Barmaids Brain And Other Strange Tales From Science

3.69 avg rating
( 191 ratings by Goodreads )
 
9780140260670: Barmaids Brain And Other Strange Tales From Science

In The Barmaid's Brain, Jay Ingram explores some of the little known quirks of human behaviour, including why we laugh and how we see mirages; he reports on science's various attempts to reexamine history, including startling theories about the Salem witches, a psychiatric profile of Joan of Arc and the raging debate about the first-ever map of the New World; he brings our attention to remarkable battles, from the parasitic nastiness of cowbirds, to the tiny but deadly guerrilla attacks of ant lions; and he introduces us to the sometimes odd concerns of the scientist, for instance whether it is possible that early humans spent their lives in water instead of on land, and just how does slinging drinks affect the memory and the perception of the barmaid's brain?

Weird, witty and always edifying, The Barmaid's Brain serves up a splendid cocktail of fact, theory and anecdote in twenty-one of Jay Ingram's favourite tales from the world of science.

"synopsis" may belong to another edition of this title.

From the Back Cover:

"Ingram . . . acts as a kind of cross between a clear-eyed journalist and a tongue-in-cheek comedian."
--The Globe and Mail

"Jay Ingram has taken on the role of alchemist: he turns the lead of scientific jargon into literary gold."
--Calgary Herald

"Ingram is a wizard at transforming complex curiosities of the natural and physical sciences into entertaining anecdotes."
--The Edmonton Sun

"Lively . . . witty . . . In the tradition of Stephen Jay Gould and Oliver Sacks, [Ingram] manages a difficult trick--making the minutiae of science seem alluring to the uninitiated."
--Maclean's

About the Author:

J ay Ingram has been the host of Discovery Channel Canada’s Daily Planet since it began in 1995. At the time, it was the only hour-long, prime-time daily science show in the world. Prior to joining Discovery, Jay hosted CBC Radio’s national science show, Quirks and Quarks, from 1979 to 1992. During that time he won two ACTRA awards, one for best host, and several Canadian Science Writers’ awards. He wrote and hosted two CBC Radio documentary series and short radio and television science stories for a variety of programs. He was contributing editor to Owl magazine for ten years, and wrote a weekly science column in the Toronto Star for twelve. Jay has also written eleven bestselling books, including The Daily Planet Book of Cool Ideas.

In 2009, Jay was made a member of the Order of Canada for his contributions towards making complex science accessible to the public – and for his leadership of future generations of science journalists. He has received the Sandford Fleming Medal from the Royal Canadian Institute for his efforts to popularize science, the Royal Society’s McNeil Medal for the Public Awareness of Science, and the Michael Smith Award from the Natural Sciences and Engineering Research Council. He is a Distinguished Alumnus of the University of Alberta and has received five honorary doctorates.

"About this title" may belong to another edition of this title.

Top Search Results from the AbeBooks Marketplace

1.

Ingram, Jay
Published by Penguin Canada (1999)
ISBN 10: 0140260676 ISBN 13: 9780140260670
Used Quantity Available: 2
Seller:
Better World Books
(Mishawaka, IN, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Penguin Canada, 1999. Book Condition: Good. Shows some signs of wear, and may have some markings on the inside. Bookseller Inventory # GRP9964198

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy Used
US$ 3.48
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: FREE
Within U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

2.

Ingram, Jay
Published by Penguin Canada
ISBN 10: 0140260676 ISBN 13: 9780140260670
Used Paperback Quantity Available: 1
Seller:
ThriftBooks - Green Earth
(Portland, OR, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Penguin Canada. Paperback. Book Condition: Very Good. Appearance of only slight previous use. Cover and binding show a little wear. All pages are undamaged with potentially only a few, small markings. Bookseller Inventory # G0140260676I4N00

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy Used
US$ 3.89
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: FREE
Within U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

3.

Ingram, Jay
Published by Penguin Canada (1999)
ISBN 10: 0140260676 ISBN 13: 9780140260670
Used Quantity Available: 1
Seller:
Better World Books: West
(Reno, NV, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Penguin Canada, 1999. Book Condition: Good. Ships from Reno, NV. Shows some signs of wear, and may have some markings on the inside. Bookseller Inventory # GRP96222103

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy Used
US$ 4.58
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: FREE
Within U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

4.

Ingram, Jay
Published by Penguin Canada (1999)
ISBN 10: 0140260676 ISBN 13: 9780140260670
Used Quantity Available: 1
Seller:
Better World Books: West
(Reno, NV, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Penguin Canada, 1999. Book Condition: Very Good. Ships from Reno, NV. Former Library book. Great condition for a used book! Minimal wear. Bookseller Inventory # GRP96351859

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy Used
US$ 4.58
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: FREE
Within U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

5.

Ingram, Jay
Published by Penguin Canada (1999)
ISBN 10: 0140260676 ISBN 13: 9780140260670
Used Quantity Available: 1
Seller:
Better World Books Ltd
(Dunfermline, United Kingdom)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Penguin Canada, 1999. Book Condition: Good. Ships from the UK. Former Library book. Shows some signs of wear, and may have some markings on the inside. Bookseller Inventory # GRP86907234

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy Used
US$ 1.00
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: US$ 4.45
From United Kingdom to U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

6.

Ingram, Jay
Published by Penguin Books Canada, Limited (1999)
ISBN 10: 0140260676 ISBN 13: 9780140260670
Used Trade Paperback Quantity Available: 1
Seller:
The Book Women
(Sumas, WA, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Penguin Books Canada, Limited, 1999. Trade Paperback. Book Condition: Good. Softcover. Sound, clean & nice copy, light to moderate rubbing/edgewear to wraps. Bookseller Inventory # 938269n

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy Used
US$ 4.94
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: US$ 4.75
Within U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

7.

Ingram, Jay
Published by Penguin Canada, U.S.A. (1999)
ISBN 10: 0140260676 ISBN 13: 9780140260670
Used Soft cover Quantity Available: 1
Seller:
Russell Books
(Victoria, BC, Canada)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Penguin Canada, U.S.A., 1999. Soft cover. Book Condition: Very Good. 0140260676. Bookseller Inventory # 160293

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy Used
US$ 4.99
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: US$ 7.00
From Canada to U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

8.

Ingram, Jay
Published by Penguin Canada (1999)
ISBN 10: 0140260676 ISBN 13: 9780140260670
Used Soft cover Quantity Available: 1
Seller:
Russell Books
(Victoria, BC, Canada)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Penguin Canada, 1999. Soft cover. Book Condition: Very Good. 0140260676. Bookseller Inventory # 168930

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy Used
US$ 4.99
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: US$ 7.00
From Canada to U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

9.

Jay Ingram
Published by Penguin Canada (1999)
ISBN 10: 0140260676 ISBN 13: 9780140260670
Used Paperback Quantity Available: 1
Seller:
Books Express
(Portsmouth, NH, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Penguin Canada, 1999. Paperback. Book Condition: Good. Ships with Tracking Number! INTERNATIONAL WORLDWIDE Shipping available. May not contain Access Codes or Supplements. May be ex-library. Shipping & Handling by region. Buy with confidence, excellent customer service!. Bookseller Inventory # 0140260676

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy Used
US$ 89.59
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: FREE
Within U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds