The Wedding Gift

3.83 avg rating
( 5,312 ratings by GoodReads )
 
9780099579984: The Wedding Gift

Set in the Deep South pre Gone with the Wind and the Civil War, The Wedding Gift is a compelling and powerful story of slavery, abuse and passion. Perfect for fans of The Help. What if, on your wedding day, you were given your sister - as your slave? When wealthy plantation owner Cornelius Allen marries off his daughter Clarissa, he presents her with a wedding gift: a young slave woman called Sarah. The two girls have grown up together but their lives could not have been more different. Clarissa is white and is used to a life of privilege and ease. Sarah is black and is used to a life of slavery and hard work. When Sarah decides her future lies outside the plantation, it sets in motion a series of events that will have devastating consequences for them both.

"synopsis" may belong to another edition of this title.

From the Author:

This historical novel, based upon a court case in nineteenth-century Alabama, invites readers inside the plantation, the wealth, the family, the relationships. Two women, a house slave named Sarah Campbell and her mistress Theodora, both of the Allen plantation, narrate. Dawn Goldsmith, Internet Review of Books --Internet Review of Books

About the Author:

Marlen Bodden is a lawyer in New York City. She has more than two decades' experience representing poor people and low-wage and immigrant workers, many of whom are severely underpaid, if paid at all. She drew on her knowledge of modern and historical slavery, human trafficking, and human rights abuses to write The Wedding Gift, her first novel. Marlen is a graduate of New York University School of Law and Tufts University. Visit her website at: www.marlenbodden.com for the history behind The Wedding Gift in photographs, illustrations, maps, and a bibliography.

"About this title" may belong to another edition of this title.

Top Search Results from the AbeBooks Marketplace

1.

Bodden, Marlen Suyapa
Published by Cornerstone, United Kingdom (2014)
ISBN 10: 0099579987 ISBN 13: 9780099579984
New Paperback Quantity Available: 1
Seller
The Book Depository
(London, United Kingdom)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Cornerstone, United Kingdom, 2014. Paperback. Book Condition: New. 198 x 129 mm. Language: English . Brand New Book. Set in the Deep South pre Gone with the Wind and the Civil War, The Wedding Gift is a compelling and powerful story of slavery, abuse and passion. Perfect for fans of The Help. What if, on your wedding day, you were given your sister - as your slave? When wealthy plantation owner Cornelius Allen marries off his daughter Clarissa, he presents her with a wedding gift: a young slave woman called Sarah. The two girls have grown up together but their lives could not have been more different. Clarissa is white and is used to a life of privilege and ease. Sarah is black and is used to a life of slavery and hard work. When Sarah decides her future lies outside the plantation, it sets in motion a series of events that will have devastating consequences for them both. Bookseller Inventory # AAZ9780099579984

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
US$ 9.78
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: FREE
From United Kingdom to U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

2.

Bodden, Marlen Suyapa
Published by Cornerstone, United Kingdom (2014)
ISBN 10: 0099579987 ISBN 13: 9780099579984
New Paperback Quantity Available: 1
Seller
The Book Depository US
(London, United Kingdom)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Cornerstone, United Kingdom, 2014. Paperback. Book Condition: New. 198 x 129 mm. Language: English . Brand New Book. Set in the Deep South pre Gone with the Wind and the Civil War, The Wedding Gift is a compelling and powerful story of slavery, abuse and passion. Perfect for fans of The Help. What if, on your wedding day, you were given your sister - as your slave? When wealthy plantation owner Cornelius Allen marries off his daughter Clarissa, he presents her with a wedding gift: a young slave woman called Sarah. The two girls have grown up together but their lives could not have been more different. Clarissa is white and is used to a life of privilege and ease. Sarah is black and is used to a life of slavery and hard work. When Sarah decides her future lies outside the plantation, it sets in motion a series of events that will have devastating consequences for them both. Bookseller Inventory # AAZ9780099579984

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
US$ 9.83
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: FREE
From United Kingdom to U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

3.

Bodden, Marlen Suyapa
ISBN 10: 0099579987 ISBN 13: 9780099579984
New Quantity Available: > 20
Seller
BWB
(Valley Stream, NY, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Book Condition: New. Depending on your location, this item may ship from the US or UK. Bookseller Inventory # 97800995799840000000

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
US$ 9.84
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: FREE
Within U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

4.

Bodden, Marlen Suyapa
Published by Arrow
ISBN 10: 0099579987 ISBN 13: 9780099579984
New Softcover Quantity Available: 5
Seller
Kennys Bookstore
(Olney, MD, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Arrow. Book Condition: New. When wealthy plantation owner Cornelius Allen marries off his daughter Clarissa, he presents her with a wedding gift: a young slave woman called Sarah. The two girls have grown up together but their lives could not have been more different. Clarissa is white and is used to a life of privilege and ease. Num Pages: 416 pages. BIC Classification: FV. Category: (G) General (US: Trade). Dimension: 197 x 131 x 26. Weight in Grams: 296. . 2014. Paperback. . . . . Books ship from the US and Ireland. Bookseller Inventory # V9780099579984

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
US$ 12.46
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: FREE
Within U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

5.

Bodden, Marlen Suyapa
ISBN 10: 0099579987 ISBN 13: 9780099579984
New Paperback Quantity Available: 1
Seller
Grand Eagle Retail
(Wilmington, DE, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description 2014. Paperback. Book Condition: New. 129mm x 198mm x 33mm. Paperback. Set in the Deep South pre Gone with the Wind and the Civil War, The Wedding Gift is a compelling and powerful story of slavery, abuse and passion. Perfect for fans of The Help. What if, on.Shipping may be from multiple locations in the US or from the UK, depending on stock availability. 416 pages. 0.471. Bookseller Inventory # 9780099579984

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
US$ 12.58
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: FREE
Within U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

6.

Bodden, Marlen Suyapa
Published by Arrow (2014)
ISBN 10: 0099579987 ISBN 13: 9780099579984
New Softcover Quantity Available: 5
Rating
[?]

Book Description Arrow, 2014. Book Condition: New. When wealthy plantation owner Cornelius Allen marries off his daughter Clarissa, he presents her with a wedding gift: a young slave woman called Sarah. The two girls have grown up together but their lives could not have been more different. Clarissa is white and is used to a life of privilege and ease. Num Pages: 416 pages. BIC Classification: FV. Category: (G) General (US: Trade). Dimension: 197 x 131 x 26. Weight in Grams: 296. . 2014. Paperback. . . . . . Bookseller Inventory # V9780099579984

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
US$ 13.03
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: FREE
From Ireland to U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

7.

Bodden, Marlen Suyapa
ISBN 10: 0099579987 ISBN 13: 9780099579984
New Paperback Quantity Available: 1
Seller
Ria Christie Collections
(Uxbridge, United Kingdom)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Paperback. Book Condition: New. Not Signed; Set in the Deep South pre Gone with the Wind and the Civil War, The Wedding Gift is a compelling and powerful story of slavery, abuse and passion. Perfect for fans of The Help. What if, on your wedding day, you were given your sister - as your slave? When wealthy plantation owner Cornelius Allen mar. book. Bookseller Inventory # ria9780099579984_rkm

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
US$ 9.21
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: US$ 4.16
From United Kingdom to U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

8.

Bodden, Marlen Suyapa
Published by Arrow (2014)
ISBN 10: 0099579987 ISBN 13: 9780099579984
New Paperback Quantity Available: 5
Seller
Pearlydewdrops
(Streat, United Kingdom)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Arrow, 2014. Paperback. Book Condition: New. Shipped from the UK within 2 business days of order being placed. Bookseller Inventory # mon0000068466

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
US$ 6.11
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: US$ 7.60
From United Kingdom to U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

9.

Bodden, Marlen Suyapa
Published by Arrow 2014-06-19 (2014)
ISBN 10: 0099579987 ISBN 13: 9780099579984
New Quantity Available: 2
Seller
Chiron Media
(Wallingford, United Kingdom)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Arrow 2014-06-19, 2014. Book Condition: New. Brand new book, sourced directly from publisher. Dispatch time is 24-48 hours from our warehouse. Book will be sent in robust, secure packaging to ensure it reaches you securely. Bookseller Inventory # NU-LBR-01300322

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
US$ 10.12
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: US$ 3.73
From United Kingdom to U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

10.

Bodden, Marlen Suyapa
Published by Cornerstone
ISBN 10: 0099579987 ISBN 13: 9780099579984
New Paperback Quantity Available: 5
Seller
THE SAINT BOOKSTORE
(Southport, United Kingdom)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Cornerstone. Paperback. Book Condition: new. BRAND NEW, The Wedding Gift, Marlen Suyapa Bodden, Set in the Deep South pre Gone with the Wind and the Civil War, The Wedding Gift is a compelling and powerful story of slavery, abuse and passion. Perfect for fans of The Help. What if, on your wedding day, you were given your sister - as your slave? When wealthy plantation owner Cornelius Allen marries off his daughter Clarissa, he presents her with a wedding gift: a young slave woman called Sarah. The two girls have grown up together but their lives could not have been more different. Clarissa is white and is used to a life of privilege and ease. Sarah is black and is used to a life of slavery and hard work. When Sarah decides her future lies outside the plantation, it sets in motion a series of events that will have devastating consequences for them both. Bookseller Inventory # B9780099579984

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
US$ 7.03
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: US$ 7.40
From United Kingdom to U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

There are more copies of this book

View all search results for this book