France, Miranda That Summer at Hill Farm

ISBN 13: 9780099555131

That Summer at Hill Farm

2.94 avg rating
( 31 ratings by GoodReads )
 
9780099555131: That Summer at Hill Farm

It was the summer that everything changed... A sparkling, witty debut, perfect for fans of Kate Atkinson, Stella Gibbons and Joanna Trollope.
 
To the casual outsider, Hill Farm is a rural idyll and the perfect retreat from urban life. Yet beneath the tranquil surface lie discontent, desire and death-watch beetles.
 
Farmer Hayes loves the land -- but hates farming. His neglected wife Isabel adores her three children, but is temperamentally unsuited to life as a wife and mother. The Smith sisters have not spoken to one another for forty years, farm-hand Mikey dabbles in pyromania, while neighbour Mr Payne has fled the city, only to find a greater threat to his karma in the hedgerows of Middle England. And after one incendiary summer, all of their lives will be different.

"synopsis" may belong to another edition of this title.

About the Author:

MIRANDA FRANCE grew up on a farm not unlike Hill Farm. She is the author of two highly acclaimed travel books, Bad Times in Buenos Aires and Don Quixote's Delusions but this is her first novel. She has won the Shiva Naipaul Memorial Prize and was shortlisted for the Thomas Cook Travel Book Award. She now lives in London with her husband and two children.

"About this title" may belong to another edition of this title.

Top Search Results from the AbeBooks Marketplace

1.

Miranda France
Published by Vintage Publishing, United Kingdom (2012)
ISBN 10: 0099555131 ISBN 13: 9780099555131
New Paperback Quantity Available: 10
Seller
The Book Depository
(London, United Kingdom)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Vintage Publishing, United Kingdom, 2012. Paperback. Book Condition: New. 196 x 130 mm. Language: English . Brand New Book. To the casual outsider, Hill Farm is a rural idyll and the perfect retreat from urban life. Yet beneath the tranquil surface lie discontent, desire and death-watch beetles. Farmer Hayes loves the land - but hates farming. His neglected wife Isabel adores her three children, but is temperamentally unsuited to life as a wife and mother. The Smith sisters have not spoken to one another for forty years, farm-hand Mikey dabbles in pyromania, while neighbour Mr Payne has fled the city, only to find a greater threat to his karma in the hedgerows of Middle England. And after one incendiary summer, all of their lives will be different.It was originally published with the title Hill Farm . Bookseller Inventory # AB99780099555131

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
US$ 8.82
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: FREE
From United Kingdom to U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

2.

Miranda France
Published by Vintage Publishing, United Kingdom (2012)
ISBN 10: 0099555131 ISBN 13: 9780099555131
New Paperback Quantity Available: 10
Seller
The Book Depository US
(London, United Kingdom)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Vintage Publishing, United Kingdom, 2012. Paperback. Book Condition: New. 196 x 130 mm. Language: English . Brand New Book. To the casual outsider, Hill Farm is a rural idyll and the perfect retreat from urban life. Yet beneath the tranquil surface lie discontent, desire and death-watch beetles. Farmer Hayes loves the land - but hates farming. His neglected wife Isabel adores her three children, but is temperamentally unsuited to life as a wife and mother. The Smith sisters have not spoken to one another for forty years, farm-hand Mikey dabbles in pyromania, while neighbour Mr Payne has fled the city, only to find a greater threat to his karma in the hedgerows of Middle England. And after one incendiary summer, all of their lives will be different.It was originally published with the title Hill Farm . Bookseller Inventory # AB99780099555131

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
US$ 9.43
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: FREE
From United Kingdom to U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

3.

France, Miranda
ISBN 10: 0099555131 ISBN 13: 9780099555131
New Quantity Available: > 20
Seller
BWB
(Valley Stream, NY, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Book Condition: New. Depending on your location, this item may ship from the US or UK. Bookseller Inventory # 97800995551310000000

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
US$ 9.44
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: FREE
Within U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

4.

France, Miranda
Published by Vintage (2012)
ISBN 10: 0099555131 ISBN 13: 9780099555131
New Paperback Quantity Available: 5
Seller
Pearlydewdrops
(Streat, United Kingdom)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Vintage, 2012. Paperback. Book Condition: New. Shipped from the UK within 2 business days of order being placed. Bookseller Inventory # mon0000068450

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
US$ 2.20
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: US$ 7.90
From United Kingdom to U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

5.

Miranda France
Published by Vintage Books
ISBN 10: 0099555131 ISBN 13: 9780099555131
New Softcover Quantity Available: 5
Seller
Kennys Bookstore
(Olney, MD, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Vintage Books. Book Condition: New. 2012. Paperback. Hill Farm is a rural idyll and the perfect retreat from urban life. Yet beneath the tranquil surface lie discontent, desire and death-watch beetles. Farmer Hayes loves the land - but hates farming. His neglected wife Isabel adores her three children, but is temperamentally unsuited to life as a wife and mother. Num Pages: 304 pages. BIC Classification: FA. Category: (G) General (US: Trade). Dimension: 197 x 131 x 21. Weight in Grams: 224. . . . . . Books ship from the US and Ireland. Bookseller Inventory # V9780099555131

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
US$ 12.03
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: FREE
Within U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

6.

Miranda France
Published by Vintage Books (2012)
ISBN 10: 0099555131 ISBN 13: 9780099555131
New Softcover Quantity Available: 5
Rating
[?]

Book Description Vintage Books, 2012. Book Condition: New. 2012. Paperback. Hill Farm is a rural idyll and the perfect retreat from urban life. Yet beneath the tranquil surface lie discontent, desire and death-watch beetles. Farmer Hayes loves the land - but hates farming. His neglected wife Isabel adores her three children, but is temperamentally unsuited to life as a wife and mother. Num Pages: 304 pages. BIC Classification: FA. Category: (G) General (US: Trade). Dimension: 197 x 131 x 21. Weight in Grams: 224. . . . . . . Bookseller Inventory # V9780099555131

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
US$ 12.64
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: FREE
From Ireland to U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

7.

Miranda France
Published by Vintage Publishing
ISBN 10: 0099555131 ISBN 13: 9780099555131
New Paperback Quantity Available: > 20
Seller
THE SAINT BOOKSTORE
(Southport, United Kingdom)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Vintage Publishing. Paperback. Book Condition: new. BRAND NEW, That Summer at Hill Farm, Miranda France, To the casual outsider, Hill Farm is a rural idyll and the perfect retreat from urban life. Yet beneath the tranquil surface lie discontent, desire and death-watch beetles. Farmer Hayes loves the land - but hates farming. His neglected wife Isabel adores her three children, but is temperamentally unsuited to life as a wife and mother. The Smith sisters have not spoken to one another for forty years, farm-hand Mikey dabbles in pyromania, while neighbour Mr Payne has fled the city, only to find a greater threat to his karma in the hedgerows of Middle England. And after one incendiary summer, all of their lives will be different.It was originally published with the title "Hill Farm". Bookseller Inventory # B9780099555131

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
US$ 5.00
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: US$ 7.69
From United Kingdom to U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

8.

Miranda France
Published by Vintage (2012)
ISBN 10: 0099555131 ISBN 13: 9780099555131
New Paperback Quantity Available: 1
Seller
Zarak Books
(Norwich, United Kingdom)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Vintage, 2012. Paperback. Book Condition: New. 12mo - over 6¾" - 7¾" tall. Brand new copy. Dispatched within 24 hours of receiving the order. Bookseller Inventory # 044375

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
US$ 6.01
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: US$ 9.39
From United Kingdom to U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

9.

Miranda France
Published by Random House (2012)
ISBN 10: 0099555131 ISBN 13: 9780099555131
New Quantity Available: > 20
Seller
Books2Anywhere
(Fairford, GLOS, United Kingdom)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Random House, 2012. PAP. Book Condition: New. New Book. Shipped from UK in 4 to 14 days. Established seller since 2000. Bookseller Inventory # F4-9780099555131

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
US$ 5.96
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: US$ 11.65
From United Kingdom to U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

10.

France Miranda
Published by Random House
ISBN 10: 0099555131 ISBN 13: 9780099555131
New Quantity Available: 3
Seller
Majestic Books
(London, ,, United Kingdom)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Random House. Book Condition: New. pp. 304. Bookseller Inventory # 20702179

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
US$ 11.33
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: US$ 7.12
From United Kingdom to U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

There are more copies of this book

View all search results for this book