The Umbrian Thursday Night Supper Club

3.61 avg rating
( 135 ratings by GoodReads )
 
9780099591856: The Umbrian Thursday Night Supper Club

Every week on a Thursday evening, a group of four Italian rural women gather in a derelict stone house in the hills above Italy’s Orvieto. There—along with their friend, Marlena—they cook together, sit down to a beautiful supper, drink their beloved local wines, and talk. Here, surrounded by candlelight, good food and friendship, Miranda, Ninucia, Paolina, and Gilda tell their life stories of loves lost and found, of ageing and abandonment, of mafia grudges and family feuds, and of cherished ingredients and recipes whose secrets have been passed down through the generations. Around this table, these five friends share their food and all that life has offered them—the good and the bad. For fans of all things Italian, and the thousands of readers who loved The Kabul Beauty School; Eat, Pray, Love; and Best Exotic Marigold Hotel; this book is a culmination of de Blasi's 20 years spent living, traveling, cooking, eating, and drinking in Italy, and of course it includes recipes for the most mouthwatering Umbrian dishes.

"synopsis" may belong to another edition of this title.

About the Author:

Marlena de Blasi is the internationally bestselling author of A Thousand Days in Venice, as well as four further bestselling memoirs and a novel, Amandine. She has been a chef, a journalist, a food and wine consultant, and a restaurant critic. She is also the author of two internationally published cookbooks of Italian food.

Review:

"If you loved Under the Tuscan Sun, you’ll love this."  — Red magazine

"Celebrates the life-affirming joys of food and friendship... Marlena de Blasi recounts meals she and four Italian neighbours cook together every week and the stories they share about their lives and loves."  — Good Housekeeping

"Marlena De Blasi’s glittering descriptions and mouthwatering recipes take you directly into the heart of Italy and into the souls of the Italian people."  —Adriana Trigiani, author, The Shoemaker’s Wife

"About this title" may belong to another edition of this title.

Buy New View Book
List Price: US$ 16.95
US$ 9.49

Convert Currency

Shipping: FREE
From United Kingdom to U.S.A.

Destination, Rates & Speeds

Add to Basket

Top Search Results from the AbeBooks Marketplace

1.

Marlena De Blasi
Published by Cornerstone, United Kingdom (2016)
ISBN 10: 0099591855 ISBN 13: 9780099591856
New Paperback Quantity Available: 10
Seller
The Book Depository
(London, United Kingdom)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Cornerstone, United Kingdom, 2016. Paperback. Book Condition: New. Reprint. 198 x 129 mm. Language: English . Brand New Book. If you loved Under the Tuscan Sun, you ll love this . (Red Magazine). Every week on a Thursday evening, a group of four rural Italian women gather in an old stone house in the hills above Italy s Orvieto. There - along with their friend, Marlena - they cook together, sit down to a beautiful supper, drink their beloved local wines, and talk. Surrounded by candle light, good food and friendship, the four women tell Marlena their evocative life stories, and of cherished ingredients and recipes whose secrets have been passed down through generations. Bookseller Inventory # AAZ9780099591856

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
US$ 9.49
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: FREE
From United Kingdom to U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

2.

Marlena De Blasi
Published by Cornerstone, United Kingdom (2016)
ISBN 10: 0099591855 ISBN 13: 9780099591856
New Paperback Quantity Available: 10
Seller
The Book Depository US
(London, United Kingdom)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Cornerstone, United Kingdom, 2016. Paperback. Book Condition: New. Reprint. 198 x 129 mm. Language: English . Brand New Book. If you loved Under the Tuscan Sun, you ll love this . (Red Magazine). Every week on a Thursday evening, a group of four rural Italian women gather in an old stone house in the hills above Italy s Orvieto. There - along with their friend, Marlena - they cook together, sit down to a beautiful supper, drink their beloved local wines, and talk. Surrounded by candle light, good food and friendship, the four women tell Marlena their evocative life stories, and of cherished ingredients and recipes whose secrets have been passed down through generations. Bookseller Inventory # AAZ9780099591856

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
US$ 9.71
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: FREE
From United Kingdom to U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

3.

de Blasi, Marlena
Published by Random House
ISBN 10: 0099591855 ISBN 13: 9780099591856
New Quantity Available: 3
Seller
TextbookRush
(Grandview Heights, OH, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Random House. Book Condition: Brand New. Ships SAME or NEXT business day. We Ship to APO/FPO addr. Choose EXPEDITED shipping and receive in 2-5 business days within the United States. See our member profile for customer support contact info. We have an easy return policy. Bookseller Inventory # 43006140

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
US$ 5.73
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: US$ 3.99
Within U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

4.

Marlena de Blasi
ISBN 10: 0099591855 ISBN 13: 9780099591856
New Quantity Available: > 20
Seller
BWB
(Valley Stream, NY, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Book Condition: New. Depending on your location, this item may ship from the US or UK. Bookseller Inventory # 97800995918560000000

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
US$ 9.94
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: FREE
Within U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

5.

De Blasi, Marlena
Published by Random House 2016-06-28 (2016)
ISBN 10: 0099591855 ISBN 13: 9780099591856
New Paperback Quantity Available: 8
Seller
BookOutlet
(Thorold, ON, Canada)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Random House 2016-06-28, 2016. Paperback. Book Condition: New. Paperback. Publisher overstock, may contain remainder mark on edge. Bookseller Inventory # 9780099591856B

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
US$ 5.49
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: US$ 6.00
From Canada to U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

6.

Marlena de Blasi
Published by Windmill Books 2016-05-05 (2016)
ISBN 10: 0099591855 ISBN 13: 9780099591856
New Quantity Available: 5
Seller
Chiron Media
(Wallingford, United Kingdom)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Windmill Books 2016-05-05, 2016. Book Condition: New. Brand new book, sourced directly from publisher. Dispatch time is 24-48 hours from our warehouse. Book will be sent in robust, secure packaging to ensure it reaches you securely. Bookseller Inventory # NU-GRD-05380645

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
US$ 8.20
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: US$ 3.82
From United Kingdom to U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

7.

de Blasi, Marlena
Published by Random House UK
ISBN 10: 0099591855 ISBN 13: 9780099591856
New Softcover Quantity Available: 5
Seller
Kennys Bookstore
(Olney, MD, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Random House UK. Book Condition: New. Every Thursday evening, a group of four rural Italian women gather in an old stone house in the hills above Italy's Orvieto, to cook together, have supper, drink their beloved local wines, and talk. In this book, the author tells their life stories, and of cherished ingredients and recipes whose secrets have been passed down through generations. Num Pages: 368 pages. BIC Classification: 1DST; BM; WB; WTL. Category: (G) General (US: Trade). Dimension: 129 x 199 x 24. Weight in Grams: 260. . 2016. Paperback. . . . . Books ship from the US and Ireland. Bookseller Inventory # V9780099591856

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
US$ 12.76
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: FREE
Within U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

8.

Marlena de Blasi
Published by Windmill Books (2016)
ISBN 10: 0099591855 ISBN 13: 9780099591856
New Softcover Quantity Available: > 20
Seller
Ria Christie Collections
(Uxbridge, United Kingdom)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Windmill Books, 2016. Book Condition: New. book. Bookseller Inventory # ria9780099591856_rkm

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
US$ 9.08
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: US$ 4.24
From United Kingdom to U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

9.

DE BLASI, MARLENA
ISBN 10: 0099591855 ISBN 13: 9780099591856
New Quantity Available: > 20
Seller
INDOO
(Avenel, NJ, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Book Condition: New. Brand New. Bookseller Inventory # 0099591855

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
US$ 9.85
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: US$ 3.50
Within U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

10.

de Blasi, Marlena
Published by Random House UK (2016)
ISBN 10: 0099591855 ISBN 13: 9780099591856
New Softcover Quantity Available: 5
Rating
[?]

Book Description Random House UK, 2016. Book Condition: New. Every Thursday evening, a group of four rural Italian women gather in an old stone house in the hills above Italy's Orvieto, to cook together, have supper, drink their beloved local wines, and talk. In this book, the author tells their life stories, and of cherished ingredients and recipes whose secrets have been passed down through generations. Num Pages: 368 pages. BIC Classification: 1DST; BM; WB; WTL. Category: (G) General (US: Trade). Dimension: 129 x 199 x 24. Weight in Grams: 260. . 2016. Paperback. . . . . . Bookseller Inventory # V9780099591856

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
US$ 13.50
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: FREE
From Ireland to U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

There are more copies of this book

View all search results for this book