Beard, G.S. Lieutenant Fury

ISBN 13: 9780099499572

Lieutenant Fury

3.78 avg rating
( 41 ratings by GoodReads )
 
9780099499572: Lieutenant Fury

Lieutenant Fury is an action-packed sea-faring novel for fans of Hornblower, Bernard Cornwell’s Sharpe and Alan Mallinson’s Matthew Hervey novels.

1793. HMS Amazon is returning from an arduous duty in the Indian Ocean when she encounters a French frigate in the Atlantic. A bloody sea battle ensues resulting in both triumph and personal tragedy for Acting Lieutenant John Fury. A battered Amazon puts into Gibraltar for repairs and there Fury has his promotion confirmed by Vice Admiral Lord Hood, commander of the Mediterranean Fleet. He will be the fifth lieutenant on the 74 gun man-of-war Fortitude.

A series of unexpected events sees Fury temporarily transferred away from Fortitude, first to a brig, then to a gun ship and finally to defend a prominent fort ashore as the Republican armies, inspired by a young artillery officer by the name of Napoleon Bonaparte, establish a brutal siege of the port.

It is soon clear that Britain and her allies are going to be hard pressed to hold onto their prize. But Fury has more to lose than most. In the maelstrom of the siege he has met and fallen in love with a pretty French girl, Sophie Gourrier. Somehow, as the defence crumbles, he must rescue his men and Sophie from the doomed city.

"synopsis" may belong to another edition of this title.

About the Author:

This is G.S. Beard's second novel in a series of John Fury stories. He lives in Lincolnshire. His first book Mr Midshipman Fury is published by Century.

"About this title" may belong to another edition of this title.

Top Search Results from the AbeBooks Marketplace

1.

Beard, G.S.
Published by Cornerstone, United Kingdom (2008)
ISBN 10: 0099499576 ISBN 13: 9780099499572
New Paperback Quantity Available: 1
Seller
The Book Depository
(London, United Kingdom)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Cornerstone, United Kingdom, 2008. Paperback. Book Condition: New. 198 x 130 mm. Language: English . Brand New Book. 1793. HMS Amazon is returning from an arduous duty in the Indian Ocean when she encounters a French frigate in the Atlantic. Amazon left England nearly two years before the countries were not at war. But any hopes that the peace still holds are shattered as the Frenchman unexpectedly opens fire - a bloody sea battle ensues resulting in both triumph and personal tragedy for Acting Lieutenant John Fury. A battered Amazon puts into Gibraltar for repairs and there Fury has his promotion confirmed by Vice Admiral Lord Hood, commander of the Mediterranean Fleet.But with promotion comes a transfer away from his home on the Amazon and a new challenge. He will be the fifth lieutenant on the 74-gun-man of war Fortitude. Tedious blockading duty on the French Fleet in Toulon seems to be in prospect but then in a remarkable development Toulon and the enemy fleet are surrendered to Hood by French Monarchists. A series of unexpected events sees Fury temporarily transferred away from Fortitude, first to a brig, his first independent command, then to a gun ship and finally to defend a prominent fort ashore as the Republican armies, inspired by a young artillery officer by the name of Napoleon Bonaparte, establish a brutal siege of the port.It is soon clear that Britain and her allies are going to be hard pressed to hold onto their prize. But Fury has more to lose than most, in the maelstrom of the siege he has met and fallen in love with a pretty French girl, Sophie Gourrier. Somehow, as the defence crumbles, he must rescue his men and Sophie from the doomed city. Bookseller Inventory # AB99780099499572

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
US$ 11.46
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: FREE
From United Kingdom to U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

2.

Beard, G.S.
Published by Cornerstone, United Kingdom (2008)
ISBN 10: 0099499576 ISBN 13: 9780099499572
New Paperback Quantity Available: 1
Seller
The Book Depository US
(London, United Kingdom)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Cornerstone, United Kingdom, 2008. Paperback. Book Condition: New. 198 x 130 mm. Language: English . Brand New Book. 1793. HMS Amazon is returning from an arduous duty in the Indian Ocean when she encounters a French frigate in the Atlantic. Amazon left England nearly two years before the countries were not at war. But any hopes that the peace still holds are shattered as the Frenchman unexpectedly opens fire - a bloody sea battle ensues resulting in both triumph and personal tragedy for Acting Lieutenant John Fury. A battered Amazon puts into Gibraltar for repairs and there Fury has his promotion confirmed by Vice Admiral Lord Hood, commander of the Mediterranean Fleet.But with promotion comes a transfer away from his home on the Amazon and a new challenge. He will be the fifth lieutenant on the 74-gun-man of war Fortitude. Tedious blockading duty on the French Fleet in Toulon seems to be in prospect but then in a remarkable development Toulon and the enemy fleet are surrendered to Hood by French Monarchists. A series of unexpected events sees Fury temporarily transferred away from Fortitude, first to a brig, his first independent command, then to a gun ship and finally to defend a prominent fort ashore as the Republican armies, inspired by a young artillery officer by the name of Napoleon Bonaparte, establish a brutal siege of the port.It is soon clear that Britain and her allies are going to be hard pressed to hold onto their prize. But Fury has more to lose than most, in the maelstrom of the siege he has met and fallen in love with a pretty French girl, Sophie Gourrier. Somehow, as the defence crumbles, he must rescue his men and Sophie from the doomed city. Bookseller Inventory # AB99780099499572

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
US$ 11.50
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: FREE
From United Kingdom to U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

3.

Beard, G.S.
ISBN 10: 0099499576 ISBN 13: 9780099499572
New Paperback Quantity Available: 1
Seller
Grand Eagle Retail
(Wilmington, DE, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description 2008. Paperback. Book Condition: New. 130mm x 199mm x 24mm. Paperback. 1793. HMS Amazon is returning from an arduous duty in the Indian Ocean when she encounters a French frigate in the Atlantic. Amazon left England nearly two years before the countries were .Shipping may be from multiple locations in the US or from the UK, depending on stock availability. 400 pages. 0.285. Bookseller Inventory # 9780099499572

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
US$ 13.41
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: FREE
Within U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

4.

Beard, G.S.
Published by Cornerstone
ISBN 10: 0099499576 ISBN 13: 9780099499572
New Paperback Quantity Available: 5
Seller
THE SAINT BOOKSTORE
(Southport, United Kingdom)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Cornerstone. Paperback. Book Condition: new. BRAND NEW, Lieutenant Fury, G.S. Beard, 1793. HMS Amazon is returning from an arduous duty in the Indian Ocean when she encounters a French frigate in the Atlantic. Amazon left England nearly two years before the countries were not at war. But any hopes that the peace still holds are shattered as the Frenchman unexpectedly opens fire - a bloody sea battle ensues resulting in both triumph and personal tragedy for Acting Lieutenant John Fury. A battered Amazon puts into Gibraltar for repairs and there Fury has his promotion confirmed by Vice Admiral Lord Hood, commander of the Mediterranean Fleet.But with promotion comes a transfer away from his home on the Amazon and a new challenge. He will be the fifth lieutenant on the 74-gun-man of war Fortitude. Tedious blockading duty on the French Fleet in Toulon seems to be in prospect but then in a remarkable development Toulon and the enemy fleet are surrendered to Hood by French Monarchists. A series of unexpected events sees Fury temporarily transferred away from Fortitude, first to a brig, his first independent command, then to a gun ship and finally to defend a prominent fort ashore as the Republican armies, inspired by a young artillery officer by the name of Napoleon Bonaparte, establish a brutal siege of the port.It is soon clear that Britain and her allies are going to be hard pressed to hold onto their prize. But Fury has more to lose than most, in the maelstrom of the siege he has met and fallen in love with a pretty French girl, Sophie Gourrier. Somehow, as the defence crumbles, he must rescue his men and Sophie from the doomed city. Bookseller Inventory # B9780099499572

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
US$ 8.54
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: US$ 7.35
From United Kingdom to U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

5.

Beard, G.S.
Published by Random House
ISBN 10: 0099499576 ISBN 13: 9780099499572
New Quantity Available: 3
Seller
Majestic Books
(London, ,, United Kingdom)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Random House. Book Condition: New. Bookseller Inventory # 3319920

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
US$ 18.20
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: US$ 6.81
From United Kingdom to U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

6.

Beard, G.S.
Published by Arrow (2008)
ISBN 10: 0099499576 ISBN 13: 9780099499572
New Paperback Quantity Available: 1
Seller
Irish Booksellers
(Rumford, ME, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Arrow, 2008. Paperback. Book Condition: New. book. Bookseller Inventory # 0099499576

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
US$ 36.28
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: FREE
Within U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

7.

Beard, G.S.
ISBN 10: 0099499576 ISBN 13: 9780099499572
New Paperback Quantity Available: 1
Seller
AussieBookSeller
(SILVERWATER, NSW, Australia)
Rating
[?]

Book Description 2008. Paperback. Book Condition: New. 130mm x 199mm x 24mm. Paperback. 1793. HMS Amazon is returning from an arduous duty in the Indian Ocean when she encounters a French frigate in the Atlantic. Amazon left England nearly two years before the co.Shipping may be from our Sydney, NSW warehouse or from our UK or US warehouse, depending on stock availability. 400 pages. 0.285. Bookseller Inventory # 9780099499572

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
US$ 14.76
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: US$ 28.00
From Australia to U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

8.

Beard, G.S.
Published by Arrow (2008)
ISBN 10: 0099499576 ISBN 13: 9780099499572
New Paperback Quantity Available: 3
Seller
Murray Media
(North Miami Beach, FL, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Arrow, 2008. Paperback. Book Condition: New. Bookseller Inventory # P110099499576

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
US$ 56.73
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: US$ 2.99
Within U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds