Umberto Eco The Island of the Day Before

ISBN 13: 9780140259193

The Island of the Day Before

3.45 avg rating
( 12,369 ratings by Goodreads )
 
9780140259193: The Island of the Day Before
View all copies of this ISBN edition:
 
 

The national bestseller--now in paperback with an exquisite cover with foil and French flaps. Umberto Eco, one of the greatest storytellers of all time, continues to enthrall readers with this exquisitely crafted novel that celebrates the romance, war, politics, philosophy, and science of the baroque period in all its lush and colorful detail.

"synopsis" may belong to another edition of this title.

Book Description:

Published in hardcover by Harcourt, 1994, 0-15-100151-0
Published in paperback by Penguin, 1996, 0140259198

From the Back Cover:

"A profound and ingenious story artfully told . . . Renaissance battles, love poems, and sea journeys in the age of exploration." --The New York Times Book Review

Roberto della Griva is an Italian nobleman living in 1643. His mission is to travel the South Pacific and discover the means by which navigators can understand the mystery of longitude. After a violent storm, however, Roberto finds himself shipwrecked--on a ship. Swept from the Amaryllis, he has managed to pull himself aboard the Daphne, anchored in the bay of a beautiful island. The ship is fully provisioned, but the crew is missing.
As Roberto explores the different cabinets in the hold, he remembers chapters from his youth: Ferrante, his imaginary evil brother; the siege of Casale, that meaningless chess move in the Thirty Years' War in which he lost his father; and the lessons given him on fencing, blasphemy, and the writing of love letters. The Island of the Day Before is a fascinating, lyrical tale about a young dreamer's search for love and meaning.
"A masterpiece . . . intellectually stimulating and dramatically intriguing." --Chicago Tribune
"A story both thought provoking and surprisingly humorous." USA Today
"Umberto Eco . . . is the last of the great 20th century polymathic fabulists in the tradition of Joyce and Nabokov and Borges." The Wall Street Journal
UMBERTO ECO is a professor of semiotics at the University of Bologna and the bestselling author of numerous novels and collections of essays. He lives in Milan.
Translated from the Italian by William Weaver
"

"About this title" may belong to another edition of this title.

Other Popular Editions of the Same Title

9780156030373: The Island of the Day Before

Featured Edition

ISBN 10:  0156030373 ISBN 13:  9780156030373
Publisher: Mariner Books, 2006
Softcover

9780151001514: The Island of the Day Before

Harcou..., 1995
Hardcover

9780436202704: Island Of The Day Before

Martin..., 1995
Hardcover

9780151001965: The Island of the Day Before

Harcourt, 1995
Hardcover

9780749396664: Island Of The Day Before

Vintage, 1996
Softcover

Top Search Results from the AbeBooks Marketplace

1.

Umberto Eco
ISBN 10: 0140259198 ISBN 13: 9780140259193
New Quantity Available: 1
Seller:
Omega Books and More Inc.
(Springdale, AR, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Condition: New. FAST shipping, FREE tracking, and GREAT customer service! We also offer International and EXPEDITED shipping options. Seller Inventory # 3D7DSF001QMV

More information about this seller | Contact this seller

Buy New
US$ 5.24
Convert currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: US$ 3.99
Within U.S.A.
Destination, rates & speeds

2.

Eco, Umberto
Published by Penguin Books, New York (1996)
ISBN 10: 0140259198 ISBN 13: 9780140259193
New Paperback Quantity Available: 1
Seller:
funyettabooks
(Bloomington, MN, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Penguin Books, New York, 1996. Paperback. Condition: New. New. First Printing. Size: 8vo - over 7¾" - 9¾" tall. Fiction. Seller Inventory # 031784

More information about this seller | Contact this seller

Buy New
US$ 7.00
Convert currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: US$ 3.99
Within U.S.A.
Destination, rates & speeds

3.

Umberto Eco
Published by Penguin Books (1996)
ISBN 10: 0140259198 ISBN 13: 9780140259193
New Paperback Quantity Available: 1
Seller:
Ergodebooks
(RICHMOND, TX, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Penguin Books, 1996. Paperback. Condition: New. Open market ed. Seller Inventory # DADAX0140259198

More information about this seller | Contact this seller

Buy New
US$ 10.68
Convert currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: US$ 3.99
Within U.S.A.
Destination, rates & speeds

4.

Umberto Eco
Published by Penguin (Non-Classics) November 1996 (1996)
ISBN 10: 0140259198 ISBN 13: 9780140259193
New Trade Paperback Quantity Available: 1
Seller:
Inquiring Minds
(Saugerties, NY, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Penguin (Non-Classics) November 1996, 1996. Trade Paperback. Condition: New. Seller Inventory # 8896

More information about this seller | Contact this seller

Buy New
US$ 16.00
Convert currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: US$ 3.00
Within U.S.A.
Destination, rates & speeds

5.

Umberto Eco
Published by Penguin Books (1996)
ISBN 10: 0140259198 ISBN 13: 9780140259193
New Softcover Quantity Available: 1
Seller:
Irish Booksellers
(Portland, ME, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Penguin Books, 1996. Condition: New. book. Seller Inventory # M0140259198

More information about this seller | Contact this seller

Buy New
US$ 18.90
Convert currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: US$ 3.27
Within U.S.A.
Destination, rates & speeds

6.

Eco, Umberto
ISBN 10: 0140259198 ISBN 13: 9780140259193
New Quantity Available: 1
Seller:
SPHINX BOOKSTORE
(OTTAWA, ON, Canada)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Condition: New. NEW. Seller Inventory # FROG 62

More information about this seller | Contact this seller

Buy New
US$ 65.32
Convert currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: US$ 16.00
From Canada to U.S.A.
Destination, rates & speeds