The Wedding Gift

3.84 avg rating
( 5,491 ratings by Goodreads )
 
9780099579984: The Wedding Gift

When wealthy plantation owner Cornelius Allen marries off his daughter Clarissa, he presents her with a wedding gift: a young slave woman called Sarah. It just so happens that Sarah is Allen's daughter as well, the product of a long-term sexual relationship with his slave Emmeline. When Clarissa's husband rejects her newborn son as illegitimate and sends Clarissa and Sarah back to the Allens, their return sets in motion a series of events that will destroy the once-powerful family. Told through the alternating view points of Sarah and Theodora Allen, Cornelius's wife, The Wedding Gift shines a glaring light on the brutal world of slavery in the antebellum American South. Marlen Suyapa Bodden's compelling historical novel explores how planters controlled slaves and free women alike, propelling them along a taut social tightrope as they struggled for freedom and autonomy in an oppressive and patriarchal world. The controversial and shocking ending is sure to leave readers aghast.

"synopsis" may belong to another edition of this title.

From the Author:

This historical novel, based upon a court case in nineteenth-century Alabama, invites readers inside the plantation, the wealth, the family, the relationships. Two women, a house slave named Sarah Campbell and her mistress Theodora, both of the Allen plantation, narrate. Dawn Goldsmith, Internet Review of Books --Internet Review of Books

About the Author:

Marlen Suyapa Bodden is a lawyer in New York City. She has more than two decades' experience representing poor people and low-wage and immigrant workers, many of whom are severely underpaid, if paid at all. She drew on her knowledge of modern and historical slavery, human trafficking, and human rights abuses to write The Wedding Gift, her first novel. Marlen is a graduate of New York University School of Law and Tufts University. The reader may contact Marlen Bodden at: marlensuyapa@optimum.net or PO Box 906, Stamford, CT 06904, and visit her website at: marlenbodden.com for the history behind The Wedding Gift in photographs, illustrations, maps, and a bibliography.

"About this title" may belong to another edition of this title.

Top Search Results from the AbeBooks Marketplace

1.

Marlen Suyapa Bodden
Published by Cornerstone, United Kingdom (2014)
ISBN 10: 0099579987 ISBN 13: 9780099579984
New Paperback Quantity Available: 1
Seller
The Book Depository
(London, United Kingdom)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Cornerstone, United Kingdom, 2014. Paperback. Book Condition: New. 198 x 129 mm. Language: English . Brand New Book. Set in the Deep South pre Gone with the Wind and the Civil War, The Wedding Gift is a compelling and powerful story of slavery, abuse and passion. Perfect for fans of The Help. What if, on your wedding day, you were given your sister - as your slave? When wealthy plantation owner Cornelius Allen marries off his daughter Clarissa, he presents her with a wedding gift: a young slave woman called Sarah. The two girls have grown up together but their lives could not have been more different. Clarissa is white and is used to a life of privilege and ease. Sarah is black and is used to a life of slavery and hard work. When Sarah decides her future lies outside the plantation, it sets in motion a series of events that will have devastating consequences for them both. Bookseller Inventory # AAZ9780099579984

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
US$ 9.71
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: FREE
From United Kingdom to U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

2.

Marlen Suyapa Bodden
Published by Cornerstone, United Kingdom (2014)
ISBN 10: 0099579987 ISBN 13: 9780099579984
New Paperback Quantity Available: 1
Seller
The Book Depository US
(London, United Kingdom)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Cornerstone, United Kingdom, 2014. Paperback. Book Condition: New. 198 x 129 mm. Language: English . Brand New Book. Set in the Deep South pre Gone with the Wind and the Civil War, The Wedding Gift is a compelling and powerful story of slavery, abuse and passion. Perfect for fans of The Help. What if, on your wedding day, you were given your sister - as your slave? When wealthy plantation owner Cornelius Allen marries off his daughter Clarissa, he presents her with a wedding gift: a young slave woman called Sarah. The two girls have grown up together but their lives could not have been more different. Clarissa is white and is used to a life of privilege and ease. Sarah is black and is used to a life of slavery and hard work. When Sarah decides her future lies outside the plantation, it sets in motion a series of events that will have devastating consequences for them both. Bookseller Inventory # AAZ9780099579984

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
US$ 9.83
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: FREE
From United Kingdom to U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

3.

Marlen Suyapa Bodden
ISBN 10: 0099579987 ISBN 13: 9780099579984
New Quantity Available: > 20
Seller
BWB
(Valley Stream, NY, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Book Condition: New. Depending on your location, this item may ship from the US or UK. Bookseller Inventory # 97800995799840000000

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
US$ 9.84
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: FREE
Within U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

4.

Marlen Suyapa Bodden
Published by Arrow (2014)
ISBN 10: 0099579987 ISBN 13: 9780099579984
New Softcover Quantity Available: 1
Seller
Rating
[?]

Book Description Arrow, 2014. Book Condition: New. Bookseller Inventory # GH9780099579984

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
US$ 10.08
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: US$ 2.23
From Germany to U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

5.

Suyapa Bodden, Marlen
Published by Arrow (2014)
ISBN 10: 0099579987 ISBN 13: 9780099579984
New Paperback Quantity Available: 5
Seller
Pearlydewdrops
(Streat, United Kingdom)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Arrow, 2014. Paperback. Book Condition: New. Shipped from the UK within 2 business days of order being placed. Bookseller Inventory # mon0000068466

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
US$ 5.14
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: US$ 7.76
From United Kingdom to U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

6.

Suyapa Bodden, Marlen
Published by Arrow
ISBN 10: 0099579987 ISBN 13: 9780099579984
New Softcover Quantity Available: 5
Seller
Kennys Bookstore
(Olney, MD, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Arrow. Book Condition: New. When wealthy plantation owner Cornelius Allen marries off his daughter Clarissa, he presents her with a wedding gift: a young slave woman called Sarah. The two girls have grown up together but their lives could not have been more different. Clarissa is white and is used to a life of privilege and ease. Num Pages: 416 pages. BIC Classification: FV. Category: (G) General (US: Trade). Dimension: 197 x 131 x 26. Weight in Grams: 296. . 2014. Paperback. . . . . Books ship from the US and Ireland. Bookseller Inventory # V9780099579984

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
US$ 12.97
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: FREE
Within U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

7.

Suyapa Bodden, Marlen
Published by Arrow (2014)
ISBN 10: 0099579987 ISBN 13: 9780099579984
New Softcover Quantity Available: 5
Rating
[?]

Book Description Arrow, 2014. Book Condition: New. When wealthy plantation owner Cornelius Allen marries off his daughter Clarissa, he presents her with a wedding gift: a young slave woman called Sarah. The two girls have grown up together but their lives could not have been more different. Clarissa is white and is used to a life of privilege and ease. Num Pages: 416 pages. BIC Classification: FV. Category: (G) General (US: Trade). Dimension: 197 x 131 x 26. Weight in Grams: 296. . 2014. Paperback. . . . . . Bookseller Inventory # V9780099579984

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
US$ 13.54
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: FREE
From Ireland to U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

8.

Marlen Suyapa Bodden
Published by Arrow 2014-06-19 (2014)
ISBN 10: 0099579987 ISBN 13: 9780099579984
New Quantity Available: 3
Seller
Chiron Media
(Wallingford, United Kingdom)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Arrow 2014-06-19, 2014. Book Condition: New. Brand new book, sourced directly from publisher. Dispatch time is 24-48 hours from our warehouse. Book will be sent in robust, secure packaging to ensure it reaches you securely. Bookseller Inventory # NU-LBR-01300322

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
US$ 10.57
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: US$ 3.80
From United Kingdom to U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

9.

Marlen Suyapa Bodden
Published by Random House 2014-06-19, London (2014)
ISBN 10: 0099579987 ISBN 13: 9780099579984
New paperback Quantity Available: 1
Seller
Blackwell's
(Oxford, OX, United Kingdom)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Random House 2014-06-19, London, 2014. paperback. Book Condition: New. Bookseller Inventory # 9780099579984

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
US$ 11.10
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: US$ 3.82
From United Kingdom to U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

10.

Marlen Suyapa Bodden
ISBN 10: 0099579987 ISBN 13: 9780099579984
New Quantity Available: 3
Seller
Speedy Hen LLC
(Sunrise, FL, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Book Condition: New. Bookseller Inventory # ST0099579987. Bookseller Inventory # ST0099579987

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
US$ 15.80
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: FREE
Within U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

There are more copies of this book

View all search results for this book