Harris, Robert Archangel

ISBN 13: 9780099527930

Archangel

3.76 avg rating
( 6,377 ratings by GoodReads )
 
9780099527930: Archangel

Present-day Russia is the setting for this stunning new novel from Robert Harris, author of the bestsellers Fatherland and Enigma.
        
Archangel tells the story of four days in the life of Fluke Kelso, a dissipated, middle-aged former Oxford historian, who is in Moscow to attend a conference on the newly opened Soviet archives.
        
One night, Kelso is visited in his hotel room by an old NKVD officer, a former bodyguard of the secret police chief Lavrenty Beria. The old man claims to have been at Stalin's dacha on the night Stalin had his fatal stroke, and to have helped Beria steal the dictator's private papers, among them a notebook.
        
Kelso decides to use his last morning in Moscow to check out the old man's story. But what starts as an idle inquiry in the Lenin Library soon turns into a murderous chase across nighttime Moscow and up to northern Russia--to the vast forests near the White Sea port of Archangel, where the final secret of Josef Stalin has been hidden for almost half a century.
        
Archangel combines the imaginative sweep and dark suspense of Fatherland with the meticulous historical detail of Enigma. The result is Robert Harris's most compelling novel yet.


From the Paperback edition.

"synopsis" may belong to another edition of this title.

Review:

Archangel is a remarkably literate novel--and simultaneously a gripping thriller--that explores the lingering presence of Stalin amidst the corruption of modern-day Russia. Robert Harris (whose previous works include Enigma and Fatherland) elevates his tale by choosing a narrator with an outsider's perspective but an insider's knowledge of Soviet history: Fluke Kelso, a middle-aged scholar of Soviet Communism with a special interest in the dark secrets of Joseph Stalin. For years, rumors have circulated about a notebook that the aging dictator kept in his final years. In a chance encounter in Moscow, Kelso meets Papu Rapava, a former NKVD guard who claims that he was at Stalin's deathbed and says that he assisted Politburo member Beria in hiding the black oilskin notebook just as Stalin was passing. Before Kelso can get more details, Rapava disappears, but the scholar is energized by the evidence Rapava has provided. As Kelso begins to pursue his historical prize, however, his investigation ensnares him in a living web of Stalinist terror and murder. It soon becomes clear that the notebook is the key to a doorway hiding many secrets, old and new.

Harris's understanding of Soviet and modern Russian is impressive. The novel rests on a seamless blend of fact and fiction that places real figures from Soviet history alongside Kelso and his fictional colleagues. Especially disturbing are the transcripts from interrogations and the excerpt from Kelso's lectures on Stalin; the documents provide chilling evidence to support Kelso's claim: "There can now be no doubt that it is Stalin rather than Hitler who is the most alarming figure of the twentieth century." --Patrick O'Kelley

From the Back Cover:

Praise for

ENIGMA


"Elegant, atmospheric . . . a tense and thoughtful thriller."

--San Francisco Chronicle



"Literate and savvy . . . It's always a pleasure to encounter a historical thriller this subtle and detailed. . . . [

] brims with wartime intrigue and paranoia."

--The Washington Post Book World

FATHERLAND

"A stunning debut." --Boston Globe



"An elegant thriller, a thoughtful, frightening story of complicity."

--San Francisco Chronicle



"An absorbing, expertly written novel."

--The New York Times

"About this title" may belong to another edition of this title.

Top Search Results from the AbeBooks Marketplace

1.

Harris, Robert
Published by Cornerstone, United Kingdom (2009)
ISBN 10: 0099527936 ISBN 13: 9780099527930
New Paperback Quantity Available: 10
Seller
The Book Depository US
(London, United Kingdom)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Cornerstone, United Kingdom, 2009. Paperback. Book Condition: New. 196 x 128 mm. Language: English . Brand New Book. When historian Fluke Kelso learns of the existence of a secret notebook belonging to Josef Stalin he is determined to track it down, whatever the consequences. From the violent political intrigue and decadence of modern Moscow he heads north - to the vast forests surrounding the White Sea port of Archangel, and a terrifying encounter with Russia s unburied past. Bookseller Inventory # LIB9780099527930

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
US$ 9.57
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: FREE
From United Kingdom to U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

2.

Harris, Robert
ISBN 10: 0099527936 ISBN 13: 9780099527930
New Quantity Available: > 20
Seller
BWB
(Valley Stream, NY, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Book Condition: New. Depending on your location, this item may ship from the US or UK. Bookseller Inventory # 97800995279300000000

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
US$ 9.78
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: FREE
Within U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

3.

Harris, Robert
ISBN 10: 0099527936 ISBN 13: 9780099527930
New Quantity Available: 5
Seller
GreatBookPrices
(Columbia, MD, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Book Condition: New. Bookseller Inventory # 6306986-n

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
US$ 7.27
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: US$ 2.64
Within U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

4.

Harris, Robert
Published by Cornerstone, United Kingdom (2009)
ISBN 10: 0099527936 ISBN 13: 9780099527930
New Paperback Quantity Available: 10
Seller
The Book Depository
(London, United Kingdom)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Cornerstone, United Kingdom, 2009. Paperback. Book Condition: New. 196 x 128 mm. Language: English . Brand New Book. When historian Fluke Kelso learns of the existence of a secret notebook belonging to Josef Stalin he is determined to track it down, whatever the consequences. From the violent political intrigue and decadence of modern Moscow he heads north - to the vast forests surrounding the White Sea port of Archangel, and a terrifying encounter with Russia s unburied past. Bookseller Inventory # LIB9780099527930

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
US$ 10.13
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: FREE
From United Kingdom to U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

5.

Harris, Robert
ISBN 10: 0099527936 ISBN 13: 9780099527930
New Paperback Quantity Available: 1
Seller
Grand Eagle Retail
(Wilmington, DE, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description 2009. Paperback. Book Condition: New. 129mm x 198mm x 27mm. Paperback. of great intelligence in the tradition of Conrad, Greene and le Carre. When historian Fluke Kelso learns of the existence of a secret notebook belonging to Josef Stalin he is determined to.Shipping may be from multiple locations in the US or from the UK, depending on stock availability. 432 pages. 0.302. Bookseller Inventory # 9780099527930

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
US$ 11.51
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: FREE
Within U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

6.

Harris, Robert
Published by Arrow 2009-10-01 (2009)
ISBN 10: 0099527936 ISBN 13: 9780099527930
New Quantity Available: 5
Seller
Chiron Media
(Wallingford, United Kingdom)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Arrow 2009-10-01, 2009. Book Condition: New. Brand new book, sourced directly from publisher. Dispatch time is 24-48 hours from our warehouse. Book will be sent in robust, secure packaging to ensure it reaches you securely. Bookseller Inventory # NU-LBR-01009811

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
US$ 7.85
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: US$ 3.73
From United Kingdom to U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

7.

Harris, Robert
Published by Arrow
ISBN 10: 0099527936 ISBN 13: 9780099527930
New Softcover Quantity Available: 5
Seller
Kennys Bookstore
(Olney, MD, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Arrow. Book Condition: New. 2009. Paperback. When historian Fluke Kelso learns of the existence of a secret notebook belonging to Josef Stalin he is determined to track it down, whatever the consequences. Num Pages: 432 pages. BIC Classification: FH. Category: (G) General (US: Trade). Dimension: 198 x 129 x 28. Weight in Grams: 310. . . . . . Books ship from the US and Ireland. Bookseller Inventory # V9780099527930

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
US$ 12.57
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: FREE
Within U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

8.

Harris, Robert
Published by Arrow (2009)
ISBN 10: 0099527936 ISBN 13: 9780099527930
New Softcover Quantity Available: 5
Rating
[?]

Book Description Arrow, 2009. Book Condition: New. 2009. Paperback. When historian Fluke Kelso learns of the existence of a secret notebook belonging to Josef Stalin he is determined to track it down, whatever the consequences. Num Pages: 432 pages. BIC Classification: FH. Category: (G) General (US: Trade). Dimension: 198 x 129 x 28. Weight in Grams: 310. . . . . . . Bookseller Inventory # V9780099527930

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
US$ 13.07
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: FREE
From Ireland to U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

9.

Harris, Robert
ISBN 10: 0099527936 ISBN 13: 9780099527930
New Paperback Quantity Available: 18
Seller
Ria Christie Collections
(Uxbridge, United Kingdom)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Paperback. Book Condition: New. Not Signed; When historian Fluke Kelso learns of the existence of a secret notebook belonging to Josef Stalin he is determined to track it down, whatever the consequences. From the violent political intrigue and decadence of modern Moscow he heads north - to the vast forests surrounding the White Sea port of Ar. book. Bookseller Inventory # ria9780099527930_rkm

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
US$ 9.21
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: US$ 4.16
From United Kingdom to U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

10.

Harris, Robert
Published by Cornerstone
ISBN 10: 0099527936 ISBN 13: 9780099527930
New Paperback Quantity Available: 5
Seller
THE SAINT BOOKSTORE
(Southport, United Kingdom)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Cornerstone. Paperback. Book Condition: new. BRAND NEW, Archangel, Robert Harris, When historian Fluke Kelso learns of the existence of a secret notebook belonging to Josef Stalin he is determined to track it down, whatever the consequences. From the violent political intrigue and decadence of modern Moscow he heads north - to the vast forests surrounding the White Sea port of Archangel, and a terrifying encounter with Russia's unburied past. Bookseller Inventory # B9780099527930

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
US$ 7.03
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: US$ 7.40
From United Kingdom to U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

There are more copies of this book

View all search results for this book