Miranda France That Summer at Hill Farm

ISBN 13: 9780099555131

That Summer at Hill Farm

2.97 avg rating
( 35 ratings by Goodreads )
 
9780099555131: That Summer at Hill Farm
View all copies of this ISBN edition:
 
 

It was the summer that everything changed... A sparkling, witty debut, perfect for fans of Kate Atkinson, Stella Gibbons and Joanna Trollope.
 
To the casual outsider, Hill Farm is a rural idyll and the perfect retreat from urban life. Yet beneath the tranquil surface lie discontent, desire and death-watch beetles.
 
Farmer Hayes loves the land -- but hates farming. His neglected wife Isabel adores her three children, but is temperamentally unsuited to life as a wife and mother. The Smith sisters have not spoken to one another for forty years, farm-hand Mikey dabbles in pyromania, while neighbour Mr Payne has fled the city, only to find a greater threat to his karma in the hedgerows of Middle England. And after one incendiary summer, all of their lives will be different.

"synopsis" may belong to another edition of this title.

About the Author:

MIRANDA FRANCE grew up on a farm not unlike Hill Farm. She is the author of two highly acclaimed travel books, Bad Times in Buenos Aires and Don Quixote's Delusions but this is her first novel. She has won the Shiva Naipaul Memorial Prize and was shortlisted for the Thomas Cook Travel Book Award. She now lives in London with her husband and two children.

Review:

"Beautifully rendered, the shifting inner lives of the characters are subtle and believable and the fresh, sometimes subversive observation is a delight" -- Elizabeth Buchan * Sunday Times * "Miranda France writes skillfully and with a wry touch... That Summer at Hill Farm is a pleasure to read, tempting the reader to wolf it down in one" * Sunday Herald * "An arresting writer...France's account of village life conveys a genuine, smoldering anger... Adultery, arson and assault - all come bursting out" * Guardian * "Pyromaniac labourers, feuding pensioners and adulterous housewives blot the landscape in Miranda France's entertaining novel, a sort of homage to Cold Comfort Farm, with a dash of Jilly Cooper and The Archers thrown in" -- Adrian Turpin * Financial Times * "With an incredible confidence for a debut novelist, Miranda France changes tack from rural romance to murder mystery...[she] writes with such assurance and humour that she carries us along...through the subtle underpinning of her characterization" * Spectator *

"About this title" may belong to another edition of this title.

Other Popular Editions of the Same Title

9780701185800: Hill Farm

Featured Edition

ISBN 10:  0701185805 ISBN 13:  9780701185800
Publisher: Chatto & Windus, 2011
Softcover

9781444809312: Hill Farm

Ulvers..., 2011
Hardcover

Top Search Results from the AbeBooks Marketplace

1.

Miranda France
Published by Vintage Publishing, United Kingdom (2012)
ISBN 10: 0099555131 ISBN 13: 9780099555131
New Paperback Quantity Available: 10
Seller:
The Book Depository
(London, United Kingdom)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Vintage Publishing, United Kingdom, 2012. Paperback. Condition: New. Language: English . Brand New Book. To the casual outsider, Hill Farm is a rural idyll and the perfect retreat from urban life. Yet beneath the tranquil surface lie discontent, desire and death-watch beetles. Farmer Hayes loves the land - but hates farming. His neglected wife Isabel adores her three children, but is temperamentally unsuited to life as a wife and mother. The Smith sisters have not spoken to one another for forty years, farm-hand Mikey dabbles in pyromania, while neighbour Mr Payne has fled the city, only to find a greater threat to his karma in the hedgerows of Middle England. And after one incendiary summer, all of their lives will be different. Originally published with the title Hill Farm. Seller Inventory # AB99780099555131

More information about this seller | Contact this seller

Buy New
US$ 9.90
Convert currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: FREE
From United Kingdom to U.S.A.
Destination, rates & speeds

2.

Miranda France
Published by Vintage Publishing, United Kingdom (2012)
ISBN 10: 0099555131 ISBN 13: 9780099555131
New Paperback Quantity Available: 10
Seller:
Book Depository International
(London, United Kingdom)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Vintage Publishing, United Kingdom, 2012. Paperback. Condition: New. Language: English . Brand New Book. To the casual outsider, Hill Farm is a rural idyll and the perfect retreat from urban life. Yet beneath the tranquil surface lie discontent, desire and death-watch beetles. Farmer Hayes loves the land - but hates farming. His neglected wife Isabel adores her three children, but is temperamentally unsuited to life as a wife and mother. The Smith sisters have not spoken to one another for forty years, farm-hand Mikey dabbles in pyromania, while neighbour Mr Payne has fled the city, only to find a greater threat to his karma in the hedgerows of Middle England. And after one incendiary summer, all of their lives will be different. Originally published with the title Hill Farm. Seller Inventory # AB99780099555131

More information about this seller | Contact this seller

Buy New
US$ 13.66
Convert currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: FREE
From United Kingdom to U.S.A.
Destination, rates & speeds

3.

Miranda France
Published by Vintage Books
ISBN 10: 0099555131 ISBN 13: 9780099555131
New Softcover Quantity Available: 5
Seller:
Kennys Bookstore
(Olney, MD, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Vintage Books. Condition: New. 2012. Paperback. Hill Farm is a rural idyll and the perfect retreat from urban life. Yet beneath the tranquil surface lie discontent, desire and death-watch beetles. Farmer Hayes loves the land - but hates farming. His neglected wife Isabel adores her three children, but is temperamentally unsuited to life as a wife and mother. Num Pages: 304 pages. BIC Classification: FA. Category: (G) General (US: Trade). Dimension: 197 x 131 x 21. Weight in Grams: 224. . . . . . Books ship from the US and Ireland. Seller Inventory # V9780099555131

More information about this seller | Contact this seller

Buy New
US$ 13.67
Convert currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: FREE
Within U.S.A.
Destination, rates & speeds

4.

Miranda France
Published by Vintage Books (2012)
ISBN 10: 0099555131 ISBN 13: 9780099555131
New Softcover Quantity Available: 5
Rating
[?]

Book Description Vintage Books, 2012. Condition: New. 2012. Paperback. Hill Farm is a rural idyll and the perfect retreat from urban life. Yet beneath the tranquil surface lie discontent, desire and death-watch beetles. Farmer Hayes loves the land - but hates farming. His neglected wife Isabel adores her three children, but is temperamentally unsuited to life as a wife and mother. Num Pages: 304 pages. BIC Classification: FA. Category: (G) General (US: Trade). Dimension: 197 x 131 x 21. Weight in Grams: 224. . . . . . . Seller Inventory # V9780099555131

More information about this seller | Contact this seller

Buy New
US$ 13.79
Convert currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: FREE
From Ireland to U.S.A.
Destination, rates & speeds

5.

Miranda France
Published by Vintage Publishing
ISBN 10: 0099555131 ISBN 13: 9780099555131
New Paperback Quantity Available: 5
Seller:
THE SAINT BOOKSTORE
(Southport, United Kingdom)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Vintage Publishing. Paperback. Condition: New. New copy - Usually dispatched within 2 working days. Seller Inventory # B9780099555131

More information about this seller | Contact this seller

Buy New
US$ 5.11
Convert currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: US$ 9.14
From United Kingdom to U.S.A.
Destination, rates & speeds

6.

Miranda France
Published by Vintage (2012)
ISBN 10: 0099555131 ISBN 13: 9780099555131
New Paperback Quantity Available: 1
Seller:
Zarak Books
(Norwich, United Kingdom)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Vintage, 2012. Paperback. Condition: New. Brand new copy. Dispatched within 24 hours of receiving the order. Seller Inventory # 044375

More information about this seller | Contact this seller

Buy New
US$ 6.11
Convert currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: US$ 9.55
From United Kingdom to U.S.A.
Destination, rates & speeds

7.

France Miranda
Published by Random House
ISBN 10: 0099555131 ISBN 13: 9780099555131
New Quantity Available: 3
Seller:
Majestic Books
(London, ,, United Kingdom)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Random House. Condition: New. pp. 304. Seller Inventory # 20702179

More information about this seller | Contact this seller

Buy New
US$ 8.53
Convert currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: US$ 7.24
From United Kingdom to U.S.A.
Destination, rates & speeds

8.

FRANCE,MIRANDA
Published by Vintage (2012)
ISBN 10: 0099555131 ISBN 13: 9780099555131
New Paperback Quantity Available: 1
Seller:
Revaluation Books
(Exeter, United Kingdom)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Vintage, 2012. Paperback. Condition: Brand New. 304 pages. 7.80x5.08x0.75 inches. In Stock. Seller Inventory # __0099555131

More information about this seller | Contact this seller

Buy New
US$ 11.21
Convert currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: US$ 9.88
From United Kingdom to U.S.A.
Destination, rates & speeds

9.

FRANCE,MIRANDA
Published by Vintage (2012)
ISBN 10: 0099555131 ISBN 13: 9780099555131
New paperback Quantity Available: 1
Seller:
Herb Tandree Philosophy Books
(Stroud, GLOS, United Kingdom)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Vintage, 2012. paperback. Condition: NEW. 9780099555131 This listing is a new book, a title currently in-print which we order directly and immediately from the publisher. For all enquiries, please contact Herb Tandree Philosophy Books directly - customer service is our primary goal. Seller Inventory # HTANDREE01344810

More information about this seller | Contact this seller

Buy New
US$ 13.56
Convert currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: US$ 10.51
From United Kingdom to U.S.A.
Destination, rates & speeds

10.

Miranda France
Published by Vintage Books (2012)
ISBN 10: 0099555131 ISBN 13: 9780099555131
New Softcover Quantity Available: 1
Seller:
Irish Booksellers
(Portland, ME, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Vintage Books, 2012. Condition: New. book. Seller Inventory # M0099555131

More information about this seller | Contact this seller

Buy New
US$ 23.79
Convert currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: US$ 3.27
Within U.S.A.
Destination, rates & speeds