war but action is always well to the fore. Among the most engrossing scenes is the forcefull described battle. Particularly poignant when Fury's fellow midshipman - some no older than 13 - are brutally and bloodily cut down. Towering above all the action is Fury himself, a teenager with the skill and cunning of a superhero...Fury promises to go far" -- Peter Burton * Daily Express *

"About this title" may belong to another edition of this title.

Other Popular Editions of the Same Title

9781846050787: Lieutenant Fury

Featured Edition

ISBN 10:  1846050782 ISBN 13:  9781846050787
Publisher: Century, 2006
Hardcover

9780099539445: Lieutenant Fury

Arrow
Hardcover

Top Search Results from the AbeBooks Marketplace

1.

G.S. Beard
Published by Cornerstone, United Kingdom (2008)
ISBN 10: 0099499576 ISBN 13: 9780099499572
New Paperback Quantity Available: 1
Seller:
The Book Depository
(London, United Kingdom)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Cornerstone, United Kingdom, 2008. Paperback. Condition: New. UK ed.. Language: English . Brand New Book. 1793. HMS Amazon is returning from an arduous duty in the Indian Ocean when she encounters a French frigate in the Atlantic.When Amazon left England nearly two years before the countries were not at war but any hopes that the peace still holds are shattered as the Frenchman unexpectedly opens fire- a bloody sea battle ensues resulting in both triumph and personal tragedy for Acting Lieutenant John Fury. A battered Amazon puts into Gibraltar for repairs and there Fury has his promotion confirmed by Vice Admiral Lord Hood, commander of the Mediterranean Fleet. But with promotion comes a transfer away from his home on the Amazon and a new challenge. He will be the fifth lieutenant on the 74-gun-man of war Fortitude. Tedious blockading duty on the French Fleet in Toulon seems to be in prospect but then in a remarkable development Toulon and the enemy fleet are surrendered to Hood by French Monarchists. A series of unexpected events sees Fury temporarily transferred away from Fortitude, first to a brig, his first independent command, then to a gun ship and finally to defend a prominent fort ashore as the Republican armies, inspired by a young artillery officer by the name of Napoleon Bonaparte, establish a brutal siege of the port. It is soon clear that Britain and her allies are going to be hard pressed to hold onto their prize. But Fury has more to lose than most, in the maelstrom of the siege he has met and fallen in love with a pretty French girl, Sophie Gourrier. Somehow, as the defence crumbles, he must rescue his men and Sophie from the doomed city. Seller Inventory # AAZ9780099499572

More information about this seller | Contact this seller

Buy New
US$ 12.47
Convert currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: FREE
From United Kingdom to U.S.A.
Destination, rates & speeds

2.

G.S. Beard
Published by Arrow (2008)
ISBN 10: 0099499576 ISBN 13: 9780099499572
New Softcover Quantity Available: 1
Seller:
Rating
[?]

Book Description Arrow, 2008. Condition: New. Seller Inventory # GH9780099499572

More information about this seller | Contact this seller

Buy New
US$ 12.35
Convert currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: US$ 3.13
From Germany to U.S.A.
Destination, rates & speeds

3.

G.S. Beard
Published by Cornerstone, United Kingdom (2008)
ISBN 10: 0099499576 ISBN 13: 9780099499572
New Paperback Quantity Available: 1
Seller:
Book Depository International
(London, United Kingdom)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Cornerstone, United Kingdom, 2008. Paperback. Condition: New. UK ed.. Language: English . Brand New Book. 1793. HMS Amazon is returning from an arduous duty in the Indian Ocean when she encounters a French frigate in the Atlantic.When Amazon left England nearly two years before the countries were not at war but any hopes that the peace still holds are shattered as the Frenchman unexpectedly opens fire- a bloody sea battle ensues resulting in both triumph and personal tragedy for Acting Lieutenant John Fury. A battered Amazon puts into Gibraltar for repairs and there Fury has his promotion confirmed by Vice Admiral Lord Hood, commander of the Mediterranean Fleet. But with promotion comes a transfer away from his home on the Amazon and a new challenge. He will be the fifth lieutenant on the 74-gun-man of war Fortitude. Tedious blockading duty on the French Fleet in Toulon seems to be in prospect but then in a remarkable development Toulon and the enemy fleet are surrendered to Hood by French Monarchists. A series of unexpected events sees Fury temporarily transferred away from Fortitude, first to a brig, his first independent command, then to a gun ship and finally to defend a prominent fort ashore as the Republican armies, inspired by a young artillery officer by the name of Napoleon Bonaparte, establish a brutal siege of the port. It is soon clear that Britain and her allies are going to be hard pressed to hold onto their prize. But Fury has more to lose than most, in the maelstrom of the siege he has met and fallen in love with a pretty French girl, Sophie Gourrier. Somehow, as the defence crumbles, he must rescue his men and Sophie from the doomed city. Seller Inventory # AAZ9780099499572

More information about this seller | Contact this seller

Buy New
US$ 15.49
Convert currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: FREE
From United Kingdom to U.S.A.
Destination, rates & speeds

4.

G.S. Beard
Published by Arrow (2008)
ISBN 10: 0099499576 ISBN 13: 9780099499572
New Paperback Quantity Available: 2
Seller:
The Monster Bookshop
(Fleckney, United Kingdom)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Arrow, 2008. Paperback. Condition: New. BRAND NEW ** SUPER FAST SHIPPING FROM UK WAREHOUSE ** 30 DAY MONEY BACK GUARANTEE. Seller Inventory # mon0000192274

More information about this seller | Contact this seller

Buy New
US$ 11.58
Convert currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: US$ 5.07
From United Kingdom to U.S.A.
Destination, rates & speeds

5.

G.S. Beard
ISBN 10: 0099499576 ISBN 13: 9780099499572
New Quantity Available: 2
Seller:
Speedy Hen LLC
(Sunrise, FL, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Condition: New. Bookseller Inventory # ST0099499576. Seller Inventory # ST0099499576

More information about this seller | Contact this seller

Buy New
US$ 17.04
Convert currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: FREE
Within U.S.A.
Destination, rates & speeds

6.

G.S. Beard
Published by Arrow (2008)
ISBN 10: 0099499576 ISBN 13: 9780099499572
New Softcover Quantity Available: 2
Seller:
Ria Christie Collections
(Uxbridge, United Kingdom)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Arrow, 2008. Condition: New. book. Seller Inventory # ria9780099499572_rkm

More information about this seller | Contact this seller

Buy New
US$ 12.15
Convert currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: US$ 4.92
From United Kingdom to U.S.A.
Destination, rates & speeds

7.

Beard, G.S.
Published by Cornerstone
ISBN 10: 0099499576 ISBN 13: 9780099499572
New Softcover Quantity Available: 2
Seller:
Kennys Bookstore
(Olney, MD, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Cornerstone. Condition: New. 2008. UK ed. Paperback. 1793. HMS Amazon is returning from an arduous duty in the Indian Ocean when she encounters a French frigate in the Atlantic. Amazon left England nearly two years before the countries were not at war. But any hopes that the peace still holds are shattered as the Frenchman unexpectedly opens fire - a bloody sea battle ensues. Num Pages: 400 pages. BIC Classification: FV. Category: (G) General (US: Trade). Dimension: 200 x 128 x 25. Weight in Grams: 294. . . . . . Books ship from the US and Ireland. Seller Inventory # V9780099499572

More information about this seller | Contact this seller

Buy New
US$ 17.31
Convert currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: FREE
Within U.S.A.
Destination, rates & speeds

8.

Beard, G.S.
Published by Cornerstone (2008)
ISBN 10: 0099499576 ISBN 13: 9780099499572
New Softcover Quantity Available: 2
Rating
[?]

Book Description Cornerstone, 2008. Condition: New. 2008. UK ed. Paperback. 1793. HMS Amazon is returning from an arduous duty in the Indian Ocean when she encounters a French frigate in the Atlantic. Amazon left England nearly two years before the countries were not at war. But any hopes that the peace still holds are shattered as the Frenchman unexpectedly opens fire - a bloody sea battle ensues. Num Pages: 400 pages. BIC Classification: FV. Category: (G) General (US: Trade). Dimension: 200 x 128 x 25. Weight in Grams: 294. . . . . . . Seller Inventory # V9780099499572

More information about this seller | Contact this seller

Buy New
US$ 17.43
Convert currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: FREE
From Ireland to U.S.A.
Destination, rates & speeds

9.

G.S. Beard
Published by Cornerstone
ISBN 10: 0099499576 ISBN 13: 9780099499572
New Paperback Quantity Available: 2
Seller:
THE SAINT BOOKSTORE
(Southport, United Kingdom)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Cornerstone. Paperback. Condition: New. New copy - Usually dispatched within 2 working days. Seller Inventory # B9780099499572

More information about this seller | Contact this seller

Buy New
US$ 9.78
Convert currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: US$ 8.82
From United Kingdom to U.S.A.
Destination, rates & speeds

10.

G.S. Beard
Published by Random House 2008-09-04, London (2008)
ISBN 10: 0099499576 ISBN 13: 9780099499572
New paperback Quantity Available: 1
Seller:
Blackwell's
(Oxford, OX, United Kingdom)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Random House 2008-09-04, London, 2008. paperback. Condition: New. Seller Inventory # 9780099499572

More information about this seller | Contact this seller

Buy New
US$ 12.32
Convert currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: US$ 7.63
From United Kingdom to U.S.A.
Destination, rates & speeds

There are more copies of this book

View all search results for this book