John Berger G.

ISBN 13: 9780140034745

G.

3.52 avg rating
( 2,013 ratings by Goodreads )
 
9780140034745: G.
View all copies of this ISBN edition:
 
 

This novel centres on G, who seems impervious to everything around him. His interests are purely sexual, his crowning ideal fulfilment. Yet, in the end this is enough for the politics of desire to expose the criminal politics of oppression. John Berger is the author of "To The Wedding".

"synopsis" may belong to another edition of this title.

From the Inside Flap:

nous novel -- winner of Britain's prestigious Booker Prize -- John Berger relates the story of "G.," a young man forging an energetic sexual career in Europe during the early years of this century. With profound compassion, Berger explores the hearts and minds of both men and women, and what happens during sex, to reveal the conditions of the Don Juan's success: his essential loneliness, the quiet cumulation in each of his sexual experiences of all of those that precede it, the tenderness that infuses even the briefest of his encounters, and the way women experience their own extraordinariness through their moments with him. All of this Berger sets against the turbulent backdrop of Garibaldi and the failed revolution of Milanese workers in 1898, the Boer War, and the first flight across the Alps, making G. a brilliant novel about the search for intimacy in history's private moments.

From the Back Cover:

"Fascinating...an extraordinary mixture of historical detail and sexual meditation...G. belongs in the tradition of George Eliot, Tolstoy, D. H. Lawrence and Norman Mailer." -- The New York Times

"About this title" may belong to another edition of this title.

Other Popular Editions of the Same Title

9780679736547: G.: A Novel

Featured Edition

ISBN 10:  0679736549 ISBN 13:  9780679736547
Publisher: Vintage, 1992
Softcover

9780670333417: G.

Viking..., 1972
Hardcover

9780297994237: G.

Little..., 1972
Hardcover

9780747529088: G

Trafal..., 1996
Softcover

9780394739670: G: A Novel

Pantheon, 1980
Softcover

Top Search Results from the AbeBooks Marketplace

1.

John Berger
Published by Penguin Books Ltd (1973)
ISBN 10: 0140034749 ISBN 13: 9780140034745
Used Softcover Quantity Available: 1
Seller:
Free Shipping Books
(Toledo, OH, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Penguin Books Ltd, 1973. Condition: VERY GOOD. Light rubbing wear to cover, spine and page edges. Very minimal writing or notations in margins not affecting the text. Possible clean ex-library copy, with their stickers and or stamp(s). Seller Inventory # 2912439964

More information about this seller | Contact this seller

Buy Used
US$ 6.97
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: FREE
Within U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

2.

Berger, John
ISBN 10: 0140034749 ISBN 13: 9780140034745
Used Paperback Quantity Available: 1
Seller:
WorldofBooks
(Goring-By-Sea, WS, United Kingdom)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Paperback. Condition: Good. The book has been read but remains in clean condition. All pages are intact and the cover is intact. Some minor wear to the spine. Seller Inventory # GOR002147307

More information about this seller | Contact this seller

Buy Used
US$ 4.00
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: US$ 3.98
From United Kingdom to U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

3.

Berger, John
ISBN 10: 0140034749 ISBN 13: 9780140034745
Used Paperback Quantity Available: 3
Seller:
WorldofBooks
(Goring-By-Sea, WS, United Kingdom)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Paperback. Condition: Very Good. The book has been read, but is in excellent condition. Pages are intact and not marred by notes or highlighting. The spine remains undamaged. Seller Inventory # GOR003636450

More information about this seller | Contact this seller

Buy Used
US$ 4.00
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: US$ 3.98
From United Kingdom to U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

4.

Berger, John
Published by Penguin Books Ltd
ISBN 10: 0140034749 ISBN 13: 9780140034745
Used Paperback Quantity Available: 1
Seller:
ThriftBooks - Squared
(Dallas, TX, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Penguin Books Ltd. Paperback. Condition: Fair. A readable copy. All pages are intact, and the cover is intact. Pages can include considerable notes-in pen or highlighter-but the notes cannot obscure the text. At ThriftBooks, our motto is: Read More, Spend Less. Seller Inventory # G0140034749I5N00

More information about this seller | Contact this seller

Buy Used
US$ 8.05
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: FREE
Within U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

5.

Berger, John
ISBN 10: 0140034749 ISBN 13: 9780140034745
Used Paperback Quantity Available: 2
Seller:
WorldofBooks
(Goring-By-Sea, WS, United Kingdom)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Paperback. Condition: Fair. A readable copy of the book which may include some defects such as highlighting and notes. Cover and pages may be creased and show discolouration. Seller Inventory # GOR001518654

More information about this seller | Contact this seller

Buy Used
US$ 8.01
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: US$ 3.98
From United Kingdom to U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

6.

John Berger
Published by Penguin (1973)
ISBN 10: 0140034749 ISBN 13: 9780140034745
Used Softcover Quantity Available: 1
Seller:
medimops
(Berlin, Germany)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Penguin, 1973. Condition: good. Seller Inventory # M00140034749-G

More information about this seller | Contact this seller

Buy Used
US$ 3.47
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: US$ 9.33
From Germany to U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

7.

Berger, John
Published by Penguin Books Ltd (1973)
ISBN 10: 0140034749 ISBN 13: 9780140034745
Used Paperback First Edition Quantity Available: 1
Seller:
Simply Read Books
(Boat Of Garten, United Kingdom)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Penguin Books Ltd, 1973. Paperback. Condition: Very Good. 1st Edition Thus. 1973 Penguin first thus paperback; very good clean copy, appears unread, lightly aged in storage else near as new; UK dealer, immediate dispatch. Seller Inventory # 143at28

More information about this seller | Contact this seller

Buy Used
US$ 20.55
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: US$ 10.97
From United Kingdom to U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds