Fiction Colin McAdam Fall

ISBN 13: 9780099535461

Fall

3.16 avg rating
( 551 ratings by Goodreads )
 
9780099535461: Fall

A place of pressure and contradictions, St Ebury is an exclusive boarding school for the children of Canada's elite, where boys must act as men while navigating their adolescence. One of only a handful of girls at the school, Fall is the most beautiful. Noel, a clever, ghostly loner, watches her, certain that one day Fall will come to know him deeply. But like everyone else, she is drawn to Julius, the confident and magnetic son of the American ambassador to Canada. They fall in love and Noel keeps watching. In their final year, the boys room together and as Julius grows closer to Fall, Noel's enthusiasm for their relationship shades into something darker as he imagines himself as a confidante to Julius, sensing that the time has come for him to enter Fall's life forever.

"synopsis" may belong to another edition of this title.

About the Author:

Colin McAdam lives in Montreal. His first novel, Some Great Thing, was published in 2004.

From Publishers Weekly:

A tense literary whodunit set in a prestigious Canadian boarding school, McAdam's second novel (after Some Great Thing) delivers suspense and cunning psychological insight. Chapters alternate between the recollections of Noel, a coldly intelligent loner, and the stream-of-consciousness of Julius, a handsome, popular athlete whose girlfriend, Fall, vanishes one day. Unstated but implicit is Fall's fate at the hands of one of the boys, but, as in many literary mysteries, the plot is secondary to the graceful prose and characterizations. The male characters are drawn with precision; Fall less so, as befits their objectification of her, though the relationship between Fall and Julius is depicted with a bittersweet charm. Julius's point of view is particularly well-done, conveying the inner turmoil of a lovestruck teenager. Noel's memories of their senior year, meanwhile, subtly reflect his emotional distance from others while suggesting a solution to the crime. The book is pleasingly paced and absorbing, and likely to appeal to fans of Arturo Perez-Reverte and Jess Walter. (June)
Copyright Reed Business Information, a division of Reed Elsevier Inc. All rights reserved.

"About this title" may belong to another edition of this title.

Buy New View Book
List Price: US$ 19.75
US$ 9.60

Convert Currency

Shipping: FREE
From United Kingdom to U.S.A.

Destination, Rates & Speeds

Add to Basket

Top Search Results from the AbeBooks Marketplace

1.

Colin McAdam
Published by Vintage Publishing, United Kingdom (2010)
ISBN 10: 0099535467 ISBN 13: 9780099535461
New Paperback Quantity Available: 10
Seller
The Book Depository
(London, United Kingdom)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Vintage Publishing, United Kingdom, 2010. Paperback. Book Condition: New. 198 x 129 mm. Language: English . Brand New Book. A place of pressure and contradictions, St Ebury is an exclusive boarding school for the children of Canada s elite, where boys must act as men while navigating their adolescence. One of only a handful of girls at the school, Fall is the most beautiful. Noel, a clever, ghostly loner, watches her, certain that one day Fall will come to know him deeply. But like everyone else, she is drawn to Julius, the confident and magnetic son of the American ambassador to Canada. They fall in love and Noel keeps watching. In their final year, the boys room together and as Julius grows closer to Fall, Noel s enthusiasm for their relationship shades into something darker as he imagines himself as a confidante to Julius, sensing that the time has come for him to enter Fall s life forever. Bookseller Inventory # AB99780099535461

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
US$ 9.60
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: FREE
From United Kingdom to U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

2.

Colin McAdam
Published by Vintage Publishing, United Kingdom (2010)
ISBN 10: 0099535467 ISBN 13: 9780099535461
New Paperback Quantity Available: 10
Seller
The Book Depository US
(London, United Kingdom)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Vintage Publishing, United Kingdom, 2010. Paperback. Book Condition: New. 198 x 129 mm. Language: English . Brand New Book. A place of pressure and contradictions, St Ebury is an exclusive boarding school for the children of Canada s elite, where boys must act as men while navigating their adolescence. One of only a handful of girls at the school, Fall is the most beautiful. Noel, a clever, ghostly loner, watches her, certain that one day Fall will come to know him deeply. But like everyone else, she is drawn to Julius, the confident and magnetic son of the American ambassador to Canada. They fall in love and Noel keeps watching. In their final year, the boys room together and as Julius grows closer to Fall, Noel s enthusiasm for their relationship shades into something darker as he imagines himself as a confidante to Julius, sensing that the time has come for him to enter Fall s life forever. Bookseller Inventory # AB99780099535461

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
US$ 9.87
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: FREE
From United Kingdom to U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

3.

Colin McAdam
ISBN 10: 0099535467 ISBN 13: 9780099535461
New Quantity Available: > 20
Seller
BWB
(Valley Stream, NY, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Book Condition: New. Depending on your location, this item may ship from the US or UK. Bookseller Inventory # 97800995354610000000

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
US$ 9.88
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: FREE
Within U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

4.

McAdam, Colin
Published by Vintage
ISBN 10: 0099535467 ISBN 13: 9780099535461
New Softcover Quantity Available: 5
Seller
Kennys Bookstore
(Olney, MD, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Vintage. Book Condition: New. A place of pressure and contradictions, St Ebury is an exclusive boarding school for the children of Canada's elite, where boys must act as men while navigating their adolescence. One of only a handful of girls at the school, Fall is the most beautiful. Noel, ghostly loner, watches her, certain that one day Fall will come to know him deeply. Num Pages: 336 pages. BIC Classification: FA. Category: (G) General (US: Trade). Dimension: 199 x 130 x 22. Weight in Grams: 236. . 2010. Paperback. . . . . Books ship from the US and Ireland. Bookseller Inventory # V9780099535461

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
US$ 12.85
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: FREE
Within U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

5.

McAdam, Colin
Published by Vintage (2010)
ISBN 10: 0099535467 ISBN 13: 9780099535461
New Softcover Quantity Available: 5
Rating
[?]

Book Description Vintage, 2010. Book Condition: New. A place of pressure and contradictions, St Ebury is an exclusive boarding school for the children of Canada's elite, where boys must act as men while navigating their adolescence. One of only a handful of girls at the school, Fall is the most beautiful. Noel, ghostly loner, watches her, certain that one day Fall will come to know him deeply. Num Pages: 336 pages. BIC Classification: FA. Category: (G) General (US: Trade). Dimension: 199 x 130 x 22. Weight in Grams: 236. . 2010. Paperback. . . . . . Bookseller Inventory # V9780099535461

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
US$ 13.68
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: FREE
From Ireland to U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

6.

Colin McAdam
Published by Vintage Publishing
ISBN 10: 0099535467 ISBN 13: 9780099535461
New Paperback Quantity Available: > 20
Seller
THE SAINT BOOKSTORE
(Southport, United Kingdom)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Vintage Publishing. Paperback. Book Condition: new. BRAND NEW, Fall, Colin McAdam, A place of pressure and contradictions, St Ebury is an exclusive boarding school for the children of Canada's elite, where boys must act as men while navigating their adolescence. One of only a handful of girls at the school, Fall is the most beautiful. Noel, a clever, ghostly loner, watches her, certain that one day Fall will come to know him deeply. But like everyone else, she is drawn to Julius, the confident and magnetic son of the American ambassador to Canada. They fall in love and Noel keeps watching. In their final year, the boys room together and as Julius grows closer to Fall, Noel's enthusiasm for their relationship shades into something darker as he imagines himself as a confidante to Julius, sensing that the time has come for him to enter Fall's life forever. Bookseller Inventory # B9780099535461

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
US$ 6.05
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: US$ 8.89
From United Kingdom to U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

7.

Colin McAdam
Published by Vintage (2010)
ISBN 10: 0099535467 ISBN 13: 9780099535461
New Paperback Quantity Available: 1
Seller
Zarak Books
(Norwich, United Kingdom)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Vintage, 2010. Paperback. Book Condition: New. 12mo - over 6¾" - 7¾" tall. Brand new copy. Bookseller Inventory # 034758

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
US$ 6.60
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: US$ 9.29
From United Kingdom to U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

8.

Mcadam Colin
Published by Random House
ISBN 10: 0099535467 ISBN 13: 9780099535461
New Quantity Available: 3
Seller
Majestic Books
(London, ,, United Kingdom)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Random House. Book Condition: New. pp. 336. Bookseller Inventory # 6324582

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
US$ 9.64
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: US$ 7.07
From United Kingdom to U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

9.

Colin McAdam
Published by Random House (2010)
ISBN 10: 0099535467 ISBN 13: 9780099535461
New Quantity Available: > 20
Seller
Books2Anywhere
(Fairford, GLOS, United Kingdom)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Random House, 2010. PAP. Book Condition: New. New Book. Shipped from UK in 4 to 14 days. Established seller since 2000. Bookseller Inventory # F4-9780099535461

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
US$ 5.88
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: US$ 11.53
From United Kingdom to U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

10.

Colin McAdam
Published by Vintage (2010)
ISBN 10: 0099535467 ISBN 13: 9780099535461
New Paperback Quantity Available: 1
Seller
Revaluation Books
(Exeter, United Kingdom)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Vintage, 2010. Paperback. Book Condition: Brand New. 336 pages. 7.80x5.08x0.83 inches. In Stock. Bookseller Inventory # __0099535467

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
US$ 12.34
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: US$ 7.69
From United Kingdom to U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

There are more copies of this book

View all search results for this book