Andrey Kurkov The Milkman in the Night

ISBN 13: 9780099548867

The Milkman in the Night

3.7 avg rating
( 352 ratings by Goodreads )
 
9780099548867: The Milkman in the Night
View all copies of this ISBN edition:
 
 

A new masterpiece from the author of the cult classic Death and the Penguin.
     Semyon is disturbed. He has woken up in the living room with blood on his shirt, an angry wife and no idea where he was the night before. When this happens several mornings in a row, he realises he needs to investigate. After his friend Volodka follows him one night, they discover he's meeting a tall, blonde woman and accompanying her to her apartment. In the daytime he doesn't know this woman or where her apartment is and, odder yet, someone is watching Volodka watching Semyon. Meanwhile, there are some strange goings-on in Kiev -- an unemployed sniffer-dog handler makes a dangerous discovery, a single mother is providing breast milk for an unusual recipient and a vengeful cat is on the loose.

"synopsis" may belong to another edition of this title.

About the Author:

ANDREY KURKOV was born in St Petersburg in 1961. Having graduated from the Kiev Foreign Languages Institute, he worked for some time as a journalist, did his military service as a prison warder in Odessa, then became a film cameraman, writer of screenplays and author of critically acclaimed and popular novels, including the cult bestseller Death and the Penguin.

Review:

"A glorious, epic, eccentric and often hilarious satire, heavily tinged with Russian melancholy" -- Kate Saunders * The Times * "There is much to enjoy in this book. Kurkov works in the tradition of Nikolai Gogol and Mikhail Bulgakov, blending folkloric characters, magical realism and political satire to reveal a society riddled with greed, stupidity and corruption" -- Marina Lewycka * Financial Times * "Good-hearted and brutal at the same time, The Milkman in the Night is a complex, unsettling mixture of bleakness and warmth" * Sunday Times * "Kurkov is hugely talented" * Time Out * "This book is a joyride... Kurkov has a rollercoaster of fun between zig and zag. He defies the reader not to join him" * Scotsman *

"About this title" may belong to another edition of this title.

Top Search Results from the AbeBooks Marketplace

1.

Andrey Kurkov
Published by Vintage (2012)
ISBN 10: 0099548860 ISBN 13: 9780099548867
New Softcover Quantity Available: 1
Seller:
Rating
[?]

Book Description Vintage, 2012. Condition: New. Seller Inventory # GH9780099548867

More information about this seller | Contact this seller

Buy New
US$ 11.22
Convert currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: US$ 3.13
From Germany to U.S.A.
Destination, rates & speeds

2.

Kurkov, Andrey
Published by Vintage
ISBN 10: 0099548860 ISBN 13: 9780099548867
New Softcover Quantity Available: 5
Seller:
Kennys Bookstore
(Olney, MD, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Vintage. Condition: New. 2012. Paperback. Semyon is disturbed. He has woken up in living room with blood on his shirt, an angry wife and no idea where he was night before. When this happens several mornings in a row, he realises he needs to investigate. After his friend Volodka follows him one night, they discover he's meeting a tall, blonde woman and accompanying her to her apartment. Translator(s): Darragh, Amanda Love. Num Pages: 480 pages. BIC Classification: FA. Category: (G) General (US: Trade). Dimension: 157 x 197 x 31. Weight in Grams: 344. . . . . . Books ship from the US and Ireland. Seller Inventory # V9780099548867

More information about this seller | Contact this seller

Buy New
US$ 15.65
Convert currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: FREE
Within U.S.A.
Destination, rates & speeds

3.

Kurkov, Andrey
Published by Vintage (2012)
ISBN 10: 0099548860 ISBN 13: 9780099548867
New Softcover Quantity Available: 5
Rating
[?]

Book Description Vintage, 2012. Condition: New. 2012. Paperback. Semyon is disturbed. He has woken up in living room with blood on his shirt, an angry wife and no idea where he was night before. When this happens several mornings in a row, he realises he needs to investigate. After his friend Volodka follows him one night, they discover he's meeting a tall, blonde woman and accompanying her to her apartment. Translator(s): Darragh, Amanda Love. Num Pages: 480 pages. BIC Classification: FA. Category: (G) General (US: Trade). Dimension: 157 x 197 x 31. Weight in Grams: 344. . . . . . . Seller Inventory # V9780099548867

More information about this seller | Contact this seller

Buy New
US$ 15.67
Convert currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: FREE
From Ireland to U.S.A.
Destination, rates & speeds

4.

Andrey Kurkov
Published by Vintage (2012)
ISBN 10: 0099548860 ISBN 13: 9780099548867
New Softcover Quantity Available: 1
Seller:
Ria Christie Collections
(Uxbridge, United Kingdom)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Vintage, 2012. Condition: New. book. Seller Inventory # ria9780099548867_rkm

More information about this seller | Contact this seller

Buy New
US$ 11.25
Convert currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: US$ 4.92
From United Kingdom to U.S.A.
Destination, rates & speeds

5.

Andrey Kurkov
Published by Vintage Publishing
ISBN 10: 0099548860 ISBN 13: 9780099548867
New Paperback Quantity Available: 5
Seller:
THE SAINT BOOKSTORE
(Southport, United Kingdom)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Vintage Publishing. Paperback. Condition: New. New copy - Usually dispatched within 2 working days. Seller Inventory # B9780099548867

More information about this seller | Contact this seller

Buy New
US$ 8.34
Convert currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: US$ 8.82
From United Kingdom to U.S.A.
Destination, rates & speeds

6.

Kurkov, Andrey
Published by Vintage (2012)
ISBN 10: 0099548860 ISBN 13: 9780099548867
New Paperback Quantity Available: 2
Seller:
The Monster Bookshop
(Fleckney, United Kingdom)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Vintage, 2012. Paperback. Condition: New. BRAND NEW ** SUPER FAST SHIPPING FROM UK WAREHOUSE ** 30 DAY MONEY BACK GUARANTEE. Seller Inventory # mon0001776903

More information about this seller | Contact this seller

Buy New
US$ 12.17
Convert currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: US$ 5.07
From United Kingdom to U.S.A.
Destination, rates & speeds

7.

Kurkov Andrey
Published by Random House
ISBN 10: 0099548860 ISBN 13: 9780099548867
New Quantity Available: 3
Seller:
Majestic Books
(London, ,, United Kingdom)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Random House. Condition: New. Seller Inventory # 38631863

More information about this seller | Contact this seller

Buy New
US$ 10.94
Convert currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: US$ 6.99
From United Kingdom to U.S.A.
Destination, rates & speeds

8.

Kurkov, Andrey
Published by Random House (2012)
ISBN 10: 0099548860 ISBN 13: 9780099548867
New Quantity Available: > 20
Seller:
Books2Anywhere
(Fairford, GLOS, United Kingdom)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Random House, 2012. PAP. Condition: New. New Book. Shipped from UK in 4 to 14 days. Established seller since 2000. Seller Inventory # F4-9780099548867

More information about this seller | Contact this seller

Buy New
US$ 7.33
Convert currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: US$ 11.44
From United Kingdom to U.S.A.
Destination, rates & speeds

9.

Andrey Kurkov, Amanda Love Darragh (translator)
Published by Random House 2012-08-01, London (2012)
ISBN 10: 0099548860 ISBN 13: 9780099548867
New paperback Quantity Available: 1
Seller:
Blackwell's
(Oxford, OX, United Kingdom)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Random House 2012-08-01, London, 2012. paperback. Condition: New. Seller Inventory # 9780099548867

More information about this seller | Contact this seller

Buy New
US$ 11.38
Convert currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: US$ 7.63
From United Kingdom to U.S.A.
Destination, rates & speeds

10.

Kurkov, Andrey
Published by Vintage Books
ISBN 10: 0099548860 ISBN 13: 9780099548867
New PAPERBACK Quantity Available: 2
Seller:
WFL
(Holtsville, NY, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Vintage Books. PAPERBACK. Condition: New. 0099548860 Brand New ,Original Book , Direct from Source , Express 6-8 business days worldwide delivery. Seller Inventory # DG#IK93693

More information about this seller | Contact this seller

Buy New
US$ 14.83
Convert currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: US$ 4.90
Within U.S.A.
Destination, rates & speeds

There are more copies of this book

View all search results for this book