Yates, Christopher J. Black Chalk

ISBN 13: 9780099581628

Black Chalk

3.31 avg rating
( 4,278 ratings by GoodReads )
 
9780099581628: Black Chalk

A compulsively readable psychological thriller set in New York and at Oxford University, in which a game of truth or dare ends with tragic results   One game. Six students. Five survivors. It was only ever meant to be a game played by six best friends in their first year at Oxford University; a game of consequences, silly forfeits, and childish dares. But then the game changed: the stakes grew higher and the dares more personal and more humiliating, finally evolving into a vicious struggle with unpredictable and tragic results. Now, 14 years later, the remaining players must meet again for the final round. Who knows better than your best friends what would break you? A gripping psychological thriller partly inspired by the author's own time at Oxford University, this is perfect for fans of The Secret History and  The Bellwether Revivals . The author's background in puzzle writing and setting can clearly be seen in the plotting of this clever, tricky book that will keep readers guessing to the very end.

"synopsis" may belong to another edition of this title.

Product Description:

A compulsively readable psychological thriller set in New York and at Oxford University, in which a group of six students play an elaborate game of dares and consequences -- with tragic results.
      One game. Six students. Five survivors.
      It was only ever meant to be a game. 
      A game of consequences, of silly forfeits, childish dares. A game to be played by six best friends in their first year at Oxford University. But then the game changed: the stakes grew higher and the dares more personal, more humiliating, finally evolving into a vicious struggle with unpredictable and tragic results. Now, fourteen years later, the remaining players must meet again for the final round.

From the Inside Flap:

How well do you know your best friends? How far would you go to protect them? How far would you go to break them? It was only ever meant to be a game. A game of consequences, of silly forfeits, childish dares. A game to be played by six best friends in their first year at Oxford University. But then the game changed: the stakes grew higher and the dares more personal, more humiliating, evolving into a vicious struggle with unpredictable and tragic results. Now, fourteen years later, the remaining players must meet again for the final round.

"About this title" may belong to another edition of this title.

Buy New View Book
List Price: US$ 15.95
US$ 4.88

Convert Currency

Shipping: US$ 3.11
From United Kingdom to U.S.A.

Destination, Rates & Speeds

Add to Basket

Top Search Results from the AbeBooks Marketplace

1.

Yates, Christopher J.
Published by Vintage 18-09-2014 (2014)
ISBN 10: 0099581620 ISBN 13: 9780099581628
New Paperback Quantity Available: 18
Seller
eBookMole LTD
(Milton Keynes, United Kingdom)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Vintage 18-09-2014, 2014. Paperback. Book Condition: New. New Book In Stock, All orders dispatched same day from our UK warehouse,book cover may vary. Trusted Bucks Retailer, Est 2000.Visit our Abe store. Happy reading :). Bookseller Inventory # 9780099581628

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
US$ 4.88
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: US$ 3.11
From United Kingdom to U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

2.

Yates, Christopher J.
Published by Vintage Publishing, United Kingdom (2015)
ISBN 10: 0099581620 ISBN 13: 9780099581628
New Paperback Quantity Available: 10
Seller
The Book Depository US
(London, United Kingdom)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Vintage Publishing, United Kingdom, 2015. Paperback. Book Condition: New. 196 x 130 mm. Language: English . Brand New Book. One game. Six students. Five survivors. It was only ever meant to be a game. A game of consequences, of silly forfeits, childish dares. A game to be played by six best friends in their first year at Oxford University. But then the game changed: the stakes grew higher and the dares more personal, more humiliating, finally evolving into a vicious struggle with unpredictable and tragic results. Now, fourteen years later, the remaining players must meet again for the final round. Bookseller Inventory # AAZ9780099581628

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
US$ 9.21
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: FREE
From United Kingdom to U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

3.

Yates, Christopher J.
Published by Vintage Publishing, United Kingdom (2015)
ISBN 10: 0099581620 ISBN 13: 9780099581628
New Paperback Quantity Available: 10
Seller
The Book Depository
(London, United Kingdom)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Vintage Publishing, United Kingdom, 2015. Paperback. Book Condition: New. 196 x 130 mm. Language: English . Brand New Book. One game. Six students. Five survivors. It was only ever meant to be a game. A game of consequences, of silly forfeits, childish dares. A game to be played by six best friends in their first year at Oxford University. But then the game changed: the stakes grew higher and the dares more personal, more humiliating, finally evolving into a vicious struggle with unpredictable and tragic results. Now, fourteen years later, the remaining players must meet again for the final round. Bookseller Inventory # AAZ9780099581628

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
US$ 9.53
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: FREE
From United Kingdom to U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

4.

Yates, Christopher J.
ISBN 10: 0099581620 ISBN 13: 9780099581628
New Quantity Available: > 20
Seller
BWB
(Valley Stream, NY, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Book Condition: New. Depending on your location, this item may ship from the US or UK. Bookseller Inventory # 97800995816280000000

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
US$ 9.90
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: FREE
Within U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

5.

Yates, Christopher J.
Published by Vintage 2014-09-18 (2014)
ISBN 10: 0099581620 ISBN 13: 9780099581628
New Quantity Available: 5
Seller
Chiron Media
(Wallingford, United Kingdom)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Vintage 2014-09-18, 2014. Book Condition: New. Brand new book, sourced directly from publisher. Dispatch time is 24-48 hours from our warehouse. Book will be sent in robust, secure packaging to ensure it reaches you securely. Bookseller Inventory # NU-GRD-05137623

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
US$ 8.40
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: US$ 3.73
From United Kingdom to U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

6.

Yates, Christopher J.
ISBN 10: 0099581620 ISBN 13: 9780099581628
New Paperback Quantity Available: 1
Seller
Grand Eagle Retail
(Wilmington, DE, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description 2014. Paperback. Book Condition: New. 129mm x 198mm x 22mm. Paperback. One game. Six students. Five survivors. It was only ever meant to be a game. A game of consequences, of silly forfeits, childish dares. A game to be played by six best friends in their fir.Shipping may be from multiple locations in the US or from the UK, depending on stock availability. 352 pages. 0.344. Bookseller Inventory # 9780099581628

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
US$ 12.15
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: FREE
Within U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

7.

Yates, Christopher J.
Published by Random House UK (2014)
ISBN 10: 0099581620 ISBN 13: 9780099581628
New Softcover Quantity Available: 5
Rating
[?]

Book Description Random House UK, 2014. Book Condition: New. A game of consequences, of silly forfeits, childish dares. A game to be played by six best friends in their first year at Oxford University. But then the game changed: the stakes grew higher and the dares more personal, more humiliating, finally evolving into a vicious struggle with unpredictable and tragic results. Num Pages: 352 pages. BIC Classification: FA; FH. Category: (G) General (US: Trade). Dimension: 198 x 131 x 23. Weight in Grams: 258. . 2014. Paperback. . . . . . Bookseller Inventory # V9780099581628

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
US$ 13.07
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: FREE
From Ireland to U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

8.

Yates, Christopher J.
Published by Vintage Publishing
ISBN 10: 0099581620 ISBN 13: 9780099581628
New Paperback Quantity Available: 5
Seller
THE SAINT BOOKSTORE
(Southport, United Kingdom)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Vintage Publishing. Paperback. Book Condition: new. BRAND NEW, Black Chalk, Christopher J. Yates, One game. Six students. Five survivors. It was only ever meant to be a game. A game of consequences, of silly forfeits, childish dares. A game to be played by six best friends in their first year at Oxford University. But then the game changed: the stakes grew higher and the dares more personal, more humiliating, finally evolving into a vicious struggle with unpredictable and tragic results. Now, fourteen years later, the remaining players must meet again for the final round. Bookseller Inventory # B9780099581628

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
US$ 6.06
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: US$ 7.35
From United Kingdom to U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

9.

Yates, Christopher J.
Published by Random House UK
ISBN 10: 0099581620 ISBN 13: 9780099581628
New Softcover Quantity Available: 5
Seller
Kennys Bookstore
(Olney, MD, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Random House UK. Book Condition: New. A game of consequences, of silly forfeits, childish dares. A game to be played by six best friends in their first year at Oxford University. But then the game changed: the stakes grew higher and the dares more personal, more humiliating, finally evolving into a vicious struggle with unpredictable and tragic results. Num Pages: 352 pages. BIC Classification: FA; FH. Category: (G) General (US: Trade). Dimension: 198 x 131 x 23. Weight in Grams: 258. . 2014. Paperback. . . . . Books ship from the US and Ireland. Bookseller Inventory # V9780099581628

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
US$ 13.43
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: FREE
Within U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

10.

Yates, Christopher J.
ISBN 10: 0099581620 ISBN 13: 9780099581628
New Paperback Quantity Available: > 20
Seller
Ria Christie Collections
(Uxbridge, United Kingdom)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Paperback. Book Condition: New. Not Signed; One game. Six students. Five survivors. It was only ever meant to be a game. A game of consequences, of silly forfeits, childish dares. A game to be played by six best friends in their first year at Oxford University. But then the game changed: the stakes grew higher and the dares more personal, mor. book. Bookseller Inventory # ria9780099581628_rkm

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
US$ 9.36
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: US$ 4.13
From United Kingdom to U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

There are more copies of this book

View all search results for this book